TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-28-2007, 09:22 PM   #1
postrin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: houston,tx,usa
Posts: 35
Both HR10 rebooting

So we have 2 HR10-250's in the house, and both have just rebooted once at 7:58 PM CST and now again at 8:20 PM CST

Any idea?

Paul
postrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 09:30 PM   #2
mitkraft
Registered User
 
mitkraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 562
Me to! Mines rebooted about 10 times today. Only my hacked one though. The unhacked one seems fine.

Anyone have any ideas?
mitkraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 09:34 PM   #3
cliffbig
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 16
Exact same thing has happened this evening here (well, add an hour to the posted times, since we're in the Eastern zone, but you know what I mean...). We've seen frequent reboots in recent days, and we've had these two this evening while we were trying to watch something.

Anyone have any insights?
cliffbig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 09:37 PM   #4
mitkraft
Registered User
 
mitkraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 562
Cliff and OP, are y'alls stock or hacked tivos?
mitkraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 09:37 PM   #5
postrin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: houston,tx,usa
Posts: 35
mine are completely stock
postrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 09:43 PM   #6
cliffbig
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 16
Mine was purchased through Weaknees a couple of years ago with a 1TB drive already installed. No other hacks, etc., other than the larger drive.
cliffbig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 09:44 PM   #7
cliffbig
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 16
Just checked the other HR10-250, which is a stock unit with no upgrades, etc., and it shows that it, too, did a reboot at the same time.
cliffbig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 09:55 PM   #8
johnnybravo_9021
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6
mine is also rebooting all of sudden (stock unit). def seems widespread. if anyone figures it out...please advise!
johnnybravo_9021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 10:21 PM   #9
postrin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: houston,tx,usa
Posts: 35
Just did it again on both
postrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 10:22 PM   #10
johnnybravo_9021
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6
yep'per, me too.....this is really getting annoying.
johnnybravo_9021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 10:23 PM   #11
altan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 87
Add me...

HR10-250.... rebooting every night at around 10:21PM since (and including) Friday!!!

... Altan

(6.3d)
__________________
Like pinball? Check out my pinball site
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
altan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 10:24 PM   #12
postrin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: houston,tx,usa
Posts: 35
Directv trying to convince us to be rid of these things?
postrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 10:28 PM   #13
cliffbig
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 16
Both of ours went off at 10:21 as well.
cliffbig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 10:34 PM   #14
Syznic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 31
HR 10 250 stock - also rebooting self during foot ball. And just now around 9.30 CT. This unit has not seen a phone line in several months, must be something buggy in the guide data spewing errors...anyone have a SD unit that is rebooting? Maybe something to do with the HD...
Syznic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 11:15 PM   #15
BigBearf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 231
Had 2 HR10s reboot several times as well tonight. Had another HR10 guide drop out TNT-HD on channel 75 which I had to reboot the HR10 in order to correct. I guess the new MPEG 4 channel rollout is causing some problems with the HR10s

Any others having problems?

BigBearf
BigBearf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 11:58 PM   #16
carstud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12
Mine Too

My Hr10-250 rebooted at 8:18pm pst Mine is hacked with a 500Gb
carstud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 12:06 AM   #17
purple6816
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NorthWest
Posts: 623
Mine is also rebooting and cycles over and over until I unplug it and then it will work for a few hours or a day not sure if it reboots when I am not looking.

If a tree falls in the woods and no one hears it did it make a sound.?

Anyone have any ideas. I don't think this one is hacked. might have an upgraded hard drive it has been so long I don't remember.

Are they failing or is DirecTV screwing with us? It has not called in in 186 days. I guess I could try that.
__________________
When you order a plain pizza and they say "you mean cheese" you need to go somewhere else. All pizza must have cheese.
purple6816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 12:20 AM   #18
easy-e
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 69
Mine rebooted 3 times today. Twice within 15 minutes. It is not stock. I had not made a call in 80+ days since I was afraid of 6.3e. I was on 6.3d with little problems except in the past 2 weeks. I made the call. It upgraded to 6.3e and I had 7+ hours of zero reboots so far (fingers crossed that it continues).
__________________
easy-e
1 DIRECTV Samsung SIR-S4040R (upgraded to 156 hrs)
1 DIRECTV Hughes HR10-250
easy-e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 12:21 AM   #19
Dignan
_
 
Dignan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: _
Posts: 1,168
Glad to hear this wasn't just me. I've had two nights of 21 minute recordings followed by 32 minute continuation. The Season Pass manager says someone unplugged the unit or it lost power. I have already replaced the power converter once, that failure didn't look like this. I was going 299 days without calling in, as a hail Mary I called in and updated to .e

Sounds like maybe bad guide data?
__________________
Gamertag: Oblio X
Dignan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 12:23 AM   #20
carstud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12
Mine Too again

Mine just rebooted again at 9:18pm pst exactly 1 hour after the first reboot, I will recheck at 10:18 I guess. I also had the same thing on friday where it reboot at 18 minutes on every show. 7:18, 8:18 and 9:18

Last edited by carstud : 10-29-2007 at 12:29 AM.
carstud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 01:39 AM   #21
mitkraft
Registered User
 
mitkraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 562
After thinking on the CBS theory I just realized mines been a rebooting fool all day because I recorded the game on cbs and shark this evening. I also remember that my recording of Moonlighting from friday before last rebooted midway to. I've turned all tuners off CBS and there has been no more reboots this evening. I'm on 6.3c hacked btw. My 6.3e stock unit has not had this problem yet that I know of and its been recording the exact same things as the hacked unit for a few weeks now.
mitkraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 08:58 AM   #22
incog-neato
ObamaGuy
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Cold Heartland
Posts: 452
2 of my 3 HR10's have been rebooting on a regular basis the last week or so. The 3d one is rarely used. Usually 1 or 2 times between the hours of 8-10PM eastern (almost ALWAYS somewhere around 8 when I get home from work. I am running 6.3C on all 3 and all 3 are identically "zippered." 95% of what I record and watch is OTA. It's been happening on CBS and/or FOX I think. It got so bad I pulled the drive and ran Spinrite on 1 of them at the "deepest" level (took 33hrs to complete) and it found no errors. I also replaced the power supply ... still no help.

Something MUST be going on with the programming. DirecTV has no clue (never heard of the problem) and I'm calling other then their normal support department.
incog-neato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 09:03 AM   #23
incog-neato
ObamaGuy
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Cold Heartland
Posts: 452
2 of my 3 HR10's have been rebooting on a regular basis the last week or so. The 3d one is rarely used. Usually 1 or 2 times between the hours of 8-10PM eastern (almost ALWAYS somewhere around 8 when I get home from work. I am running 6.3C on all 3 and all 3 are identically "zippered." 95% of what I record and watch is OTA. It's been happening on CBS and/or FOX I think. It got so bad I pulled the drive and ran Spinrite on 1 of them at the "deepest" level (took 33hrs to complete 500 gigf) and it found no errors. I also replaced the power supply ... still no help. It is on s UPS.

Something MUST be going on with the programming. DirecTV has no clue (never heard of the problem) and I'm calling other then their normal support department.
incog-neato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 09:41 AM   #24
RandCfilm
Registered User
 
RandCfilm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by easy-e
Mine rebooted 3 times today. Twice within 15 minutes. It is not stock. I had not made a call in 80+ days since I was afraid of 6.3e. I was on 6.3d with little problems except in the past 2 weeks. I made the call. It upgraded to 6.3e and I had 7+ hours of zero reboots so far (fingers crossed that it continues).
We have a thread going over at DDB in series 2 support and I think it is related to CBS and possibly software version. Here is part of my post from DDB.
Similar thing here. My friends unit is 6.3d and my unit I was watching the Colts was 6.3d. My other two units are 6.3e. So last night my friend and I set up recordings on CBS, three machines total. About 21 minutes into Cold Case reboot, friend called and his rebooted at the same time. Switched over to my other unit 6.3e and still going strong, checked back later and no reboot, this morning still no reboot.
I definitely think this is CBS related, but I think it could also have something with software version since both of our 6.3d rebooted at the same time and my 6.3e never missed a beat. My 6.3d unit did not download the software into mfs or it would be upgraded to 6.3e. So I do have one machine to compare with my other two when reboots occur. I am keeping a log of what channels both tuners are playing on all machines.
__________________
(2) UltimateTV - upgraded w/160GB
(1) HR10-250 single 2TB 6.4a
(1) HR10-250 620GB 6.4a
(1) HR10-250 320GB 6.4a
(3) HR21 (2) with AM21 & internal 2TB Seagate
RandCfilm
RandCfilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 10:03 AM   #25
orange-man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 20
Mine rebooted twice during football. I wasn't recording CBS directly but was recording a CBS game via Sunday Ticket.

Also I just remembered that it re-booted a third time earlier in the morning on CBS Sunday morning. I haven't had it plugged into a phone line for over 60 days it is a stock unit.

Last edited by orange-man : 10-29-2007 at 10:56 AM.
orange-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 10:23 AM   #26
dscott72
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Newnan, GA
Posts: 123
Add me to the list. My stock HR10 has been rebooting at various times at night during prime time when my season passes have been recording getting 21 and 32 partial recordings of the same program. Thinking back to what programs were recording it, I did have a CBS program being recorded every time it has happened. The lastes occurance was last night during the recording of Cold Case. Does look like it is a CBS/HR10 issue. I do have an HR20 that I primarly watch shows from and use the HR10 as a back up. The recordings on HR20 do not seem to be affected.
__________________
Luke...I am your father...

HNS GXCEB0T
HR10-250
DSR 7000
dscott72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 10:50 AM   #27
sagle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 20
I had the same reboots on my stock HR10. It was on 6.3b, I upgraded to 6.3e yesterday and no reboots so far.
sagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 11:03 AM   #28
RandCfilm
Registered User
 
RandCfilm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by orange-man
Mine rebooted twice during football. I wasn't recording CBS directly but was recording a CBS game via Sunday Ticket
Your information is confirming my thoughts about it being the feed.

From my DDB post:
I thought it was local OTA issue but if people are having reboots with the satellite feed then it has to be in the original transmission not a local feed issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by orange-man
Also I just remembered that it re-booted a third time earlier in the morning on CBS Sunday morning. I haven't had it plugged into a phone line for over 60 days it is a stock unit.
Is CBS Sunday morning in HD? not that I can't check the guide myself but it's Monday and I don't care to put much effort in.
__________________
(2) UltimateTV - upgraded w/160GB
(1) HR10-250 single 2TB 6.4a
(1) HR10-250 620GB 6.4a
(1) HR10-250 320GB 6.4a
(3) HR21 (2) with AM21 & internal 2TB Seagate
RandCfilm
RandCfilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 01:21 PM   #29
sn9ke_eyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 129
My stock hr10 has rebooted at least 3 times since Friday.
sn9ke_eyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 01:46 PM   #30
temp357
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 269
No reboots here since i went back to 3.1.5f
__________________
I'm Just Passing Through
temp357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |