TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-27-2016, 11:18 AM   #1
mike700
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 1
Question Dialup discontinued for programming guide

I have a Series 3 HD and get my TV signal free via a rooftop antenna - no cable TV for me. My Series 3 was using Internet dialup to download the programming guide however TIVO is discontinuing dialup service Oct 3rd. My wife has a Smartphone with a WiFi hotspot feature via 4G T-Mobile. Anyway I can get my series 3 TIVO to connect to her Smartphone to download the TIVO programming guide? THANKS!!

mike700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2016, 11:47 AM   #2
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 905xx
Posts: 1,621
Maybe, but you will need a wireless adapter for the TiVo.

Do you have DSL or cable internet with a router?
If so it would be far more reliable to connect tivo to the router with a ethernet cable.

Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2016, 02:13 PM   #3
cannonz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,285
I wondered if they were about to end dial up, 3 of my tivo's were late to update, support email stated must be on internet for update (they were) figured that's their way of pushing those on dial up to find a way to use internet.

cannonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2016, 02:43 PM   #4
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,581
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike700 View Post
I have a Series 3 HD and get my TV signal free via a rooftop antenna - no cable TV for me. My Series 3 was using Internet dialup to download the programming guide however TIVO is discontinuing dialup service Oct 3rd. My wife has a Smartphone with a WiFi hotspot feature via 4G T-Mobile. Anyway I can get my series 3 TIVO to connect to her Smartphone to download the TIVO programming guide? THANKS!!
You would need to have the Tivo brand Wireless G adapter to connect to the hotspot.
I have recently experimented with a hotspot and a hotspot through my cell and they both (Roamio and S3) were successful in connecting.
If you do not have home internet, you can get a hotspot from Freedompop, service is free for 500mb monthly.

__________________
Original S1 (Recycle Heaven)
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD (XL, PLS, "652")
Juliet Basic (4XL, PLS)
(OTA)

~~~~~

No Amazon Prime? Join
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to start streaming on Roamio/Bolt!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2016, 03:33 PM   #5
cannonz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,285
You can get an additional 500 free at Freedompop (bringing total to 1GB) by adding friends, let me know if you need friends, guy I know sells them set up he can friend you all you need.

cannonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2016, 03:37 PM   #6
Rowsdower
The Final Sacrifice
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
You would need to have the Tivo brand Wireless G adapter to connect to the hotspot.
The official TiVo adapter is the only USB-based option (because the DVR lacks drivers for other USB Wi-Fi adapters), but any Ethernet-based Wi-Fi adapter (example) or Wi-Fi router with a "bridge" mode should work, provided that it supports whatever security protocol the hotspot is set up to use (ideally WPA2).

Used routers running DD-WRT or Tomato firmware (example) are affordable and generally reliable.

Rowsdower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2016, 10:16 PM   #7
wml1950
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 67
Mike700,

Tivo is not discontinuing dial-up for series 3 in October. You should be able to use a land line. Dial up is ending for series 1 and series 4 (premiere). I do not think Roamio or Bolt has ever had dial up. Therefore, no need to get wireless adapter for series 3.

wml1950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2016 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 AM.
Page generated in 0.11950493 seconds (48.07% PHP - 51.93% MySQL) with 18 queries