TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-25-2014, 11:52 PM   #1
lewie2s
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Expander drive

I've read so much about expander drives causing crashes, which mine is doing, but can I just stick my 1TB drive into the unit replacing the 160 GB drive?
lewie2s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 02:59 AM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,656
After you divorce the expander, however, that drive may be failing, so what's the point. Best to use a new drive.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 06:14 AM   #3
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,353
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewie2s View Post
I've read so much about expander drives causing crashes, which mine is doing, but can I just stick my 1TB drive into the unit replacing the 160 GB drive?
Do you have any recordings you want to save?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 06:43 AM   #4
Chris Gerhard
Registered User
 
Chris Gerhard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: AR
Posts: 4,910
I have been using the WD expander drives with TiVoHDs for about 5 years. I had one enclosure fail but the drives have all been fine. I have had two 500GB WD external drives and one 1TB WD external drive. The simple fix if you can confirm your drive is still good by testing it, get an eSata enclosure proven to work with the drives and TiVo. There are several different enclosures that do work, although far from all eSata enclosures work and there is a list of some that do work here at TiVo Community.

I believe the enclosures for whatever reason have been the weak point in that configuration. If my two external drives die, I won't be using external drives any longer, internal is a better option.
__________________
Home Theater - OTA TiVoHD/1.16TB/NSZ-GS8 GTV
MBR - OTA TiVoHD/660GB/NSZ-GT1 GTV
Den - OTA TiVo Premiere/2TB/NSZ-GT1 GTV

Last edited by Chris Gerhard : 08-26-2014 at 05:49 PM.
Chris Gerhard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 08:31 AM   #5
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,402
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewie2s View Post
I've read so much about expander drives causing crashes, which mine is doing, but can I just stick my 1TB drive into the unit replacing the 160 GB drive?
When troubleshooting, your problem could be the expander, and would be the first thing I would check.

If that is causing your issue, you can upgrade the internal tivo drive, there are several guides here telling you how. But, if removing the expander does not fix things, you could either have 1) a bad power supply or 2) a bad internal drive.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |