TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-16-2007, 02:16 PM   #31
crazywater
USS TiVo NCC-1780
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 570
Quote:
Originally Posted by bown
cablecard issue fixed
menu bug fixed
esata expansion officially added
30 sec skip fixed

Thank you Tivo! My faith has been restored!
I certainly hope that the pixelation/macroblocking ( and now fast-forwarding video ) related to SA cablecards is also fixed...
__________________
Bruce
"...if we all believe in the things you believe you're seeing..." EJ/BT 76


HR20-700
HR22-100
HR24-500
Pioneer DVR-810H
Sony SVR-3000 235hr
crazywater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 02:36 PM   #32
rcamille
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 108
Can anyone verify if the "all video and backgrounds" vanishes bug has been fixed with 9.2? What i am referring to is the dreaded black screen where all you get is the TiVo menus, no video on cable channels and no playback on now playing list. Only way to rectify is a reboot.

I am not sure if that is what people are referring to when they say the menu bug is fixed.

Thanks
rcamille is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 02:58 PM   #33
normychas
Registered User
 
normychas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 46
has anybody with 9.2 encountered stuttering previously, if so does 9.2 fix this issue?
normychas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 02:59 PM   #34
Saxion
Substantive Member
 
Saxion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 485
Can anyone confirm if they fixed the lockup that occurs when a manual recording is "selected" in the Season Pass manager? This might only apply to a unit without CableCARDs.
__________________
Have you ever imagined a world with no hypothetical situations?
Saxion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 03:00 PM   #35
TiivoDog
FIOS Fast!!!
 
TiivoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Central PA
Posts: 238
Is there a Priority Page set up for 9.2? I have 9.1, but I have yet to be put on the 'guest list'..... Additionally, I have connected a few times, but it has to be downloaded/installed.
__________________
Tivo is a way of life!!!

4 Series3

2 Series2

Sony Google TV

2 AppleTVs

Onkyo NR-1008

HP MSS EX475 (OS 3.0)

GigE LAN

FIOS TV (127 HD Channels)
FIOS Data (35/35 Mbps)
TiivoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 03:14 PM   #36
fredct
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 392
Since you HDers like to hog these threads ... I gotta ask, is this only released for HD systems or has it shown up on some S2s as well?
fredct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 03:21 PM   #37
rodalpho
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 486
Fantastic! Anyone with a S3 have 9.2 yet?

Edit: Just forced a connection and didn't get it.... sigh. 9.1 is excruciating.

Last edited by rodalpho : 10-16-2007 at 03:33 PM.
rodalpho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 03:24 PM   #38
Bierboy
Seasoned gas passer
 
Bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Quad Sillies
Posts: 11,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by bown
...menu bug fixed ...
Is this the font size change in the TDL?
__________________
"You don't know Bierboy like I know Bierboy. He became a lot more amusing after I figured out his sense of humor..." -- Rob Helmerichs

XL4

Last edited by Bierboy : 10-16-2007 at 05:28 PM.
Bierboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 03:33 PM   #39
dig_duggler
losing enthusiasm
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 835
Quote:
Originally Posted by bown
cablecard issue fixed
menu bug fixed
esata expansion officially added
30 sec skip fixed

Thank you Tivo! My faith has been restored!
Good to hear. I still can't fathom why they didn't pop in here last week and say, we know, we're working on it, it will be out asap.

Now I can turn back on suggestions
dig_duggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 04:04 PM   #40
riddick21
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revolutionary
riddick21: I assume that you got the update yourself? If so, can you please take the time to answer the questions that Globular mentioned, if you can?

In other words, did it just say "ESATA has now been enabled," or did it give instructions and information about where to get (and what) drives?
It said something about certain drives being supported officially by tivo but didnt give a list. I assume tivo will come out with a branded drive soon. I have gotten a chance to play with this update yet but hopefully it fixed the enormous amount of pixelation I have been getting lately.
riddick21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 04:07 PM   #41
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by rodalpho
Fantastic! Anyone with a S3 have 9.2 yet?
My 9.1 unit (the one I signed up for the priority list) is Pending Restart. I think the other one is still on 8.3.

No real problems for me with 9.1. I'd already stopped noticing the slowdown in 30-sec. skip.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 04:23 PM   #42
cr33p
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ann Arbor MI
Posts: 644
Running an HD unit here with 9.1, forced connection, no update, maybe its a test rollout again
cr33p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 04:43 PM   #43
richsadams
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 8,853
Noted that TiVo's Priority Page still lists v9.1, however when you sign up the Thank You page now says:

Quote:
Please allow up to seven business days for you to receive the new software.
IIRC it used to say three days. Higher demand, slower rollout or as suggested, only trial upgrades at this time?
richsadams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 04:53 PM   #44
wgw
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiivoDog
Is there a Priority Page set up for 9.2?
Don't know. But the 9.1 priority page seemed to do the trick when I wanted to upgrade from 9.1(L5) to 9.1. Had the upgrade in 2 days. I'm going to re-enter my service numbers on the 9.1 priority page and hopefully that will send the 9.2 upgrade in 2-3 days.

http://research.tivo.com/91priority/index.htm
wgw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 04:54 PM   #45
RoyK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: SW VA
Posts: 2,506
Quote:
Originally Posted by richsadams
Noted that TiVo's Priority Page still lists v9.1, however when you sign up the Thank You page now says:

IIRC it used to say three days. Higher demand, slower rollout or as suggested, only trial upgrades at this time?
Probably slower rollout -- to give us time to find their bugs for them -- again.
RoyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 05:01 PM   #46
richsadams
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 8,853
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyK
Probably slower rollout -- to give us time to find their bugs for them -- again.
Probably (hope not) but probably.

EDIT: Looks like this is a trial rollout. The version is:

9.2.J

Generally any version with a letter in it indicates a trial. or or I'm not sure how I should feel at this point.

Last edited by richsadams : 10-16-2007 at 05:16 PM.
richsadams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 05:21 PM   #47
George Cifranci
Viva La Tivo!
 
George Cifranci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Posts: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by bown
cablecard issue fixed
menu bug fixed
esata expansion officially added
30 sec skip fixed

Thank you Tivo! My faith has been restored!

Have those things really been fixed/added in 9.2 or are you being funny?
__________________
George

TiVo S3 - (12-20-06) 318HR HD (2TB)
TiVo S2 - (06-16-04) 329HR SD (retired)
TiVo S1 - (10-03-01) 60HR SD (retired)
TV: Sony SXRD R60XBR1 HDTV
George Cifranci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 05:24 PM   #48
Dr_Diablo
Dr_Diablo
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Midwest
Posts: 912
Quote:
Originally Posted by astrohip
Could you elaborate? There are so many minor, little gotchas in 9.1 that I'm not sure exactly what you refer to as "navigational issues".

Thanks!
A typo then huh? When the OP stated there was an update 9.2

9.1 has been availavle for nearly three weeks now.

Didn't really think there would be another update so close to the last, 9.1
Dr_Diablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 05:25 PM   #49
demon
BURNINATOR
 
demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Western SD
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by George Cifranci
Have those things really been fixed/added in 9.2 or are you being funny?
I hope it's legit - mainly the parts about the menu fixes and the skip freeze fix; the rest are good, but gravy for me (except the CableCARD fix, which doesn't apply to me). Please say it is.
demon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 05:40 PM   #50
megory
Advanced TiVoOligan
 
megory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BH, South Pinellas, FL
Posts: 1,260
I got 9.1 on 9/26, which seems earlier than others. But 9.2? Not yet.
__________________
M-Card No TA. HD3TiVo-1TB (1350a); 2DT
megory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 05:50 PM   #51
ToddNeedsTiVo
Shampoo is not toxic
 
ToddNeedsTiVo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ankeny, IA
Posts: 634
Obviously, one can force a TiVo to call the mother ship whenever they want. How can you tell if doing so has resulted in downloading a software upgrade? Seems like I read somewhere around here that when downloaded, the upgrade will install & reboot at 2am local time. But one cannot tell after connecting whether the download has taken place, right? Nor can one force the installation to occur before 2am?

I put my new TiVo HD in service early Sunday morning, put it on the priority list Sunday evening, and today I came home from work and it had installed 9.1-01-2-652 sometime between now and last night.
ToddNeedsTiVo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 05:59 PM   #52
carroca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 42
After the forced connection is complete, the Status in the Phone & Network screen will say "Pending Restart". You can then do a manual reboot to load the new software (under Messages & Settings)
carroca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 06:03 PM   #53
richsadams
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 8,853
Quote:
Originally Posted by carroca
After the forced connection is complete, the Status in the Phone & Network screen will say "Pending Restart". You can then do a manual reboot to load the new software (under Messages & Settings)
You can also usually tell when TiVo is downloading an update if you watch the connection screen. The download will take longer than the usual 30 seconds or less and the "Loading" activity will take much longer than normal.
richsadams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 06:15 PM   #54
demon
BURNINATOR
 
demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Western SD
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToddNeedsTiVo
Obviously, one can force a TiVo to call the mother ship whenever they want. How can you tell if doing so has resulted in downloading a software upgrade? Seems like I read somewhere around here that when downloaded, the upgrade will install & reboot at 2am local time. But one cannot tell after connecting whether the download has taken place, right? Nor can one force the installation to occur before 2am?
In the network & phone settings screen, if a software update has been downloaded, the last status will show as "Pending Restart" instead of "Succeeded" or "Failed". This lets you know that there's a software update to be applied, and the unit will be rebooting itself about 2am to apply the update. If you see this, you can have the unit reboot (the nice way, preferably) any time, and it'll begin applying the update.
demon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 06:32 PM   #55
bareyb
Under Maintenance
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, California
Posts: 22,296
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by bown
cablecard issue fixed
menu bug fixed
esata expansion officially added
30 sec skip fixed

Thank you Tivo! My faith has been restored!
God I hope this is true! If TiVo really fixed all that this quickly then they deserve a huge round of applause. I can't wait until my two S3's get the patch!!! I already forced a call but no joy for us yet. Still, good to know TiVo is listening and trying to help.
__________________
Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by human error
bareyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 06:45 PM   #56
richsadams
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 8,853
Quote:
Originally Posted by bareyb
God I hope this is true! If TiVo really fixed all that this quickly then they deserve a huge round of applause. I can't wait until my two S3's get the patch!!! I already forced a call but no joy for us yet. Still, good to know TiVo is listening and trying to help.
Iím with you, but nothing here either. However we've never gotten one of the trial upgrades (which is what this looks to be)...always had to wait for the "real deal".

If this is the fix for v9.1's bugs, then I agree, three weeks isn't that bad. It certainly negates the "This terrible upgrade is the end of TiVo!" chants. Wish TiVo would have spoken up though...it could have saved a lot of polarizing back-and-forth.
richsadams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 06:50 PM   #57
SCSIRAID
Registered User
 
SCSIRAID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 2,297
Quote:
Originally Posted by richsadams
Iím with you, but nothing here either. However we've never gotten one of the trial upgrades (which is what this looks to be)...always had to wait for the "real deal".

If this is the fix for v9.1's bugs, then I agree, three weeks isn't that bad. It certainly negates the "This terrible upgrade is the end of TiVo!" chants. Wish TiVo would have spoken up though...it could have saved a lot of polarizing back-and-forth.
Im quite surprised that Pony or Jerry hasnt made an 'official' announcement that a measured rollout has begun....
SCSIRAID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 06:52 PM   #58
rodalpho
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 486
Quote:
Originally Posted by bareyb
God I hope this is true! If TiVo really fixed all that this quickly then they deserve a huge round of applause.
I totally disagree, they deserve a big loud boo for allowing 9.1 to be released in the first place. I'm sure their beta testers caught all of these issues and TiVo pushed 9.1 to production anyway to meet some contract with Rhapsody.
rodalpho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 06:54 PM   #59
RoyK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: SW VA
Posts: 2,506
Quote:
Originally Posted by bareyb
.......If TiVo really fixed all that this quickly then they deserve a huge round of applause.....
For what, exactly? Getting it the way it should have been the first time out? -- If indeed they did.

Last edited by RoyK : 10-16-2007 at 07:08 PM.
RoyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 06:54 PM   #60
richsadams
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 8,853
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCSIRAID
Im quite surprised that Pony or Jerry hasnt made an 'official' announcement that a measured rollout has begun....
Agreed, that is strange particularly after the multiple posts about the TiVo HD software issues. They acknowledged that there were problems quite fast, that they were working on them more than once and that updates were ready and then being rolled out.

TiVo's silence on this one was deafening.
richsadams is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoģ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |