TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-08-2007, 04:00 PM   #1
bonorden
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Stupid Houston Comcast Policy???

I've had two DVRs from Comcast. Up until last week, I decided to get a couple of Series3 Tivos. Went to the local Comcast store the next day and picked up 4 cablecards. A little bit of trouble getting them installed, but by the next day everything was clicking.

Now that I'm sure my Tivos will be running (activated correct, CCs working, etc), I was ready to bring back my two Comcast DVRs.

I go to their local store (in Webster) and they say that I cannot turn in my DVRs if I want to keep my other 4 cablecards! If I turn in the DVRs, they will deactivate my cablecards and revert me to basic digital cable. Their stance slowly changed from having to keep both DVRs to keeping one DVR. Then eventually down to have to have at least one cablebox. Then finally down to have to have one cablebox in the house...doesn't have to be connected and they will not charge a rental fee. Heck I didn't even want the box, but since they were "giving" it to me for free...and I was tired of arguing, I now have two perfectly working Series3 Tivos and one cablebox in the closet.

What seemed to get them to move off their initial stance was making comments regarding FCC and illegal practice.

Is this the stupidest thing you've ever heard of? I'm sure this is a perfectly fine working cablebox that someone could be using, but instead, it will be sitting in my closet.

BTW, I'll probably pay more attention to my Comcast bill to make sure I don't start getting zapped for a box rental.
bonorden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 04:38 PM   #2
techieunite
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 106
In my area, Digital basic includes one cable box as part of the package price.

You get it regardless. If you want to comcast dual dvr, then you get a credit for $5 towards the $11.99 charge for the dual dvr.

I asked them if I just wanted cable cards, and they said that was fine, but I would still have a cable box listed on my bill. I would be billed for each cable card on my account $5. I then asked them if the cost were justified, since I can get a box from them for $5.99. They put me on hold and said it was $3 a cable card. I said that is not what it says on your website. Put me on hold again, came back $2 per cable card. I said that that is rediculous since I wouldn't need the digital box since the tivo HD would replace it. They said that is the price.

Right now I have a comcast dual DVR, and two digital boxes(hooked up to two other tivos).

I haven't taken the Tivo HD plunge yet, since I think there are still kinks to be worked out. Plus, I'll hold out for the comcast box with TIVO software if it ever gets released.
techieunite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 04:42 PM   #3
uforia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 32
I didn't have these issues with Houston Comcast

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonorden
I go to their local store (in Webster) and they say that I cannot turn in my DVRs if I want to keep my other 4 cablecards! If I turn in the DVRs, they will deactivate my cablecards and revert me to basic digital cable.
I got rid of my HD DVR last year when S3 came out. And recently I got rid of my last digital cable box when I got a Tivo HD. So I now have 3 cable cards (2 single-stream, 1 M-Card), and didn't get any hassles like this. In fact, I'm not even paying for any of the 3 cable cards.

I do most of my Comcast swaps at the Webster, TX location too. Although I had to hit Pasadena and Pearland to get M-Cards for myself and parents' THD. Didn't have any of the BS that you ran into.

I did, however, make all my changes right before they changed prices on everything (where the cable box went from $7/mo to $4/mo). So maybe they change a policy at that time or something.

Ben
in Clear Lake
uforia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 09:17 PM   #4
taba469
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 53
I wasn't hassled

This past week I returned my only Comcast HD-DVR as I now have two S3 with a total of 4 cable cards. I did return mine to the SH290 store but they never said a word about any requirement to keep at least one DVR or cable box. I told them I still wanted HD service and I knew there was a nomial monthly fee. Haven't received my first bill but will be checking each line item.
__________________
Tivo Series 3 - unhacked, 300 hrs, Lifetime
Tivo Series 3 - unhacked, 300 hrs, Monthly
taba469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |