TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-23-2007, 02:16 PM   #1
cr33p
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ann Arbor MI
Posts: 644
1TB WD Green SATA hdd 259.00 @ Best Buy

Just thought Id let everyone know I saw the sales ad today for BB and they have the new WD Green 1TB hard drives for sale, 259.00 after 90 dollar instant savings. What a steal.
cr33p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 02:35 PM   #2
gamndbndr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 48
And the Antec MX-1 enclosure is $49.99 after in-store savings at BB.

There are Seagate drives on sale, too, but none in the "recommended" list that I saw.

</plunk head>And I just installed the external 750G drive last week!
gamndbndr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 03:00 PM   #3
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,006
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr33p
Just thought Id let everyone know I saw the sales ad today for BB and they have the new WD Green 1TB hard drives for sale, 259.00 after 90 dollar instant savings. What a steal.
I got the only three in CT so they may be hard to find; oh and this 1Tb Best Buy sale was posted 3 or four days ago on this form on a different thread that i am not going to look for.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 03:25 PM   #4
lawilson2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 438
Man, what a great deal. I just got a 750GB from Microcenter a week ago for $229 for my PC (I already have a 250GB in there as C drive). It's tempting to take it back and get this. Only thing is that I don't trust that I can wipe it good enough where my data couldn't be extracted. Or, I could just get this as an additional drive and have 2TB of space. I'd definitely have to make this a true media center PC if I did that!
lawilson2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 06:24 PM   #5
cr33p
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ann Arbor MI
Posts: 644
Yeah I just installed a 750 last week myself, went with a Seagate because it was a great deal but I can say that I wish I hadnt, its too loud Oh well.
cr33p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 10:36 PM   #6
lawilson2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 438
I picked up this drive. Now I have to think about where I want to put it. I can't put it as an external on the Tivo; I already have a 750GB on it and if I removed it I'd lose all of my programs on there. So I may either build a NAS with it or add it to my current desktop. Great deal though!
lawilson2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 11:08 PM   #7
tootal2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 946
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr33p
Just thought Id let everyone know I saw the sales ad today for BB and they have the new WD Green 1TB hard drives for sale, 259.00 after 90 dollar instant savings. What a steal.
How do these compare to the SeagateŽ DB35? Are they made for dvr use?
tootal2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 11:29 PM   #8
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by lawilson2
I picked up this drive. Now I have to think about where I want to put it. I can't put it as an external on the Tivo; I already have a 750GB on it and if I removed it I'd lose all of my programs on there. So I may either build a NAS with it or add it to my current desktop. Great deal though!
Just copy the 750GB drive to the 1000GB drive. It will work fine with WinMFS.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 11:51 PM   #9
lawilson2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 438
I thought about that, but I've decided to just use it for my desktop. I'm not even close to using all of the space in my Tivo currently with 1TB combined in there now. I'll use this drive as a video/movie drive in my PC. I want to use my PC as more of a media center, and I have my xbox 360 in the living room as my extender.

Thanks though!
lawilson2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2007, 08:13 AM   #10
cr33p
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ann Arbor MI
Posts: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by tootal2
How do these compare to the SeagateŽ DB35? Are they made for dvr use?
I do not have any specific information about the drives. Sorry
cr33p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2007, 09:43 AM   #11
joneSi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 95
I just got mine yesterday to replace my WD 750gb HDD in my Tivo HD. Yes...I wanted MORE! I can't ever have enough HD content stored on my setup. I have yet to use a DB35 Drive or anything qualified to go into a DVR and I have never had an issue with heat (including putting 2 drives inside of a series 2 that shipped with one). I have used mostly WD's but have also used the occasional Seagate. Not one has failed on me. I'm sure for noise concerns, if you have them, there are quieter drives, but I can't hear the HDD running from my couch with or without the tv running.

My .02
joneSi
joneSi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2007, 10:15 AM   #12
cr33p
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ann Arbor MI
Posts: 644
I have installed drives in all of my tivo units in the past and have had no issues, I would never deny the fact that a DB35 is designed for a DVR however I think a lot of it is marketing hype. I think the WD drives are the way to go.
cr33p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2007, 11:39 AM   #13
jstrangfeld
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15
How much $ do the Hitachi / Seagate 1 TB drives cost comparatively speaking?
jstrangfeld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2007, 01:22 PM   #14
tootal2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 946
How do i install one of these into my tivo hd? Is it hard to to do?
tootal2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2007, 01:23 PM   #15
lawilson2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 438
That Dataguard software doesn't work under Vista which sucks. I wanted to use their tool vs Vista's tool to properly format the drive...

Edit: Scratch that, I forgot about using XP compatibility mode. Worked perfectly.

Last edited by lawilson2 : 09-24-2007 at 01:35 PM.
lawilson2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2007, 02:00 PM   #16
richsadams
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 8,853
Quote:
Originally Posted by tootal2
How do i install one of these into my tivo hd? Is it hard to to do?
TiVo HD internal HDD upgrade info.
richsadams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2007, 06:05 PM   #17
rmassey
Damn, these are fun!
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 707
I just picked up this combo (WD 1TB + MX-1) at Bestbuy. Looks like I found the only (or last) one available in my town. total cost was ~ $333 w/ tax.

I just hooked it up to the S3 and now have 165 HRs of HD recording capacity. - Cool

Seems to be dead quiet to me, but I have my S3 on a rack outside of my HT room, so it's not really a big concern to me.

I was looking at getting a SG 750 from TheNerds and that was gonna be about $320 shipped with the MX-1, so for +$13, I got an extra 250 GB of recording space. Seems like a no brainer to me.

Let's hope it holds up with the fall TV season starting tonight.


__________________
Lifetime Series 3 upgraded to 1.5TB
Lifetime Tivo HD upgraded to 1.0TB
OTA HD + Netflix = more content than I can watch
rmassey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 04:44 AM   #18
c3
TiVoholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 3,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmassey
Tivo S3 - Stock 160GB
Tivo HD - 250GB + 1TB eSata
Something is wrong with your signature.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Plus (10/18/2013): WD30EURS
5 TiVo HDs: WD10EACS, WD1000FYPS, WD10EACS, WD5000ABYS, WD10EADS
Addicted to TiVo since 9/16/2000, all lifetime subs
c3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 08:15 AM   #19
Televisionary
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by tootal2
How do these compare to the SeagateŽ DB35? Are they made for dvr use?
Considering that their "Green" selling point is that they save energy by sleeping and/or using lower-power modes when not needed, I would say the designers' first thought wasn't 24/7 instantaneous availability. A TiVo would never use these green features.

I tend to be cautious, and go for the DVR-specific Seagate DB35s and their 5-year warrantee. Still, folks here have reported good luck with pretty every drive on the market. And it seems every drive has at least a few people who have had problems, too. In the end, it's probably more luck of the draw than how a drive is marketed.

Beyond that, it's probably hard to go wrong with a drive with a 3 or 5 year warrantee, and has good acoustic specs, if you're sensitive to noise.

My free advice, and worth every cent!

-T

PS> One caveat I should add: get a name brand drive from a well-known vendor. I tried to save some money, and ordered two Maxtor 80G drives from a small California outfit. While they superficially looked like Maxtor drives I'd seen, one had a label with a different font than usual and a serial number of 00000000, and the other had a blank label with no printing. Both drives failed within a year, and of course there was no warrantee at all.

Last edited by Televisionary : 09-25-2007 at 08:23 AM. Reason: added PS
Televisionary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 08:36 AM   #20
rmassey
Damn, these are fun!
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 707
Quote:
Originally Posted by c3
Something is wrong with your signature.
Doh! - thanks
__________________
Lifetime Series 3 upgraded to 1.5TB
Lifetime Tivo HD upgraded to 1.0TB
OTA HD + Netflix = more content than I can watch
rmassey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 08:44 AM   #21
rmassey
Damn, these are fun!
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 707
Quote:
Considering that their "Green" selling point is that they save energy by sleeping and/or using lower-power modes when not needed,
reading the manual, I see that it mentions a jumper will allow it to boot in sleep mode for servers only. And that it can run from 5400 to 7200 as needed. Perhaps this is the only 'green' aspect. if the jumper is not set it will not assume sleep mode. Not sure if the variable rpm is good or bad.

i recorded all the HD shows last night with no problems. long term use is still under review.
__________________
Lifetime Series 3 upgraded to 1.5TB
Lifetime Tivo HD upgraded to 1.0TB
OTA HD + Netflix = more content than I can watch
rmassey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 11:06 AM   #22
c3
TiVoholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 3,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by Televisionary
Considering that their "Green" selling point is that they save energy by sleeping and/or using lower-power modes when not needed, I would say the designers' first thought wasn't 24/7 instantaneous availability. A TiVo would never use these green features.
The operating power is much lower than other drives, so it's "green" in that sense. The terms "DVR drives" and "24x7 drives" are mostly marketing.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Plus (10/18/2013): WD30EURS
5 TiVo HDs: WD10EACS, WD1000FYPS, WD10EACS, WD5000ABYS, WD10EADS
Addicted to TiVo since 9/16/2000, all lifetime subs
c3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 11:38 AM   #23
rmassey
Damn, these are fun!
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 707
BTW, I listened to it closely today for noise and the S3 HD was making more noise than the WD+Antec.
__________________
Lifetime Series 3 upgraded to 1.5TB
Lifetime Tivo HD upgraded to 1.0TB
OTA HD + Netflix = more content than I can watch
rmassey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 12:50 PM   #24
remichel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 9
I was waiting for e-sata support on a TIVO HD, but just couldn't wait any longer. I upgraded my internal dive today with the WD green 1TB drive from Best Buy and the upgrade was extremely smooth (used MFSlive 1.3b)! I bought the drive yesterday and used the 10% BBY coupon that discussed on this forum. Final cost for the drive was $233. During the upgrade the drive was much cooler than the stock WD 160 GB drive and was very quiet. My TIVO is back up and running with 131 hours of HD capacity!!!
remichel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 03:31 PM   #25
rmassey
Damn, these are fun!
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 707
with 165 HRs HD or 1561 SD capacity, the fun part is to leave suggestions on and see how many programs get added to the folder I'm shooting for it to hit hundreds in a day or so
__________________
Lifetime Series 3 upgraded to 1.5TB
Lifetime Tivo HD upgraded to 1.0TB
OTA HD + Netflix = more content than I can watch
rmassey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 04:13 PM   #26
remichel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 9
I upgraded to the 1tb WD this morning and I just noticed that I'm getting pixilation and stuttering on HD channels occasionally. Not sure if this is a coincidence, but I haven't seen any pixilation since I installed the system about 3 weeks ago. I have a Motorola M card and all has been well until today.
remichel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 04:23 PM   #27
c3
TiVoholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 3,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by remichel
I upgraded to the 1tb WD this morning and I just noticed that I'm getting pixilation and stuttering on HD channels occasionally.
I would highly recommend running complete (full surface) read and write tests on hard drives before putting them in service. I do that for all of my drives, PC and TiVo.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Plus (10/18/2013): WD30EURS
5 TiVo HDs: WD10EACS, WD1000FYPS, WD10EACS, WD5000ABYS, WD10EADS
Addicted to TiVo since 9/16/2000, all lifetime subs
c3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 04:54 PM   #28
remichel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 9
I will report back to the group if this issue continues and will also run a surface scan if I experience this again
remichel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 05:10 PM   #29
jlib
Lean Forward
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Carmel Valley, California
Posts: 1,063
Quote:
Originally Posted by c3
The operating power is much lower than other drives, so it's "green" in that sense...
C3, do you know how they are able to consume less energy (not counting any averaging due to suspend mode, just full on) since it has four platters like other similar drives (Hitachi has 5, though). Is it just better designed and more efficient motors? It would make sense if it had 3 platters and then would need less power to spin the mass.
__________________
Series3 Terabyte TiVo
jlib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 05:20 PM   #30
jlib
Lean Forward
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Carmel Valley, California
Posts: 1,063
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmassey
...if the jumper is not set it will not assume sleep mode...
Note that when used with the TiVo, it and any drive with a sleep or suspend mode will never go to sleep regardless of how that feature is jumpered. Nor will it ever throttle down to 5400 either. Good thing, too, because it takes a full 16 seconds to wake up. The S3/HD will be constantly recording even when put in TiVo standby mode so the drive will never ever be given the opportunity to start the suspend timer. It is a feature one need not be concerned with at all.
__________________
Series3 Terabyte TiVo
jlib is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |