TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2007, 01:20 PM   #721
ah30k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,206
I could never watch S2 -> S2 transfers in real time. I think people forget to specify their recording quality when stating S2 transfer times. I use Best and can't get anywhere near realtime.
ah30k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 03:26 PM   #722
HDTiVo
Not so Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by ah30k
I could never watch S2 -> S2 transfers in real time. I think people forget to specify their recording quality when stating S2 transfer times. I use Best and can't get anywhere near realtime.
This makes me think of a question for Adam:

S3 Best is extremely high bit rate...over 7mbps. Are you transfering that to an S2?

(Also S3 high is nearly 6mbps, higher than S2 Best @5.5mbps)
HDTiVo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 04:00 PM   #723
gbrandenstein
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1
Let me see if I get this right

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoPony
Yes, even from a Mac.

Mac support is via Toast 8 or Popcorn 3.

Cheers,
Pony

For the same functionality that Windows users get for FREE, Mac users have to purchase a $70.00 piece of software?? Am I the only one that feels that this is unfair on Tivos part? What does Tivo have against Macs??
gbrandenstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 04:01 PM   #724
bizzy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 707
Quote:
Originally Posted by dougdingle
For one thing, there's a bunch of network overhead in every home network and networked machine. Cheap routers and hubs, unmanaged switches, TONS of packet collisions.
Collisions!? Hubs!?

Good god man, join the rest of us who finished the 1990's almost a decade ago.
bizzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 05:21 PM   #725
SullyND
L:27-31
 
SullyND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 7,634
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbrandenstein
For the same functionality that Windows users get for FREE, Mac users have to purchase a $70.00 piece of software?? Am I the only one that feels that this is unfair on Tivos part? What does Tivo have against Macs??
Welcome to last year.

Look up TiVoDecode Manager. It's free and it rocks.
__________________
Earl: A purpose is a great thing to have, it gives you a reason to wake up every morning.
Randy: So a purpose is like a box of powdered donut holes?
Earl: Exactly.
SullyND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 05:25 PM   #726
bkdtv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: DC Metro Area
Posts: 7,902
Does anyone know of an easy to use program for Windows that will accept high-definition MPG files and convert them to lower-resolution MPEG-4 or MPEG-4 AVC for portable media players? Ideally, it would have built-in profiles for common video players.

(I'm aware of many such programs, but they aren't easy to use. This is not for me, it is for the stickied FAQ.)
bkdtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 05:30 PM   #727
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,184
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkdtv
Does anyone know of an easy to use program for Windows that will accept high-definition MPG files and convert them to lower-resolution MPEG-4 or MPEG-4 AVC for portable media players? Ideally, it would have built-in profiles for common video players.

(I'm aware of many such programs, but they aren't easy to use. This is not for me, it is for the stickied FAQ.)
I thought Tivo Desktop Plus is supposed to be able to do this.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 05:33 PM   #728
MichaelK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbrandenstein
For the same functionality that Windows users get for FREE, Mac users have to purchase a $70.00 piece of software?? Am I the only one that feels that this is unfair on Tivos part? What does Tivo have against Macs??
the same thing every other software company does- limited market so they have to decide if it's worth their limited resources to develop for macs. Tivo decided not to spend their own money to develop for macs so they let roxio do it for them- unfortunatly roxio makes money selling that software.


I'm not sure- but do a search I think you can hack some of the tivodesktop functionality for free with open source stuff.
MichaelK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 05:36 PM   #729
MichaelK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj
I thought Tivo Desktop Plus is supposed to be able to do this.
sure does- very simple and easy. But not free. I guess the OP is lookign for free too?

That I've never found.
MichaelK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 06:01 PM   #730
bkdtv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: DC Metro Area
Posts: 7,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkdtv
Does anyone know of an easy to use program for Windows that will accept high-definition MPG files and convert them to lower-resolution MPEG-4 or MPEG-4 AVC for portable media players? Ideally, it would have built-in profiles for common video players.

(I'm aware of many such programs, but they aren't easy to use. This is not for me, it is for the stickied FAQ.)
I thought Tivo Desktop Plus is supposed to be able to do this.
It does.

But Tivo Desktop Plus doesn't help you if you want to convert recordings after you've removed the commercials with another program.

For example, suppose you want to remove the commercials with VideoRedo and then encode the MPG into a format your iPod will accept.
bkdtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 06:05 PM   #731
morac
Cat God
 
morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,492
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkdtv
It does.

But Tivo Desktop Plus doesn't help you if you want to convert recordings after you've removed the commercials with another program.

For example, suppose you want to remove the commercials with VideoRedo and then encode the MPG into a format your iPod will accept.
I know you can have VideoRedo save trimmed TiVo recordings as .TiVo files and TiVo Desktop will recognize them (including the meta data). I haven't tried to then convert it to another format, but I would think that would work.
morac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 03:39 PM   #732
MichaelK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,299
i *think* the latest tivo desktop allows after the fact conversions of .tivo files so that might work.
MichaelK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 04:01 PM   #733
Georgia Guy
Early Adapter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by ah30k
I could never watch S2 -> S2 transfers in real time. I think people forget to specify their recording quality when stating S2 transfer times. I use Best and can't get anywhere near realtime.
Until the 9.x updates, I had no trouble at all watching S2 to S2 transfers as they were taking place. All my recordings are in "best" on my S2's, and I've used both wired and wireless, and I could transfer an hour show in 25 minutes, or less.

Now, with the 9.1 and 9.2 updates, it takes 2 or 3 hours to do an S2-S2 transfer of an hour show. I even switched back to wired, thinking that might speed it up. It didn't. But the S3 is still very fast, like the S2's used to be.
__________________
Tivo S2 (350 hrs) + Tivo S2 (255 hrs) +Tivo S2 (132 hrs) + Sony SVR-2000 (135 hours) + S3 (98 HD hours)
Georgia Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 05:26 PM   #734
Laserfan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by morac
I know you can have VideoRedo save trimmed TiVo recordings as .TiVo files and TiVo Desktop will recognize them (including the meta data).
I just tried this today with an S3 HD .TiVo using VRD and it didn't work--when I put the saved files into my Tivo Recordings folder they don't appear there from the S3...

Changed .tivo to .TiVo, changed their names to the originals' names; no worky.
__________________
TiVo Series3 (v11.0d-01-2-648)
TiVo HD (v11.0d-01-2-648)
Philips HDR312 Standalone (v3.0) RETIRED-RIP
Laserfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 05:36 PM   #735
mikeyts
Wireless Wiseguy
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 2,121
Though I've had problems with messed up playback of stuff I've trimmed in VideoReDo, when I edit .TiVo files and rewrite them to the TiVo Recordings folder (or any subfolder thereof) they show up on the Now Playing List in both TiVo Desktop and under the "MyComputerName" item on my S3's Now Playing List. In fact, if I write them out in that directory tree as .mpeg files they show up in TiVo Desktop and on TiVo, sans meta-data.
__________________
Mike Scott

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" -- hookbill
mikeyts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 07:37 PM   #736
Adam1115
20,000!!!
 
Adam1115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Denver ish
Posts: 23,795
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTiVo
This makes me think of a question for Adam:

S3 Best is extremely high bit rate...over 7mbps. Are you transfering that to an S2?

(Also S3 high is nearly 6mbps, higher than S2 Best @5.5mbps)
AHHH!!

Thank you!

I think you've solved my mystery.

Yes, all of my recordings are best, and they are bigger than the S2 best. I'm sure that's why it is different.

I'm still not sure I understand why it can't transfer at 7-8 mbps though on wired ethernet....
__________________
-----------------------------
Check out my (mostly) IT blog!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Adam1115 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 08:03 PM   #737
MichaelK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,299
I'm wondering if the S3 best isn't equal to the S2 dvdr's 'extreme' setting and that's why I get decent speeds from my S2 to/from S3- there's no 'conversion' going on?
MichaelK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 02:20 PM   #738
HDTiVo
Not so Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam1115
AHHH!!

Thank you!

I think you've solved my mystery.

Yes, all of my recordings are best, and they are bigger than the S2 best. I'm sure that's why it is different.

I'm still not sure I understand why it can't transfer at 7-8 mbps though on wired ethernet....
Its the S2 and the adapter, they are too slow. Various adapters are faster/slower, but I don't remember ever getting more than 8mbps. In recent times I think my better adapters give me around 6mbps.
HDTiVo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 07:10 PM   #739
morac
Cat God
 
morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,492
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTiVo
Its the S2 and the adapter, they are too slow. Various adapters are faster/slower, but I don't remember ever getting more than 8mbps. In recent times I think my better adapters give me around 6mbps.
It also depends on what S2 you have. The older models (240) are faster than the newer ones (540). I think the DT is somewhere in between or possibly slightly faster than the 240.
morac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2007, 03:16 PM   #740
HDTiVo
Not so Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by morac
It also depends on what S2 you have. The older models (240) are faster than the newer ones (540). I think the DT is somewhere in between or possibly slightly faster than the 240.
That's right. I am using 240's.

This is not MRV, but I just used TTG from a TiVo HD for an analog Best movie which I estimate went about 7.7mbps. If that were MRV THD to THD, it would be what, 20-30% higher? So native ethernet MRV THD to THD is around 10mbps and it is not surprising to see S2s w/ adapters below 7mbps. Then there is also that issue of S3/HD to S2 conversion.

Last edited by HDTiVo : 11-08-2007 at 03:22 PM.
HDTiVo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 11:38 AM   #741
matstars
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 11
This is so confusing!
matstars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 01:06 PM   #742
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,075
Quote:
Originally Posted by matstars View Post
This is so confusing!
You necroed a thread from 2007 to say that?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 02:52 PM   #743
morac
Cat God
 
morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,492
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
You necroed a thread from 2007 to say that?
Seems on par with the rest of his posts.
morac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |