TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-06-2007, 10:41 PM   #31
brianlees
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 35
I think people are finally going to see how many shows are flagged as no copy or copy once (which was all agree sounds like won't be copyable between units). Once they do, I think they are going to be po'd.

I wish Tivo would support streaming between units ala Sling. That would eliminate this issue. HD Tivos have ethernet and wireless N (via USB add-on) is easily capable as well. But, alas, I'm sure it has been talked about here many times and I'm guessing it will never come.

I also wish I wouldn't be treated as a criminal by the media companies. I don't do bittorrent, I own all the songs on my iPod...why can't I watch a show I recorded on another device in my house. Ugh. *rant complete*
brianlees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 10:58 PM   #32
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 904
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoPony
Hey guys,

I know you've been anxiously awaiting TiVoToGo and Multi-Room Viewing on your Series3 and TiVoHD boxes.

I wanted to let you know that development has been progressing smoothly, and all is well. You can expect TTG & MRV to be available for Series3 and TiVoHD this November.
Hurrah! And please thank development for the hard work.

Scott
HerronScott is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 11:03 PM   #33
rainwater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,981
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianlees
I think people are finally going to see how many shows are flagged as no copy or copy once (which was all agree sounds like won't be copyable between units).
I believe this info is already available in the Info screen for a program unless I am mistaken.
rainwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 11:12 PM   #34
d_anders
Sr Legacy Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Twin Cities - Minnesota
Posts: 761
Excellent, Excellent, Excellent.

A great news day for TiVo.

I was going to ask about Rhapsody, but I'll start asking more about that tomorrow
__________________
-Dean

Tip 2 - Use hard wired ethernet or MOCA adapters

2 Premieres - Current
Series 1 - Retired
Series 2 - Retired
Series 2 DT - Retired
TiVo HD - Retired

Last edited by d_anders : 09-06-2007 at 11:23 PM.
d_anders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 11:23 PM   #35
d_anders
Sr Legacy Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Twin Cities - Minnesota
Posts: 761
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoREvanescence
This is great news. I only wish I could use networking on my Tivo though=\. My university's firewall blocks its access to the network and tivo tells me it cannot find a dctp server.
What's a dctp server? Do you mean DHCP server? Do you have a router connected between your dorm room ethernet jack and your TiVo? Your TiVo should be getting it's ip address from your router first, then going out from there.
__________________
-Dean

Tip 2 - Use hard wired ethernet or MOCA adapters

2 Premieres - Current
Series 1 - Retired
Series 2 - Retired
Series 2 DT - Retired
TiVo HD - Retired
d_anders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 11:32 PM   #36
mikeyts
Wireless Wiseguy
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 2,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainwater
I believe this info is already available in the Info screen for a program unless I am mistaken.
You are correct. If you go to the program information dialog for a saved recording and hit the INFO button, you get a dialog labelled "Program Details". There will be sections for "Title", "Episode Title" and "Content Rating", and if the recording is copy protected, those will be followed by a section labeled "Restrictions" which will read:
Quote:
Due to policy set by the copyright holder, this recording: Cannot be transferred to VCR, DVD or any other media device. To learn more, visit www.tivo.com/copyprotection.
(The way it's worded and punctuated, it looks as if there could be something else where "Cannot be transferred..." is, but I've never seen anything else).

There's no way for over-the-air content to be marked as protected (the dread Broadcast Flag was about marking OTA for some limited protection, but the legislation was repealed and has not been reincarnated). FCC regulations do not allow anything in the core basic cable tier to be copy protected at all; FCC regs also require that all rebroadcast of over-the-air channels be positioned in the core basic tier, so network HDTV cannot be copy protected. Anything outside of the core basic tier (expanded basic and premium subscription channels) can be marked for copy protection, but won't necessarily be. Looking at the stuff on my S3 right now, the recordings from Showtime, HBO and TNT (movies, Californication, Dexter, The Closer) are all copy protected; a recording of the US Open Tennis Championships from Universal HD isn't, nor are a couple of things from the Sci Fi Channel.
__________________
Mike Scott

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" -- hookbill
mikeyts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 11:33 PM   #37
jaydfwtx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Just wanted to add my voice for getting Mac support.
jaydfwtx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 11:40 PM   #38
alansplace
------ Alan ------
 
alansplace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 804
Big Grin TTG & MRV Coming in November for Series3 & TiVoHD

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoPony

You can expect TTG & MRV to be available for Series3 and TiVoHD this November.

--
Alan
__________________
TCD540040 Lifetime
TCD652160 Monthly MSD
TCD652160 Monthly MSD
Toshiba RD-XS32S (DVR/DVD burner)
alansplace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 12:11 AM   #39
mikeyts
Wireless Wiseguy
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 2,121
Curious, I just played around a little with recording what's showing now on my local cable system (my provider is North San Diego County Cox). NFL Yearbook on ESPN2 HD was protected, but Baseball Tonight on ESPN HD wasn't. Fighter Pilot: Operation Red Flag (a documentary) on MOJO was not protected, but Man-Made on National Geographic HD was. Red Hot Chili Peppers Live In Milan on MTV HD was not protected, The Thomas Crown Affair on TNT HD was. Sharkman (documentary) on Discovery HD Theater was not protected, but CSI: Miami on A&E HD was.

It's not clear whether these protections are on a program-by-program basis or whether whole channels are set protected; I suspect the latter, and things might not be set up the way that they intended (ESPN2 HD being protected while ESPN HD is not seems suspicious). Doubtless, the way protections are set will vary wildly by cable provider.
__________________
Mike Scott

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" -- hookbill
mikeyts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 12:14 AM   #40
SnakeEyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,240
Mac support?
SnakeEyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 12:33 AM   #41
drew00001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 311
What relation will the Comcast Tivo have in all this? Just wanted to know before I buy a THD, especially b/c of SV and VOD.
drew00001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 12:40 AM   #42
mikesay98
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 92
As long as I can take content from my S3 and transfer it to my computer to put on my iPod, I'm completely happy. Please tell me this means that, cause it sure sounds like it!
mikesay98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 12:56 AM   #43
mikeyts
Wireless Wiseguy
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 2,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by drew00001
What relation will the Comcast Tivo have in all this? Just wanted to know before I buy a THD, especially b/c of SV and VOD.
The feature-set of the UI the cable companies have commissioned from TiVo to run on Motorola and SA boxes is controlled by them and I strongly doubt that they'd order TTG (although I could believe they might go for MRV). In any case, doesn't TTG require an Ethernet connection? Do any of the leased cable boxes have one?
__________________
Mike Scott

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" -- hookbill
mikeyts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 12:59 AM   #44
bwhaler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 22
Well, this is good news, although I have been let down on this topic before so I am cautious.

I own one Series 3, and without these abilities and Mac support, I have held back from getting new S3 or HD's Tivos for my other 4 TV's. I have a bunch of friends in the neighborhood who are the same way.

I just hope Tivo understands that Mac is a key segment since it is generally folks with higher spends--the customers you WANT to have.

Deliver these features and Mac compatibility, and I'll order 4 new ones with subscriptions before the holiday.
bwhaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 01:27 AM   #45
jb007
Secret Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: San Diego, CA USA
Posts: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaydfwtx
Just wanted to add my voice for getting Mac support.
Ditto!!!
jb007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 01:58 AM   #46
jfh3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Denver area
Posts: 4,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoPony
Hey guys,

I know you've been anxiously awaiting TiVoToGo and Multi-Room Viewing on your Series3 and TiVoHD boxes.

I wanted to let you know that development has been progressing smoothly, and all is well. You can expect TTG & MRV to be available for Series3 and TiVoHD this November.
Great news !

(Good thinking to have the retailer demo videos on the Tivo HD boxes already have this information embedded in them. Now if you could just find a way to have more stores actually hook up a unit in demo mode)
jfh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 02:13 AM   #47
montivette
Registered User
 
montivette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 129
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turtleboy
But what will people complain about now?
Maybe the software won't work correctly on Vista and we can complain about it.

I bet people will find something else to complain about. Nobody is ever totally satisfied it seems.
montivette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 02:19 AM   #48
vman41
Omega Consumer
 
vman41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 8,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoPony
It's not far off guys.
It depends upon how busy your life is. The rest of September, all of October, and an indeterminate number of days into November is just barely over the line of 'far off' to 'not far off' to me. To some people, that time span is more like 'before you know it.

Last edited by vman41 : 09-07-2007 at 02:25 AM.
vman41 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 02:53 AM   #49
Phantom Gremlin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Tualatin, Oregon
Posts: 1,542
I don't have anything new to say, but can't resist chiming in with a Thank You to TiVo And TiVoPony for announcing this now.

I think Santa is bringing two more TiVo HDs to our household for Christmas.
Phantom Gremlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 03:59 AM   #50
jfh3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Denver area
Posts: 4,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoPony
These features will provide support for video transfers between Series3 & Series2 systems and between a Series3/Series2 system and a PC. High Definition content will not be supported for transfer or playback on a Series2 system (Series2's just can't play HD), and copy-protected High Def or Standard Def content cannot be transferred
Does "copy protected" mean "anything from a digital channel with a non-zero CCI value"?
jfh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 04:00 AM   #51
jfh3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Denver area
Posts: 4,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phantom Gremlin
I think Santa is bringing two more TiVo HDs to our household for Christmas.
It will be interesting to see how many of the S3/THD "I'm not buying another box until Tivo enables MRV" crowd actually goes out and gets another box ...
jfh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 05:47 AM   #52
Martin Tupper
Pontiff Emeritus
 
Martin Tupper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,322
Woo-Hoo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Martin Tupper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 06:11 AM   #53
nhaigh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ, USA
Posts: 984
Yes !! Now I'll go out and buy a couple more HD TiVo's
__________________
Sony KDS-60A2000
Sony KDL-46V3000
Sony KDL-40EX400
1 x TiVo S3 HD left
3 TiVo Premiers
Verizon FiOS - No Copy Protection :)
nhaigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 07:10 AM   #54
SullyND
W: 48-17
 
SullyND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 7,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoPony
You can expect TTG & MRV to be available for Series3 and TiVoHD this November.
Wow, awesome news, I'm impressed that it's pinned down to a date rather than "soon". I don't think I've seen that before. Hey look, no space after TiVo for the HD!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turtleboy
But what will people complain about now?
Fof answered you two posts down:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fofer
Even from a Mac?
My guess, Mac Support, Copy Protection, (*TiVo sucks, it won't let me transfer ANYTHING, because their CableCo is screwed up), SDV, and Lifetime Subscriptions/ability/inability to transfer/purchase. Did I miss any of the usual suspects? Oh and poor parking habits, seat reclining, and gas station conversationalists.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyts
In any case, doesn't TTG require an Ethernet connection? Do any of the leased cable boxes have one?
Ethernet, or USB and a compatible adapter, and yes, the Moto boxes have both (or at least did last I looked)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfh3
It will be interesting to see how many of the S3/THD "I'm not buying another box until Tivo enables MRV" crowd actually goes out and gets another box ...
Some will become owners, others will become the

"I'm not buying another box until Tivo addresses SDV" crowd

OR the

"I'm not buying another box until Tivo brings back Lifetime Subscriptions" crowd
__________________
Earl: A purpose is a great thing to have, it gives you a reason to wake up every morning.
Randy: So a purpose is like a box of powdered donut holes?
Earl: Exactly.

Last edited by SullyND : 09-07-2007 at 07:19 AM.
SullyND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 07:22 AM   #55
TiivoDog
FIOS Fast!!!
 
TiivoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Central PA
Posts: 238
As a proud owner of 7 Tivo units, this is an epic step forward for Tivo, its community (TivoNation) and Cablelabs equipped technology at large!!! As everyone on this board is aware, it has been a long struggle for Tivo to gain support from Cablelabs in order to extend their services into this new frontier, which will be certain to gain further applaud / accolades from its users.

Additionally, I am now anxious to hear commentary from Tivo's naysayers as the S2/S3 Tivo line will be now have common functionality less HD content of course and have units (Tivo HD) within the financial grasp of virtually everyone!!!

Again, great news and can't wait for the upgrade!!
__________________
Tivo is a way of life!!!

4 Series3

2 Series2

Sony Google TV

2 AppleTVs

Onkyo NR-1008

HP MSS EX475 (OS 3.0)

GigE LAN

FIOS TV (127 HD Channels)
FIOS Data (35/35 Mbps)
TiivoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 07:53 AM   #56
Revolutionary
Too sleepy for TV...
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 575
That is fricking awesome! Get me some HD source content for that iPod Touch that I absolutely must have! Sweet!
__________________
"Mmm... forbidden donut."
Revolutionary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 08:03 AM   #57
chazas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 144
I just bought an S3 for my main TV and I am, for the most part, thrilled with it. When this happens I will buy HDs for my other two TVs.
chazas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 08:13 AM   #58
ZeoTiVo
I can't explain
 
ZeoTiVo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 25,486
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfh3
It will be interesting to see how many of the S3/THD "I'm not buying another box until Tivo enables MRV" crowd actually goes out and gets another box ...
It's begining to look a lot like Christmas


PS - HD to PC? well the time and file size to do that will give people something to complain about
__________________
You just need to disable your sense of shame for all humanity and click past the break
ZeoTiVo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 08:32 AM   #59
doormat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Vegas
Posts: 146
TiVoPony, is the software that makes this happen run as a tray icon or a Windows Service?

I'd like a Windows Service because then I can install it on my Windows Home Server box. Maybe even make a WHS add-in...
__________________
S2 540040 - 40GB+120GB (RIP - dead and I couldn't bring it back to life)
TiVoHD - 400GB
doormat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 08:55 AM   #60
Beantownbeanie
Registered User
 
Beantownbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 135
THis is great. Now I can get a Tivo HD for the bedroom and off load programs to watch from the living room Tivo HD. I won't need to get 2 more cable cards unless I decide that I need to watch something that is not OTA live in the bedroom.
Beantownbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |