TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-06-2007, 07:08 PM   #1
TiVoPony
TiVo Forum Special Member
 
TiVoPony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Alviso, California
Posts: 2,194
Arrow TTG & MRV Coming in November for Series3 & TiVoHD

Hey guys,

I know you've been anxiously awaiting TiVoToGo and Multi-Room Viewing on your Series3 and TiVoHD boxes.

I wanted to let you know that development has been progressing smoothly, and all is well. You can expect TTG & MRV to be available for Series3 and TiVoHD this November.

These features will provide support for video transfers between Series3 & Series2 systems and between a Series3/Series2 system and a PC. High Definition content will not be supported for transfer or playback on a Series2 system (Series2's just can't play HD), and copy-protected High Def or Standard Def content cannot be transferred (same as our current Series2 products). The aptly yet unofficially named TiVoToComeBack also will be supported, including HD content (originally recorded on a TiVo DVR).

It's not far off guys.

Pony

ps - If you've been beta testing this stuff, you have a beta forum to participate in. Shoo! Get out of here! Remember the first rule of beta club...

[edit - clarified that HD TTCB is initially for content originally recorded on a TiVo DVR, not HD content from other sources]
__________________
Director of Product Marketing
TiVo Inc.

Last edited by TiVoPony : 09-07-2007 at 01:54 PM.
TiVoPony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 07:08 PM   #2
Fofer
༺♥༻
 
Fofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Neither here nor there
Posts: 69,007
TC CLUB MEMBER
Sweet! Happy to see the "official" news (finally.) The Series 3 (and TiVoHD) now rock completely, no excuses.
Fofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 07:12 PM   #3
flc
Registered User
 
flc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Huntersville, NC.
Posts: 22
Sweet news, I'll be glad to get TTCB back
flc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 07:14 PM   #4
Turtleboy
Registered User
 
Turtleboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Ft. Lauderdale
Posts: 47,377
TC CLUB MEMBER
But what will people complain about now?

Good job!
Turtleboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 07:18 PM   #5
buddhawood
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Anderson, IN. USA
Posts: 473
Will shows recorded in HD be able to be transfer and be shown in SD on the S2?
buddhawood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 07:21 PM   #6
Fofer
༺♥༻
 
Fofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Neither here nor there
Posts: 69,007
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoPony
The aptly yet unofficially named TiVoToComeBack also will be supported, including HD content.
Even from a Mac?
Fofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 07:22 PM   #7
MickeS
Registered User
 
MickeS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 25,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by buddhawood
Will shows recorded in HD be able to be transfer and be shown in SD on the S2?
From the OP: "High Definition content will not be supported for transfer /../ on a Series2 system"

This is good news!

A question: will the Series 3 TTCB be MPEG-4 compatible?
MickeS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 07:27 PM   #8
s2kdave
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 515
finally!! I'm excited.
s2kdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 07:43 PM   #9
bubba1972
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 192
Is there a way to tell which programs I have currently recorded are copy protected? It would be nice to get a feel for what won't be transferable.
bubba1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 07:44 PM   #10
yunlin12
Tivonation Citizen
 
yunlin12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,221
From TivoDeskTop, the shows on my S2 that are not available for TTG are marked with a X next to them, instead of the green or yellow dots like the ones you see in NowPlayingList.
__________________
ReplayTV 3000 (RIP)
Hughes HDVR2 DTivo (adopted by friend)
Tivo S2 Dual Tuner (Craiglisted)
Tivo S3 750GB (decommissioned)
Tivo HD 750GB (adopted by parents)
Tivo Premiere
Tivo Premiere XL
yunlin12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 08:10 PM   #11
brianlees
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 35
OK, I assume that since HD is so locked up by the networks it won't be transferrable between S3 devices? TivoPony doesn't mention this specific relationship...and the whole reason I would purchase I a second TivoHD.
brianlees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 08:11 PM   #12
Turtleboy
Registered User
 
Turtleboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Ft. Lauderdale
Posts: 47,377
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianlees
OK, I assume that since HD is so locked up by the networks it won't be transferrable between S3 devices? TivoPony doesn't mention this specific relationship...and the whole reason I would purchase I a second TivoHD.
Yes, HD will be transferable between S3 devices, HD Tivos, and Computers, and between them.

ONLY those shows that are copy-protected flagged can't be transferred.
Turtleboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 08:14 PM   #13
TexasGrillChef
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,763
Yunlin12,

Since I don't have a s2, and obviously TivoDeskTop does not yet show content on an S3

What I would like to know... is what shows are you getting an "X" marked next to them that ARE copy protected and are unable to transfer?

Are they from the Major Networks that are also OTA (Such as NBC, Fox, CBS etc...) or
are they from the cable side networks? (ESPN, Showtime, HBO... etc.)

Just curious what shows are coming with the copy protected flag and which are not

thanks

TGC
TexasGrillChef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 08:20 PM   #14
Ilene
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Plano, Tx
Posts: 111
Just in Time for Christmas!

Thanks Pony for the update! Now all of us can tell Santa that we want a TiVoHD for Christmas to go as a companion for our S3s.

The pretty bow would be the ability to either transfer Lifetime from our current S2s or even better - a one day after Thanksgiving sale that bundles Lifetime membership (non-transferrable) with a TiVoHD or S3 purchase (Must have purchased an HD series TiVo between 9/06 and 11/07, i.e a loyalty reward for those of us that have endured pixelation and cableCard battles).

I can dream...
__________________
Premiere Elite
TiVo HD
Series 3 Lifetime 750GB
Series 2 Lifetime (retired)
Pioneer 810H Recorder Lifetime (retired)
Verizon Fios
Ilene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 08:20 PM   #15
ZeoTiVo
I can't explain
 
ZeoTiVo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 25,503
Wow, I never would have guessed it would be by the end of this year

Nice work TiVo engineers
__________________
You just need to disable your sense of shame for all humanity and click past the break
ZeoTiVo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 08:25 PM   #16
roosta69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Nice work is an understatement
roosta69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 08:29 PM   #17
ah30k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,206
Once this kicks in to wide use we are really going to find out which MSOs are incorrectly tagging their transmissions with respect to CCI bits. I imagine any digital show tagged as 'Copy Once' will not be able to be transferred.

On the up-side, there was fear that we would not be able to transfer ANY digital shows. I was fully expecting the first incarnation of this to be for analog channels only.

This is great news. I might even consider a THD companion to my S3 and burn off that old grandfathered S1.
ah30k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 08:32 PM   #18
TexasGrillChef
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,763
One more question...

Can someone explain TivoToComeBack? exactly what is that? Is that video transfer from PC to Tivo? Or what?

Thanks

TGC
TexasGrillChef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 08:39 PM   #19
andyw715
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 4,434
yes like dumping your home videos in mpeg format to the My Tivo Recordings folder in My Documents, now shows up in Now Playing (with a little computer icon next to it, ala, transfer from computer to tivo and watch)
andyw715 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 08:40 PM   #20
flc
Registered User
 
flc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Huntersville, NC.
Posts: 22
in a word... yes
flc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 08:56 PM   #21
kmill14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 196
Wasn't part of the hold-up something to do with CableLabs? Can we assume if this finally went thru, that CableCards and the new "dongle" might be on the way as well?
kmill14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 09:18 PM   #22
Gene S
Registered User
 
Gene S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belleville, IL
Posts: 505
Great news!! When enabled I can get rid of my monthly S2 and get a T-HD to go along with my S3!!
Gene S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 09:39 PM   #23
cwoody222
Registered User
 
cwoody222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 10,990
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fofer
Even from a Mac?
They're "working on it"

Sorry, couldn't resist.

Pony... can you confirm whether Mac users will be left out of all the fun or not? Even if you don't officially support it will we be able to do what we can with S2s in terms of browsings to the Now Playing list and manually downloading the files?
__________________
--Chris
cwoody222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 09:48 PM   #24
LoREvanescence
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,730
This is great news. I only wish I could use networking on my Tivo though=\. My university's firewall blocks its access to the network and tivo tells me it cannot find a dctp server.
LoREvanescence is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 09:54 PM   #25
mazman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alamo, CA
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoPony
ps - If you've been beta testing this stuff, you have a beta forum to participate in. Shoo! Get out of here! Remember the first rule of beta club...
Can you provide the link to update/signup for beta testing?
mazman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 09:59 PM   #26
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 16,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyw715
yes like dumping your home videos in mpeg format to the My Tivo Recordings folder in My Documents, now shows up in Now Playing (with a little computer icon next to it, ala, transfer from computer to tivo and watch)
But you can transfer a show from Tivo -> computer (hopefully Mac as others have requested) -> Tivo, and it will be unrecognizeable from the original recording, right?

i.e. it won't have the computer icon..? There are times I'd use a computer as offline storage if I could then dump it back to the Tivo. (I've only had S1s previously.. now I have an S3 and would use this for this purpose..)
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 10:01 PM   #27
BlackBetty
I <3 TiVo!
 
BlackBetty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,396
whats the latest on eSata? That is the final link now. Would be awesome for TiVo to list these features.....MRV, TTG, and eSata expansion in time for the Holiday season.
BlackBetty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 10:15 PM   #28
navman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 18
I second blackbetty, what about esata?
navman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 10:16 PM   #29
bedelman
Call me Bob
 
bedelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Crystal Lake, IL, USA
Posts: 3,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fofer
Even from a Mac?
I would think that the protocol used by the "hidden" video tab found within the TiVo Desktop for Mac OSX preference pane will be compatible.

I wonder if other applications like TiVo.NET will work (which I use mostly with my Macs)
__________________
Bob Edelman

You can never have too many TiVo's (7) or wireless routers (5) -- all in one residence!
bedelman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 10:30 PM   #30
dtphonehome
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasGrillChef
What I would like to know... is what shows are you getting an "X" marked next to them that ARE copy protected and are unable to transfer?

Are they from the Major Networks that are also OTA (Such as NBC, Fox, CBS etc...) or
are they from the cable side networks? (ESPN, Showtime, HBO... etc.)

Just curious what shows are coming with the copy protected flag and which are not

thanks

TGC
I second that...I would also like to know what I'll be able to transfer. And if I can use a Mac to do it! Maybe a new iPod touch is in the cards!
dtphonehome is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |