TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-31-2007, 07:39 PM   #1
181218121812
Robert
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Smithfield, VA
Posts: 4
Help programing remote for JVC DVD player

I have a DirectTV Plus Receiver Model R15-100 that I need to program to control a JVC TH-M603 DVD home theatre system.

I tried all of the codes provided in the Direct TV remote users guide. Code 21863 will allow the remote to turn the JVC DVD home theatre off and on but it will not operate the volume. I am using the remotes AV1 position.

Does anyone know how to get the Direct TV remote to control the volume on the JVC DVD home theatre?
181218121812 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 07:46 PM   #2
Edmund
Remote Czar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ca
Posts: 5,164
Quote:
Originally Posted by 181218121812
I have a DirectTV Plus Receiver Model R15-100 that I need to program to control a JVC TH-M603 DVD home theatre system.

I tried all of the codes provided in the Direct TV remote users guide. Code 21863 will allow the remote to turn the JVC DVD home theatre off and on but it will not operate the volume. I am using the remotes AV1 position.

Does anyone know how to get the Direct TV remote to control the volume on the JVC DVD home theatre?
The volume keys NEVER work initially with ANY aud code in the white directv remotes not until you do the following: First there HAS to be a tv code programmed to the tv device or the volume keys won't work. With code 21863 or whichever gave you power programmed in, then:

1. av1
2. press and hold MUTE & SELECT for two blinks
3. enter 9 9 3
4. press SELECT
Edmund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 08:23 PM   #3
181218121812
Robert
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Smithfield, VA
Posts: 4
Thanks

Your instructions worked like a charm!

Thanks so much. I had called direct TV, but they only gave me a few more 5 digit codes and said if they didn't work that there remote could not control the volume to my DVD home theatre.

Thanks again.

Robert
181218121812 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 08:27 PM   #4
Edmund
Remote Czar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ca
Posts: 5,164
I hadn't realized that was a dvd code, and not a Aud receiver code. The white UEI made remotes are the only remotes I have seen that include volume commands, when available, for dvd & vcr codes.
Edmund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 08:46 PM   #5
181218121812
Robert
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Smithfield, VA
Posts: 4
What about controlling the TV's volume when not using the DVD?

Before you helped me get the Direct TV to control the DVD home theatre's volume the Direct TV remote was controlling the TV sets volume (when in the Direct TV mode). Now of course it doesn't. But now the Direct TV remote will not control the TV sets volume when it is in the TV mode. When in the TV mode it now controls the DVD home theatre volume.

I can live with this if I have to.

Is there a way to have the Direct TV remote control the TV's volume when in the TV mode?
181218121812 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 08:53 PM   #6
Edmund
Remote Czar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ca
Posts: 5,164
Sure, do the following:

1. tv
2. press and hold MUTE & SELECT for two blinks
3. enter 9 9 3
4. press VOL DOWN
Edmund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 08:57 PM   #7
Edmund
Remote Czar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ca
Posts: 5,164
If you wish the jvc volume in only the AV1 device, and tv in all other devices do the following:

1. tv
2. press and hold MUTE & SELECT for two blinks
3. enter 9 9 3
4. press SELECT, now the tv volume is in all devices,

1. av1
2. press and hold MUTE & SELECT for two blinks
3. enter 9 9 3
4. press VOL UP

Now the jvc volume is in the AV1 device only, and the tv volume in all other devices.
Edmund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 08:58 PM   #8
181218121812
Robert
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Smithfield, VA
Posts: 4
Thanks, It fixed the problem

Edmond thanks again. I think that I've got my remote working great now thanks to your help.

Thanks

Robert
181218121812 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |