TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2009, 09:52 PM   #331
Icarus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Upcountry Maui, Hawaii
Posts: 343
They added FXHDP (1554) and BRAVOHD (1560)

Both come in on the OTW HD DVR. Initially neither come on in my S3 + TA. Finally HXHDP started working, but still nothing on BRAVOHD.

Anybody else getting Bravo HD?

I guess I will try the automated re-auth.

-David
Icarus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 09:59 PM   #332
Icarus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Upcountry Maui, Hawaii
Posts: 343
I seem to have lost SCIFIHD also, dammit.

Most other sdv hd channels seem to be tunable, but not all of them.

Now FXHDP won't tune in either. (after the re-auth, I guess).

I even had somebody out at the house today to troubleshoot reception problems, and he saw the problem with Bravo HD, and didn't do anything about it. He didn't do anything about the reception problems on MAXHD either.

-David

Last edited by Icarus : 03-02-2009 at 10:29 PM.
Icarus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 10:27 PM   #333
Icarus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Upcountry Maui, Hawaii
Posts: 343
Now BravoHD comes in, but the other few don't. I hate this.

Bravo HD has the movie Vanilla Sky on in 4:3 aspect ratio. hahaha.

lol, the signal just stopped coming in at 6:30.

-David
Icarus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 03:58 AM   #334
Todd B.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 46
Well, now I'm getting something completely different. Before it was just a black screen. Now I'm getting an error message "Channel not available" with a little Tivo icon. I assume that's what Icarus is seeing too? I'm getting it on a bunch of HD channels. 1000, 1108, 1116, 1329, 1337, 1449, 1554, 1557 to name a few.

This is all incredibly frustrating. Everything was going great for a couple weeks. Now I'm missing recordings, and missing a different contingent of channels each day.

Edit: Talked to an Oceanic rep on the phone, and he sent a reauthorize signal to my CableCard. After that, all my channels are good again, except for FXHD and BravoHD, which I presume are not broadcasting on Oahu yet.

Like Icarus, I had done the automated phone reauthorization, but that didn't fix it. When the phone rep sent the re-auth, a message popped up on my TiVo saying it had detected a Tuning Adapter. I chose to "Continue" rather than test it, and then all my channels were fine. I did not get that message when I did the auto re-auth, so I suspect the auto re-auth does not work for CableCards.

Last edited by Todd B. : 03-03-2009 at 04:24 AM.
Todd B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 10:03 PM   #335
Goldwing2001
Goldwing2001
 
Goldwing2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Posts: 85
Missing New Channels FXHD & BRAVOHD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd B. View Post
Well, now I'm getting something completely different. Before it was just a black screen. Now I'm getting an error message "Channel not available" with a little Tivo icon. I assume that's what Icarus is seeing too? I'm getting it on a bunch of HD channels. 1000, 1108, 1116, 1329, 1337, 1449, 1554, 1557 to name a few.

This is all incredibly frustrating. Everything was going great for a couple weeks. Now I'm missing recordings, and missing a different contingent of channels each day.

Edit: Talked to an Oceanic rep on the phone, and he sent a reauthorize signal to my CableCard. After that, all my channels are good again, except for FXHD and BravoHD, which I presume are not broadcasting on Oahu yet.

Like Icarus, I had done the automated phone reauthorization, but that didn't fix it. When the phone rep sent the re-auth, a message popped up on my TiVo saying it had detected a Tuning Adapter. I chose to "Continue" rather than test it, and then all my channels were fine. I did not get that message when I did the auto re-auth, so I suspect the auto re-auth does not work for CableCards.


Well, I just got off the phone with Oceanic. I too cannot access the new channels FXHDP (1554) and BRAVOHD (1560). They had me unplug the usb, reboot the Tuning Adapter, reboot TiVo, and remove and reinstall my two cable cards. But, none of that worked. She set up to have a tech come out to the house next week Wed (3/11/09). About 30min later I received a call asking me to perform "Test Tuning Adapter Channels" on TiVo. I received the message "No Channels are Available". She then asked me to perform "Test Cable Card Channels" and that worked just fine except for the two new channels. She told me she would continue to look into it on her end and call me back if she discovers something, otherwise the tech will come by next Wed as scheduled. I'm able to receive every channel except 1554 & 1560, I really don't think the problem is my tuning adapter or cable cards, I think it's on there end.
I'll keep you posted. If anyone else is having this problem with these two channels, please call Oceanic. If enough people call having this problem they will realize the problem is on there end and not the customers house.

Aloha,
Tony

UPDATE 3/4/09 - I received a callback from Oceanic this morning stating that they have discovered the problem is on their end and not on mine. She stated they needed a software upgrade on their system, but didn't know exactly know how long this would take or when it will be done.
At least now I won't have to take off work for a tech to come by and end up doing nothing.

Aloha,
Tony

Last edited by Goldwing2001 : 03-04-2009 at 08:04 PM. Reason: Update
Goldwing2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 08:11 PM   #336
jesseramos
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mililani, HI
Posts: 16
Tech's been here about 6 hours now. We're stuck on "Please wait...Acquiring Channel Information." Tried 2 differnt TAs, 2 different multi-stream cards, 2 single-stream cards. Tried letting the TA come to a steady light before plugging in the USB cable. Have re-booted TivoHD and TA several times.

I've had the m-card in my TivoHD for several months now, working fine (besides no SDV.) When I remove the TA, TivoHD is okay again (no SDV.) Oceanic DVR still working perfectly.

Any ideas?

Last edited by jesseramos : 03-06-2009 at 09:06 PM.
jesseramos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 01:17 AM   #337
Todd B.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 46
That sucks dude. It should only take about 1 minute for it to finish acquiring channel information. Have you look at the DVR and TA diagnostics on the Tivo?
Todd B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 01:51 AM   #338
jesseramos
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mililani, HI
Posts: 16
The techs looked at the CC and TA diagnostics. I'm not sure what to look for myself. I had to leave at 5:00 this evening, so they said someone will come back out next week.
jesseramos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 12:13 PM   #339
Goldwing2001
Goldwing2001
 
Goldwing2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Posts: 85
Whatt's Wrong?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jesseramos View Post
The techs looked at the CC and TA diagnostics. I'm not sure what to look for myself. I had to leave at 5:00 this evening, so they said someone will come back out next week.

Jesse - What exactly is not working? Is it just not receiving the SDV (HD) channels? If so, my first question is did you request to subsrcibe/receive the "HD Entertainment Package" and if so did Oceanic activate it yet?

Keep us posted, I'd love to know end of this story...

Aloha,
Tony
Goldwing2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 02:55 PM   #340
jesseramos
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mililani, HI
Posts: 16
Right now, I have the cable feed going through the TA and then to the TivoHD. I have the USB cable unplugged, but the TA is on.

For these HD channels, I get "Channel Not Available"
1000 Scenic Hawaii
1116 CNBC
1210 VS
1216 Golf
1225 ESPN News
1226 FoxHDSO
1248 Big10
1323 HGTV
1325 Travel
1329 Animal Planet
1331 TLC
1449 Lifetime
1453 Hallmark
1554 FX
1557 Sci Fi
1560 Bravo
1561 MGM
1593 PLD
1605 Universal



These HD channels come in fine, most of which are SDV, as far as my understanding.
1003 Fox
1005 KFVE
1006 ABC
1007 CBS
1008 NBC
1010 PBS
1016 OC16
1113 CNN
1222 ESPN
1224 ESPN2
1321 Food
1327 History
1332 Discovery Theatre
1333 Discovery
1347 NG
1355 HDNet
1444 Disney
1547 A&E
1551 TBS
1553 TNT
1555 USA
1603 HDNet Movies


Also, I get "Channel Not Available" on the Sports Pak channels which are SDV.



When I plug the USB cable in, I get stuck on the "Acquiring Channel Information" page with the beach ball. It never gets past this. Eventually it errors out and in a few minutes starts up again.


When I made the appointment for the TA truck roll, they asked what channels I wanted. I told them I just wanted the HD pak. When the tech was here he and someone in dispatch thought I may need "dupe services" so they added that, but that didn't help.
jesseramos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 03:13 PM   #341
s2krazy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 84
Having the same problem right now. They are downstairs staring at the spinning ball. We're about to reboot the Tivo. As of now, none of our SDV channels are being acquired. I have enabled them in the Tivo>settings>channels menu.
__________________
Aloha,
Colin
s2krazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 03:45 PM   #342
Icarus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Upcountry Maui, Hawaii
Posts: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesseramos View Post
These HD channels come in fine, most of which are SDV, as far as my understanding.
1003 Fox
1005 KFVE
1006 ABC
1007 CBS
1008 NBC
1010 PBS
1016 OC16
1113 CNN
1222 ESPN
1224 ESPN2
1321 Food
1327 History
1332 Discovery Theatre
1333 Discovery
1347 NG
1355 HDNet
1444 Disney
1547 A&E
1551 TBS
1553 TNT
1555 USA
1603 HDNet Movies
Most of those are not SDV. I think the only one in that list that is SDV is USA HD.

The list is on OTW's web site, under channel lineups. You can see which require the TA with Cablecards, etc. They have little checkboxes for filtering the list that makes it easier to use.

Check the list on the web site rather than relying on my memory. The list can change.

-David

Last edited by Icarus : 03-09-2009 at 04:40 PM. Reason: corrected non-SDV channels, it's only USA in my zip code.
Icarus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 03:55 PM   #343
s2krazy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 84
I have 90% of the HD channels working, but Scifi is absent. The guys have left and the Tivo is showing the spinning ball again. Why Scifi and not GolfHD?
__________________
Aloha,
Colin
s2krazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 03:57 PM   #344
jesseramos
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mililani, HI
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Icarus View Post
Most of those are not SDV. I think maybe Food, A&E and USA are SDV in that list, maybe Disney also. All the rest are not SDV.

The list is on OTW's web site, under channel lineups. You can see which require the TA with Cablecards, etc. They have little checkboxes for filtering the list that makes it easier to use.

Check the list on the web site rather than relying on my memory. The list can change.

-David

Yeah, I had that list up as I went throught the channels, and it shows all of the HD pak as being SDV. The only ones not SDV according to the list are 1003-1010.

Last edited by jesseramos : 03-09-2009 at 04:02 PM.
jesseramos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 03:58 PM   #345
jesseramos
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mililani, HI
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2krazy View Post
I have 90% of the HD channels working, but Scifi is absent. The guys have left and the Tivo is showing the spinning ball again. Why Scifi and not GolfHD?
Collin:

How do you get to Live TV when the ball is spinning? As long as i see the ball, I can't view Live TV.


Thanks,
Jesse
jesseramos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 04:00 PM   #346
s2krazy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 84
Spinning ball stopped, got an 'error acquiring channels' message. Should I unplug the TA yet again?
__________________
Aloha,
Colin
s2krazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 04:02 PM   #347
s2krazy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesseramos View Post
Collin:

How do you get to Live TV when the ball is spinning? As long as i see the ball, I can't view Live TV.


Thanks,
Jesse
I don't know, but now I'm in your loop. We had (somehow) been able to check channels. Only when we found Scifi missing did go back to 'square one' and the spinning ball.
__________________
Aloha,
Colin
s2krazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 04:09 PM   #348
jesseramos
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mililani, HI
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2krazy View Post
Spinning ball stopped, got an 'error acquiring channels' message. Should I unplug the TA yet again?
Seems like the same thing I'm getting. After a few minutes, the Tivo tries to go back to Live TV and ends up with the spinning ball again. It just keeps going through that cycle of ball, error, ball, error...
jesseramos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 04:33 PM   #349
s2krazy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesseramos View Post
Seems like the same thing I'm getting. After a few minutes, the Tivo tries to go back to Live TV and ends up with the spinning ball again. It just keeps going through that cycle of ball, error, ball, error...
OK I unplugged the TA power cord. While the light was flashing, I was able to tune some HD channels. Once the TA connected, I was switched to the message screen "Tuning Adapter Connected" > Continue. When you click "continue" it's back to the spinning ball...
__________________
Aloha,
Colin
s2krazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 04:35 PM   #350
Icarus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Upcountry Maui, Hawaii
Posts: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesseramos View Post
Yeah, I had that list up as I went throught the channels, and it shows all of the HD pak as being SDV. The only ones not SDV according to the list are 1003-1010.
That's not what it shows for me. I'm in zip code 96768, using the digital lineup for kahului/hana.

You have to look carefully. Only the dark brown color means SDV. (the checkbox is "not available with cablecards" for SDV channels.)

In my earlier post, I got Food HD, A&E HD and Disney HD wrong. They are not SDV. USA HD is SDV. I'll go back and correct that post.

What's your zip code?

-David

Last edited by Icarus : 03-09-2009 at 04:42 PM.
Icarus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 04:41 PM   #351
jesseramos
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mililani, HI
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Icarus View Post
That's not what it shows for me. I'm in zip code 96768, using the digital lineup for kahului/hana.

You have to look carefully. Only the dark brown color means SDV. (the checkbox is "not available with cablecards" for SDV channels.)

In my earlier post, I got Food HD, A&E HD and Disney HD wrong. They are not SDV. USA HD is SDV.

What's your zip code?

-David

96789
jesseramos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 04:47 PM   #352
Icarus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Upcountry Maui, Hawaii
Posts: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesseramos View Post
96789
ok, I see what you mean.

I doesn't seem like they implemented that change yet, since you can get most of the ones that aren't listed as SDV in my lineup.

I'm still having some problems with some SDV channels. I hope they straighten this out before they move the rest of them to SDV like it shows for your lineup.

-David
Icarus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 06:42 PM   #353
s2krazy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 84
Channels that I'm not receiving:

1108 Fox Business Network HD
1116 CNBC HD
1210 HD Versus
1226 Fox Sports Net West High Definition
1323 Home & Garden Television High Definition
1325 Travel Channel High Definition
1329 Animal Planet High Definition
1331 TLC High Definition
1337 The Science Channel High Definition
1449 LMN HD
1455 USA HD
1554 FX HD
1557 Sci Fi HD
1605 Universal High Definition

Any ideas? I'm in 96797 so they should be a part of my HD Entertainment Pak. Other HD channels are working fine.
__________________
Aloha,
Colin
s2krazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 08:55 PM   #354
s2krazy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 84
Another trip this morning and no progress. He's coming back tomorrow to try again.
__________________
Aloha,
Colin
s2krazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 10:15 PM   #355
jesseramos
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mililani, HI
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2krazy View Post
Another trip this morning and no progress. He's coming back tomorrow to try again.
Any luck, Colin?
jesseramos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 10:26 PM   #356
s2krazy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 84
Nope. We spent another 3 hours this morning. We're going to try another TA but that takes 3 days for authorization so we'll try again next week. Where do you stand on this?
__________________
Aloha,
Colin
s2krazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 10:59 PM   #357
s2krazy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesseramos View Post
Any luck, Colin?
BTW, are you the Jesse they worked for Island Sound?
__________________
Aloha,
Colin
s2krazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 12:24 AM   #358
bueller555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 37
I'm on cablecard in Pearl City and all channels are coming through for me. I wasn't getting FXHD and BRAVOHD up until a few days ago, but tonight I notice that I'm now receiving both channels. It appears that I'm up to date on all non-premium HD channels.

Quote:
Originally Posted by s2krazy View Post
Channels that I'm not receiving:

1108 Fox Business Network HD
1116 CNBC HD
1210 HD Versus
1226 Fox Sports Net West High Definition
1323 Home & Garden Television High Definition
1325 Travel Channel High Definition
1329 Animal Planet High Definition
1331 TLC High Definition
1337 The Science Channel High Definition
1449 LMN HD
1455 USA HD
1554 FX HD
1557 Sci Fi HD
1605 Universal High Definition

Any ideas? I'm in 96797 so they should be a part of my HD Entertainment Pak. Other HD channels are working fine.

bueller555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 01:21 AM   #359
jesseramos
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mililani, HI
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2krazy View Post
BTW, are you the Jesse they worked for Island Sound?
No, I'm not.

Anyway, Oceanic was supposed to call me this week to set up another visit. Haven't heard from them yet, but I've been busy with work and wouldn't have been home anyway.
jesseramos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 04:29 AM   #360
Todd B.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 46
David, all HD channels on Oahu are SDV, except for the broadcast networks 1003-1010, and have been since late 2007. It's different on Maui. I'm not sure how Jesse is tuning anything without the TA.

Jesse and Colin, have you had them hit your Cable Card with a reauthorization/reactivation signal yet? You can do that over the phone by calling 643-2100. Don't use the automated reauthorization. Have a representative do it manually.
Todd B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |