TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-21-2014, 06:33 AM   #1591
SCSIRAID
Registered User
 
SCSIRAID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 2,297
Quote:
Originally Posted by dantruong View Post
My situation-
Started off with just analogue cable for about a week-- no macro-blocking on analogue channels or QAM, occasional very minor macro-blocking on menus
Two SA cable cards (s-stream) installed- still no macro-blocking on analogue channels, but now random macro-blocking on hi-def and digital channels, brief, but every 3-10 min, on every hd and digital channel.
I'm not a expert, but according to my cable tech, I have "excellent" signal strength (he checked it with some kind of meter, both outside, and at the line going into the Tivo box...
I can also confirm the Tivo shows 100% signal on all channels...
I don't know if this info will help the experts on the forum narrow down the cause, but I thought it was worth posting my experience--
I would hope a fix or official announcement from Tivo would happen soon, as everyone seems to be getting different answers from Tivo customer service... I tend to believe Megazone, as he has stated on his blog and in these forums:
"do note that TiVo is aware of them and is working on additional updates to correct them."
Macroblocking on a TiVo menu is very unlikely to have anything to do with your RF signal level or the cablecards. I would expect that kind of effect to be relative to HDCP compatibility between the display and the TiVo.
SCSIRAID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 09:00 AM   #1592
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,900
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCSIRAID View Post
Macroblocking on a TiVo menu is very unlikely to have anything to do with your RF signal level or the cablecards. I would expect that kind of effect to be relative to HDCP compatibility between the display and the TiVo.
But he said he had macro-blocking on "hi-def" and "digital" channels, every 3 to 10 mins.

I can't imagine how he could still be running 8.2 or 9.2 software, as he stated in another thread,
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...2#post10081122
but seems like that should be corrected before worrying about any other issue. Software that old must not have the fix for the sdv switching glitch that **you** were instrumental in getting Tivo to fix (and thanks again!).
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 09:53 AM   #1593
SCSIRAID
Registered User
 
SCSIRAID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 2,297
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfl View Post
But he said he had macro-blocking on "hi-def" and "digital" channels, every 3 to 10 mins.

I can't imagine how he could still be running 8.2 or 9.2 software, as he stated in another thread,
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...2#post10081122
but seems like that should be corrected before worrying about any other issue. Software that old must not have the fix for the sdv switching glitch that **you** were instrumental in getting Tivo to fix (and thanks again!).
He also said... 'no macro-blocking on analogue channels or QAM, occasional very minor macro-blocking on menus'. This is what led to my comment.

Agree... not sure how he could be on software that old and that certainly needs fixed.

The best way to prove signal issues is to watch live until you see macroblocking and then check DVR Diags RS uncorrected counts (of course check counts when you start the experiment)... assuming the TiVo is on current software. This is the acid test.

You're welcome...
SCSIRAID is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |