TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Forum Extras > DVD TiVo Units (Archive)
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-30-2007, 11:51 PM   #1
longinot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Arrow DVR 810h wont burn DVD (internal error)

My 3 year old DVR (Pioneer 810h) has stopped burning DVDs. It will play a recorded DVD (from the same machine). It does hasve a difficult time identifying any DVD. I tries a reset and a power plug out 30 miniute wait trick. Still the same. I have the -R discs as always. Is there a reset method or do I have a DVD unit problem? What is the "internal error"?

Help!

Joe
longinot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 08:09 AM   #2
robomeister
DVD TiVo Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Beltsville, MD
Posts: 577
Hi Joe,

Welcome to the TiVolution!

There are several methods I've used to 'reset' my Pioneer so it will burn again.

1. Try different brands of media. 'Slower' media seems to work best for some reason, 8X max. I've had some success with 16X, but the burner can only burn at 4X speed.
2. Try a dvd-rw disc. The media must be either 1X or 2X. Discs marked 4X will not work.
3. Try a hard reset (unplug, wait a couple minutes, plug back in)

How many discs have you burned (approximately)?
What's the internal temp?
Do you burn a bunch of discs all at once? If you do this, you might be overheating the unit. Give it a rest between burn sessions.

Hope that helps,
robomeister
__________________
1+ Series3
1 TiVoHD
1+ Pioneer DVR-810H-S
1+ Pioneer DVR-57H
1+ Toshiba RS-TX20
1+ Humax DRT400
1 Humax DRT800
Most with Lifetime and upgraded drives
All Series 2s with Linksys USB200M
robomeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 08:24 AM   #3
longinot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
I burn sporatically, probably 100 total in 3 years. Thanks for the advice, I will switch the media and check the type. I have tried the unplug thing but I will try again. I have no measure of the temp. How do I get that info?

Joe
longinot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 11:24 PM   #4
robomeister
DVD TiVo Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Beltsville, MD
Posts: 577
To check the internal temperature, go to the System Info page. One of the entries will be for the internal temperature.
__________________
1+ Series3
1 TiVoHD
1+ Pioneer DVR-810H-S
1+ Pioneer DVR-57H
1+ Toshiba RS-TX20
1+ Humax DRT400
1 Humax DRT800
Most with Lifetime and upgraded drives
All Series 2s with Linksys USB200M
robomeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 09:15 AM   #5
longinot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
The temp is running at 33 degrees C Normal. I picked up a slower media type and I will try them this morning.

Thanks,

Joe
longinot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 11:20 PM   #6
longinot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
I tried the slower media, still non-op. Is there anything else that I can try?

Joe
longinot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 06:29 AM   #7
robomeister
DVD TiVo Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Beltsville, MD
Posts: 577
You could try a disc cleaner. or use some compressed air (those keyboard cleaner things) to try to dislodge any dirt inside the drive. But I've never had to do that.

You might have to get the burner replaced. You could either try to go through Pioneer (which would be expensive, ~$200) or try to buy a "cheap" Pioneer TiVo from ebay and replace the burner that way. I've tried to replace the burners on my TiVo, but there is something special about the firmware in the burner. Look in the Pioneer Owners Club thread. I explain how I've tried to replace the burner with no success.

Sorry, but it looks like you may have a bad burner.

robomeister
__________________
1+ Series3
1 TiVoHD
1+ Pioneer DVR-810H-S
1+ Pioneer DVR-57H
1+ Toshiba RS-TX20
1+ Humax DRT400
1 Humax DRT800
Most with Lifetime and upgraded drives
All Series 2s with Linksys USB200M
robomeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 12:41 PM   #8
PostPCMan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5
The media is really important and they MUST be 4X or less. Unfortunately, these are now hard to find. I ordered some from meritline, their part #102-592-050, and they work fine. I had been getting the same error msg. with other media.

Good luck.
PostPCMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 07:06 PM   #9
pioneer810h
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Here's my SLLLOOOWWW Solution... :-D

I found that in my Pioneer 810h I have always had to use SLOW media...
I found that Sony's 1-2x DVD-RW worked consistentl for DVD-RW.
Otherwise I could record on DVD-R of most any rated speed.
Good luck.
pioneer810h is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |