TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-23-2007, 10:58 AM   #151
bkdtv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: DC Metro Area
Posts: 7,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazman
I have a pc with 2 SATA connectors. Are these the correct steps to upgrade the drive:
1. Download WinMFS
2. Shut down Windows & attach original TiVo drive
3. Boot to Vista, run WinMFS and backup original TiVo drive to the Windows (c:\) drive
4. Shut down & attach New Larger Drive.
5. Boot to Vista, run WinMFS and restore TiVo image on Windows (c:\) drive to New Larger Drive.

Done.?
Yes.

Note that won't backup your existing recordings. The "Backup" option in WinMFS just backs up the Tivo software and your configuration, not the recordings. If you want to backup your recordings, then I believe you need to choose the MFSCopy option.
bkdtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2007, 11:32 AM   #152
spike2k5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlib
Wow, do you ever slow down?
I work on Tivo 24x7.


Quote:
If I remember correctly it wasn't so much an absolute limit at 1TB but the manifestation of some signed integer bugs that reveal themselves at that point. I can't remember the exact details right now. I just remember putting in my notes to not go there when trying to get my RAID up and running.
That's older Series 2 Tivo.

For S3, I recall people trying to use RAID to push it above 1TiB and not being able to boot. This was before the discovery of eSATA port being activated.

I think my test shows that it's not 1TiB limit per drive but a bug in mfstools. Mainly zone size calculation was slight off. BTW, this bug is fixed in the latest MFSLive Linux Boot CD 1.3a.

For those of you familiar with restore -r 2 not being able to boot after 274GB, this is the bug I'm talking about. Apparently, restore -r 4 does not work either above 1 TiB I guess due to this bug.

I've used WinMFS for this test which does not use r values like mfstools does but fixed min. allocation size of 20480 like Tivo S3 and HD.

So it appears that it's working for 2TB. I'm going to push it to S3 limit of 2 TiB or (2.2 TB) and see if it takes it.

Tivo HD uses 64bit address for accessing drives so supposedly we can push it above 2 TiB but I'm not sure it's possible yet. I will report if I find a way.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
spike2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2007, 04:11 PM   #153
c3
TiVoholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 3,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by spike2k5
Tivo HD uses 64bit address for accessing drives so supposedly we can push it above 2 TiB .....
Who wants to be the first to build a TiVo with 2^48 bytes of storage?
__________________
TiVo Roamio Plus (10/18/2013): WD30EURS
5 TiVo HDs: WD10EACS, WD1000FYPS, WD10EACS, WD5000ABYS, WD10EADS
Addicted to TiVo since 9/16/2000, all lifetime subs
c3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2007, 04:26 PM   #154
gespears
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 112
Spike, how did you get the Raid 0 to function with the Tivo? Do you have a raid unit that can output to a single SATA connector and do it that way?

Thanks,

Gary
gespears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2007, 05:17 PM   #155
spike2k5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by gespears
Spike, how did you get the Raid 0 to function with the Tivo? Do you have a raid unit that can output to a single SATA connector and do it that way?

Thanks,

Gary
Yes I currently have 4 500GB sata -> hardware RAID 0 -> to single sata connector out.

It's noisy, bulky and only good for experimenting.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
spike2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2007, 05:06 PM   #156
spike2k5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 419
Tivo HD is upgraded to 2.5 TB.

Link

It's possible to go much bigger.

Anyone got five 1TB drives?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
spike2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2007, 05:46 PM   #157
jfh3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Denver area
Posts: 4,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by spike2k5
Tivo HD is upgraded to 2.5 TB.

Link

It's possible to go much bigger.

Anyone got five 1TB drives?

Cool - have you actually recorded over 300 hours to prove it? (Not that I don't trust you, just curious)
jfh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 05:06 PM   #158
b3ar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkdtv
Note that won't backup your existing recordings. The "Backup" option in WinMFS just backs up the Tivo software and your configuration, not the recordings. If you want to backup your recordings, then I believe you need to choose the MFSCopy option.
Worked like a champ for me. I did about 120GB from my original drive over to my new 750GB drive overnight. Easy as pie.

Folks who keep advocating the DB35 should check the reviews on the WD drives (www.storagereview.com). I'd be surprised if a DB35 actually beat the WD drive for noise, power consumption (non-startup) and heat. It's also a lot cheaper. (Off the soapbox, now).

Bill
__________________
Welcome to Rivendell, Mr. Anderson

TiVo Premiere XL
TivoHD - 750GB (98 HD hours) - thanks, Spike2k5 and WinMFS!
b3ar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 09:12 PM   #159
Idolwild
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 5
What do you guys think of this one? Should have the AM on it and keep fairly quiet, reasonable price too...

Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD7500AAKS 750GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

$199 on Newegg
Idolwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 10:57 PM   #160
spike2k5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by Idolwild
What do you guys think of this one? Should have the AM on it and keep fairly quiet, reasonable price too...

Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD7500AAKS 750GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

$199 on Newegg
Tune AAM to 128 and it should work nicely.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
spike2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2007, 02:56 PM   #161
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by Idolwild
What do you guys think of this one? Should have the AM on it and keep fairly quiet, reasonable price too...

Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD7500AAKS 750GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

$199 on Newegg
I had two of those from NEwEgg crap out on me. I just received the replacement for one of them today from newegg. Hopefully I'll get the second replacement by next week.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2007, 06:33 PM   #162
joneSi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt
I had two of those from NEwEgg crap out on me. I just received the replacement for one of them today from newegg. Hopefully I'll get the second replacement by next week.

Could have been bad production. I have this exact drive in my TiVo HD right now, and happily recording.

May I ask how long it took to crap out?

joneSi
joneSi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2007, 09:21 PM   #163
jlib
Lean Forward
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Carmel Valley, California
Posts: 1,063
Quote:
Originally Posted by b3ar
Folks who keep advocating the DB35 should check the reviews on the WD drives (www.storagereview.com). I'd be surprised if a DB35 actually beat the WD drive for noise, power consumption (non-startup) and heat. It's also a lot cheaper...
The new WD Caviar GP drive has some intriguing specs. From what I can make out, when idle (not just standby) the heads unload and the RPM drops to 5400. I'm not sure that is a win for the TiVo since it will never be idle. That notwithstanding, it should still be quieter and cooler than the same sized Hitachi DeskStar (and most likely the Seagate DB35, too). I am most interested in seeing what the new density champion, the upcoming 1TB Samsung SpinPoint F1 (3 platters instead of 5), is like. What an abundance of riches for hard drive enthusiasts!
__________________
Series3 Terabyte TiVo

Last edited by jlib : 08-28-2007 at 10:16 AM.
jlib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2007, 03:50 AM   #164
c3
TiVoholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 3,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlib
The new WD Caviar GP drive has some intriguing specs.
The low seek noise is what I'm interested in:

WD GP (1TB): 25 dBA
WD SE16 (750GB): 29 dBA
Seagate DB35 (750GB): 30 dBA
Hitachi CinemaStar (1TB): 30 dBA
__________________
TiVo Roamio Plus (10/18/2013): WD30EURS
5 TiVo HDs: WD10EACS, WD1000FYPS, WD10EACS, WD5000ABYS, WD10EADS
Addicted to TiVo since 9/16/2000, all lifetime subs
c3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2007, 01:44 PM   #165
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by joneSi
Could have been bad production. I have this exact drive in my TiVo HD right now, and happily recording.

May I ask how long it took to crap out?

joneSi
The first one was bad from the start. It wouldn't always spin up. The second one worked fine for a week or two before it started to have problems.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2007, 01:46 PM   #166
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by c3
The low seek noise is what I'm interested in:

WD GP (1TB): 25 dBA
WD SE16 (750GB): 29 dBA
Seagate DB35 (750GB): 30 dBA
Hitachi CinemaStar (1TB): 30 dBA
If that is the loudness of the Hitachi then the WD GP should be nearly silent. I can't hear the Hitachi with AM set at 192 unless I'm within a couple feet of it and then it is still extremely quiet.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt : 08-28-2007 at 02:09 PM. Reason: doH!
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2007, 03:13 PM   #167
jlib
Lean Forward
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Carmel Valley, California
Posts: 1,063
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt
If that is the loudness of the Hitachi then the WD GP should be nearly silent. I can't hear the Hitachi with AM set at 192 unless I'm within a couple feet of it and then it is still extremely quiet.
It is odd that the silent seek acoustic rating is the same as the idle rating on the WD Caviar GP. They are basically saying that the seeks are not discernible at all above the ambient sound of the drive spinning. It would be good if there was an industry standard method of measuring sound level. I don't think specs can be directly compared except within a manufacuturer's own line. I guess we'll have to wait for the first independent reviews but the WD Caviar GP looks to be the new silence champ.
__________________
Series3 Terabyte TiVo
jlib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2007, 03:39 PM   #168
TXTivoUser
Jeep Ninja
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Denton, Texas
Posts: 440
So I had a question about HD's this seems like a place to stick it since I'm looking to upgrade my THD.

Do the AM settings work on all HD's? I found a Maxtor something or other 500g for 105 at Frys, whereas I can find the Segate DB35 500g for somewhere around 150 online.

Is one going to be significantly (read: ~50 dollars) better than the other?

I'm looking to spend between 100 and 150 on this, and it appears that could be the difference between a 500g and a 750 depending on the brand.

I'm also looking for reliability and heat (or lack of) as well as drive acoustics.

Should I give up on the pipe dream of just using an off the shelf HD and pony up for the really good HD's mentioned here or is there *THAT* much of a difference?

Just want to get this upgraded and ready to go for the upcoming fall season.
TXTivoUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2007, 03:50 PM   #169
c3
TiVoholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 3,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXTivoUser
Do the AM settings work on all HD's?
No, not Seagates and Maxtor-labeled Seagates.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Plus (10/18/2013): WD30EURS
5 TiVo HDs: WD10EACS, WD1000FYPS, WD10EACS, WD5000ABYS, WD10EADS
Addicted to TiVo since 9/16/2000, all lifetime subs
c3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2007, 10:57 PM   #170
raiden256
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Idolwild
What do you guys think of this one? Should have the AM on it and keep fairly quiet, reasonable price too...

Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD7500AAKS 750GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

$199 on Newegg

What's the waaranty on that guy?
raiden256 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2007, 07:26 AM   #171
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by raiden256
What's the waaranty on that guy?
I registered my replacement with WD yesterday. It shows the warranty expires in September 2010. So I guess it's a 3 year warranty.
The RE2 drives have a 5 year warranty. I don't think the 750GB RE2 drives are out yet.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2007, 08:24 AM   #172
normychas
Registered User
 
normychas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 46
Hello all,
I had a quick question
I purchased a Seagate Internal 3.5-inch HD,SATA NCQ,750GB (st3750640as-rk) thinking along with a nice external hard drive casing intending very much to use it with a series 3 but than later decided to get a tivo hd. I have read enough of the forums to know that it would be a very unwise idea to put this drive into my tivo hd as they are built for performance and not for heat. I dont care about noise too much but i do care about risking drive failure. My question is if I am correct in assuming it would be stupid to put this drive into my tivo hd is there a good place to sell my hard drive so i can get some cash back for a seagate db35 or a western digital. I would do craigslist but was wondering if there was a decent place to try and trade hard drives with say somebody who was looking to upgrade their series 3. Thanks for the help i am new to these forums and really appreciate all the info from them.
normychas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2007, 08:50 AM   #173
jlib
Lean Forward
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Carmel Valley, California
Posts: 1,063
If you don't care about seek noise then it will be a fine upgrade drive. That is really its only shortcoming. There is not much of a market for used hard drives since they are such a relatively cheap commodity now and that particular model is not regularly used for TiVo upgrades. Best bet if you can afford it is to use it as a backup for any PCs you have. By using it you will also be able to tell if the noise level is acceptable to you or not and maybe you could use it in the TiVo after all.
__________________
Series3 Terabyte TiVo

Last edited by jlib : 08-30-2007 at 11:58 AM.
jlib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2007, 08:56 AM   #174
normychas
Registered User
 
normychas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 46
is there not a higher risk of drive failure? I dont want a 200 dollar brick sitting him tivo hd. I also am worried about heat since my tv setup is somewhat enclosed though this could be remedied. I would be delighted if this were the only risk though i dont want my tivo to sound extremely loud but my bigger concern is simply that it not fail. Thanks for the quick response though. Has anybody heard about sweeping issues with the hard drives failing otherwise the upgrade goes on as scheduled tonight woot
normychas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2007, 09:01 AM   #175
jlib
Lean Forward
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Carmel Valley, California
Posts: 1,063
I don't have a TiVo HD so I am not familiar with the fan used on it. There would be no problem on the S3 with that drive from the heat perspective.
__________________
Series3 Terabyte TiVo
jlib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2007, 12:18 PM   #176
c3
TiVoholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 3,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt
I don't think the 750GB RE2 drives are out yet.
It's out, but at around $300, that's way too much.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Plus (10/18/2013): WD30EURS
5 TiVo HDs: WD10EACS, WD1000FYPS, WD10EACS, WD5000ABYS, WD10EADS
Addicted to TiVo since 9/16/2000, all lifetime subs
c3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2007, 05:09 PM   #177
b3ar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by c3
The low seek noise is what I'm interested in:

WD GP (1TB): 25 dBA
WD SE16 (750GB): 29 dBA
Seagate DB35 (750GB): 30 dBA
Hitachi CinemaStar (1TB): 30 dBA
The specs are nice, but I'd prefer actual field measurements. Unfortunately, StorageReview only measures idle, not seek, noise. If you compare that and power consumption during seeks versus the top competitors, the 750GB drive is really pretty well-suited for use in DVRs:

http://www.storagereview.com/WD7500AAKS.sr?page=0%2C5

For those wondering why I point out the seek power consumption, it is because, as has been noted previously, these things don't sit idle for very long. The more power (amps) a drive consumes, the more heat it will need to dissipate. Have a 3 - 5W advantage over the competition means that the drive should last longer and put less of a load on the Tivo's fan.

That being said, I'm also curious about the upcoming GP and the Samsung F1. However, both of those are set to launch at around $400 list prices, so I'll wait a bit before upgrading my 750GB drive.

Bill
__________________
Welcome to Rivendell, Mr. Anderson

TiVo Premiere XL
TivoHD - 750GB (98 HD hours) - thanks, Spike2k5 and WinMFS!
b3ar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2007, 10:51 PM   #178
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by c3
It's out, but at around $300, that's way too much.
Ouch. That's more than I paid for the Hitachi terabyte drive.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2007, 05:57 PM   #179
drew00001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 311
I finally upgraded my HD . . . to a 750GB DB35. Like others, I speant way too much time thinking about this, when it turned out to be a very easy project.

The increase speed of the menus was a pleasant suprise. Will they slow down when I fill the drive?
drew00001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2007, 06:30 PM   #180
joneSi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by drew00001
I finally upgraded my HD . . . to a 750GB DB35. Like others, I speant way too much time thinking about this, when it turned out to be a very easy project.

The increase speed of the menus was a pleasant suprise. Will they slow down when I fill the drive?
<Scratches head> Increase in menu speed? I've replaced my drive, and although it wasn't with a DB35 drive or anything made for DVR's specifically...

For the record, it has been my experience that with my 4 TiVo's I have normal WD drives that work just fine with heat and everything but the s2's are noisy, the TiVo HD with the 750gb WD drive is SILENT). Tivo HD tells me that my temps are 'normal'
joneSi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |