TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-29-2007, 03:08 PM   #1
tootal2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 946
How good is the hdtv tuners in tivo hd?

Does tivo hd use the 5th or 6th generation hdtv chipset? How good does the hdtv tuner work?

thanks
tootal2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 04:47 PM   #2
hutchca
Registered User
 
hutchca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 257
It's digital. How good does it need to be?

Shouldn't be any difference in picture quality from one tuner to another.
Maybe sensitivity and error rate though.
Or is there a difference in what they are capable of tuning in to?

There is a FAQ or thread around here somewhere that details the chips used in the S3 and new TiVo HD and even has pics of the mainboard and components.
__________________
If I'm paranoid, it's only because everyone is against me.
hutchca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 05:39 PM   #3
JJ
TiVoPlantation Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Land of cotton, Atlanta...
Posts: 356
Chip
generation is important if your location is prone to multi-path issues...
__________________
JJ
Ignoring what customers want:
The fast track to becoming the next bankrupt company in America...
JJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 05:48 PM   #4
tootal2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 946
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJ
Chip
generation is important if your location is prone to multi-path issues...
I have a 5th gen hdtv turner and i get weak single once in a while. The 6th gen chips work 30% better then the 5th gen chips. I hope tivo hd has 5th or 6th gen chips.
tootal2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 09:49 PM   #5
aus1ander
schmoopy
 
aus1ander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 516
I don't get great OTA signal strength (high 60s on ABC, low 80s on NBC/FOX) but I would say that the tuner keeps a good lock on the stations with only occassional multi-path artifacts, normally just when the helicopters fly by. My TV's tuner wasn't nearly as good.
__________________
TiVo HD, 86/810 hours, Lifetime.
Humax T800 Series 2 TiVo, 80 hours, MSD.
Xbox Live Gamertag: aus1ander
aus1ander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 11:22 PM   #6
morac
Cat God
 
morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,534
The tuners are supposed to be better than the ones in the S3 and those work pretty well.
The only issue I've seen on my S3 is signal leaking between the antenna and OTA inputs which causing digital OTA signal quaility to affect tuning of digital cable channels, but turning down the gain on my OTA antenna fixed that. I don't know if this was corrected with the TiVo HD or not.
morac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |