TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-29-2007, 09:06 AM   #1
saz25
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 60
noisy TivoHD disk

Hi,
I just setup my new TivoHD this weekend. I now have two Tivo units; the other being a 4 year old Series 2.

I've noticed that there is a very noticable disk sound on the TivoHD. I also hear a sound on the Series 2 but it seems to be more subtle and I hardly notice it.

As soon as I hooked up the TivoHD, my wife immediately asked whats that clicking sound. Its basically the sound of disk head accesses.

I assume because the TivoHD perhaps is busier that a Series 2 or maybe the dual tuners cause more disk accesses.

Anyway, do other people notice this? Is there anything I can do about it or do I just have to get used to it?

I haven't tried this yet, but does the sound stop when you go into standby mode?

Thanks in advance,
Steve
saz25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 09:36 AM   #2
Ralph Wiggum
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 27
I don't think this is normal. Mine is very quiet. (much quieter than my Comcast box.)
Ralph Wiggum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 09:42 AM   #3
driverseven
2 Tivo HD's.
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 38
Mine was quiet.

I had a noisy Series 2 unit -- it didn't click, it was a whir Kind of like the sound that a laptop makes.

The sound was so noticeable we put it inside a cabinet and got a remote control redirector so we could use the remote control while it was inside the cabinet.

In retrospect, I should have sent it back because that was always annoying -- the redirector made it much slower to control.

When I ordered the HD unit, I was keeping my fingers crossed that it would be quieter and it is -- almost silent.

I had promised my wife that if this one was noisy, I would send it back.
driverseven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 10:30 AM   #4
captainstabbins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 10
On my THD the original hard drive was whisper quiet. I used MFS to upgrade to s Seagate that sounded like a clickety clackety train coming down the tracks. Then bought a WD 500GB Sata drive and upgraded and that drive is very quiet. Sounds like you got a bad drive my friend.
__________________
It's a small world, but I would sure hate to paint it....
captainstabbins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 10:41 AM   #5
saz25
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 60
Did you need to adjust the acoustic management levels? My new drive is a 750GB Western Digital. Besides the disk access whirling, it performs great.

Steve
saz25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 11:38 AM   #6
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,408
That noise the OP describes is not normal. Exchange the unit for another one.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 12:18 PM   #7
chart
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: new york
Posts: 43
Mine is also very quiet. In bedroom on dresser and can't hear any drive noise.
chart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 12:48 PM   #8
captainstabbins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by saz25
Did you need to adjust the acoustic management levels? My new drive is a 750GB Western Digital. Besides the disk access whirling, it performs great.

Steve
Did not touch it. The drive you are talking about is it the original or did you add it on??? If it is noisy take it back and get a new one.
__________________
It's a small world, but I would sure hate to paint it....
captainstabbins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2007, 08:27 AM   #9
CheezWiz
ReplayTV->S3 Tivo
 
CheezWiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 209
My S3 only got noisy when I put in a Seagate drive. Swapped it back out for a Western Digital and it was quiet again. If this is the original drive, then I would be paranoid.
__________________
CheezWiz
---------------
Tivo Series 3 @ 750GB Green Drive
Tivo HD @ 750GB Green Drive
Tivo Series 2 @ 200GB
pyTivo Windows Home Server @ 3TB
Onkyo TX-SR606 HDMI
Hitachi Ultravision Plasma
CheezWiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2007, 10:29 AM   #10
Joybob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 581
Quote:
Originally Posted by CheezWiz
My S3 only got noisy when I put in a Seagate drive. Swapped it back out for a Western Digital and it was quiet again. If this is the original drive, then I would be paranoid.
He could slap on some rubber washers and stuff like they sell on silentpc.com?
Joybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |