TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-18-2007, 03:33 AM   #181
tenthplanet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 296
Unless the "lite" performs better than the original S-3 I really don't see the point of it.
Tivo makes their money on the service not such much on the units. I have seen too many consumer electronic products go from quality to cheap. It happened to VCR's, DVD recorders seem to be going that route also. Unless a company is subsidizing the price of a unit cheaper usually means something changed. And finally if this is built in China it will never be in this house.
__________________
"It's tough thinking of something clever to write down here, I don't know how Chuck Lorre does it..."
tenthplanet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 04:38 AM   #182
SullyND
W:29-16
 
SullyND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 7,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin Thyme
Not lite on features. Lite on the wallet.
Tastes great, less filling.

Assuming the S3 continues in it's current form, would seem it could use at least a boost in HD capacity.
__________________
Earl: A purpose is a great thing to have, it gives you a reason to wake up every morning.
Randy: So a purpose is like a box of powdered donut holes?
Earl: Exactly.
SullyND is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 05:20 AM   #183
jrm01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 2,619
Quote:
Originally Posted by MickeS
Not sure if that's worth warranting the "lite" tag though - that will not be the name (also mentioned earlier ).
It's development name was Fusion, but they seem to be leaning toward just calling it Tivo HD.
jrm01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 06:34 AM   #184
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,792
Quote:
Originally Posted by SullyND
Tastes great, less filling.

Assuming the S3 continues in it's current form, would seem it could use at least a boost in HD capacity.
One point on the current S3 is that it is a very good tuner/receiver/upscaler. Personally, my SD channels look a lot better on the S3 then they did via a Scientific Atlanta cable box. I'm not sure if that is related to the THX certification, but it has great picture quality. I'm very interested to see if the new S3-lite matches the PQ of the S3.
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 07:29 AM   #185
ncbagwell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 115
I like the sound of this but I still need an answer on MRV and TTCB before I snap it up.
ncbagwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 07:35 AM   #186
joewmaki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2
Will it have an eSATA port on it for external storage expansion? The version on Gizmodo gave some indication that this "S3 Lite" might have Cable Card 2.0 support also.
This could be the real 'lite' aspect, if it doesn't have the eSATA port. But then, the port use is not officially supported yet anyway.
__________________
...joe
joewmaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 08:19 AM   #187
bkdtv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: DC Metro Area
Posts: 7,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfh3
Since you are quite knowledgable regarding the various chipsets, care to do a comparasion between the S3 and S3lite for us, in terms of potential capabilities, speed, etc.?
There's not much difference in performance. Broadcom claims 450 DMIPs for its cheapest integrated solution as compared to 420 DMIPs for the older chip in the Series3. Both run at 300MHz and have the same 32Kb data and 32Kb instruction caches.

Basically, the new model does everything the current S3 does...it just takes advantage of newer, cheaper, and more highly integrated parts to simplify board design.
bkdtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 11:07 AM   #188
vstone
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Martinsville, VA
Posts: 1,223
What's the BCM7411 MPEG-4 decoder used for? Internet downloads?

How much is a DOCSIS 2 chip? (for two way comms)
vstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 11:15 AM   #189
MickeS
Registered User
 
MickeS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 25,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by vstone
What's the BCM7411 MPEG-4 decoder used for? Internet downloads?
It's not used for anything currently, but otherwise, yeah I guess they intend to possible use it with downloaded material.
MickeS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 11:58 AM   #190
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by vstone
What's the BCM7411 MPEG-4 decoder used for? Internet downloads?
It will be presumably useful for the forthcoming MRV/TTG/TTCB capability as a means to play mpeg4 files on your S3 from your PC via Tivo Desktop.
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 12:00 PM   #191
Justin Thyme
Contra sceleris
 
Justin Thyme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,306
Tivo engineers put metal on target.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bkdtv
Basically, the new model does everything the current S3 does...it just takes advantage of newer, cheaper, and more highly integrated parts to simplify board design.
As Micke intimated, looks like a page out of the Tivo playbook with the of the 2.0 to 2.5 board transition. I sure do hope the decoder won't jitter on high bitrate Hidef like what I saw in the S3 tests when I had TivoBack temporarily running. I can grumble about there not being more memory headroom and power in the video post processing but jeez this is impressive from a less appreciated aspect of what good engineering staffs do.

This price point and being final this early in the season will have the channel full with time to spare for Christmas. Battles are won or lost by putting metal on target, where give or take a few months doesn't cut it. I think part of this story that's getting missed here is that the S3 lite delivery is a demonstration of world class schedule discipline. Anyway, I'd like to see some good close up photos of the board, and to hear which chips are certain/ which are still speculative.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SullyND
Assuming the S3 continues in it's current form, would seem it could use at least a boost in HD capacity.
The ease of eSata upgrades will make such aftermarket upgrades a lot simpler and common for a broad market.

Really, some folks just want to time shift one or two shows rather than have a VOD like system with a thousand movies available on their Tivo.

Anyway- congratulations to the Tivo Hardware team.
Justin Thyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 12:53 PM   #192
pkscout
Registered User
 
pkscout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 3,879
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2
Ahh, now where are the people crying "photoshopped!!" which seems to happen every time new product information gets leaked?
Here I am. And I'm unwilling to believe this rumor based simply on a better picture. When I see an announcement I will believe it. Until then I won't. I don't see how TiVo can shave $500 off the price of the box just by dropping the OLED panel, the fancy remote, and the THX certification. Unless they've decided to lose money on every box and make it up in volume.
pkscout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 01:11 PM   #193
xnevergiveinx
Registered User
 
xnevergiveinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 597
i think this new tivo box is what will keep me with tivo. my series 2 is decent, but having s-video for the best picture quality and only being able to record at 480i is starting to turn out bad on my new hdtv
also, it's only a single tuner
i have been getting along with my series 2 box because i have been watching it on an old crt

i'm very happy for tivo's decision to make an affordable series 3 box, now i won't have to stray from tivo and be even more unhappy with a time warner dvr or something
__________________
series 2 tcd2400800 250 gigs 285 hours monthly
series 1 hdr 212 160 gigs 199 hours
bye bye lifetime!
xnevergiveinx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 01:17 PM   #194
MickeS
Registered User
 
MickeS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 25,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkscout
Here I am. And I'm unwilling to believe this rumor based simply on a better picture. When I see an announcement I will believe it. Until then I won't. I don't see how TiVo can shave $500 off the price of the box just by dropping the OLED panel, the fancy remote, and the THX certification. Unless they've decided to lose money on every box and make it up in volume.
Maybe your cats helped them out with that too!
MickeS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 01:24 PM   #195
wolflord11
Lord of Darkness
 
wolflord11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Madisonville, KY
Posts: 1,554
So does this mean when the Tivo Series 3 Lite comes out, sales will increase alot, as the Price of the Series 3 has been a major issue to alot of folks...I for one may look at it, after working out all the costs of changing to cable and that...

BUT: the sales of the Original Series 3 will drop alot. Why pay double the price for something that does the same job? Sure you do not have the fancy Front Panel, the better remote and all that, but then again, those parts could always be Sold by Tivo as upgrades to the unit

The introduction of the Series 3 Lite could be the death of the Original Series 3. Looking at it this way, the Series 3 has had the shortest lifespan of any Tivo unit.
__________________
Directv R15 DT
Philips DSR6000 DT Directv/TiVo
Directv D10 with S2 ST TiVo
TiVo Desktop on 4 XP Pro Computer Systems
wolflord11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 01:35 PM   #196
SugarBowl
Roamio Plus
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 731
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolflord11
So does this mean when the Tivo Series 3 Lite comes out, sales will increase alot, as the Price of the Series 3 has been a major issue to alot of folks...I for one may look at it, after working out all the costs of changing to cable and that...

BUT: the sales of the Original Series 3 will drop alot. Why pay double the price for something that does the same job? Sure you do not have the fancy Front Panel, the better remote and all that, but then again, those parts could always be Sold by Tivo as upgrades to the unit

The introduction of the Series 3 Lite could be the death of the Original Series 3. Looking at it this way, the Series 3 has had the shortest lifespan of any Tivo unit.
Seems like the series 3 was just an IPO of sorts, to raise money from the diehards, and gain another year of development on the real product.
SugarBowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 01:45 PM   #197
jgerry
save vinyl
 
jgerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 2,250
As long as it takes CableCards and isn't a crappy Motorola DVR, I'm in. SATA port enabled for more storage would be a nice bonus too.
__________________
"A friend will help you move. A true friend will help you move a dead body."
xbox live: jgerry
twitter: jgerry
jgerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 02:02 PM   #198
davecramer74
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 450
Looks like the earlier posts are correct. Just a slimmed down model wtih cheaper m/b and power supply and smaller hard drive. No SDV or VOD support. Ill be waiting longer i guess, sucks!.

Last edited by davecramer74 : 07-18-2007 at 02:10 PM.
davecramer74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 02:15 PM   #199
classicsat
Astute User
 
classicsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 17,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbiller
Features for TiVo TCD652160 HD Digital Video Recorder:

TIVO TCD653080
Unless TiVo changed their product numbering scheme;

I wonder what the difference is between the 652 and 653 units are (besides HDD size)?

Does the second digit being 5 mean anything? Usually Tivo branded units have a 4 there. I interpret that may be another CE partner selling them.

The 080 part means, at least in traditional TiVo product numbering, and 80 GB HDD. Could that be a digital SD only Series 3?
__________________
Series 2 234 Hr Lifetime.
Window XP and Ubuntu Linux on my PCs.
Watching more and more in HD direct now.
classicsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 02:21 PM   #200
Revolutionary
Too sleepy for TV...
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 575
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkscout
Here I am. And I'm unwilling to believe this rumor based simply on a better picture. When I see an announcement I will believe it. Until then I won't. I don't see how TiVo can shave $500 off the price of the box just by dropping the OLED panel, the fancy remote, and the THX certification. Unless they've decided to lose money on every box and make it up in volume.
You've got it backward. The Series3 was the bleeding edge moneymaker, the proceeds from which bankrolled development of the S3-Lite. The S3 was over priced. They'll shave $100 off production, $300 off the sticker, and still end up with a profitable commodity box that we think is a steal because we've been innoculated by the overpriced Series3.
__________________
"Mmm... forbidden donut."
Revolutionary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 02:21 PM   #201
Hogues92
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by SullyND
The S3 has the hardware, but has not (yet, we think) been certified.
I have one mcard in the correct slot on my Tivo (Comcast only had one card at the time and it took me 3 visits to get that). As of know it is only working with one tuner. Unless I'm doing something wrong, it appears that this feature has not been enabled yet. I'm hoping for it soon because I don't think I can stomach another round with Comcast.
Hogues92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 02:32 PM   #202
Riblet2000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revolutionary
You've got it backward. The Series3 was the bleeding edge moneymaker, the proceeds from which bankrolled development of the S3-Lite. The S3 was over priced. They'll shave $100 off production, $300 off the sticker, and still end up with a profitable commodity box that we think is a steal because we've been innoculated by the overpriced Series3.
Hey, if it works for Apple...

This is great news.
Riblet2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 02:52 PM   #203
bown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenixZed
Kind of hard to tell from that picture, but it looks like it has the an OLED display like the S3. I guess that wasn't a cost cutting requirement...
the engadget article says that the OLED was axed for the Tivo lite. It also comes with the regular S2 remote.
bown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 03:24 PM   #204
Dan Clarke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 109
Wow.

If this is true and they bring back limited lifetime transfers, I'm buying this in a heartbeat.

I would *LOVE* to get rid of this turd Motorola 6412. Oh no, I lose VOD? How will I live, not being able to see PBS Sprout or Fuse or whatever stupid stuff is on there! It's not like it's in HD or anything!
Dan Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 03:28 PM   #205
wolflord11
Lord of Darkness
 
wolflord11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Madisonville, KY
Posts: 1,554
If all works out, then I would be p***ed if I had purchased a Series 3 and paid Full price.

But I suppose if you had the Money to purchase a Series 3 in the first place, then you have nothing to complain about
__________________
Directv R15 DT
Philips DSR6000 DT Directv/TiVo
Directv D10 with S2 ST TiVo
TiVo Desktop on 4 XP Pro Computer Systems
wolflord11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 03:34 PM   #206
MickeS
Registered User
 
MickeS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 25,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolflord11
BUT: the sales of the Original Series 3 will drop alot. Why pay double the price for something that does the same job?
Good point. If the speculation here is true, there isn't much in terms of actual usability that sets the units apart. The hard drive size is a non-issue for many since it will be upgraded anyway.

I can't see the value in keeping the S3 in production anymore when this unit comes out, unless they significantly drop the MSRP (to maybe $399) and leave that as the option for those who want a bigger hard drive right out of the box.
MickeS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 03:48 PM   #207
HiDefGator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolflord11
The introduction of the Series 3 Lite could be the death of the Original Series 3.
I think I suggested this several months back. It doesn't make sense to keep producing both if the original S3 still isn't selling well. It's unlikely the S3-Lite will increase sales of the original S3.
HiDefGator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 03:55 PM   #208
ZeoTiVo
I can't explain
 
ZeoTiVo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 25,486
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiDefGator
I think I suggested this several months back. It doesn't make sense to keep producing both if the original S3 still isn't selling well. It's unlikely the S3-Lite will increase sales of the original S3.
yah, just like you do not see TiVo selling single tuner S2 models anymore - but they still get software updates and those extra features work the same.

The S3 line will be the same though the original S3 has the premium factor going for it that might keep it around in limited quantity
__________________
You just need to disable your sense of shame for all humanity and click past the break
ZeoTiVo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 03:59 PM   #209
stevereis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: DFW
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by classicsat
Unless TiVo changed their product numbering scheme;

I wonder what the difference is between the 652 and 653 units are (besides HDD size)?

Does the second digit being 5 mean anything? Usually Tivo branded units have a 4 there. I interpret that may be another CE partner selling them.

The 080 part means, at least in traditional TiVo product numbering, and 80 GB HDD. Could that be a digital SD only Series 3?
I made this post in April '06 based on info I found, from you, among others:
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...&&#post3968916. This is the info originally posted, with some edits now that the S2DT and S3 are now out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevereis
Posting the info from classicsat's post on that 'other' forum into this thread
My updates are bold, based on the new model numbers:
TCD648250A - HD, Dual Tuner, Dual CableCard, Dual ATSC
TCD649180/TCD649080 - SD, Dual Tuner

Model format ABCDDD
ABC being the first digits of a TiVo or AT&T brand Model, and the first 3 digits of the service number. DDD is a representaion of drive size.

A is platform series:
0: Series 1
1: Series 2 Gen 1, USB 1.1 Standalone / Pre RID DirecTV DVR (USB 2.0)
2: Series 2 Gen 2, USB 2.0 Standalone.
3: Series 2 Gen 1, RID DirecTV DVR (USB2.0).
4: Series 2 Gen 2, RID DirecTV DVR.
5: Series 2.5 Gen 3, USB2.0 Standalone + DirecTV DVR (R10)
6: Series 3 or just dual tuner?

B is manuufacturer:
0: Philips
1: Sony
2: Toshiba or RCA (121, 321, 521)?
3: AT&T or Hughes?
4: TiVo
5: Pioneer or Hughes (151, 351, 357, etc.)?
6: RCA/Thomson or Toshiba (264, 565)?
7: Hughes or Pioneer: 275?
8: Samsung
9: Humax
E: TGC (TiVo Greater China)?
Followup posts over there indicate 2/6 and 3/7 may be swapped

C is hardware configuration
0: Single HDD drive
1: DirecTV DVR
2: dual HDD any reports of these?
4: DVD player
5: DVD recorder
8: HD Dual Tuner w/CableCard
9: SD Dual Tuner

__________________

648-S3 - 750GB - TWC (2xS) + ATSC
652-HD - 160GB - TWC (1xM) + ATSC
649-S2DT - 500GB - TWC analog + Voom ATSC
595-DRT800 - 300GB - TWC analog + Voom ATSC
240-S2 - 420 GB - TWC analog
stevereis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 04:04 PM   #210
Dan Clarke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 109
Totally OT, but Tivo.com is selling "refurb" Series 3 for $499 right now ...
Dan Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |