TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-08-2008, 02:42 PM   #1921
Videodrome
tivo - please wait..
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 884
My dealings with Comcast of Hillsboro (patriot) havent been postive. The calls i made to get a cablecard were handle so unprofessional. Basicly forwarding me into an voicemail , and never getting a callback.

Try getsatisfaction.com and post your story.
Videodrome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 04:09 PM   #1922
rv65
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelK View Post
I'm no expert but there are lots of bits on the internet (so consider the source) that the above is a major part of this. It breaks the back of the moto + SA/cisco doupoly. Comcast as an example has already contracted for piles of OCAP boxes from panasonic.

Seem's plausible to me that much of this is to "get the duopoly" in line.
The Panasonic boxes are actually motorola compatible STB's. They might be made by Panasonic but are Motorola compatible. They do use OCAP which is universal.
rv65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 05:18 PM   #1923
lrhorer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,849
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelK View Post
As irhorer said- it's not corporate wide but probably just some local inbred who culturally are against the cards.
Thanks, but please, that's lrhorer, not irhorer.
lrhorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2008, 08:45 PM   #1924
Scopeman
Avoiding Premeire
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by socrplyr View Post
Wouldn't all of us like to know... No one that I have seen has confirmed any hard dates. However, when I contacted my local office they told me by the end of the year. I have also seen others post similar results after they contacted their offices.

I haven't see a single person report that they have a tuning adapter in hand at this point.

Edit: I am reporting on what I have seen for TWC Only.
Some TWC locations *are* testing with small groups of local users - maybe not many TWC areas, but at least some.

From what I understand (sadly) you should be setting your expectations for Nov., not Sept., for mass shipments.
__________________
Scopeman
Scopeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2008, 11:50 PM   #1925
DCIFRTHS
I dumped SDV / cable
 
DCIFRTHS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by bicker View Post
And that's a good point, and why I'm not necessarily celebrating the fact that they have to continue supporting CableCARD even after they come up with an alternative: A lot of these rules are easy to ignore, because the details of them are not generally enforced. As long as folks keep ratifying a pro-business perspective at the federal level (and, for full disclosure, I generally do, and do so without reservation), then there will always be a gap between what's right for consumers and what is the reality consumers have to accept.

...or choose to accept.
DCIFRTHS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 06:21 AM   #1926
bicker
Gruff
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 9,064
Yes, good point: Consumers always have a choice whether to accept or decline offerings.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 07:14 PM   #1927
JayBird
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 123
Latest letter from Cox

I received a letter today from Cox, indicating that they will now be implementing SDV here in AZ on October 10th. It was previously scheduled for July 1st, but due to various technical issues, it didn't happen as originally scheduled. It looks like the channels that are moving to SDV are the same as the channels that were listed in the previous letter. The only one that I'm going to really miss is 133 (DIY).

The letter also says that they are still offering an HD receiver (no DVR) for only $2/mo. (same as a cable card) for the first 6 months for those who want access to the SDV channels, On DEMAND, and the infamous cable box Interactive Program Guide. Personally, I'll pass, but others may want to take them up on this offer.

The letter also still says that the tuning adapter for TiVos is expected to be available "later this year", and will be provided for free. I'll believe it when I actually have one in hand.
__________________
TiVo HD w/ dual 750 GB drives
Denon AVR-3808CI A/V receiver
Pioneer KURO PDP-6010FD 60" Plasma HDTV
Logitech Harmony One remote
JayBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 07:51 PM   #1928
MichaelK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by Videodrome View Post
My dealings with Comcast of Hillsboro (patriot) havent been postive. The calls i made to get a cablecard were handle so unprofessional. Basicly forwarding me into an voicemail , and never getting a callback.

Try getsatisfaction.com and post your story.

comcast sucks. Clearly their system of call centers 1,000 miles away doesn't really work well.

if you can- try to get them to connect you directly to the former patriot office in somerset. Once you get a former patriot employee they will fix you up lickety split.
MichaelK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 07:51 PM   #1929
MichaelK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrhorer View Post
Thanks, but please, that's lrhorer, not irhorer.
whoops- sorry
MichaelK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 07:53 PM   #1930
MichaelK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by rv65 View Post
The Panasonic boxes are actually motorola compatible STB's. They might be made by Panasonic but are Motorola compatible. They do use OCAP which is universal.


????

if they are ocap then they are universal - so they will work on moto head ends that supprot OCAP. Or SA/cisco head ends that support ocap.


or are you saying they have natice moto support in additon to ocap? Seems silly to me to include that too but who knows...
MichaelK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 08:24 PM   #1931
rv65
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelK View Post
????

if they are ocap then they are universal - so they will work on moto head ends that supprot OCAP. Or SA/cisco head ends that support ocap.


or are you saying they have natice moto support in additon to ocap? Seems silly to me to include that too but who knows...
Yep I heard that they have native moto support. Right now Panasonic hasn't begun mass production of their OCAP/tru2way/iDCR HD-DVR. They have had problems with it's design so they are going to fix the problems and then put it into market. It will be an MSO box not a box you can buy. With tru2way they might just offer a list of approved boxes that are guaranteed to work and they may still be able to have a few boxes for renting customers. Comcast has been using the RNG-200 for comcast areas that use SA/Cisco. That also uses OCAP but it doesn't seem to like certain universal remotes. Time Warner in San Diego will probably offer the next gen Cisco box called the 8550/8552 HDC. The non DVR will probably be the 4550HDC. They may also carry a samsung box.
rv65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 12:43 AM   #1932
will592
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 25
I got the same letter JayBird. I thought the most interesting part was the channel list on the back. Mostly Spanish language stations and sports packages. I too am not quite ready to jump onboard the USB dongle express
will592 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2008, 04:04 PM   #1933
mel.simmons
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Del Mar CA
Posts: 24
More SDV channels coming from TWC San Diego

Sigh. Another letter from Time Warner Cable in San Diego. They will be moving more channels to SDV on 27 October: Versus/Golf HD, Starz HD, Cinemax HD, Lifetime Movie Net HD, Fox Sports HD, and National Geographic HD.

"We recognize the frustration this may cause you ..." is an understatement.

They say they expect to offer Tuning Adapters "later this year".
mel.simmons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2008, 05:48 PM   #1934
mikeyts
Wireless Wiseguy
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 2,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by mel.simmons View Post
Sigh. Another letter from Time Warner Cable in San Diego. They will be moving more channels to SDV on 27 October: Versus/Golf HD, Starz HD, Cinemax HD, Lifetime Movie Net HD, Fox Sports HD, and National Geographic HD.

"We recognize the frustration this may cause you ..." is an understatement.

They say they expect to offer Tuning Adapters "later this year".
Not too bad for me--I don't subscribe to Starz or Cinemax (I'd drop them with a loud protest if I did), I've never watched anything on Lifetime Movies HD, FSN HD SW broadcasts one or two events every few months and the stuff on Versus that I want to watch (their occasional coverage of tennis) is never shown on VS/Golf HD. I might miss NatGeo HD, a little.

If they're not going to offer Tuning Adapters before 27 October, "later this year" would mean November or December, so you'll only lose them for a couple of months (if they're right about that).

I've been sharing homes for the past couple of years since retirement and have been the in market for a new place. I'd hoped that I'd land in Cox territory (no SDV and more HD channels to boot, including Sci Fi HD, which I'd kill for). Unfortunately, I found a great place to share in Bay Park, but it's still in TWC land--life in the big city .
__________________
Mike Scott

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" -- hookbill
mikeyts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 05:44 PM   #1935
mikeyts
Wireless Wiseguy
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 2,121
According to this thread, Comcast plans to make Tuning Adapters available on Monday (at least in New Jersey). People will be able to come in a pick them up, or get a free truck roll for installation. Bravo, Comcast .
__________________
Mike Scott

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" -- hookbill
mikeyts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 04:59 PM   #1936
mikeyts
Wireless Wiseguy
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 2,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyts View Post
According to this thread, Comcast plans to make Tuning Adapters available on Monday (at least in New Jersey). People will be able to come in a pick them up, or get a free truck roll for installation. Bravo, Comcast .
The guy who posted that thread reports today that he picked up his Tuning Adapter and that it's hooked up and working.
__________________
Mike Scott

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" -- hookbill
mikeyts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 05:10 PM   #1937
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,514
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyts View Post
The guy who posted that thread reports today that he picked up his Tuning Adapter and that it's hooked up and working.
That's good news. Strikes me as kind of ironic that the major cable provider probably with smallest SDV deployment (percentage wise) is the first to make these available. Wouldn't surprise me if TWC is the last
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 05:33 PM   #1938
MickeS
Registered User
 
MickeS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 25,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
That's good news. Strikes me as kind of ironic that the major cable provider probably with smallest SDV deployment (percentage wise) is the first to make these available.
Kinda makes sense though.
MickeS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 07:58 PM   #1939
MichaelK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
That's good news. Strikes me as kind of ironic that the major cable provider probably with smallest SDV deployment (percentage wise) is the first to make these available. Wouldn't surprise me if TWC is the last

sort of surprising but maybe not when we think comcast is the major provider with the longest (strongest?) relationship of the big boys.
MichaelK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 09:55 AM   #1940
vstone
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Martinsville, VA
Posts: 1,223
Picture shows CISCO logo. Is this for SA systems? Comcast is supposedly about 80% Moto boxes.

I had read that Comcast had decided to go all digital and defer SDV until later. Guess not. I've also read that they has replaced some euipment that would allow them to put 3 HD channels on a freq instead of two.
vstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 10:25 AM   #1941
bdraw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 456
Updated the first post to include details of the Tuning Adapter.
__________________
How good can it be, if it isn't HD?
Ben Drawbaugh
Engadget HD
bdraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 10:49 AM   #1942
ah30k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by vstone View Post
Picture shows CISCO logo. Is this for SA systems? Comcast is supposedly about 80% Moto boxes.

I had read that Comcast had decided to go all digital and defer SDV until later. Guess not. I've also read that they has replaced some euipment that would allow them to put 3 HD channels on a freq instead of two.
Comcast (like most other large operators) has both SA and Mot systems. Each system may have a different strategy so you can't make blanket statements about how Comcast will proceed. The SA systems are far ahead of the Mot systems in their deployment of SDV. Comcast has slowed their deployment of SDV in their Mot systems as a business decision as they focus on other capital intensive efforts. The time will come, though, that they go all out on Mot systems as well.
ah30k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 10:56 AM   #1943
classicsat
Astute User
 
classicsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 17,878
Yes, Cisco = Scientific Atlanta.
__________________
Series 2 234 Hr Lifetime.
Window XP and Ubuntu Linux on my PCs.
Watching more and more in HD direct now.
classicsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 05:03 PM   #1944
sieglinde
Registered User
 
sieglinde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sebastopol, CA
Posts: 5,350
Mediacom is deploying Motorola tuning adapters starting Friday of this week in the small town of Ridgecrest, CA. I won't be able to pick it up until Monday.
__________________
Science over Superstition
sieglinde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 08:51 AM   #1945
RoundBoy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 493
Just curious to see if anybody had a unit and is using it. Is it a 'transparent' device or does it add any type of delay to channel switching, etc ?
RoundBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 09:21 AM   #1946
mikeyts
Wireless Wiseguy
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 2,121
As I reported back in this post (just 10 posts before your query), a Comcast system in New Jersey has been distributing them since Monday. There's a thread about it here.

Try scanning the last 20 or so posts for information next time .
__________________
Mike Scott

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" -- hookbill
mikeyts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 09:55 AM   #1947
RoundBoy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 493
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyts View Post
As I reported back in this post (just 10 posts before your query), a Comcast system in New Jersey has been distributing them since Monday. There's a thread about it here.

Try scanning the last 20 or so posts for information next time .
Thats not very fair... your post said comcast was handing them out.. and the other post is about comcast in NJ handing them out. Nobody actually addresses the questions I asked.

The 2nd thread is more focused on the size / power consumption, rather then actual use since even though they have one, SDV isn't required in their area yet.
RoundBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 12:52 PM   #1948
mikeyts
Wireless Wiseguy
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 2,121
People in that thread are reporting that they've picked them up, plugged them in and that they're working. They have absolutely no idea whether there's any SDV in use in their area yet, since Comcast didn't deign to inform them of what channels they planned to present as SDV, but if they hadn't already had some SDV channels up, they obviously have the intent to use it and have tested it in their network or they wouldn't be distributing tuning adapters. It's quite possible that, like here in San Diego, they've been presenting part of their digital simulcast as SDV and are now mapping Tuning Adapters to those channels.

But you don't have to ask whether anyone's using Tuning Adapters yet--if any one of us who monitors this thread (and thus could read your question) had received one, I trust that he or she would report it here--if they have reason not to volunteer the information (such as having signed an NDA), a posted question isn't likely to make them give it up.
__________________
Mike Scott

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" -- hookbill
mikeyts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 12:53 PM   #1949
mikeyts
Wireless Wiseguy
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 2,121
I hadn't noticed, but I see from the weaknees blog that TiVo has beefed up their SDV support page (here). Of particular interest is this, from the "TiVo upgrades and exchanges section:
Quote:
...you can connect the Tuning Adapter to your new DVR and it will be operational immediately. All channels that are not copy protected, including SDV channels, will be visible.

You will still need to call your cable provider to get the CableCARD(s) paired to your new DVR before you can view copy-protected channels.
...which implies that TiVo can use the channel map in the TA just like it uses the CableCARD maps, even without CableCARDs plugged in. I'm sure that will get all of those people who want to use basic cable without CableCARDs all hot and bothered . Unfortunately, the guy who started that New Jersey Comcast thread states that they checked the computer to make sure that he had CableCARDs before giving him a TA. As I think that I heard bicker say somewhere, the cable companies will probably consider these things to be ancilliary to your lease of CableCARDs.
__________________
Mike Scott

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" -- hookbill
mikeyts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 01:07 PM   #1950
CharlesH
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas (San Francisco Bay Area)
Posts: 924
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyts View Post
...which implies that TiVo can use the channel map in the TA just like it uses the CableCARD maps, even without CableCARDs plugged in.
The tuning resolver spec posted a few months ago said that the tuning resolver would provide a channel map that the host must use instead of the one provided by the cablecard. Of course, whether the tuning resolver will work in the absence of a cablecard is another matter.

Last edited by CharlesH : 10-09-2008 at 01:13 PM.
CharlesH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |