TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-19-2015, 08:15 PM   #1
Vorian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
TiVo HD Series 3 Hard Drive Failure...

Hi all,

Great forum! I see there is a ton of info on this site. I have a TiVo HD that just had its hard drive fail. I bought a new Roamio Plus and dropped in a 3TB hard drive in it right from the start. I now have the original 1TB drive that came with the Roamio. Can I just slap that drive into my TiVo HD and expect it to work or will I have to do 'stuff' to get that old box up and running again?

Thanks in advance!
Mike

Vorian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 11:01 PM   #2
Vorian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
I forgot to mention I have a TCD652160 if that makes any difference.


Sent from my mobile command post

Vorian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 11:27 PM   #3
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 3,960
You would need to write an image to the leftover drive in order to use it in the HD.

See here: http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...splay.php?f=25

Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 11:29 PM   #4
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,408
TC CLUB MEMBER
Only the Roamio has that ability where nothing is done on a new drive and the Tivo initializes the drive.

For the previous models, you have to put the Tivo software on it, which needs to match the model number to even work.

TCD652xxx S3HD 11.0m here

This is where you can find an image.

__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 01:42 AM   #5
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 14,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vorian View Post
Hi all,

Great forum! I see there is a ton of info on this site. I have a TiVo HD that just had its hard drive fail. I bought a new Roamio Plus and dropped in a 3TB hard drive in it right from the start. I now have the original 1TB drive that came with the Roamio. Can I just slap that drive into my TiVo HD and expect it to work or will I have to do 'stuff' to get that old box up and running again?

Thanks in advance!
Mike
If you put a 160GB image on a 1TB drive (or any drive larger, in LBA number, than the original TCD652160 drive) with either the MFS Live cd or the WinMFS program, do not do the expansion into the rest of the space as part of that process.

If you use the .bak file, do not include the -x option on the command line (might as well skip -z as well)

If you use the .tbk file, then when WinMFS finishes and offers to expand tell it no.

Then check the new drive with

mfsinfo

and make sure everything looks okay.

The partition map will show a large Apple Free partition on the end of the drive.


At that point you can do the expansion with

mfsadd

Just take my word for it.

__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 08:54 AM   #6
Vorian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
Thanks all. I'll give the image a shot tonight and report back.


Sent from my mobile command post

Vorian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 10:52 PM   #7
Vorian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
Old TiVo is back up and running! Thanks all! I can't believe how easy it is to do HD changes/upgrades now. I remember having to 'bless' a drive back with my first TiVo.

Vorian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2015, 08:50 PM   #8
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 14,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vorian View Post
Old TiVo is back up and running! Thanks all! I can't believe how easy it is to do HD changes/upgrades now. I remember having to 'bless' a drive back with my first TiVo.

All mad props to the people who came up with the original TiVo drive wrangling software, but thanks to spike's work on putting MFS Tools together with a Live Linux bootable cd, and then his creation of WinMFS, it is now we who are "blessed".


__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 AM.
Page generated in 0.06369209 seconds (77.27% PHP - 22.73% MySQL) with 18 queries