TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-25-2007, 10:12 AM   #1
bgthom01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: KY
Posts: 33
Considering "Upgrade" - Need advice

I've had an HR-10 250 for years. Love the Tivo interface and use an OTA for locals. I briefly tried my local cable company's Motorola DVR and had them come take it away. It was terrible.

Now I'm moving from Louisville to St. Louis and everyone is trying to get me to "upgrade" to the new DVR, install a KAKU dish so that I can get HD locals off the sat. The equipment would be free with a one year commitment but I'm thinking about staying with what I've got. (Triple LNB with OTA and HR10-250)

Thoughts?
Thanks --Brad
bgthom01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 10:16 AM   #2
classicsat
Astute User
 
classicsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 17,878
Do you want HD from DirecTV long term? If so, get their 5-LNB dish and HD receiver or DVR. If you want HD locals form sat, you need the ablove, the HR10-250 won't get them.
__________________
Series 2 234 Hr Lifetime.
Window XP and Ubuntu Linux on my PCs.
Watching more and more in HD direct now.
classicsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 10:25 AM   #3
wolflord11
Lord of Darkness
 
wolflord11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Madisonville, KY
Posts: 1,554
As classicsat has said, to get HD you will need the newer DVR. The HR10-250 does not receive HD.

Why not get the "Free Upgrade" - KAKU 5LNB Dish and Newer DVR Unit, but also keep your HR10-250 unit. That way, you will not only have HD, but still have the Tivo interface on the older unit.

And who knows, maybe you may find the user interface on the newer unit good to
__________________
Directv R15 DT
Philips DSR6000 DT Directv/TiVo
Directv D10 with S2 ST TiVo
TiVo Desktop on 4 XP Pro Computer Systems
wolflord11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 10:38 AM   #4
bgthom01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: KY
Posts: 33
My understanding is that if I get the KAKU then my HR10 will not work on that - is that true?
bgthom01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 10:56 AM   #5
rlj5242
Registered User
 
rlj5242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Southaven, MS
Posts: 2,381
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgthom01
My understanding is that if I get the KAKU then my HR10 will not work on that - is that true?
The HR10-250 sees the new dish as a Phase 3 dish. It will work just like it does now with your current dish.

-Robert
rlj5242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 11:06 AM   #6
bgthom01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: KY
Posts: 33
If I choose to set up the KAKU dish and go with the new DVR and don't like it - would I be able to attach an OTA and go back to my HR10 with OTA for locals?

You guys are making me lean towards the KAKU with the DirecTV DVR and HD locals via sat.
That would mean trying to live without my Tivo.....
bgthom01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 11:11 AM   #7
TonyTheTiger
Pro Troll Magnet
 
TonyTheTiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 11,999
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgthom01
If I choose to set up the KAKU dish and go with the new DVR and don't like it - would I be able to attach an OTA and go back to my HR10 with OTA for locals?
You guys are making me lean towards the KAKU with the DirecTV DVR and HD locals via sat.
That would mean trying to live without my Tivo.....
Yes, no problem.

Good luck with your choice. I have two of the new boxes and would go back to the HR10 if I could get OTA locals, but it's your choice and your decision. At least you'll get the chance to compare for little or no cost.
TonyTheTiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 12:12 PM   #8
rminsk
TiVoted TiVo User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 5,612
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgthom01
The equipment would be free with a one year commitment but I'm thinking about staying with what I've got. (Triple LNB with OTA and HR10-250)

Thoughts?
Thanks --Brad
Are you sure it is a one year commitment? They bumped it up to two years a while back.
__________________
Be vewy vewy quiet. I am squirrel hunting.
rminsk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 12:26 PM   #9
bgthom01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: KY
Posts: 33
Well...thinks seem to have changed once the installer got here. Now the HD receiver is free but the HD-DVR is $199. Not worth it to try to me....

And yes - that deal above is one year
bgthom01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |