TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > Developers Corner
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-23-2007, 10:02 PM   #1
KurtisFish
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7
Problems with XM HME (HmeSatRadio v0.09)

Hello!

I am trying to run the XM HME through HmeSatRadio v0.09 using the XM Online backend plugin.

I think I have everything set up right -- please see my config files below. The error message that I am getting on my Tivo box is:
An Error occured while running the application. The application closed during a read. (0x50006)


On the PC end here is what I get:
************************************************************ ***

HME SDK 1.4 (TiVo, Inc.)
LOG: added factory
MDNS: http://192.168.1.10:7288/hmesatradio/
LOG: 192.168.1.105 icon.png HTTP GET - to factory /hmesatradio/
Connection timed out: connect
java.net.ConnectException: Connection timed out: connect
at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.socketConnect(Native Method)
at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.doConnect(Unknown Source)
at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.connectToAddress(Unknown Source)
at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.connect(Unknown Source)
at java.net.SocksSocketImpl.connect(Unknown Source)
at java.net.Socket.connect(Unknown Source)
at java.net.Socket.connect(Unknown Source)
at java.net.Socket.<init>(Unknown Source)
at java.net.Socket.<init>(Unknown Source)
at com.watty.hmesatradio.HmeSatRadioScreen.initChannelList(HmeS atRadioSc
reen.java:458)
at com.watty.hmesatradio.HmeSatRadioScreen.<init>(HmeSatRadioSc reen.java
:106)
at com.watty.hmesatradio.HmeSatRadioApp.init(HmeSatRadioApp.jav a:51)
at com.tivo.hme.sdk.Application.open(Application.java:428)
at com.tivo.hme.host.sample.Listener.handleHME(Listener.java:28 0)
at com.tivo.hme.host.sample.Listener.handle(Listener.java:381)
at com.tivo.hme.host.http.server.HttpConnection.run(HttpConnect ion.java:
123)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
LOG: Unexpected error: java.lang.NullPointerException
LOG: 192.168.1.105 icon.png HTTP GET - to factory /hmesatradio/
************************************************************ ***



Now, here are my config files:
MAIN CONFIG:
//Addressort of the host running the backend (SatRadioSocket or SatRadioOnline)
//POrt 48489 for RadioSocket or port 48490 RadioOnline
//Make sure it is a real IP address (not 127.0.0.1 or localhost)
#SatRadioAddress=192.168.1.10:48490
SatRadioAddress=192.168.1.5:48490

//Address of Stream.
//Use "builtin" for the builtin MP3 sender support. It will use the IP Address from SatRadioAddress
//and the port 46666
//Or put in a Shoutcast/Icecast url if you rather use that.
//Or none is you have Audio cables run to the TV
#StreamLocation=builtin
#StreamLocation=http://localhost:8000
#StreamLocation=http://192.168.1.5:46666
StreamLocation=builtin

//Command-line apps to run on Hme load. I personally use this to run a small script to make sure the mixer settings are set correctly.
#RunOnStart=<program to run on Hme load>

//Mute or Power radio off on Hme Exit.
//If you power radio off, you need to wait for channel listings to populate again when launching Hme again.
#DoOnExit=off
#DoOnExit=nothing
DoOnExit=mute

******************************************************
ONLINE CONFIG:
//Username and Password to login to the XmRadio Online
OnlineUserName=k.cummings@insightbb.com
OnlinePassword=******(Hidden for security)*******

//Connection speed: low or high
#Speed=high
Speed=high

//When first launching RadioOnline.
//MuteByDefault will make it not start playing stream but song listing will update
//OffByDefault will make stream not play, and song listing will not update (well, at 5 minute intervals to keep login alive)
#MuteByDefault=true
OffByDefault=true

//Turn off builtin MP3 Sound Sender. Only really want to turn this off if it is not working for you.
//Or if you don't need it because you have audio cables running to your TV
#BuiltinMp3Off=true


//The Built-in sound Sender uses the default mixer to get input from. Use this to override
//the default. When you start the Backend, it will give a list of Mixer indexes and descriptions
//Use one of the indexes in the list.
#MixerIndex=4

//Location to save Recordings to. If not specified, it will save them to the current directory.
//NOTE: Recording will only work if using the BuiltinMp3 Streamer.
#RecordingsDir=/tmp
#RecordingsDir=C:\temp
************************************************************ ****

I am using my desktop hard wired connected to my Wireless Router ip: 192.168.1.10 and trying to connect to the Tivo (which sees the HmeSatRadio plugin) which is connected via a TIVO Wireless G adapter.

Any suggestions?
KurtisFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2007, 12:23 AM   #2
rudiger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: On the fringe...
Posts: 114
Any news on this?
I've got the same problem. Setup and setting are identical to Kurtisfish.

rudiger
rudiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 10:23 AM   #3
StyleX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 2
I think your problem is this line:

Code:
SatRadioAddress=192.168.1.5:48490
The IP address here needs to be the computer that is running the backend (runRadioOnline.bat), which I think you are saying is 192.168.1.10. So try changing the config.txt to read like:

Code:
SatRadioAddress=192.168.1.10:48490
Then let me know if you manage to get the MP3 streaming working, as that's the part I'm struggling with.
StyleX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 07:19 AM   #4
KurtisFish
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7
That worked great!! Listening to XM Radio on the Tivo now -- thanks!

About the streaming issue -- try copying over my config file for the onlineconfig.txt:


//Username and Password to login to the XmRadio Online
OnlineUserName=****YOUR USER NAME AND PASSWORD****
OnlinePassword=****YOUR USER NAME AND PASSWORD****

//Connection speed: low or high
#Speed=high
Speed=high

//When first launching RadioOnline.
//MuteByDefault will make it not start playing stream but song listing will update
//OffByDefault will make stream not play, and song listing will not update (well, at 5 minute intervals to keep login alive)
#MuteByDefault=true
OffByDefault=true

//Turn off builtin MP3 Sound Sender. Only really want to turn this off if it is not working for you.
//Or if you don't need it because you have audio cables running to your TV
#BuiltinMp3Off=true


//The Built-in sound Sender uses the default mixer to get input from. Use this to override
//the default. When you start the Backend, it will give a list of Mixer indexes and descriptions
//Use one of the indexes in the list.
#MixerIndex=4


//Location to save Recordings to. If not specified, it will save them to the current directory.
//NOTE: Recording will only work if using the BuiltinMp3 Streamer.
#RecordingsDir=/tmp
#RecordingsDir=C:\temp
LastChannel=26



***MAKE SURE THAT THE MIXER CHANNEL IS SELECTED FOR YOUR SPECIFIC AUDIO OUTPUT***

Also, try double clicking on the speaker icon in the bottom Right hand corner of your screen -- by the clock


Click on OPTIONS -- then PROPERTIES

click on RECORDING for the recording preferences

Make sure that your WAVE OUT MIX is selected as the audio output (this is what the MP3 Encoder will listen, and in turn record from -- it is listening to your speaker output)

ANd make sure that the slider is a little higher than half way -- about 3/4


Try that, or if you already have, let me know!
KurtisFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 05:48 PM   #5
rigger29
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 106
I just downloaded this app and i cant get the damm. thing to work. cant see nothing on tivo. so can someone give me a walk through?
rigger29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 02:46 PM   #6
ajayabb
Registered User
 
ajayabb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Moorestown NJ
Posts: 427
I have been struggling with the MP3 streaming. Sound plays on the PC but not the Tivo. I tried to adjust the volume on the sound card; everything is turned up but I dont see a line out option. Only Wave, Synth, CD, PC volume controls. Any suggestions
ajayabb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 01:54 PM   #7
ajayabb
Registered User
 
ajayabb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Moorestown NJ
Posts: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by rigger29
I just downloaded this app and i cant get the damm. thing to work. cant see nothing on tivo. so can someone give me a walk through?
How far did you get. Let me see if I can help you.
ajayabb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2007, 08:26 PM   #8
rigger29
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajayabb
How far did you get. Let me see if I can help you.
First I get this when i run runradioonline.bat

Cookie: usvoCookie=DSOMERTON@COMCAST.NET|4239355|2|/QRPde6RPv0=|d+sLzDpeVks=|5uF
IQjiSsw5C+7ytS+tdWQ==|ea1fb1ce9ccefd275a6097d219d9a67f|Devin |Somerton|XwtEJV7Ikb
pelknzZfR5JQ==|XMROUS; pad_user=yes; ep=XMROUS;
Please Wait. Initializing Channel List
Done Intialization.
List of possible mixers to record from:
The schedule file does not exist yet: conf\onlineConf.txt.sch
Listen on port 48490
go
done
2 = Primary Sound Capture Driver Unknown Vendor Direct Audio Device: DirectSound
Capture
3 = Microphone (Conexant AC-Link Audio) Unknown Vendor Direct Audio Device: Dire
ctSound Capture
Listen on port 46666 MP3 Request

then a small windows opens up with a play button


online conf file

//Username and Password to login to the XmRadio Online
OnlineUserName=**********
OnlinePassword=**********

//Connection speed: low or high
#Speed=high
Speed=low

//When first launching RadioOnline.
//MuteByDefault will make it not start playing stream but song listing will update
//OffByDefault will make stream not play, and song listing will not update (well, at 5 minute intervals to keep login alive)
#MuteByDefault=true
OffByDefault=true

//Turn off builtin MP3 Sound Sender. Only really want to turn this off if it is not working for you.
//Or if you don't need it because you have audio cables running to your TV
#BuiltinMp3Off=true


//The Built-in sound Sender uses the default mixer to get input from. Use this to override
//the default. When you start the Backend, it will give a list of Mixer indexes and descriptions
//Use one of the indexes in the list.
#MixerIndex=2

//Location to save Recordings to. If not specified, it will save them to the current directory.
//NOTE: Recording will only work if using the BuiltinMp3 Streamer.
#RecordingsDir=/tmp
#RecordingsDir=C:\temp
rigger29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2007, 08:34 PM   #9
ajayabb
Registered User
 
ajayabb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Moorestown NJ
Posts: 427
set connection speed to high; otherwise that looks ok. Can you show me the "conf" text.
ajayabb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 07:14 PM   #10
Leo Valiant
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajayabb
I have been struggling with the MP3 streaming. Sound plays on the PC but not the Tivo. I tried to adjust the volume on the sound card; everything is turned up but I dont see a line out option. Only Wave, Synth, CD, PC volume controls. Any suggestions
I finally installed this again today to see if it skips on my S3 like it did on my S2s. It does

Anyhow, did you set the correct recording device? Get your clicking finger ready.
On XP:
> Control Panel
> Sounds and Audio Devices
> Audio TAB
> Volume BUTTON
> Options
> Properties
> Recording BUTTON
> Wave/MP3 CHECKBOX
> OK BUTTON
> Wave/MP3 Select CHECKBOX
Leo Valiant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 03:51 PM   #11
ajayabb
Registered User
 
ajayabb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Moorestown NJ
Posts: 427
I finally realized after some searching, that I needed to upgrade the firmwae on my sound card which had no line out option originally
ajayabb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |