TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-05-2007, 03:34 PM   #241
Da Goon
Registered Abuser
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,396
It depends on where you installed the TWP package. I use /var/hack/TivoWebPlus. So in my case it would be : /var/hack/TivoWebPlus/tivoweb &
Just enter that in at the command prompt and change the path to it depending on where you installed it. You could do : find / -name tivoweb and then just enter in the output from that command.
Da Goon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 03:56 PM   #242
Soapm
Registered User
 
Soapm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So close, yet too far away
Posts: 1,477
also, if you used zipper or sapper you can just type TWP at the bash to start it up

You will then have to edit your rc.sysinit.author to make it sart automatically. My TWP is in the /TivoWebPlus and here is my author entry

#############################################
#mkdir -p /var/TWP
export TWP_DATA_DIR=/var/TWP
# starting Tivowebplus
cd /TivoWebPlus; ./tivoweb
Soapm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 10:10 PM   #243
Robert Spalding
TiVo Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 409
I used the PTVnet CD so its in that :

/ptvupgrade/TivoWebPlus/

I wish there was a step by step way of fixing this because none of your guys' directions makes any sense.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Robert Spalding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 10:11 PM   #244
Robert Spalding
TiVo Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 409
could I start over and install it in the var/hack directory?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Robert Spalding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 10:21 PM   #245
Da Goon
Registered Abuser
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,396
Type /ptvupgrade/TivoWebPlus/tivoweb & at the bash prompt or add it to your rc.sysinit.author. Or you can remove it and stick it in /var/hack.
Da Goon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 10:27 PM   #246
Robert Spalding
TiVo Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 409
i typed that but it still won't connect.

How do I reinstall it?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Robert Spalding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 02:56 AM   #247
Soapm
Registered User
 
Soapm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So close, yet too far away
Posts: 1,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Spalding
i typed that but it still won't connect.

How do I reinstall it?
After you typed it, did you run ps again to see if it started?
Soapm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 09:02 AM   #248
Robert Spalding
TiVo Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soapm
After you typed it, did you run ps again to see if it started?

I just did and it's not running. I need to reinstall correct?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Robert Spalding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 11:41 AM   #249
Soapm
Registered User
 
Soapm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So close, yet too far away
Posts: 1,477
I don't know, I am a newbie to this game.

Here are the instructions I used to install

http://www.steveconrad.co.uk/tivo/tivoweb.html
Soapm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 12:36 PM   #250
Robert Spalding
TiVo Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 409
I think those are kind of old aren't they? Can anyone else point me in the right direction?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Robert Spalding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 12:53 PM   #251
BTUx9
back?
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rockport, MA
Posts: 1,596
Except for configuration/rw issues, this is just like any other program on the tivo... path of least resistance would probably just be to ftp the latest TWP bundle to /var, then:
Code:
mount -o remount,rw /
cd /ptvupgrade
rm -r TivoWebPlus
tar xzf /var/tivowebplus-v2.0.0-070804.tgz
mount -o remount,ro /
TivoWebPlus/tivoweb
that way, it should start up automatically without any changes on a reboot.

p.s. While I don't agree with the way some DDB gurus treat people, I must admit that because of the tools like ptvnet and zipper/enhancements that automate tivo hacking, we end up with a lot of owners of hacked tivos who haven't a clue about how to do things on them.
__________________
Check Out my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
with info on TWP2.0 and Tivoserver
BTUx9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 01:00 PM   #252
Robert Spalding
TiVo Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 409
thanks BTU! I'll try that later.

will it ignore the TWP install I have in the /PTVupgrade folder? or is this just reinstalling it in my old folder? also, what FTP program do you all use? I've been using Smart ftp but I think I am screwing things up because I can'[t figure out how to set it for Binary.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Robert Spalding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 01:06 PM   #253
BTUx9
back?
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rockport, MA
Posts: 1,596
since you'll be xferring a .tgz file, it shouldn't try to xfer in ascii... I use filezilla

If you run into trouble, check if I'm on IM
__________________
Check Out my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
with info on TWP2.0 and Tivoserver
BTUx9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 01:18 PM   #254
Robert Spalding
TiVo Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 409
I think you are right about the PTVnet type cd's....I was really into the scene about 5 years ago when everything was hard....I've just recently decided to upgrade my HR10-250 with a bigger drive and TWP and Instant cake and PTVnet was the easiest. I wish their support was a little better though.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Robert Spalding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 01:26 PM   #255
BTUx9
back?
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rockport, MA
Posts: 1,596
I think zipper is MUCH better on the support front... rbautch is always around helping those who have trouble.
(plus, I can't BELIEVE that ptvnet doesn't default to disabling upgrades)
__________________
Check Out my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
with info on TWP2.0 and Tivoserver
BTUx9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 03:16 PM   #256
Robert Spalding
TiVo Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 409
at least ptvnet gives you the option of turning the upgrades off during install.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Robert Spalding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 03:22 PM   #257
Pete77
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Not Far From London
Posts: 7,967
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Spalding
I think those are kind of old aren't they? Can anyone else point me in the right direction?
Still current as Tivoweb 1.9.4 hasn't changed in a long time, although there are now a lot more add on modules for it from third party developers.
__________________
601E with 2 x 250Gb Samsung HA250JCs, Cachecard + 512MB, TivoWeb 1.9.4, TivoWebPlus 2.0.1, Bufferhack, Autospace, Endpad, Tracker, DailyMail and Highlights
Pete77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 03:34 PM   #258
RichardJH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hanworth. Middlesex.
Posts: 1,195
Sorry to bump this but does anyone have any ideas what is causing this. Everything else is working fine with TWP 2.0

Internal server error
UK user with S1 Tivo.
I am getting the following error when I use the Info screen with TWP 2.0

Quote:
INTERNAL SERVER ERROR
--cut here--
action_info '' ''
df: cannot read table of mounted filesystems: No such file or directory
while executing
"exec df -h -T"
(procedure "MOD::action_info" line 283)
invoked from within
"$cmd $p1 $p2 $p3"
(procedure "do_action" line 19)
invoked from within
"do_action $action $chan $part $env 1"
--cut here--


Can anyone help

Thanks

Richard
RichardJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 03:52 PM   #259
BTUx9
back?
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rockport, MA
Posts: 1,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardJH
Sorry to bump this but does anyone have any ideas what is causing this. Everything else is working fine with TWP 2.0

Internal server error
UK user with S1 Tivo.
I am getting the following error when I use the Info screen with TWP 2.0

Quote:
INTERNAL SERVER ERROR
--cut here--
action_info '' ''
df: cannot read table of mounted filesystems: No such file or directory
while executing
"exec df -h -T"
(procedure "MOD::action_info" line 283)
invoked from within
"$cmd $p1 $p2 $p3"
(procedure "do_action" line 19)
invoked from within
"do_action $action $chan $part $env 1"
--cut here--


Can anyone help

Thanks

Richard
can't be sure, but it may be that, when you hacked your system, the lines responsible for "faking" the mounts once var is mounted were removed or corrupted... on my system, the lines are:
Code:
mount -f /
mount -af
mount /proc /proc -t proc
... check "df" from telnet to see if it worked
__________________
Check Out my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
with info on TWP2.0 and Tivoserver
BTUx9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 05:13 PM   #260
RichardJH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hanworth. Middlesex.
Posts: 1,195
Tried df from telnet and got the following

Quote:
Welcome to the wonderful world of TiVo hacking
Filesystem on / set to READONLY - type rw to make READ/WRITE
TiVo: {/var/tmp} % df
df: cannot read table of mounted filesystems: No such file or directory
TiVo: {/var/tmp} %
TiVo: {/var/tmp} % cd \
>
TiVo: {/} % df
df: cannot read table of mounted filesystems: No such file or directory
TiVo: {/} %
TiVo: {/} %
Tried it on my other Tivo which works fine with info module in TWP and got the following with df via telnet

Quote:
Welcome to the wonderful world of TiVo hacking
Filesystem on / set to READONLY - type rw to make READ/WRITE
TiVo: {/var/tmp} % df
Filesystem 1024-blocks Used Available Capacity Mounted on
/dev/hda4 126911 28090 92268 23% /
/dev/hda9 126911 26572 93786 22% /var
TiVo: {/var/tmp} %
TiVo: {/var/tmp} %


Last edited by RichardJH : 08-06-2007 at 05:42 PM.
RichardJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 06:28 PM   #261
MasterOfPuppets
TCF Bookie
 
MasterOfPuppets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: East Hell
Posts: 9,629
This is pretty minor, but I'm curious...
I've got the latest and greatest TWP 2.0 version installed.
SA S2 240. Under then 'Info' menu, under "FileSystem/Disk Information" I get this:
Quote:
Device: MAXTOR STM3320620A Supports ATA Version 7
Smartctl: Smart Values Read Failed
Smart Values Read failed: Input/output error
What do I need to do to fix those errors?
Thanks.
__________________
I'm MasterOfPuppets, and I approved this message.

Wii Number: 3383 8422 0846 8843
MasterOfPuppets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 08:01 PM   #262
Robert Spalding
TiVo Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by BTUx9
Except for configuration/rw issues, this is just like any other program on the tivo... path of least resistance would probably just be to ftp the latest TWP bundle to /var, then:
Code:
mount -o remount,rw /
cd /ptvupgrade
rm -r TivoWebPlus
tar xzf /var/tivowebplus-v2.0.0-070804.tgz
mount -o remount,ro /
TivoWebPlus/tivoweb
that way, it should start up automatically without any changes on a reboot.

p.s. While I don't agree with the way some DDB gurus treat people, I must admit that because of the tools like ptvnet and zipper/enhancements that automate tivo hacking, we end up with a lot of owners of hacked tivos who haven't a clue about how to do things on them.

I did all the steps above but it still won't work. I can get bash and FTP just fine....do I need to reboot?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Robert Spalding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 08:13 PM   #263
BTUx9
back?
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rockport, MA
Posts: 1,596
1) check the log
2) if you're running s/w 6.3x, you need to edit tivoweb.cfg and change the port
__________________
Check Out my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
with info on TWP2.0 and Tivoserver
BTUx9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 08:27 PM   #264
Robert Spalding
TiVo Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 409
ok, so now its working...how do I edit the tivoweb.cfg file?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Robert Spalding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 08:39 PM   #265
BTUx9
back?
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rockport, MA
Posts: 1,596
if you followed my instructions, it should've been created in /var/TWP/config... you should be able to edit with either joe or vi (or edit it locally with a linux-aware editor, and ftp it back). Then, do a quit & restart of TWP
__________________
Check Out my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
with info on TWP2.0 and Tivoserver
BTUx9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 09:22 PM   #266
Soapm
Registered User
 
Soapm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So close, yet too far away
Posts: 1,477
all of sudden my TWP stopped working. it gets this error when starting up. What gives?

Loading completed in 14 seconds -- Accepting Connections
couldn't open socket: address already in use
while executing
"socket -server ::session $::conf(Port)"
invoked from within
"set ::sock [socket -server ::session $::conf(Port)]"
(file "/TivoWebPlus/httpd-tt.tcl" line 33)
Error: The last session did not complete successfully
Exiting to prevent possible reboot loop
Please check the logs and rerun tivoweb when the problem is fixed
Soapm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 09:25 PM   #267
BTUx9
back?
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rockport, MA
Posts: 1,596
at a guess, you're running it from root, which was r/o and is now r/w, or vice-versa... see my wiki for how TWP2 determines which config dir to use
__________________
Check Out my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
with info on TWP2.0 and Tivoserver
BTUx9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 09:32 PM   #268
Soapm
Registered User
 
Soapm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So close, yet too far away
Posts: 1,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by BTUx9
at a guess, you're running it from root, which was r/o and is now r/w, or vice-versa... see my wiki for how TWP2 determines which config dir to use
You are right, it is in the root and I usually start it the first time with rw so it can make any config files it needs to make.

I will just do a new install and skip mu stupidity
Soapm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 09:35 PM   #269
BTUx9
back?
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rockport, MA
Posts: 1,596
you don't need to reinstall... just move config dir to /var/TWP/config
__________________
Check Out my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
with info on TWP2.0 and Tivoserver
BTUx9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 09:37 PM   #270
Soapm
Registered User
 
Soapm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So close, yet too far away
Posts: 1,477
that did it, thanks
Soapm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |