TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-11-2007, 08:39 PM   #1
zacdl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Hack Tivo (Free Service Alternative/Install Linux/Myth TV?)

Basically I was given a Tivo (Direct TV kind). One of the first and simplest questions: this will work with a cable signal, right? There isn't anything that says it has to be satellite for it to work with this is there??

I already use a Replay TV for most of my shows, but I was thinking it would be nice to have this Tivo to play around with (media center stuff, etc), and also record shows.

My first question- without wiping the Tivo software off, is there any way to get some sort of free service (I know it is against forum rules to steal, etc. I am not looking to do that, I am looking for alternatives to the general pay-for method).

If that cannot be done, is there some sort of guide to installing Linux on a Tivo (Then MythTV or something). The only thing, if it installs right, how do you make sure the remote interfaces with the unit?

It is a Directv DVR R10. Thanks for any info you can give me.
zacdl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 08:59 PM   #2
SeanC
ECT
 
SeanC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Someplace
Posts: 9,013
No the Direct TV Tivo will not work with a cable box.
SeanC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 09:05 PM   #3
zacdl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
It does not have a built-in tuner?
zacdl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 09:09 PM   #4
SeanC
ECT
 
SeanC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Someplace
Posts: 9,013
That, and it doesn't have an MPEG endcoder.
SeanC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 09:10 PM   #5
zacdl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
So what on earth can you do with the darn thing?
zacdl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 09:14 PM   #6
skinnyjm
I'm Grumpy???
 
skinnyjm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milky Way
Posts: 539
A DirecTiVo has 2 built-in tuners. However, they only accept DirecTV satellite signals (which are MPEG 2 encoded).
So...a DirecTiVo will only record via the DirecTV service with an authorized DirecTV access card.
Sorry, cable recording will NOT work.

You must subscribe to DirecTV.
Sorry.
__________________
DIRECTV since 4/2000.
TiVo software is the best.
skinnyjm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 09:17 PM   #7
zacdl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
You can't even install linux to run with media stuff (even non-cable shows)? In other words, just watch shows you send to it?

I guess I am coming back around to my question- what can you do with the darn thing?
zacdl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 09:25 PM   #8
SeanC
ECT
 
SeanC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Someplace
Posts: 9,013
Nothing. It's a door stop without programming from DirectTV.
SeanC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 10:00 PM   #9
David Platt
Manually-adjusted
 
David Platt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 9,893
TC CLUB MEMBER
Actually, you could hack it to enable the Home Media Features and use it for a media server. You could also use tivoserver to watch shows from your PC.
David Platt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 10:46 PM   #10
Tonedeaf
Registered User
 
Tonedeaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Rockwall, TX
Posts: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Platt
Actually, you could hack it to enable the Home Media Features and use it for a media server. You could also use tivoserver to watch shows from your PC.
Hack it along with a PROM swap.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Tonedeaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 02:21 AM   #11
skinnyjm
I'm Grumpy???
 
skinnyjm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milky Way
Posts: 539
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Platt
Actually, you could hack it to enable the Home Media Features and use it for a media server. You could also use tivoserver to watch shows from your PC.
Good Luck with that.
__________________
DIRECTV since 4/2000.
TiVo software is the best.
skinnyjm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 09:23 AM   #12
David Platt
Manually-adjusted
 
David Platt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 9,893
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tonedeaf
Hack it along with a PROM swap.
Whoops. Didn't notice it was an R10.

Probably not worth going to the trouble, then.
David Platt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 01:59 PM   #13
classicsat
Astute User
 
classicsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 17,878
The best thing you can do is sellit to somebody that will use it for its intended purpose, and go buy a box built for your intended purpose.
__________________
Series 2 234 Hr Lifetime.
Window XP and Ubuntu Linux on my PCs.
Watching more and more in HD direct now.
classicsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2007, 03:40 PM   #14
SuperFan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
I am in a similar situation as Zacdl. I was given a direct tv tivo box and am a poor college student so I don't want to pay the monthly service fee to record 2 shows a week and nothing else.

My university has a campus wide subscription to Direct TV but for all practical purposes it works just like cable. They have a master feed to all the on campus housing with cable jacks that you plug into.

I have a Phillips DSR6000R01.

So can I use this box for more than a paperweight or am I in the same boat?
SuperFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2007, 03:51 PM   #15
Da Goon
Registered Abuser
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,396
Since you have a Series 1 Dtivo, it will take quite a bit of work to make anything other than a doorstop. Put it on Ebay, somebody will buy it.
Da Goon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2007, 01:51 PM   #16
classicsat
Astute User
 
classicsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 17,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperFan
So can I use this box for more than a paperweight or am I in the same boat?
You are in the same boat. Despite what you receive being from DirecTV, you have what amounts to, at a techincal level, cable.
Yuo need to install a DirecTV dish and subscribe to the DirecTV service, or get a standalone or PC based DVR that can record from a cable source.
__________________
Series 2 234 Hr Lifetime.
Window XP and Ubuntu Linux on my PCs.
Watching more and more in HD direct now.
classicsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 09:39 AM   #17
SuperFan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Ok. Well letís assume that this summer I will be moving to a new location with a direct TV satellite.

Does this unit have the lifetime service associated with it? I know this question gets asked a million times but here I go again... So assuming it does have lifetime service how do I get it transferred? Or does it just go with the box; whoever has the box has the lifetime service?

I know I'm being very n00bish here, but I am learning how tivo works as I read this amazing forum.

A final question (forgive me if I ask to much) but is it possible to take this unit I have and reformat it and flash the motherboard with a 3rd party software/bios to just convert it to a standard DVR unit? I know they have programs like Direct Cake but Iím not sure how they work or even relate to what I'm trying to do.

Between my roommate and I we have lots of free time (ahhh college) and are pretty tech savvy.


Thanks for all your help so far. I find it amazing you all know everything about these units.
SuperFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 12:13 PM   #18
gfb107
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Cary, NC, USA
Posts: 1,134
The lifetime service, if you have it, is associated with the DirecTV account, not with the unit.
__________________
- Greg


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Need a universal remote? Try the
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(modifed for
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
)
gfb107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 01:33 PM   #19
classicsat
Astute User
 
classicsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 17,878
And no, there is nothing you can flash to make it a non Directv DVR.
The physical silicon and associated components are DirecTV only, no software can really change that.

The "cake" would be instantcake, and that is simple a linix boot CD with a script and an essentially standard drive image, to build a drive for stock useage.
__________________
Series 2 234 Hr Lifetime.
Window XP and Ubuntu Linux on my PCs.
Watching more and more in HD direct now.
classicsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 08:46 PM   #20
EricF
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 14
So...... Could you/is there available instead install completely new software (or image) on a TiVo box that takes advantage of some of the free services out there? Basically making the TiVo NOT a "TiVo" anymore?
__________________
TiVo really IS better than sliced bread...
---------------
TiVo Standalone 540040 (135 Hours) / Maxtor 120GB
TiVo Standalone 240040 (181 Hours) / Maxtor 160GB
EricF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 08:51 PM   #21
BTUx9
back?
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rockport, MA
Posts: 1,596
you could turn it into a VERY underpowered linux machine with basically no monitor support
__________________
Check Out my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
with info on TWP2.0 and Tivoserver
BTUx9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoģ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |