TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > DirecTV Receiver with TiVo
TiVo Community
 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-08-2007, 06:53 AM   #781
newsposter
Poster of News
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SE PA
Posts: 32,920
my 3.1 machine has never missed survivor
__________________
Tivo Premiere; Hitachi 57 in

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

monsterjoe - You aren't wrong; spartanstew- I agree with newsposter
newsposter is offline  
Old 01-31-2008, 08:50 AM   #782
plateau10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,327
Is there hidden in this monster of a thread somewhere an answer to why this happens? Missed Idol last night because of it.
plateau10 is offline  
Old 01-31-2008, 09:18 AM   #783
newsposter
Poster of News
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SE PA
Posts: 32,920
not that i remember....but i find it interesting that the posts have died down. Either it's fixed, there arent many shows because of the strike, or people just are tired of posting about it.
__________________
Tivo Premiere; Hitachi 57 in

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

monsterjoe - You aren't wrong; spartanstew- I agree with newsposter
newsposter is offline  
Old 01-31-2008, 09:19 AM   #784
rescuefire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 22
DTV hasn't given me any explanation yet. The latest tech I talked to said that it is probable that since Tivo and DTV don't have a contract so to speak that it's taking longer to get these hardware update problems worked out.

I got the impression that he was trying to blame it on Tivo and not take on the responsibility for DTV.

My R-10 still has issues. I'm so sick of this crud!
__________________
Hi my name is Robyn and I'm a Tivoaholic.
:::Hi Robyn comes from the crowd with many knowing nods:::
rescuefire is offline  
Old 02-02-2008, 02:32 PM   #785
codespy
Go A-Rod (Packers)
 
codespy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Packerland, USA
Posts: 608
They still have a contract into 2010, according to the TiVo site.

Mine missed American Idol Wednesday night too, but only on 2 (HR10's) of my many IRD's. Really bizarre. Nothing else was recording on those units at that time to conflict.
codespy is offline  
Old 02-02-2008, 06:57 PM   #786
rescuefire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 22
They have a contract to keep the programming updates and such but no contract directly with Tivo for specific Tivo based units. In other words DTV will not be selling or leasing or installing for free any Tivo units at all. Only their own version of Digital Recording equipment.
__________________
Hi my name is Robyn and I'm a Tivoaholic.
:::Hi Robyn comes from the crowd with many knowing nods:::

Last edited by rescuefire : 02-03-2008 at 07:28 AM.
rescuefire is offline  
Old 02-03-2008, 06:55 AM   #787
bengalfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,059
My family room DTivo missed the new Paula's Party on Friday night. It also missed the rerun of the same episode at 1:00AM. What's funny is that the 'ToDo List' doesn't mention the episode at all. Like it doesn't exist. Really weird.
__________________
The Bengals and Tivo, life should have a few obsessions.
bengalfreak is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 10:00 AM   #788
LacyinTX
Registered User
 
LacyinTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 79
I just realized last night that My DTivo missed Survivor last week. The Survivor that aired last night began with "previously on Survivor"... I was like... HUH? Previously??? Then I searched my history and sure enough.."Someone modified the season pass" and it didn't record last week's Survivor Micronesia Premier. UH.. .no they didn't! I am the only one allowed to mess with Season Passes at my house. GRRRRR!!!
__________________
Hughes SD-DVR40
LacyinTX is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 10:06 AM   #789
Plugplay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by LacyinTX View Post
I just realized last night that My DTivo missed Survivor last week. The Survivor that aired last night began with "previously on Survivor"... I was like... HUH? Previously??? Then I searched my history and sure enough.."Someone modified the season pass" and it didn't record last week's Survivor Micronesia Premier. UH.. .no they didn't! I am the only one allowed to mess with Season Passes at my house. GRRRRR!!!
Same thing with both my HR-250's
Plugplay is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 10:08 AM   #790
cmeinck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 159
This always seems to happen with Survivor. I happen to have an HR-20, so used that for my season pass. I'm jumping to TiVoHD next week, so hopefully it doesn't have an issue with Survivor. I cannot believe DirecTV hasn't fixed this issue yet. It always happens with Survivor.
cmeinck is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 09:40 PM   #791
ozlifter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Missed Survivor

My DirecTV Tivo as well as my friend's DirecTV Tivo both didn't record last week's Survivor!

How frustrating!
ozlifter is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 08:23 AM   #792
LacyinTX
Registered User
 
LacyinTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 79
GAH!!! *stomps feet and pulls out hair*

Again!! It missed Survivor again! I even checked the To Do List before I left for work. I don't know what to do about this, because I am often not home by the time it start, to be sure it it recording.

I tried two things... I cleared and re-added my SP and moved it to the top of the list, even though there are not enough conflicts in my list to matter. It should record two things at once. *sigh*

Also for good measure I set my R15 in the bedroom to record it as well. Hopefully that will get it from here on out. Until this season I never missed a Survivor. And now this is twice already. GRRRRR.
__________________
Hughes SD-DVR40
LacyinTX is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 12:10 PM   #793
graniteRich
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 150
Angry

My old stock hughes gxcebot missied surrvior last night, no conflicts, This is the first time in 8 years that Tivo let me down!
graniteRich is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 03:52 PM   #794
phox_mulder
I get paid 2watch TV
 
phox_mulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 5,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by LacyinTX View Post
Again!! It missed Survivor again! I even checked the To Do List before I left for work.
Same here.

R10 got 6.3f last week.
Last Thursday and last night it wasn't going to record Survivor due to the "someone in your household. . ."
Had to do a manual record both days.

At least it's stopped rebooting itself every day.

HR10 seems to be behaving itself in this regard.


phox
__________________
Panasonic Viera TH-46PZ800U 46" Plasma HDTV

TiVo S3-65 HD Hours-Lifetime
TiVo HD 20 HD Hours
DirecTV HR21-700 80+ HD Hours
DirecTV HR20-100 80+ HD Hours
Harmony 880 Remote Control
phox_mulder is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 04:36 PM   #795
Alztybrn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 13
My R-10 did not get Survivor last night either!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Alztybrn is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 06:56 PM   #796
heySkippy
oldweakandpathetic
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 17,996
I've had to set a manual recording for Survivor the last 3 weeks. I deleted and recreated the Season Pass today, but that didn't help.
heySkippy is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 07:20 AM   #797
lalouque
Quilter-Cat Slave
 
lalouque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,947
Last night, I luckily caught Survivor not recording. Yup, apparently "someone in your household"... blah blah blah. This is quite annoying...
lalouque is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 03:21 PM   #798
LacyinTX
Registered User
 
LacyinTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 79
Mine actually worked last night. I don't know if it was the delete and reset of the SP or the fact that I moved it to the top of the priority list. *shrug* Next week it probably won't work.
__________________
Hughes SD-DVR40
LacyinTX is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 08:55 AM   #799
Brainiac427
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by lalouque View Post
Last night, I luckily caught Survivor not recording. Yup, apparently "someone in your household"... blah blah blah. This is quite annoying...
Happened to me, too. No reboots on the DirecTiVo all week, as the clock and 30-second skip are still intact. On the other hand, the Survivor season pass did not record Thursday night. (I set it as a backup to the HR20, which recorded it fine.) The explanation? Something to the effect of someone in the household modified the season pass. Not true. Never touched it. I don't know if this is a 6.3f snafu or not.

The bottom line is that the DirecTiVo simply cannot be trusted anymore. It's such a shame.
Brainiac427 is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 09:45 AM   #800
fasTLane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 560
Interesting it is always a Survivor problem.

Tivo having good taste. Who'da thunk. j/k
fasTLane is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 09:53 PM   #801
snoop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 263
Both of mine are failing to record Survivor about 50% of the time, same "someone modified the season pass..." issue.

Seemed to me that this went away prior to the last software release last year that fixed the data stream problem, then its come back since the release last month that fixed the crash problems that we werent really having. Maybe someone forgot to include the prior fix.

So far just Survivor thats not getting recorded, but I havent been eyeballing the to-do list very much lately.

I do note that survivor starts off in the program guide with a generic description and in the last day or so before airing it updates with an episode description. Maybe thats whats throwing it.

Hmm...time to call directv and ask for a credit again.
snoop is offline  
Old 03-04-2008, 09:06 AM   #802
JohnDG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by snoop View Post
I do note that survivor starts off in the program guide with a generic description and in the last day or so before airing it updates with an episode description. Maybe thats whats throwing it.
That is an EXCELLENT observation. Also, if you go into your history for programs that were successfully recorded, you sometimes notice that -- when the program guide data is changed for a show -- the old description's program is listed as a "did not record due to..." while the new description's program is successfully recorded.

One theory would be that there is a lag between the program description update, which removes the show from the "to do" list, and the new indexing of the Season Passes, which adds the program with the new description back on. This theory also fits with reports that forcing the TiVo to "reindex" the guide via reboots, forced calls or reordering the Season Passes gets the programs back into the "to do" list.

I guess a bruit force fix for this would be for the TiVo software to automatically force a reindex whenever there is a program guide update.

jdg
JohnDG is offline  
Old 03-04-2008, 02:39 PM   #803
snoop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 263
I called up and ended up with retentions. Decided to give up on the tivo and go to the directv dvr's. I'm sure I'll swap out one set of problems for another, but directv made it right for me financially.

JohnDG - the problems source should be evident...we had the problem after the first major upgrade a little over a year ago, it went away for a while and was replaced with the rebooting problem, then when that got fixed the SP problem came back...
snoop is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 08:11 PM   #804
bengalfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,059
The Survivor issue would seem to be one of incomplete guide data and not necessarily a hardware issue.
__________________
The Bengals and Tivo, life should have a few obsessions.
bengalfreak is offline  
Old 03-06-2008, 06:17 AM   #805
newsposter
Poster of News
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SE PA
Posts: 32,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by bengalfreak View Post
The Survivor issue would seem to be one of incomplete guide data and not necessarily a hardware issue.
how can my tivo be getting different guide data than everyone elses? My machine always picks up survivor
__________________
Tivo Premiere; Hitachi 57 in

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

monsterjoe - You aren't wrong; spartanstew- I agree with newsposter
newsposter is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 08:49 AM   #806
LacyinTX
Registered User
 
LacyinTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 79
Luckily I was home early last night. It had dropped Survivor sometime yesterday afternoon. I think next I will try to set up the SP with "All Episodes" rather than "First Run Only". I don't know if it will help... but we will see.

So far I haven't noticed this with any other program. If it is the Survivor guide data rather than a hardware/software problem, I still want to get it resolved.

Until next week....
__________________
Hughes SD-DVR40
LacyinTX is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 10:10 AM   #807
snoop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by newsposter View Post
how can my tivo be getting different guide data than everyone elses? My machine always picks up survivor
Mine seemed to be getting it about 50% of the time. Perhaps its a matter of the guide data update, indexing and updating its to-do list all being in the right karmic order sometimes and not in others.

We've had other shows do the same thing, but it seems to me in retrospect that the offenders were all shows that changed their description at the last minute. I think we had a few american idols and whatnot.

I also had a few outright failures to work properly. We missed the episode of House that aired right after the superbowl because I failed to add 500 hours to the end of the recording of the superbowl to get it : so I set up a wishlist to get that show with the title word and a 'record all'. I happened to note the episode in the guide, but saw it wasnt in the to-do list. When I checked it said it wouldnt record it because it had been recorded within the last month. I guess the "record all with duplicates" means "unless you dont feel like it".

All of this seems tied to this new guide data stream. I really had no problems ever with the "old" data stream. I hope whatever goodness its bringing to directv is worth the customer dissatisfaction.

Or maybe they're just trying to nudge us away from bad programming...
snoop is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 12:18 PM   #808
bschroed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 13
It's not just the latest software

I have survivor set to record on my old Series 1 DirecTivo and it has been failing to record most of this season as well. Same "someone in your household..." message. Last night, it was in the ToDo list just hours before starting, but then didn't record.
bschroed is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 07:19 PM   #809
JRAllas
Spoiled by Tivo
 
JRAllas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Crest Hill, IL
Posts: 89
What ever the problem is, I doubt DirecTV wants to fix it. Look how many people are willing to give up the HR10-250 for the new P.O.S. HD Plus DVR. I subscribed to DirecTV because the receiver had a built in Tivo. If they take away the Tivo, I leave DirecTV.
__________________
Spoiled by Tivo...

Hughes SD-DVR40 (6.4a)

Hughes HR10-250 (6.4a)

Tivo THR22-100
65" Mitsubishi rear-projection HDTV
JRAllas is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 08:46 PM   #810
snoop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 263
Mine screwed it up again last night. When I was on the phone with the first directv rep the other day, she said it was something she'd never ever heard of before and there were no notes in their database about it . But she said there was something not set properly on my account with regards to the dvr. Sounded totally unlikely to me that was the problem since the only shows we're not having recorded are a couple of ones with changing descriptions. But she said she was very confident that the change she made would fix the problem.

Survivor was in the to-do list yesterday in the afternoon. Didnt record because someone changed the season pass.

When I catch that @#$@#er that keeps changing my season passes, I'm going to have to empty a clip into him...
snoop is offline  
 
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |