TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-11-2006, 04:17 PM   #1
azk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 14
Lag time between channels and digital/analog quality of channels

OK. Finally got this setup. It's great. Just 2 things...

1) Are most people experiencing a black screen (1-2sec) lag between channels as they flip through? I don't think this is normal so what gives? My tv supports 1080i so I had it set to that setting or the hybrid setting on the tivo...should I lower this? Is this what's causing the lag?

2) As for the ARS digital signal for analog channels etc... My tuner says QAM but when asked about recording I have picture quality options, does this mean channels 2 - 99 are still being received as analog?

Thanks.
azk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 04:19 PM   #2
wackymann
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boston Area
Posts: 383
1. My S3 takes about 3 seconds to change channels using the cable cards.

2. Yes - if it's asking you when recording a single show, then it's an analog channel. It will always ask for wishlists and such because it doesn't know which channel it will be recording.
wackymann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 04:31 PM   #3
azk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 14
So despite the asking, I still have ARS or no? Just curious if this is what hte picture on 2 - 99 is going to look like or whether I can make it better.
azk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 05:30 PM   #4
yunlin12
Tivonation Citizen
 
yunlin12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,221
Just start unscrewing the co-ax slowly out of the socket. If you get snow/doubles before it breaks up completely, it's analog, if the picture freezes with blocks on the screen, you have digital.
__________________
ReplayTV 3000 (RIP)
Hughes HDVR2 DTivo (adopted by friend)
Tivo S2 Dual Tuner (Craiglisted)
Tivo S3 750GB (decommissioned)
Tivo HD 750GB (adopted by parents)
Tivo Premiere
Tivo Premiere XL
yunlin12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 10:41 PM   #5
azk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 14
Finally got everything up and running. Wow I am so happy. This thing is incredible.
azk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |