TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-22-2014, 11:16 AM   #1
NJ Webel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 126
vidmgr - Is there a guide for dummies?

So, I need a step-by-step on how to get vidmgr up and running on my base Roamio. I'm not a complete dunce, I have pyTivo installed and operational, and running as a service on a WHSv1, but vidmgr just seems confusing to me.

Can anyone 'walk me through it like I'm 80'? lol.
NJ Webel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2014, 12:24 PM   #2
Allanon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 526
I couldn't get it to work with pyTivo as a plugin but I was able to get it to work using HME For Python.

1. Download HME For Python and extract it to a folder
2. From the VidMgr .zip file extract the vidmgr folder in to the HME For Python folder.
3. Add the following to the config.ini file in the HME for Python folder. Be sure to change paths, IP addresses, and Tivo names:
Code:
[hmeserver]
# IP address of the computer
address=192.168.1.123
port=7288
zeroconf=True
# location of HME for Python
basepath=C:\Tivo HME
datapath=.\
# This will make it so only vidmgr app will run
apps=vidmgr

[picture]
path=D:\Pictures
delay=2
exts=.jpg .png

[vidmgr]
exts=.mpg .mp4 .avi .wmv .m4v mkv
descsize=16

[pytivos]
# location of the pytivo's .conf file
pytivo1.config=C:\pytivo\pytivo.conf
# pytivo's server IP and port
pytivo1.ip=192.168.1.123
pytivo1.port=9032
pytivo1.sep=\

[tivos]
# Names of Tivos to use with VidMgr,  I use the Tivo name for both name and TSN
tivo1.name=MINI
tivo1.tsn=MINI
tivo2.name=Bedroom Tivo HD
tivo2.tsn=Bedroom Tivo HD
tivo3.name=Theater
tivo3.tsn=Theater
4. Make sure pyTivo server is running
5. Run start.py in the HME for Python folder and Vidmgr should work

Last edited by Allanon : 09-22-2014 at 12:47 PM.
Allanon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2014, 02:17 PM   #3
NJ Webel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 126
Ha ha, thanks! Step by step is something I can definitely accomplish. Quick question: I see two versions, are your directions for vidmgr or vidmgr2 ? Should I use one over the other?

Another question: I set up pyTivo to run as a service, so in the event that the server restarts that pyTivo starts as well, with no input. Does something like that exist for vidmgr?

Last follow-up: If it is possible to set vidmgr to run as a service, is there a step by step on how to do this?
NJ Webel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2014, 03:09 PM   #4
Allanon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 526
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJ Webel View Post
I see two versions, are your directions for vidmgr or vidmgr2 ?
I never tried version 2, the above instructions are for version 1. I just download version 2 and tried replacing the vidmgr folder but it didn't work. I don't have time right now to figure out what caused the problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NJ Webel View Post
I set up pyTivo to run as a service, so in the event that the server restarts that pyTivo starts as well, with no input. Does something like that exist for vidmgr?
In Windows if you have Python setup as the default program for .py files you could probably just put a shortcut to start.py in the Windows startup folder and it will be executed when Windows starts. Or create a batch file that starts the program and put that in the Windows startup folder.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NJ Webel View Post
Last follow-up: If it is possible to set vidmgr to run as a service, is there a step by step on how to do this?
I'm sure it's doable but I couldn't tell you how to do it.

Last edited by Allanon : 09-22-2014 at 03:22 PM.
Allanon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2014, 07:11 PM   #5
NJ Webel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 126
Okay I got it up and running. I can see my shares and navigate to them, and select a file and then select the push to TiVo button. It responds by saying 'Queued to Push' but then nothing happens. No transfer starts.

Is it supposed to start downloading immediately?
NJ Webel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2014, 06:17 AM   #6
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,925
What would be a really great move forward for tivo media would be a combination of efforts between vidmgr and streambaby using streambaby for the HME engine, ease of setup, push and stream capabilities and the graphics, database building and presentation capabilities from vidmgr.

The combination of these two great programs could produce an awesome development.

Just food for thought....
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2014, 02:52 PM   #7
NJ Webel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcthorne View Post
What would be a really great move forward for tivo media would be a combination of efforts between vidmgr and streambaby using streambaby for the HME engine, ease of setup, push and stream capabilities and the graphics, database building and presentation capabilities from vidmgr.

The combination of these two great programs could produce an awesome development.

Just food for thought....
Ummm.... thanks?

Last edited by NJ Webel : 09-23-2014 at 08:27 PM.
NJ Webel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2014, 09:12 PM   #8
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJ Webel View Post
Is it supposed to start downloading immediately?
Nope. There's an inevitable and unpredictable delay with push. (And sometimes, it doesn't go through at all.) We send the request to mind.tivo.com, then wait for the TiVo to make its own connection to mind.tivo.com, discover the request, and then start pulling the video.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 04:30 PM   #9
NJ Webel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
Nope. There's an inevitable and unpredictable delay with push. (And sometimes, it doesn't go through at all.) We send the request to mind.tivo.com, then wait for the TiVo to make its own connection to mind.tivo.com, discover the request, and then start pulling the video.
Is there a typical timeframe in which this occurs?
NJ Webel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 04:38 PM   #10
NJ Webel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 126
Thanks for the info though!
NJ Webel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 06:07 PM   #11
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,042
Usually it's just a few minutes.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 12:50 PM   #12
NJ Webel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 126
Well, the good news is that I started over with vidmgr2 and got it installed. I can see my shares and navigate to them, and select a file and then select the push to TiVo button. It responds by saying 'Queued to Push'.

The bad new is that nothing happens. I still can't get a transfer to start.

This is installed on a HP Mediasmart Server EX485 running WHSv1. Is there a logfile I can pull and post here to help diagnose this? Navigating to the share and pulling works great through pyTivo, I just need push functionality working so I can watch shares from my Mini.

Any help would be appreciated!
NJ Webel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 05:05 PM   #13
NJ Webel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 126
I restarted vidmgr when I got home from work and tried to initiate a transfer of a TV episode.

vidmgr created a '[episode-name].mp4.pyTivo-temp' in the original file location that is slightly larger in size than the original file (File is: 851,884KB; Temp file is: 863,444KB), but no transfer started.
NJ Webel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 07:07 PM   #14
NJ Webel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 126
Okay, changed my config.ini file and am getting this now.
Quote:
HME Server for Python 0.20
Mon Sep 29 19:55:12 2014 PyTivo Video Manager version 2.2f module initializing
Loading thumbnail cache
5 thumbnails loaded from cache
Mon Sep 29 19:55:12 2014 Server Starts
Registering: vidmgr
192.168.0.182:54348 - - [29/Sep/2014 20:03:45] "GET /vidmgr/ HTTP/1.1" 200 -
192.168.0.182:54348 - - [29/Sep/2014 20:03:45] Starting HME: vidmgr
Vidmgr thread entering startup
Vidmgr Entering Handle Resolution
Checking resolution 1280, 720
Found an HD resolution
Vidmgr thread activating
Video Cache does not exist - attempting to build...
----------------------------------------
Exception happened during processing of request from ('192.168.0.182', 54348)
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "C:\Python26\lib\SocketServer.py", line 560, in process_request_thread
self.finish_request(request, client_address)
File "C:\Python26\lib\SocketServer.py", line 322, in finish_request
self.RequestHandlerClass(request, client_address, self)
File "C:\Tivo HME\start.py", line 141, in __init__
client_address, server)
File "C:\Python26\lib\SocketServer.py", line 617, in __init__
self.handle()
File "C:\Python26\lib\BaseHTTPServer.py", line 329, in handle
self.handle_one_request()
File "C:\Python26\lib\BaseHTTPServer.py", line 323, in handle_one_request
method()
File "C:\Tivo HME\start.py", line 232, in do_GET
self._page(True)
File "C:\Tivo HME\start.py", line 186, in _page
appinst.mainloop()
File "C:\Tivo HME\hme.py", line 1139, in mainloop
while self.active and self.get_event():
File "C:\Tivo HME\hme.py", line 1220, in get_event
handle()
File "C:\Tivo HME\vidmgr\__init__.py", line 147, in handle_active
self.rootNode = self.vc.load()
File "C:\Tivo HME\vidmgr\VideoCache.py", line 123, in load
self.build()
File "C:\Tivo HME\vidmgr\VideoCache.py", line 296, in build
raise ConfigError("Error - Section %s needs tags, values, or alpha option" %
section)
ConfigError: Error - Section hmeserver needs tags, values, or alpha option
----------------------------------------
Here's my (now) non-working config.ini file:
Quote:
[hmeserver]
apps=vidmgr

[vidmgr]
exts=.mpg .mp4 .avi .wmv .m4v
descsize=20
sort=file
skin=local
deleteallowed=false
metafirst = title seriesTitle episodeTitle movieYear vDirector vWriter description
metaspaceafter = vWriter description vActor
metaspacebefore = description vActor
infolabelpercent = 15
metaignore = isEpisode isEpisodic showingBits displayMajorNumber
inforightmargin = 100
displaysep==

[tivos]
tivo1.name=The Livingroom
tivo1.tsn= XXX

[pytivos]
pytivo1.config=C:\Program Files\pyTivo\pytivo.conf
pytivo1.ip=192.168.0.189
pytivo1.port=9032
Like an idiot, I didn't save the 'working' file and can't remember what was in it. Any help to figure this out would be great. Feeling like a dunce on this one.
NJ Webel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:06 PM   #15
gonzotek
tivo_xml developer
 
gonzotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Outside Phildadelphia
Posts: 2,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJ Webel View Post
Okay, changed my config.ini file and am getting this now.


Here's my (now) non-working config.ini file:


Like an idiot, I didn't save the 'working' file and can't remember what was in it. Any help to figure this out would be great. Feeling like a dunce on this one.
I think it might be this line:
Code:
displaysep==
It doesn't look like that's a recognized parameter:
https://github.com/jbernardis/pytivo...ter/README.txt

You may have mangled two or more lines together somehow, as there is a display option, and a pytivoX.sep option (see the README for help on both).
__________________
Follow @pytivo on Twitter for project updates and more!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
A Web app for Roku Remote Control
gonzotek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:16 PM   #16
NJ Webel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 126
Deleting that line still errors out.

Quote:
HME Server for Python 0.20
Tue Sep 30 18:15:29 2014 PyTivo Video Manager version 2.2f module initializing
Loading thumbnail cache
5 thumbnails loaded from cache
Tue Sep 30 18:15:29 2014 Server Starts
Registering: vidmgr
192.168.0.182:54581 - - [30/Sep/2014 18:15:47] "GET /vidmgr/ HTTP/1.1" 200 -
192.168.0.182:54581 - - [30/Sep/2014 18:15:47] Starting HME: vidmgr
Vidmgr thread entering startup
Vidmgr Entering Handle Resolution
Checking resolution 1280, 720
Found an HD resolution
Vidmgr thread activating
Video Cache does not exist - attempting to build...
----------------------------------------
Exception happened during processing of request from ('192.168.0.182', 54581)
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "C:\Python26\lib\SocketServer.py", line 560, in process_request_thread
self.finish_request(request, client_address)
File "C:\Python26\lib\SocketServer.py", line 322, in finish_request
self.RequestHandlerClass(request, client_address, self)
File "C:\Tivo HME\start.py", line 141, in __init__
client_address, server)
File "C:\Python26\lib\SocketServer.py", line 617, in __init__
self.handle()
File "C:\Python26\lib\BaseHTTPServer.py", line 329, in handle
self.handle_one_request()
File "C:\Python26\lib\BaseHTTPServer.py", line 323, in handle_one_request
method()
File "C:\Tivo HME\start.py", line 232, in do_GET
self._page(True)
File "C:\Tivo HME\start.py", line 186, in _page
appinst.mainloop()
File "C:\Tivo HME\hme.py", line 1139, in mainloop
while self.active and self.get_event():
File "C:\Tivo HME\hme.py", line 1220, in get_event
handle()
File "C:\Tivo HME\vidmgr\__init__.py", line 147, in handle_active
self.rootNode = self.vc.load()
File "C:\Tivo HME\vidmgr\VideoCache.py", line 123, in load
self.build()
File "C:\Tivo HME\vidmgr\VideoCache.py", line 296, in build
raise ConfigError("Error - Section %s needs tags, values, or alpha option" %
section)
ConfigError: Error - Section hmeserver needs tags, values, or alpha option
----------------------------------------

NJ Webel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:22 PM   #17
Allanon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 526
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJ Webel View Post
ConfigError: Error - Section hmeserver needs tags, values, or alpha option
Look at my first post, the hmeserver section needs more values.
Allanon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:41 PM   #18
NJ Webel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 126
Okay, so playing around with the config.ini file, if I change it to this:

Quote:
[vidmgr]

exts=.mpg .mp4 .avi .wmv .m4v .mkv .vob .tivo
descsize=20
skin=orig
deleteallowed=true
display=normal
sort=episodenumber
metafirst = title
infolabelpercent=30
inforightmargin=20
thumbjustify=left

[tivos]
tivo1.name=The Livingroom
tivo1.tsn=[TSN]


[pytivos]
pytivo1.config=C:\Program Files\pyTivo\pyTivo.conf
pytivo1.ip=192.168.0.189
pytivo1.port=9032
pytivo1.sep=/
I can see my shares again, with no error messages. Don't know why deleting the
Quote:
[hmeserver]
apps=vidmgr
made such a difference. Now I'm back to the issue I explained in Post 13 above. Queuing a transfer creates a temp file, but no transfer starts.
NJ Webel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:47 PM   #19
NJ Webel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Allanon View Post
Look at my first post, the hmeserver section needs more values.
Interestingly enough, adding your hmeserver section to my config file breaks it.
Quote:
[hmeserver]
# IP address of the computer
address=192.168.1.189
port=7288
zeroconf=True
# location of HME for Python
basepath=C:\Tivo HME
datapath=.\
# This will make it so only vidmgr app will run
apps=vidmgr

[vidmgr]

exts=.mpg .mp4 .avi .wmv .m4v .mkv .vob .tivo
descsize=20
skin=orig
deleteallowed=true
display=normal
sort=episodenumber
metafirst = title
infolabelpercent=30
inforightmargin=20
thumbjustify=left

[tivos]
tivo1.name=The Livingroom
tivo1.tsn=[TSN]

[pytivos]
pytivo1.config=C:\Program Files\pyTivo\pyTivo.conf
pytivo1.ip=192.168.0.189
pytivo1.port=9032
pytivo1.sep=/
Quote:
----------------------------------------
Exception happened during processing of request from ('192.168.0.182', 54623)
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "C:\Python26\lib\SocketServer.py", line 560, in process_request_thread
self.finish_request(request, client_address)
File "C:\Python26\lib\SocketServer.py", line 322, in finish_request
self.RequestHandlerClass(request, client_address, self)
File "C:\Tivo HME\start.py", line 141, in __init__
client_address, server)
File "C:\Python26\lib\SocketServer.py", line 617, in __init__
self.handle()
File "C:\Python26\lib\BaseHTTPServer.py", line 329, in handle
self.handle_one_request()
File "C:\Python26\lib\BaseHTTPServer.py", line 323, in handle_one_request
method()
File "C:\Tivo HME\start.py", line 232, in do_GET
self._page(True)
File "C:\Tivo HME\start.py", line 186, in _page
appinst.mainloop()
File "C:\Tivo HME\hme.py", line 1139, in mainloop
while self.active and self.get_event():
File "C:\Tivo HME\hme.py", line 1220, in get_event
handle()
File "C:\Tivo HME\vidmgr\__init__.py", line 147, in handle_active
self.rootNode = self.vc.load()
File "C:\Tivo HME\vidmgr\VideoCache.py", line 123, in load
self.build()
File "C:\Tivo HME\vidmgr\VideoCache.py", line 296, in build
raise ConfigError("Error - Section %s needs tags, values, or alpha option" %
section)
ConfigError: Error - Section hmeserver needs tags, values, or alpha option
----------------------------------------

NJ Webel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:05 PM   #20
Allanon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 526
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJ Webel View Post
Interestingly enough, adding your hmeserver section to my config file breaks it.
Did you change the basepath to the path where you have Python for HME installed?
Allanon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:36 PM   #21
NJ Webel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 126
Yes, to make life easier I installed my Tivo HME folder directly in the C:\ drive, so the path is the same.
NJ Webel is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |