TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-12-2009, 01:53 PM   #1
ADG
Allan
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,822
HD Errors?

Lately one of my s3's has been stuttering once every couple of minutes or so and then it will be fine for a while. It's just a very brief audio & video stutter (lasts a fraction of a second) and occurs on most if not all channels. I checked my other s3 and on the same channels at the same time there is no stuttering, so the issue is specific to the unit. Does this sound like a hd issue? The unit is 3 years old and I recently purchased a new hd in the event I'd need it at some point. Thanks.
__________________
Allan
Forum Admin

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ADG is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009, 02:21 PM   #2
drey
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 207
This definitely sounds as the hard drive is dying. I'd suggest replacing drive sooner than later.
drey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009, 03:44 PM   #3
ADG
Allan
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,822
Thanks.
__________________
Allan
Forum Admin

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ADG is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009, 05:41 PM   #4
worachj
Registered User
 
worachj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 774
Check the signal strength it may be weaker than the other TiVo. You can check the strength of the signal under settings=> channels.
worachj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 01:12 PM   #5
ADG
Allan
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,822
The signal strength is fine. In the process of changing hd's right now. Been transferring data for the past few hours - should be done in another hour. Thanks for the input guys
__________________
Allan
Forum Admin

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ADG is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 07:13 AM   #6
ADG
Allan
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,822
Just a quick note for anyone considering changing the hd himself (or herself ). Following the detailed instructions in the sticky at the top of this forum (http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=370784), the process could not be more straightforward. I "upgraded" to a 500Gb drive from the original 250Gb one and if I had it to do over again I'd do one thing differently. I followed the instructions to preserve settings and recordings. What I did NOT think to do was first "permanently" delete all items in the "recently deleted" folder. Accordingly, it took 6 hours to copy everything over. Absent that, it couldn't have gone more smoothly.

Thanks to bkdtv for creating that post - it's absolutely great.
__________________
Allan
Forum Admin

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ADG is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |