TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-13-2006, 12:16 PM   #1
DCHawk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
Extending TIVO to Other TV's

I did not want to buy 3 new TIVO's and pay the additonal monthly charges for every TV so I am attempting to simply extend my TIVO to all of my TV's using the existing cable connections I already have. My diagram is pretty complex, involving multiple splitters but I am stuck on one point. Is there a way to take your coax cable coming out of the wall, put a splitter on it that splits it into (1) another coax that would go into the back of the TV and (2) into an adapter that allows me to use RCA's to connect to the TV.

If so, I could watch regular cable on all TV's and use the input channel to watch my TIVO on all TV's. I would only need to get a high powered remote control so that I could control the TIVO from anywhere in the house.
DCHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 12:50 PM   #2
worachj
Registered User
 
worachj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 797
Check Radio Shack. They have a Component Video and S-Video Wall Plate that supports the transmission of component video and S-Video over a single run. Not exactly what you want. Check their website.

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=family
worachj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 01:28 PM   #3
gastrof
Look 32' in reverse
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: We would like tin but for the golden glade. Do not take risks that you cannot return to the encapsulation. Margaret has not the stranding.
Posts: 6,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by DCHawk
I did not want to buy 3 new TIVO's and pay the additonal monthly charges for every TV so I am attempting to simply extend my TIVO to all of my TV's using the existing cable connections I already have. My diagram is pretty complex, involving multiple splitters but I am stuck on one point. Is there a way to take your coax cable coming out of the wall, put a splitter on it that splits it into (1) another coax that would go into the back of the TV and (2) into an adapter that allows me to use RCA's to connect to the TV.

If so, I could watch regular cable on all TV's and use the input channel to watch my TIVO on all TV's. I would only need to get a high powered remote control so that I could control the TIVO from anywhere in the house.

I'd say just run a coax to the other TVs, and use an A/B switch.

The type of RF-to-a/v device you're talking about doesn't seem to exist out there.

Trust me, I've looked.

The only time I found one was by Go Video about ten years ago, and the thing stopped working after about a year. When I phoned them about it, they said they didn't make it any more.

I wonder why.

There are plenty of gadgets that do the opposite of what you want, that take A/V signals and convert them TO an antenna signal, but to take an antenna signal and convert it to A/V, you'd need something pretty fancy.

Once in a while you can find wireless A/V transmitters, but I'm not even sure where you'd get one these days.
__________________
Crisp binoculars on a Wednesday.
gastrof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 01:39 PM   #4
gastrof
Look 32' in reverse
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: We would like tin but for the golden glade. Do not take risks that you cannot return to the encapsulation. Margaret has not the stranding.
Posts: 6,760
Oh...

As for a "high powered remote", you may not realize it, but the remotes control the TiVo by infra red light that you and I can't see.

Unless light can go around corners and fill the house where you live, it's not that simple.

What you might be able to get is a gadget that picks up the IR impulses, and sends a wireless signal to its partner in another room.

The other half of the gadget (in the other room) produces new IR flashes to match the ones your remote is producing, so the signal gets relayed to the other room that way.

Try this...

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=search



By the way-
As for extending A/V from one room to another, try this-


http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=search


For other options on both, try here-
http://www.radioshack.com/search/con...atId=&x=12&y=5
__________________
Crisp binoculars on a Wednesday.
gastrof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 02:09 PM   #5
DevilDogs
Steeler Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 59
As far as a "high powered remote", you could use what was suggested to me in this post:
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=325443

I haven't tried it yet, I'm exploring other avenues.
DevilDogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |