TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-24-2014, 05:20 PM   #1
nmiller855
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: East of Houston, Texas, USA
Posts: 5,363
Will DirecTiVo SAT-T60 work with Genie setup?

I am staying at my daughter's house for a month. She has the DirecTv genie set up & I brought my SAT-T60 with me & want to record my regular shows while I am here.
I screwed the coax that went in the back of the Genie box into the satellite 1 input on the SAG-T60. It shows that it is getting 100% signal but won't let me watch live TV.
Will this work & can someone tell me how to do it, please?

nmiller855 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2014, 08:49 PM   #2
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 25,877
TC CLUB MEMBER
No can do. Your daughter has a SWM setup that is incompatible with your T60. Sorry.

__________________
Steve
stevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2014, 09:19 PM   #3
nmiller855
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: East of Houston, Texas, USA
Posts: 5,363
Can an installer set it up to work? She will be moving in a few months & I want to take my SAT-T60 to her house to leave for when I come stay.

nmiller855 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2014, 10:16 AM   #4
texasbrit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 83
Not without completely changing the equipment and cabling. He would have to do the following:
Replace the LNB at the dish with a traditional LNB
Run four cables from the dish to a new SWM8 stand-alone multiswitch, with associated power inserter

Then your TiVo could be connected to the "legacy" ports on the SWM8 and work

So I think the answer is really a "no".

texasbrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2014, 05:51 PM   #5
nmiller855
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: East of Houston, Texas, USA
Posts: 5,363
They may be building a new house or buying an already built house that doesn't already have DirecTv & will have to have it installed. I REALLY want to be able to use my DirecTiVos.

nmiller855 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 12:00 PM   #6
texasbrit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 83
Since the Tivos are not on her account DirecTV will NOT do an install that supports them. You would have to install the different equipment yourself or get an independent installer to do it.

texasbrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 02:43 PM   #7
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 3,960
Why not just buy the TiVo that they sell now? Probably cheaper than a rewire for some legacy SD box.

Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 12:04 PM   #8
MikeekiM
Palindromer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 10,206
I loved my Sony SAT-T60, but I have to agree... This box is ready to put in your rear view mirror...

There are no great options for TiVo on DirecTV... The "new" box is okay... I tried it, and it is largely just a HD reboot of the old box... Honestly, the DirecTV branded DVRs are not that bad... It's not as cute and engaging a UI as TiVo...but it is definitely usable, and is pretty intuitive after you get used to it...

I am thinking of switching from DirecTV to Comcast or cutting the cord completely and go with a TiVo Roamio OTA solution... My family misses TiVo...

I am hesitant because I think DirecTV is a great service with great customer support... My understanding from my Comcast friends is that the service is good, but that customer support and pricing/value are sub-par in comparison...

I need to do more research...

__________________
  • TiVo Roamio Pro & TiVo Mini (v2) - Lifetime
  • Remote: Harmony 890 (2)
  • Game Consoles: PS3, XBox 360, Wii
MikeekiM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 11:31 PM   #9
ccchuck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 27
why not just put up a SD dish?

If I am right this is a SD tivo machine <?>, if so attach a dish, old sd dishes are fairly easy to find. and record.
I have a genie, a HDTivo, and 1 sd tivo- the latter has its own dish and operates on its own.
and yes I prefer tivo - genie's ok.

ccchuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2015, 12:47 PM   #10
nmiller855
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: East of Houston, Texas, USA
Posts: 5,363
I think cchuck's solution would be best for me. I can mount a disk right above my bedroom & run the 2 wires directly to my DirecTiVo & the installer can install the Genie system to the rest of the house.

nmiller855 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 11:03 AM   #11
Diana Collins
Registered User
 
Diana Collins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: New York City Suburbs
Posts: 1,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by nmiller855 View Post
They may be building a new house or buying an already built house that doesn't already have DirecTv & will have to have it installed. I REALLY want to be able to use my DirecTiVos.
If they are going to do a new install, simply have the installer use a "standard" (non SWM) LNB and a separate, outboard, SWM-8 or SWM-16 switch. Both of these switches have "legacy" outputs that will support DirecTiVos. We drove a Phillips DirecTiVo for years that way, despite having other SWM-based receivers.

__________________
Current Setup: 2 Roamio Pros, 5 Minis on FiOS (all with lifetime)

Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006
Diana Collins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 12:35 PM   #12
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 25,877
TC CLUB MEMBER
My understanding is that home installers don't have the separate SWM switches available - those are provided only to MDU (Multiple Dwelling Unit, such as apartment complex) installs.

__________________
Steve
stevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 PM.
Page generated in 0.08381510 seconds (78.49% PHP - 21.51% MySQL) with 18 queries