TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
View Poll Results: Confirmed successful cablecard activation, list your cable company
Adelphia Communications 6 2.56%
Cableone 1 0.43%
Charter Communications 28 11.97%
Comcast Cable Communications 87 37.18%
Cox Communications 26 11.11%
Time Warner Cable 42 17.95%
Other not listed 44 18.80%
Voters: 234. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-20-2006, 12:32 AM   #1
Sepia
TiVo Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 130
Confirmed successful cablecard activation, list your cable company

Vote on this poll only if you have successfully activated your cablecards.

I'm trying to determine which (among the top 6cable companies) are confirmed to work with S3 (poll limited to 6 options....)
__________________
- Sepia
One of the "Lucky 200"
Sepia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2006, 12:55 AM   #2
SoBayJake
Registered User
 
SoBayJake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 407
Technically, I'm a Time Warner customer. But we were just switched from Comcast (all the items, boxes, etc) are still branded Comcast, and we're still paying Comcast rates.
__________________

Nonunsed Series 2s
Series 3 - 1 TB drive (lifetime)
TiVo HD - 1 TB drive (lifetime)
Premiere XL (lifetime)
Verizon FiOS with CableCARDs
SoBayJake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2006, 02:56 PM   #3
Sepia
TiVo Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 130
OK people, it's Wednesday, some of you must have already activated and still lurking about this forum, if so, please vote if you *successfully* activated your cablecards.

Thanks,
__________________
- Sepia
One of the "Lucky 200"
Sepia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2006, 03:26 PM   #4
stoneyb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10
It took 1.5 hrs, due to "dispatch" misregistring the CC's but once they were properly in Comcast's computer, activation was just a couple of minutes.
stoneyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2006, 03:29 PM   #5
mikebridge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 712
once the tech (actually, techs, one tech training the new guy on cable cards) showed up, it was around 30 minutes to get the cards installed and the calls placed for them. motorola cards, no 161.4 error. western suburbs of chicago area.
__________________
"I'm coming for you, Pork Chop!" "Bring it on, Fat Boy!"
mikebridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2006, 03:44 PM   #6
samual.icky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 49
My cable company isn't on the list... WOW (Wide Open West)... which is fairly popular in some areas... I wished you had an "other" choice
samual.icky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2006, 03:49 PM   #7
timmetro69
Vegas Baby
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 89
My Cox installer had no trouble at all and was done and tested within 25 minutes.
timmetro69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2006, 03:51 PM   #8
Sepia
TiVo Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by samual.icky
My cable company isn't on the list... WOW (Wide Open West)... which is fairly popular in some areas... I wished you had an "other" choice
Sorry about that, the poll only allows for 6 slots, so I picked those I heard most often (I'm in L.A.)

I must say I am relieved that Megazone got charter cards working, I was worried about that for a while (having read other posts about it).
__________________
- Sepia
One of the "Lucky 200"
Sepia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2006, 03:51 PM   #9
jodell
TiVo geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 129
Total install time for Cox Orange County was about 1.5 hours. Most of the time was due to the cable company having to clear a previous configuration from one of the two cable cards.
jodell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2006, 04:04 PM   #10
bkdtv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: DC Metro Area
Posts: 7,902
Add Verizon FiOS to your poll please.
bkdtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2006, 04:10 PM   #11
terramar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 36
Installed 4 cable cards in 2 S3s on Verizon FIOS this morning in Manhattan Beach. Everything went perfectly. No issues at all, and HD quality is great.
terramar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2006, 04:10 PM   #12
Sepia
TiVo Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkdtv
Add Verizon FiOS to your poll please.
bktv, sorry about that, but the polls on this forum are limited to 6 options, and I just chose the ones I thought were the top 6 in the US. Plus I don't think there is a way to modify the poll once it's started...

- Sepia
__________________
- Sepia
One of the "Lucky 200"
Sepia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 02:02 AM   #13
Sepia
TiVo Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sepia
bktv, sorry about that, but the polls on this forum are limited to 6 options, and I just chose the ones I thought were the top 6 in the US. Plus I don't think there is a way to modify the poll once it's started...

- Sepia
Interesting, someone was able to add the 7th option (Other...). Thanks!
__________________
- Sepia
One of the "Lucky 200"
Sepia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 02:28 AM   #14
bkdtv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: DC Metro Area
Posts: 7,902
Top 10 MSOs as of March 2006
  1. Comcast Cable Communications - 21,495,000
  2. Time Warner Cable - 11,039,000
  3. Charter Communications - 5,913,900
  4. Cox Communications - 5,400,000
  5. Adelphia Communications - 4,876,900
  6. Cablevision Systems - 3,065,700
  7. Bright House Networks - 2,275,000
  8. Mediacom LLC - 1,422,000
  9. Insight Communications - 1,306,700
  10. Suddenlink Communications -1,269,000

Replace Cableone with Cablevision?

I still think a separate listing for FioS would be appropriate. Older cable companies have more subscribers, but FiOS is available in more geographic markets with a larger potential customer base than all but Comcast and TWC. Moreover, FiOS offers just about the widest selection of HDTV available, so on a % basis, it's customers are probably more inclined to purchase the HDTV Tivo.

Last edited by bkdtv : 09-21-2006 at 02:43 AM.
bkdtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 03:47 PM   #15
Sepia
TiVo Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkdtv
Top 10 MSOs as of March 2006
  1. Comcast Cable Communications - 21,495,000
  2. Time Warner Cable - 11,039,000
  3. Charter Communications - 5,913,900
  4. Cox Communications - 5,400,000
  5. Adelphia Communications - 4,876,900
  6. Cablevision Systems - 3,065,700
  7. Bright House Networks - 2,275,000
  8. Mediacom LLC - 1,422,000
  9. Insight Communications - 1,306,700
  10. Suddenlink Communications -1,269,000

Replace Cableone with Cablevision?

I still think a separate listing for FioS would be appropriate. Older cable companies have more subscribers, but FiOS is available in more geographic markets with a larger potential customer base than all but Comcast and TWC. Moreover, FiOS offers just about the widest selection of HDTV available, so on a % basis, it's customers are probably more inclined to purchase the HDTV Tivo.
Ack, of course, Cablevision not Cableone. My memory is not what it used to be since I became a parent...

I am not sure who added the 7th option (Dan?) but whoever it is, thank you, and if you can, please switch out CableOne with Cablevision (no one voted CableOne anyways )

It is good to see at least two successful activations for 5 of the top 6.
__________________
- Sepia
One of the "Lucky 200"
Sepia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2006, 03:40 PM   #16
Sepia
TiVo Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 130
Glendale, CA here.

Installer just left. The only problem we had was that after installing the first (and later the second) card, and select TEST CHANNELS, only 1 or 2 channels were appearing.

The guy said that this is because both cards need to be in there at first, and I patiently explained that both cards are only required to get dual tuner functionality.

Anyways, it turns out that it was no big deal. After completing guided setup, *all* channels work HBO-HD, Discovery-HD et all.

TiVo, I was really miffed with you, but now that it's all up and running I'm happy again, and can forget being part of the 200 who got severly screwed at shipping Come here you big furry TV!
__________________
- Sepia
One of the "Lucky 200"
Sepia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2006, 08:47 PM   #17
SCSIRAID
Registered User
 
SCSIRAID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 2,297
Up and Running on TWC Raleigh with 2 cablecards
SCSIRAID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2006, 10:02 PM   #18
JoN8282
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 87
cablevision io digital cable perfection
JoN8282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2006, 06:33 PM   #19
GoHokies!
O2->CO2 Converter
 
GoHokies!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: KFME
Posts: 2,656
Smooth install here in Anne Arundel County, MD. Installer was one time, said it was his second Tivo and had several other jobs for 2 cards today, so it looked like he was going to be doing a lot of these.

Dropped both cards in, got the numbers, he called them in and within 2 minutes got the 161-4 on both cards. He hung around when while I redid guided setup, everything worked perfectly. We talked Tivo just about the whole time, the installer didn't know about all the extra features that the Tivo offered, said he'd have to look into getting one himself.

I can't believe it, but Comcast!!!

Looking at the paperwork he left, it cost me 8 bucks - we'll see how the monthly works itself out.

FWIW, both were the pastel label Moto-branded cards
GoHokies! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2006, 09:06 PM   #20
hawkamer
Narm...
 
hawkamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 904
Up and running with Bright House in Tampa. Took about 2 hours for the cablecards to get fully activated. I think part of the problem was the installer disregarded the TiVo-provided instructions, even though he read them throughly. Still, I can be thankful that I didn't get any "we don't install cablecards in TiVo" b.s.
__________________
This message contains statements that are forward-looking in nature; actual results may differ materially from those projected!
hawkamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 05:39 AM   #21
BUDYL
Now in HD
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 22
Smile Working fine with TW, Orange County CA

Time Warner, former Adelphia, Yorba Linda, CA

I am the first Tivo Series 3 in my area. At first TW said they would have to experiment with a Series 3 they purchased for the local office. But, since I had a Sat AM appt, they decided to go ahead and sent their best cablecard guy over and learn from my install. Two brand new Motorola CCs were installed per Tivo instructions, after activation /pairing of cards, each tuner was working perfectly, displaying all of my HD channels with proper remapping. Had to rerun guided setup for digital channels. Be sure to reboot a few hours after rerunning setup to make sure your program guides for rest of the 2 weeks get downloaded. Initial download only has about 8 hours of data. 18 hours later, both tuners still working fine, full 2 weeks of program data now stored.

Looking good. Maybe I'm just lucky. And the first in my neighborhood.
BUDYL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 04:01 PM   #22
RichCoder
Registered User
 
RichCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkdtv
  1. Comcast Cable Communications - 21,495,000
  2. Time Warner Cable - 11,039,000
  3. Charter Communications - 5,913,900
  4. Cox Communications - 5,400,000
  5. Adelphia Communications - 4,876,900
  6. Cablevision Systems - 3,065,700
  7. Bright House Networks - 2,275,000
  8. Mediacom LLC - 1,422,000
  9. Insight Communications - 1,306,700
  10. Suddenlink Communications -1,269,000

Replace Cableone with Cablevision?
I think the real number for Suddenlink is 1.7 mil.

-rich
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Admin
RichCoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2006, 12:38 AM   #23
MJedi
Registered User
 
MJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 113
Is there a half vote? I'm with Comcast (Elgin, IL.) 1st CC was activated successfully, after convincing the tech to call in an initialize/hit. 2nd CC gave 161-1 error. Another tech arrived a week later to install the replacement CC and it was activated successfully. One hour after he left, it gave the 161-2 error. Third tech will arrive tomorrow... 3 times a charm? I hope.
__________________
TiVo Series3 HD (1TB WD10EVCS)
TiVo Premiere
MJedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2006, 06:35 AM   #24
hookbill
Feathered Member
 
hookbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 4,442
I'm with Time Warner but they bought Adelphia in September and I believe that I'm still basically dealing with Adelphia technology and cable cards, personal etc.

So I need a half vote as well, but I picked TW.

Not to get off topic but I thought ALL of Adelphia was bought up and split with TW and Comcast. You mean there is still some Adelphia out there?
hookbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2006, 09:34 AM   #25
cassiusdrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 130
My cable company is Patriot Media in NJ, and the cards were activated without any issues. There were other copy protection issues that had to be sorted out later, but those were unrelated to the activation of the cablecards.
__________________
Premiere XL, 1TB, Moto M-Card
2x S3 OLED, 1TB/320GB, Moto S-Cards
S2 DVR-810H, 500GB
S2 240, 500GB
All Lifetime
Cable:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

NAS:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cassiusdrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2006, 09:55 AM   #26
Menarion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14
Currently on Adelphia (which will be switching to Comcast soon).

It took me a month, 3 truck rolls, and 2 in house techs, and numerous techs on the phone to get it working but I finally have the two cable cards in my Tivo plus a cable card in my television. Everything is working great now and I'm extremely happy now that it's all over.

First Tech showed up with one card when I asked for three. Installed the one card. It worked except for premium channels.

Second Tech showed up with two cards. Installed one into the Tivo to bring it to two cards. Second card worked great, took about 2 hours to get the premiums up and working. Once the second card was working we started working on the first card. Something seemed wrong and they could never get the premium channels to show up so she put the card for the television into the Tivo and got that working.

Third appointment got the same Tech again (second one) and it took all of 10 minutes to get the television working with premiums.

I'm still not sure what my billing will look like but that should be interesting as well.
Menarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2006, 11:54 AM   #27
ahmed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 16
The results of this poll represent which cable company has the most customers than which cable company is better when it comes to cable card installations!
ahmed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2006, 12:11 PM   #28
PatMcNJ
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 63
Cablevision, Monmouth County NJ, no problems at installation.
PatMcNJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2006, 02:48 PM   #29
segaily
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NH
Posts: 249
up and running with Metrocast cable in rochester NH.
It took over 2 hours to get it to work. The first card took over 90 min while the
tech in the office figured out what to do. The second card took about 30 min.
It cost me $200 for the cable cards (Metrocast does not rent cable cards they sell them
at $100 each)
segaily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2006, 03:00 PM   #30
ZeoTiVo
I can't explain
 
ZeoTiVo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 25,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahmed
The results of this poll represent which cable company has the most customers than which cable company is better when it comes to cable card installations!
Plus we do not see the cable card installs that were not successful
__________________
You just need to disable your sense of shame for all humanity and click past the break
ZeoTiVo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |