TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Forum Jump

Old 09-18-2006, 02:15 PM   #1
TivoIT

Exclamation Defrag TiVo?

Hi everyone:

Well, this is my first attempt at starting a thread, so bare with me!

Anyway, my question is…how many of you have seen the following article (Defrag Insures a Blockbuster Digital Media Experience) and what are your thoughts on it?

I ask because I read it recently and although it is in press release format, it really got me thinking. I mean, with the kids and all, our TiVo is a very important family tool. Because of the amount of shows we have saved on the thing, we worry constantly about our TiVo getting fried and our kids…going nuts!

I’ve already read many articles on backing up the TiVo and such, but this is the first article I’ve seen that has gotten this detailed regarding fragmentation.

We already have Diskeeper Defrag running on our Windows Media Center PC, but are unsure about the TiVo itself.

Can my TiVo become fragmented? And if so, how would I go about DEfragging it?
TivoIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 02:36 PM   #2
alansplace
------ Alan ------

Cool no need

Quote:
Originally Posted by TivoIT

Can my TiVo become fragmented? And if so, how would I go about DEfragging it?
no, the filesystems used by linux (the os used by tivo) do not need periodic defragging as do the filesystems used by windows. see this and especially read the short section titled 'defragmentation issues'.
--
Alan
Toshiba RD-XS32S (DVR/DVD burner)

Last edited by alansplace : 09-18-2006 at 02:44 PM. Reason: add wikipedia link
alansplace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 03:26 PM   #3
theangelwing

So based on th elinux system it runs (as do Macs) no defragging is neccesary?
theangelwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 03:36 PM   #4
alansplace
------ Alan ------

Cool no defragging is neccesary

Quote:
Originally Posted by theangelwing