TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Forum Jump

Old 09-14-2006, 08:14 AM   #1
Anametrix

Series 3 Upgrade

I'm going to give this a try, but have a couple of questions:

What size swap file do I need to create on a 750GB upgrade drive? I've upgraded my other TiVos with 250GB drives using the following command:

mfsrestore -s 127 -r 4 -zxpi /mnt/backupimage.bak /dev/hda

I know I'll need to increase the 127 swap size, I was hoping someone knew what size that would need to be?

Also is there anything else I need to do to support a 750GB drive different to what I've done in the past with the 250GB drive?

Many thanks in advance for any advice anyone can offer!
Anametrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2006, 08:43 AM   #2
cch108

I'm no expert, but my understanding is the swap file would have to be 375 MB and then you have to run the tpip command to utilize it.
cch108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2006, 09:58 AM   #3
Anametrix

Actually, also looks like the only drive that can be used is a SATA WD drive, the connector on the S3 is a propriatary WD connector...
Old 09-14-2006, 11:01 AM   #4
cch108

Weaknees is selling 750 Gb drives for $599.
cch108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2006, 02:06 PM   #5
griboyedov

The proprietary cable is WD SecureConnect. While it won't work with other manufacturers' hard drives, that cable can easily be replaced with a vanilla SATA cable.

I'm planning on installing a 750GB Seagate as soon as I get my S3 tomorrow.
griboyedov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2006, 02:28 PM   #6
Anametrix

I'm not sure it can be replaced with a vanilla cable, I think the power cable is soldered on the TiVo board side...
Old 09-14-2006, 03:10 PM   #7
tivoupgrade
Sponsor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anametrix
I'm going to give this a try, but have a couple of questions: