TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-12-2008, 07:37 AM   #3391
JimWall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 79
I talked to TWC of Southwest Ohio about USA HD and CNBC HD for Mason and they new nothing except for the hours counting down to when the channells will be available. Looks like that will be after the SDV switchover Friday Morning on the 15th.
JimWall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2008, 11:46 AM   #3392
dpbeckner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Jordan, NY
Posts: 5
Angry Very few HD channels with cable cards

I recently signed up for TW cable and had them install 2 cable cards in my Tivo 3 HD box. HOWEVER, I only get about 7 HD channels out of some 24 available here in Syracuse, NY. For instance: I get HBO HD but don't get TBSHD, HISTHD, USAHD, ESPNHD, etc, etc.

Should you get the same HD channels with the cable cards that you get with the HD Box from TW? I got the box also so I can "see" all 24 channels, just not through the TIVO.
__________________
Dan P. Beckner
dpbeckner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2008, 12:18 PM   #3393
TWC_Hater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 7
I am a TWC customer in Texas - My local TWC office informed me that they don't even send techs out to install MCards anymore. I have to drop off my tivoHD box at the office and then it will be up to 2 weeks before I get it back! Abso-freaking-ridiculous! I HATE TIME WARNER CABLE!
All of this is on top of the fact that I was first told that TWC didn't offer cable cards, then that they do but only if I wanted PPV, then that I would need them to enjoy HD and digital programming, then I met with a tech (after taking the afternoon off from work) and he told me that I had to bring it in to the local office. aaghhhhh!
TWC_Hater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2008, 12:20 PM   #3394
DaveDFW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by TWC_Hater View Post
I am a TWC customer in Texas - My local TWC office informed me that they don't even send techs out to install MCards anymore. I have to drop off my tivoHD box at the office and then it will be up to 2 weeks before I get it back!
I haven't heard this one before. Which TWC market is this?

TTYL
David
DaveDFW is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2008, 12:23 PM   #3395
TWC_Hater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 7
Angry TWC is the worst!

Quote:
Originally Posted by pkscout View Post
How many ways can TWC be stupid, bull headed, and make this a pain in the ass for the customer. It's bad enough we have a mandated truck role for a minimum wage "tech" to put a card in a slot and call a phone number, now they can't figure out how to do *two* cards.
I am a TWC customer in Texas - My local TWC office informed me that they don't even send techs out to install MCards anymore. I have to drop off my tivoHD box at the office and then it will be up to 2 weeks before I get it back! Abso-freaking-ridiculous! I HATE TIME WARNER CABLE!
All of this is on top of the fact that I was first told that TWC didn't offer cable cards, then that they do but only if I wanted PPV, then that I would need them to enjoy HD and digital programming, then I met with a tech (after taking the afternoon off from work) and he told me that I had to bring it in to the local office. aaghhhhh!
TWC_Hater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 09:21 AM   #3396
Jimbo713
CreaTiVoty!
 
Jimbo713's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 401
Tuning Adapter? I spoke with tech support at TWC/San Antonio today and he said that because TiVo is a third party provider, and that they (TWC) have their own DVR, that they wouldn't probably be offering the tuning adapter!! WOW!! Well - we know that's just wrong. And, how the "customer focus" of such a statement is also wrong.
__________________

TiVo Premiere with My DVR Expander HD
HD-TiVo
Jimbo713 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 09:26 AM   #3397
dolfer
Myles Standish Proud
 
dolfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA
Posts: 703
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimbo713 View Post
Tuning Adapter? I spoke with tech support at TWC/San Antonio today and he said that because TiVo is a third party provider, and that they (TWC) have their own DVR, that they wouldn't probably be offering the tuning adapter!! WOW!! Well - we know that's just wrong. And, how the "customer focus" of such a statement is also wrong.
Jimbo, Don't pay attention to what those CS morons say... Most of them are talking out of their #ss! I am in Cincinnati and rec'd an official letter from TW (like many here) stating that the adapter would be available later this year. It will come... Just don't hold your breath as I am skeptical about the timeline...
__________________
_
Dolf

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Sony SXRD 60A2020 | Onkyo TX-SR705 | Tivo HD | LG BD570 | Toshiba HD-A3 | Wii | Xbox 360
dolfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 09:29 AM   #3398
dolfer
Myles Standish Proud
 
dolfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA
Posts: 703
Tonight's the night, we'll make history...

August 15th! D-day for SDV in Cincinnati... I am just hoping when I get home tonight that this big switch doesn't screw up the non SDV channels.

Nothing like going home and seeing 60 channels disappear...

Any predictions on when TW will actually get the Tuning Adapter out? I say Q2 2009...
__________________
_
Dolf

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Sony SXRD 60A2020 | Onkyo TX-SR705 | Tivo HD | LG BD570 | Toshiba HD-A3 | Wii | Xbox 360
dolfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 11:17 AM   #3399
realityboy
Registered User
 
realityboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 1,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by franzey View Post
This is the response I got to my complaint with Time Warner:

"We understand that you are having issues with channel 769 in the Dayton area. This channel will be called "Beijing HD", and will air live programming from 2:00 am to noon (until 2pm on the weekends) and provides the HD version of USA Channel programming. 165 hours simulcast of USA will appear on this channel only during the specified time, and only for the duration of the Olympic coverage. The channel will not be available for viewing outside of the previously specified time frames."

This still doesn't address the noncompatibility with the Tivo, but explains why no other programming is available on the channel. It will literally only broadcast live olympics coverage for 10 hours from 2AM to 12PM.
USAHD (or Beijing HD)is working fine for me on my series 3. I live in Moraine. It's disappointing that it's only for the Olympics, but it is nice to have for now. I wonder when today that all the sdv channels go away. I know a few are still working right now for me, but I've already lost FoxReality (125).
realityboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 11:42 AM   #3400
lafos
Registered User
 
lafos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 1,317
I live in Troy, and just checked 769 USAHD. There is a signal on my S3, but it's after 12, so I'll have to wait until tomorrow.
lafos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 10:42 PM   #3401
prophetvsprofit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
I'm in Springfield and on my 8300HDC SDV is not enabled yet. Anybody else check on theirs?
prophetvsprofit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 09:07 AM   #3402
lafos
Registered User
 
lafos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 1,317
On Saturday, USAHD channel 769 is active in Troy, Ohio. Got to see a repeat of Phelps' gold no. 7 race. Amazing...
lafos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 10:25 AM   #3403
bobrt6676
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Huber Heights, Ohio
Posts: 178
dayton sdv

Quote:
Originally Posted by prophetvsprofit View Post
I'm in Springfield and on my 8300HDC SDV is not enabled yet. Anybody else check on theirs?
I don't believe SDV will affect 8300 boxes only Cable Card units. In Huber Heights SDV has not kicked in yet. I still receive all channels I could get before on my TivoHD.
bobrt6676 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 07:14 PM   #3404
andyknas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 11
i have a directivo right now and keep having pixelation issues with usa. directv wants to send out a new unit but they can't guarantee it will be a tivo.

i checked into cablecards with tw milwaukee a year ago and they told me it was not supported. it looks like people are using the tivo units - what "works" and what channels are you able to get?!
andyknas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 09:06 PM   #3405
pomerlp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by lafos View Post
On Saturday, USAHD channel 769 is active in Troy, Ohio. Got to see a repeat of Phelps' gold no. 7 race. Amazing...
Don't get too excited. Word is it's just for the Olympics. I hope they keep it longer but you know TW.
pomerlp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2008, 05:47 AM   #3406
sooka
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by pomerlp View Post
Don't get too excited. Word is it's just for the Olympics. I hope they keep it longer but you know TW.
Is that what the word is HOOKBILL over on your local Cleveland AVS forum?
sooka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2008, 07:39 AM   #3407
sushikitten
Exhausted mama
 
sushikitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: DC-ish Suburbia
Posts: 25,784
TWC is useless.

We had them out to install our cable card, and the guy said it would take a few hours for all the HD channels (and digital channels) to populate. It didn't sound right, but when the guy is adamant, what are you going to do? Also, you know what's insane? When they have to call in to TW themselves, they get the same number that customers do, where it usually takes 30 minutes to get a live person. So 30 of his 45 minutes here was waiting on the phone.

He said he would call later in the day to make sure it worked and would come back by if it didn't. Well, it never worked and he never called or stopped by. Which means we had to call TWC. Hubby waited on hold about 30 minutes each time and long story short, they first told him someone would be out to fix it next week. Sorry, not acceptable. Then they said they would call the tech and have him come out within two hours, okay, fine, but the tech called and said he couldn't make it. Another 30 minutes on hold, and he was disconnected when he asked for a manager. Another 30 minutes on hold and he was finally able to ask them to come get the cable card and do not charge us for the install because we never really got an install. The manager said - get this - it is not up to him to decide that, we have to take the cable card back and the person on duty gets to decide.

HUH? WHAT?

TWC has its head so far up its a$$ it's ridiculous. We can't come get our own cable card to install so they can charge us a $40 fee, but when we don't want it because they screwed it up, we can take the card back and they might or might not credit us.

Ridiculous.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
sushikitten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2008, 07:54 AM   #3408
lafos
Registered User
 
lafos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 1,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by pomerlp View Post
Don't get too excited. Word is it's just for the Olympics. I hope they keep it longer but you know TW.
I know that, but while it's here, I'll enjoy it. At least I live close enough to get NBC-HD OTA, since TWC does not carry it.
lafos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2008, 08:21 AM   #3409
rckstrang
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: A shack in the woods in TN
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by jenhudson View Post
TWC is useless.

We had them out to install our cable card, and the guy said it would take a few hours for all the HD channels (and digital channels) to populate. It didn't sound right, but when the guy is adamant, what are you going to do? Also, you know what's insane? When they have to call in to TW themselves, they get the same number that customers do, where it usually takes 30 minutes to get a live person. So 30 of his 45 minutes here was waiting on the phone.

He said he would call later in the day to make sure it worked and would come back by if it didn't. Well, it never worked and he never called or stopped by. Which means we had to call TWC. Hubby waited on hold about 30 minutes each time and long story short, they first told him someone would be out to fix it next week. Sorry, not acceptable. Then they said they would call the tech and have him come out within two hours, okay, fine, but the tech called and said he couldn't make it. Another 30 minutes on hold, and he was disconnected when he asked for a manager. Another 30 minutes on hold and he was finally able to ask them to come get the cable card and do not charge us for the install because we never really got an install. The manager said - get this - it is not up to him to decide that, we have to take the cable card back and the person on duty gets to decide.

HUH? WHAT?

TWC has its head so far up its a$$ it's ridiculous. We can't come get our own cable card to install so they can charge us a $40 fee, but when we don't want it because they screwed it up, we can take the card back and they might or might not credit us.

Ridiculous.
Your first and last sentence really says it all.

Time Warner is the worst cable company. When they did my install they would not listen to me and put both cards in at the same time. Finally after 3 hours of me saying "can't you just follow the directions?" they discovered that what they thought was slot 1 was slot 2. And put them in one at a time.

So last week with the Olympics I wasn't getting the channels. I call customer service and they tell me that my cards are not paired correctly. They had a "specialist" get on the phone because I was so mad and then he got it straightened out. Of course at first they wanted a truck roll but that would take one week.

Then this month they were still charging me for DVR service! What a mess.
rckstrang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2008, 12:34 PM   #3410
Kablemodem
Get the ketchup.
 
Kablemodem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 18,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by jenhudson View Post
TWC is useless.
I had a similar experience when my cable cards were first installed. Although TWC is ultimately responsible, it is the arrogant SOB installers who really screw things up. They insist they know what they are doing when they really have no clue. I can't believe that with the Series 3 Tivos out for over a year and a half they still don't know how to do it. If they would simply follow the instructions there would be a lot fewer problems. And how they can say the channels take some time to show up is beyond me. Do they really believe that or are they just trying to get the heck out of there without doing their job? I suspect TWC can train the installers all they want, but if the installers are too lazy to take the time to do the job right no amount of training is going to make a difference.
Kablemodem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2008, 02:01 PM   #3411
lafos
Registered User
 
lafos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 1,317
Maybe I was lucky, but when we moved to Ohio and I had to get TWC, I simply told the installer that I knew how it was supposed to go, and that we all wanted the same thing. I then asked him if he'd installed any cards in TiVo's. He admitted he had not, and let me lead the dance, resulting in a simple install.

Unfortunately, the signal in the house was weak, and it took them three visits to install a new exterior cable and an amp. Then they left the junction box uncovered, and it took them three weeks to get around to that.

Later, I had a card die in the upgrading loop. I pulled the bad card so I could at least use the TiVo. The tech came and installed a new card without having to see the problem first-hand. Even got it paired properly.
lafos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2008, 11:31 PM   #3412
Interpol
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Interpol View Post
I am in the TWC South Bay/Torrance area. I'm receiving 450 (USA-HD) and 451 (CNBC-HD) with a cablecard installed directly in my TV, so I can verify that these channels are NOT switched. I can also receive these channels fine with a Scientific Atlanta 4250HDC box from TWC.

However, I am unable to view anything on these channels with my Tivo HD with 2 single stream CableCards installed in it. All I get is black screen, although all the other channels I subscribe to come in fine.

Is there any fix to this?
Just to follow up: for some inexplicable reason (and without me doing anything), channels 450 (USAHD) and 451 (CNBCHD) are now displayed by the Tivo with no problems. I am also receiving 413 (Olympic Soccer) and 422 (Olympic Basketball).

Weird. Looks like TW did something right for a change, just a few days late.
Interpol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 06:18 AM   #3413
Meatball
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kablemodem View Post
I had a similar experience when my cable cards were first installed. Although TWC is ultimately responsible, it is the arrogant SOB installers who really screw things up.
Of course TWC is making it hard as crap to get cable cards and get them installed. They don't want them. They want you pay $10-$15 a month to rent a cable box/remote from them. The only reason why they're offering the cards is because the gov't is forcing them too.

As for the installers, it's all plausible deniability. Since the installers are sub-contractors, TWC can say, "Sorry for your crappy experience, but they're not our employees..."

It's a joke all the way around. Honestly, maybe someone needs to start a class action lawsuit or something about this. At the minimum, you should contact your Better Business Bureau and complain about the Cable Card deal.

The cable companies are really asking for it lately, and I think the FCC is about fed up with them. I expect the smack down on them about the whole cable modem packet shaping, etc, will spread to all of them and if enough people complain, maybe the Cable Cards will be the next thing they take a beating over.
Meatball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 07:52 AM   #3414
Distortedloop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Fernando, CA
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meatball View Post
Of course TWC is making it hard as crap to get cable cards and get them installed. They don't want them. They want you pay $10-$15 a month to rent a cable box/remote from them. The only reason why they're offering the cards is because the gov't is forcing them too.

As for the installers, it's all plausible deniability. Since the installers are sub-contractors, TWC can say, "Sorry for your crappy experience, but they're not our employees..."

It's a joke all the way around. Honestly, maybe someone needs to start a class action lawsuit or something about this. At the minimum, you should contact your Better Business Bureau and complain about the Cable Card deal.

The cable companies are really asking for it lately, and I think the FCC is about fed up with them. I expect the smack down on them about the whole cable modem packet shaping, etc, will spread to all of them and if enough people complain, maybe the Cable Cards will be the next thing they take a beating over.
I think your thesis and assumptions are wrong.

TWC (here in LA) rents you the cablecards for $4.99 EACH. A two tuner HD DVR from them was $9.99 monthly. Considering the cost and higher failure rate of a hard drive based DVR, I really doubt that their sweating that $1.00 difference.

As far as installers, again, my experience here in LA (San Fernando West Valley) was much different. I had TWO installers, BOTH TWC employees, not contractors, show up. They were quick, professional, and knowledgeable. They got the cards installed and working within 30 minutes. They knew who to call directly at the office to turn them on, and no problems since. I think they might have problems occasionally, as the second installer showed up after the first and I overheard him say he stopped by to help in case there were any problems. YMMV, I suppose.

I'm not taking on the role of TWC apologist, but I've never had so bad an experience with them as to feel all the hatred that so many in this thread spew. The service is reliable, reasonably priced compared to alternatives, and the people I speak to on the rare occasion are polite, knowledgeable and helpful, usually offering me some way to lower my bill and get more service.

That said, I wouldn't mind if they offered more HD channels at lower rates, but I'm not going to hate them over it either.
Distortedloop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 07:56 AM   #3415
sushikitten
Exhausted mama
 
sushikitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: DC-ish Suburbia
Posts: 25,784
Hubby returned the cable card, was not charged (finally, something good about the experience), and said "forget the cable box" since we are moving soon anyway. We can live with basic cable for now.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
sushikitten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 09:02 AM   #3416
Distortedloop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Fernando, CA
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Interpol View Post
Just to follow up: for some inexplicable reason (and without me doing anything), channels 450 (USAHD) and 451 (CNBCHD) are now displayed by the Tivo with no problems. I am also receiving 413 (Olympic Soccer) and 422 (Olympic Basketball).

Weird. Looks like TW did something right for a change, just a few days late.

Up here in the Valley, 413 is Fox Sports West, and 422 is Mojo (movies). I think I noticed Olympic stuff (not BB, though) on Mojo the other day, but the Tivo guide didn't list it as such; the guide showed Mojo's normal movie offerings. I think it's going dark when no Olympic content to play, which means it's not an additional offering, as they've taken away something in exchange for it. I only noticed this because I tuned that channel to catch a movie when I'd had enough of Olympics the other day and ugh, more Olympics. LOL.
Distortedloop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 11:12 AM   #3417
jmfirestone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Colfax, NC (Greensboro area)
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by lafos View Post
Maybe I was lucky, but when we moved to Ohio and I had to get TWC, I simply told the installer that I knew how it was supposed to go, and that we all wanted the same thing. I then asked him if he'd installed any cards in TiVo's. He admitted he had not, and let me lead the dance, resulting in a simple install.

When my install got done here in Greensboro, it took a LOT of insisting for me to get the installer to let me read him the instructions on how to do it. I kept showing him the one sheet and he just looked at it like a deer in headlights. He called in to the people at TWC and looked like he was going to cry because he had no idea what to do.

Like I said, after a lot of insisting he finally let me go through the instructions with him and the phone person. Everything worked fine other than the SDV crippling.
jmfirestone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 08:48 PM   #3418
DavidJ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 65
After reading a lot of this particular thread, I'm beginning to wonder why I let Tivo convince me of upgrading from my Series II to the HD, maybe it was the $$$ savings... Anyway, I now feel like I'm doomed from the get go for my Thursday 11:00 - 2:00 install.

I stopped by my local office last week here in Overland Park KS and explained what I was doing & needed. The lady behind the counter put the notes in the system that I had a Tivo HD, that I needed two of the open cable cards, and that I wanted someone with experience to come out and install them. She actually put in to send an employee and not a contractor.

So other than reviewing and printing out the install guides, and setting up the TivoHD tonight, I wonder if there's anything else I can be doing to help avoid problems on Thursday?

Also, does anyone know if the Open Cable card that TWC describes here is a Mcard?

Any advice would be much appreciated!

David...
DavidJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 09:34 PM   #3419
pcbrew
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 93
First, your TiVo is a UDCP device and that's all it will ever be.

The headings in the table should have "Device" after them as they refer to the types of devices that exist, NOT types of CableCARDs, as in:
  • UDCP CableCARD Device or
  • Open Cable CableCARD Device

Both devices take the same types of cards, either:
  • S-card (single stream) that can provide keys to decrypt one stream (your TiVo will need to of these for dual-tuner capability)
  • M-card (multi-stream) that can provide keys to decrypt multiple streams (your TiVo-HD only needs one of these, but the S3 needs 2 as it does not support the multi-stream functionality)
So, you should ask for an M-Card, not an Open CableCard as there is no such thing.

The only thing on the horizon to extyend the functionality of your TiVo is an adapter (SDV dongle or tuning resolver) that provides 2-way communication to enable you to get SDV channels if they use this scheme in your market.
__________________
Premier - 2TB LT
Premier4 - 2TB (m2m)
(652) TiVoHD - 1TB (LT)
(648) Series3 - 750GB (LT, dead PS for now)
pcbrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 07:12 AM   #3420
Meatball
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Distortedloop View Post
I think your thesis and assumptions are wrong.

TWC (here in LA) rents you the cablecards for $4.99 EACH. A two tuner HD DVR from them was $9.99 monthly. Considering the cost and higher failure rate of a hard drive based DVR, I really doubt that their sweating that $1.00 difference.
Eh, might be wrong in your neck of the woods, but here in Charlotte, NC, it's true. I pay $1.75 a month to rent cable cards, while a single tuner HD box/remote is around $9 and I think the HD DVR is a few bucks more a month. Also, I've had to call TWC out to my house three times in the last 18 months, every time they were sub-contractors.

Could be that things are just different regionally.

As for DVR failure rates. I've had 3 Tivo's and only had one HD failure in five years. I know everyone's mileage varies, but even if you lose a drive, you can buy a new drive pretty cheap and eaisily rebuild with software like InstantCake.

Last edited by Meatball : 08-20-2008 at 07:19 AM.
Meatball is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |