TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-18-2015, 10:12 AM   #1
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,177
Menu change

Noticed that the TiVo Central menu changed last night and Netflix replaced Video on Demand (and there was a message about the change).

Scott

__________________
  1. S3 HD - 2TB - Lifetime (son's)
  2. S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
  3. S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
  4. S1 Phillips - 120GB - Lifetime transferred to S3
  5. S1 Sony - 30GB - Lifetime transferred to S3
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2015, 06:23 PM   #2
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 1,182
Quote:
Originally Posted by HerronScott View Post
Noticed that the TiVo Central menu changed last night and Netflix replaced Video on Demand (and there was a message about the change).

Scott
Me too...
But, I have never used any streaming service over TiVo.
So it's really moot for me.

Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2015, 07:27 PM   #3
reneg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by HerronScott View Post
Noticed that the TiVo Central menu changed last night and Netflix replaced Video on Demand (and there was a message about the change).

Scott
Same on my Tivo HD

reneg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2015, 06:48 AM   #4
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teeps View Post
Me too...
But, I have never used any streaming service over TiVo.
So it's really moot for me.
We use Netflix on our S3's. I've not used Amazon in a number of years.

Scott

__________________
  1. S3 HD - 2TB - Lifetime (son's)
  2. S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
  3. S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
  4. S1 Phillips - 120GB - Lifetime transferred to S3
  5. S1 Sony - 30GB - Lifetime transferred to S3
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2015, 11:26 AM   #5
jim _h
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 58
rebooting

On Saturday my Tivo HD became stuck at the Powering Up screen. After numerous reboot attempts, it ran again today for a while, but has spontaneously rebooted a couple of times. It can't be a coincidence that this update apparently came in on Friday night.

Anyone else hosed by the update?

jim _h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2015, 12:10 PM   #6
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3,130
I bet you have a hardware issue that was just waiting to be exposed by a reboot. Check your caps, I'd bet a dollar they are bad.

__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks For This Post:
Old 04-20-2015, 12:31 PM   #7
jim _h
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtroo View Post
I bet you have a hardware issue that was just waiting to be exposed by a reboot. Check your caps, I'd bet a dollar they are bad.
I've heard about the aging caps issue. However, this explanation is - as we used to say - really asking a lot of coincidence. No problems before the update.

jim _h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2015, 12:58 PM   #8
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3,130
No, not at all. Every update causes some hardware problems to show themselves. Did the software version even change here? That has yet to be seen. If you are the *only* one with this problem, and you are so far, hardware is the suspect.

__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2015, 07:15 PM   #9
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,177
I don't believe this involved a software version update to change this menu item. My software version did not change and my TiVo hasn't rebooted since January 27th.

And I would guess a power supply issue as well based on the symptom.

Scott

__________________
  1. S3 HD - 2TB - Lifetime (son's)
  2. S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
  3. S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
  4. S1 Phillips - 120GB - Lifetime transferred to S3
  5. S1 Sony - 30GB - Lifetime transferred to S3
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 AM.
Page generated in 0.06708193 seconds (78.31% PHP - 21.69% MySQL) with 18 queries