TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-26-2006, 08:38 AM   #1
George Cifranci
Viva La Tivo!
 
George Cifranci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Posts: 676
Seagate Ships 750GB Hard Drives for DVRs

Looks like the 750GB DB35's are finally shipping. I might get one of these for my S3 when I get one.

http://www.dailytech.com/article.aspx?newsid=4314

Tech details...

http://www.seagate.com/products/cons...b35series.html
__________________
George

TiVo S3 - (12-20-06) 318HR HD (2TB)
TiVo S2 - (06-16-04) 329HR SD (retired)
TiVo S1 - (10-03-01) 60HR SD (retired)
TV: Sony SXRD R60XBR1 HDTV
George Cifranci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 08:40 AM   #2
geekmedic
TiVo Fanatic
 
geekmedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 376
What drive does the S3 currently use? It's extremely quiet, and I'm hesitant to upgrade my drive for fear of getting a noisy drive.
__________________
Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow.
geekmedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 09:04 AM   #3
as6o
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by geekmedic
What drive does the S3 currently use? It's extremely quiet, and I'm hesitant to upgrade my drive for fear of getting a noisy drive.
According to the pictures thread it looks like a Western Digital WD2500BS. See http://www.tivolovers.com.nyud.net:8...m/Inside-8.jpg

The Seagate DB35s are made for DVRs so the assumption is that they'll be nice and quiet.

-Aaron
as6o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 10:07 AM   #4
George Cifranci
Viva La Tivo!
 
George Cifranci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Posts: 676
My Series 2 came with a Maxtor (which Seagate aquired) Quickview which are also designed for DVR's. My Weaknees upgrade for that unit was also a Maxtor Quickview.

http://www.maxtor.com/portal/site/Ma...ickView+Family
__________________
George

TiVo S3 - (12-20-06) 318HR HD (2TB)
TiVo S2 - (06-16-04) 329HR SD (retired)
TiVo S1 - (10-03-01) 60HR SD (retired)
TV: Sony SXRD R60XBR1 HDTV
George Cifranci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 10:11 AM   #5
Bai Shen
Toboggan noggin
 
Bai Shen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13,250
Huh. I jus' dropped one of these in my myth box.
__________________
Nemo me impune lacessit.

Never argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.
Bai Shen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 10:23 AM   #6
BlackBetty
I <3 TiVo!
 
BlackBetty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,376
Any word on pricing? Is this drive different then the current seagate 750gb drive thats on the market? Outpost is selling the current drive for $299, which I thought was a great price. I paid $220 for a seagate 400gb drive about a year ago.
BlackBetty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 10:33 AM   #7
George Cifranci
Viva La Tivo!
 
George Cifranci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Posts: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bai Shen
Huh. I jus' dropped one of these in my myth box.
A 750GB Seagate DB35? How much was it and where did you get it?
__________________
George

TiVo S3 - (12-20-06) 318HR HD (2TB)
TiVo S2 - (06-16-04) 329HR SD (retired)
TiVo S1 - (10-03-01) 60HR SD (retired)
TV: Sony SXRD R60XBR1 HDTV
George Cifranci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 10:39 AM   #8
Bai Shen
Toboggan noggin
 
Bai Shen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by George Cifranci
A 750GB Seagate DB35? How much was it and where did you get it?
Well, I dunno if it was a DB35, but it was a 750G Seagate. It was on sale at CompUSA for $280 last wk. The 500GB one is on sale this wk.
__________________
Nemo me impune lacessit.

Never argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.
Bai Shen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 11:12 AM   #9
Shawn95GT
Tivo, in HD!
 
Shawn95GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 887
Where have you seen this drive for sale?

It took me just under a week recording 'just' off-air to fill up the S3.
__________________
Shawn
1x S3 Tivo (Fox / ABC) WD10EVVS 1TB upgrade
1x S3 Tivo (CBS / NBC) WD20EURS 2TB upgrade
1x S3 Tivo WD10EVVS 1TB upgrade
1x Tivo Premier - WD20EURS 2TB upgrade in the works
Shawn95GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 12:22 PM   #10
Bai Shen
Toboggan noggin
 
Bai Shen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawn95GT
Where have you seen this drive for sale?

It took me just under a week recording 'just' off-air to fill up the S3.
The 500GB? CompUSA.
__________________
Nemo me impune lacessit.

Never argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.
Bai Shen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 12:29 PM   #11
George Cifranci
Viva La Tivo!
 
George Cifranci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Posts: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bai Shen
Well, I dunno if it was a DB35, but it was a 750G Seagate. It was on sale at CompUSA for $280 last wk. The 500GB one is on sale this wk.
Ah, well you more than likely don't have a 750GB DB35 then. You probably have a Barracuda. They just started shipping (or at least just announced) the 750GB DB35's and I doubt CompUSA carries the DB35's anyway.

The reason I created the thread was to post the Seagate announcement about the 750GB DB35's which are designed for DVR's like the S3.
__________________
George

TiVo S3 - (12-20-06) 318HR HD (2TB)
TiVo S2 - (06-16-04) 329HR SD (retired)
TiVo S1 - (10-03-01) 60HR SD (retired)
TV: Sony SXRD R60XBR1 HDTV
George Cifranci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 12:31 PM   #12
supasta
Registered User
 
supasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,902
I plan to stay awaw from Seagate drives for my TiVo boxes. They are simply too loud to be used in a DVR. However, this new drive may break the mold. I hope so!
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro Lifetime ∙ TiVo Mini Lifetime

XBOX LIVE: fiftyfootfang
supasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 12:34 PM   #13
George Cifranci
Viva La Tivo!
 
George Cifranci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Posts: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by supasta
I plan to stay awaw from Seagate drives for my TiVo boxes. They are simply too loud to be used in a DVR. However, this new drive may break the mold. I hope so!

The other DVR speciality drives are the Maxtor Quickviews which go up to 500GB currently. However, Seagate bought Maxtor earlier this year.

The Maxtor Quickviews are pretty quiet. I have two in my Series 2.
__________________
George

TiVo S3 - (12-20-06) 318HR HD (2TB)
TiVo S2 - (06-16-04) 329HR SD (retired)
TiVo S1 - (10-03-01) 60HR SD (retired)
TV: Sony SXRD R60XBR1 HDTV
George Cifranci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 12:47 PM   #14
Shawn95GT
Tivo, in HD!
 
Shawn95GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 887
I have the older Seagates in my S2s and the seek noise is the only noise you hear. It isn't offensive to me and I have one of them in the bedroom.

Admittedly, my bedroom is less than silent, so the Tivo's noise is the lesser of the noises going on in there with several computers and whatnot going.

If it's a $100 premium fopr the DB35, I'll take the slightly louder version, thank you very much.
__________________
Shawn
1x S3 Tivo (Fox / ABC) WD10EVVS 1TB upgrade
1x S3 Tivo (CBS / NBC) WD20EURS 2TB upgrade
1x S3 Tivo WD10EVVS 1TB upgrade
1x Tivo Premier - WD20EURS 2TB upgrade in the works
Shawn95GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 12:59 PM   #15
Bai Shen
Toboggan noggin
 
Bai Shen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by George Cifranci
Ah, well you more than likely don't have a 750GB DB35 then. You probably have a Barracuda. They just started shipping (or at least just announced) the 750GB DB35's and I doubt CompUSA carries the DB35's anyway.

The reason I created the thread was to post the Seagate announcement about the 750GB DB35's which are designed for DVR's like the S3.
So whithout me wading through a ton of tech specs, what's so great about the DB35 vs a regular drive? Why's it so cool for DVRs?
__________________
Nemo me impune lacessit.

Never argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.
Bai Shen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 01:04 PM   #16
Woodstock2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 30
Waiting for external drive support...
Woodstock2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 01:08 PM   #17
TiVo-rific
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16
I installed the weaknees 750gb upgrade for the S3. They shipped a Seagate Barracuda and it is noisy. I wonder if they are going to offer the DB35's soon.
http://www.weaknees.com/details2/rs750s325.php
TiVo-rific is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 01:11 PM   #18
Bai Shen
Toboggan noggin
 
Bai Shen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13,250
-shrug- I guess I'm wierd. I don't hear any hard drive noise from my machine.
__________________
Nemo me impune lacessit.

Never argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.
Bai Shen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 01:18 PM   #19
George Cifranci
Viva La Tivo!
 
George Cifranci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Posts: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bai Shen
So whithout me wading through a ton of tech specs, what's so great about the DB35 vs a regular drive? Why's it so cool for DVRs?

http://www.weaknees.com/seagate-db35-dvr-hard-drive.php

Seagate DB35 drives have a few key differences from normal desktop drives that make them far superior to desktop drives for PVR usage:

* Thermal Control: On board sensors monitor temperature and adjust characteristics as necessary to keep the temperature optimal.

* Durability: These drives run at 7200 RPM - more than fast enough for every PVR (providing about three times the necessary peak throughput) but not fast enough to wear out sooner.

* Acoustic Management: DVR-specific drives are specially tuned to run as quietly as possible.

* A/V Streaming: DVR-specific drives have been optimized and tuned to provide consistent data to the PVR processor. Standard desktop drives can hang while retrying drive reads - DB35 drives know to move ahead and provide more data to keep video smooth.

* Error Recovery: Desktop drives retry on errors to make sure that your Excel spreadsheet is exactly right - it's imperative. But when watching video, if one block of data is bad, you may not even notice a dark spot on one frame for 1/30th of a second. So these drives are tuned to move past errors faster, putting the stream of data as top priority. Where desktop drives often cause stutters, these drives run smooth.
__________________
George

TiVo S3 - (12-20-06) 318HR HD (2TB)
TiVo S2 - (06-16-04) 329HR SD (retired)
TiVo S1 - (10-03-01) 60HR SD (retired)
TV: Sony SXRD R60XBR1 HDTV
George Cifranci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 01:48 PM   #20
Canoehead
1 of The Curs'd 200
 
Canoehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 144
Any idea where one might buy one of these? - it looks from the press release that PVR manufaturers will receive the first copies.
Canoehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 01:56 PM   #21
Bai Shen
Toboggan noggin
 
Bai Shen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by George Cifranci
http://www.weaknees.com/seagate-db35-dvr-hard-drive.php
* Thermal Control: On board sensors monitor temperature and adjust characteristics as necessary to keep the temperature optimal.

* Durability: These drives run at 7200 RPM - more than fast enough for every PVR (providing about three times the necessary peak throughput) but not fast enough to wear out sooner.
I can see the other points, but I wonder what adjustments they make to control heat.

And the drives running at 7200 RPM is nothing special. Not sure why they think it makes a difference. Pretty much every desktop hard drive runs at 7200.
__________________
Nemo me impune lacessit.

Never argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.
Bai Shen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 02:20 PM   #22
SystemJinx
(o_0)
 
SystemJinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: North of Seattle
Posts: 2,673
The 750GB drive is nice, but Seagate has recently announced a 1TB (terabyte) drive to be released by the end of 2007. I'm going to hold out for it. There is just something cool about having a 1TB drive.
SystemJinx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 03:47 PM   #23
gostan
Registered User
 
gostan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Boston
Posts: 79
I sent the following email to Weeknees:

-----Original Message-----
From: Stan Gordon
Sent: Monday, September 25, 2006 1:40 PM
To: info@weaknees.com
Subject: Tivo Series 3 Hard Drive Upgrades

How noisy are the 500 and 750 GB hard drives? Word is that they are very
noisy. Who is the manufacturer?

I want to upgrade, but I could wait if there will be quieter hard drives on
the horizon.

Thanks,

Stan


And they responded:

They are made by Seagate, and while we have not received many complaints at
all, we are also having a special version of the drive manufactured for us,
which we expect to improve acoustics. We expect them in 5 weeks.

Thank you,
weaKnees
http://www.weaknees.com

gostan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 03:52 PM   #24
George Cifranci
Viva La Tivo!
 
George Cifranci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Posts: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by SystemJinx
The 750GB drive is nice, but Seagate has recently announced a 1TB (terabyte) drive to be released by the end of 2007. I'm going to hold out for it. There is just something cool about having a 1TB drive.
I wouldn't want one of those in a computer unless it was mirrored or in a RAID config. Way too many eggs in one basket.
__________________
George

TiVo S3 - (12-20-06) 318HR HD (2TB)
TiVo S2 - (06-16-04) 329HR SD (retired)
TiVo S1 - (10-03-01) 60HR SD (retired)
TV: Sony SXRD R60XBR1 HDTV
George Cifranci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 03:55 PM   #25
George Cifranci
Viva La Tivo!
 
George Cifranci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Posts: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bai Shen
I can see the other points, but I wonder what adjustments they make to control heat.

And the drives running at 7200 RPM is nothing special. Not sure why they think it makes a difference. Pretty much every desktop hard drive runs at 7200.

Yeah I didn't get the 7200 RPM point either. The Maxtor Quickviews were 5400 which was plenty fast for standard def TiVo's at least. Since they ran slower they weren't as loud and in theory would last longer/be more reliable.

Supposidly the DB35's can handle 10 video streams at once.

http://www.weaknees.com/pdf/db35.pdf
__________________
George

TiVo S3 - (12-20-06) 318HR HD (2TB)
TiVo S2 - (06-16-04) 329HR SD (retired)
TiVo S1 - (10-03-01) 60HR SD (retired)
TV: Sony SXRD R60XBR1 HDTV
George Cifranci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 03:55 PM   #26
Bodshal
Penguin-tastic!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cedar Brook, NJ, USA
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by George Cifranci
I wouldn't want one of those in a computer unless it was mirrored or in a RAID config. Way too many eggs in one basket.
That's what I used to say about drives larger than 40MB. Then 100MB. Then 500MB, then, gods, a gig! In one place!

Nowadays, you can't get MS Windows and related baggage to fit in any of those, of course

Chris.
__________________
RP91+SDI; TiVo Series3&2; Denon AVR4806; CrystalioII 3800; Optoma HD72; Axiom 2xM60i, VP150, 4xQS4, EP500;
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bodshal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 04:07 PM   #27
Laggan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by George Cifranci
I wouldn't want one of those in a computer unless it was mirrored or in a RAID config. Way too many eggs in one basket.
I'm not sure I understand. I'll have only one drive in my Series 3 when it arrives no matter how large or small the drive is. My eggs will be in one basket regardless, so I'd rather have a large basket than a small one.
Laggan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 04:10 PM   #28
greg_burns
Now in HD
 
greg_burns's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Slower Lower Delaware
Posts: 6,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laggan
I'm not sure I understand. I'll have only one drive in my Series 3 when it arrives no matter how large or small the drive is. My eggs will be in one basket regardless, so I'd rather have a large basket than a small one.
Not if they enabled the eSata port and you use an external raid array.
greg_burns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 05:00 PM   #29
Laggan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by greg_burns
Not if they enabled the eSata port and you use an external raid array.
Oh, sorry, I thought we were talking about internal upgrades. If you use a single external eSATA drive, and if the OS stripes the data (as I assume it would), then your eggs are still in one basket, but now there is twice the chance of the basket breaking. I gather then, that the idea was to use a RAID 5 array to protect that data. Then the external part would be protected, but you'd still be vulnerable to a failure of the internal drive, which wouldn't be part of the array. Nice idea, but definitely beyond my budget. I'll just take my chances and curse like a sailor if it all goes down the tubes.
Laggan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 05:09 PM   #30
greg_burns
Now in HD
 
greg_burns's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Slower Lower Delaware
Posts: 6,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laggan
I'll just take my chances and curse like a sailor if it all goes down the tubes.
Me too. I would still probably do the external array just to be able to combine two smaller cheaper drives though with a simple RAID 0.
greg_burns is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |