TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-07-2006, 06:49 PM   #1
quin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Can Tivo record Streaming Internet Video?

Can Tivo record Streaming Internet Video?

I subscribe to an Internet service that sends me streaming video over the internet. This video is a 1024 X 768. My laptop has a VGA output and also a S-Video output.

If I hook up the S-Video output from the computer to my TV, I can see the streaming video on the TV. If I hook up the S-Video computer output to my S-Video input of the Tivo box I see nothing. I assume I am setting it up wrong because I would expect that S-Video is S-Video and Tivo should be happy to record it.

How do I get the Tivo to show the S-Video from my laptop?
quin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 09:31 PM   #2
gastrof
Look 32' in reverse
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: We would like tin but for the golden glade. Do not take risks that you cannot return to the encapsulation. Margaret has not the stranding.
Posts: 6,794
Three questions-

Is the S-Video output on your computer meant to feed into a TV?

If so, have you tried feeding the S-Video into a TV to make sure you have a live cable and that the computer's actually sending a signal thru that cable?

Did you change the TiVo's settings in guided setup to accept input thru S-Video?
__________________
Crisp binoculars on a Wednesday.
gastrof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2006, 10:12 PM   #3
quin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
I tried guided setup. My only option there was to pretend I had a satellite hookup along with cable. Tivo tries to get all the programming stuff set up and it would be difficult to "trick" tivo into accepting the computer input into a satellite S-Video port.

My problem is now solved because one of my Tivo sets is a CD burner. On the front of this unit I have Component inputs along with a S-video input. Also the Tivo menu under the "Record" section allows me to record from a video camera etc. This is a specialized menu only for the "burner" type of recorder.

I bought a high quality S-Video cable for $50.00, plugged it in, told Tivo to record from a camera and it worked with no problems. Quality is acceptable but not great and there were no problems with the 1040 X 768 computer output displaying on my TV screen during playback.

The answer for recording video from a computer or a camera is to use S-Video into a Tivo designed to take a video camera. Probably this only is available in the Tivo's with "Burners".
quin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 12:46 PM   #4
classicsat
Astute User
 
classicsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 17,878
Correct. Only the DVD recorder TiVos have the option to manuallt select an external source. Other units have to be tricked into using a satellite box.
__________________
Series 2 234 Hr Lifetime.
Window XP and Ubuntu Linux on my PCs.
Watching more and more in HD direct now.
classicsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |