TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-18-2011, 07:59 AM   #1
sfora2260
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Possible to install a Dual Tuner?

Hi, I'm thinking about purchasing a TiVo TCD540040 and was wondering if there's any way to install a dual tuner in it?

Thanks!
sfora2260 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 09:19 AM   #2
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,527
Absolutely not. You'd have to completely modify the mainboard and software to support two tuners. It's not like installing another tuner in a PC. If you want a dual tuner Tivo you'll have to buy a Tivo that comes with two tuners.
mr.unnatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 12:07 PM   #3
classicsat
Astute User
 
classicsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 17,878
Go buy a dual tuner to begin with. Not that you'd get much use out of it, if your provider is one with limited to no analog.
__________________
Series 2 234 Hr Lifetime.
Window XP and Ubuntu Linux on my PCs.
Watching more and more in HD direct now.
classicsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |