TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Forum Jump

Old 08-10-2006, 04:12 PM   #1
cpittman

FIOS vs. TiVo

This is my first time on TiVo community. I am glad I found you through Google.

Despite claims by Verizon help desk to the contrary, I am certain that other TiVo owners have encountered my recent and ongoing problem. Yesterday, Verizon installed a FIOS "triple play" (voice, data, video) at my residence. We love it...with one exception:

Our TiVos apparently will not control channel changing on the new Motorola set-top boxes. The ComCast box we had until 24 hours ago (also Motorola) was controlled by TiVo through the serial port with no problem. When I attempted to rebuild the connection between TiVo and the new FIOS standard definition set-top box provided by Verizon, the TiVo setup procedure informed me that it could not change channels.

In going through the Verizon FIOS TV User Guide, I noticed on page 51 that the set-top box tells us not to plug anything into the serial port--and that the IR port (the 2nd method TiVo can control channel changing)--is not enabled.

I am NOT a techie. I only know my kids want their TiVo, as do their parents.

I suppose it goes without saying that we chose NOT to go with the Verizon DVR in favor of remaining with TiVo. Is this a conspiracy?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thx,

CP
cpittman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2006, 04:33 PM   #2
ah30k

I understand the serial port not being enabled but how can the IR port not be enabled? Do they use and RF remote control?

Most discussions here have assumed that you could simply use the IR blaster.
ah30k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2006, 04:35 PM   #3
davezatz
Funkadelic

Which Motorola box is it? And did you try IR anyway?
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2006, 04:37 PM   #4
megazone
Hardcore TiVo Geek