TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-24-2006, 06:36 PM   #1
obmij5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
help! format my old tivo hard drive for use with computer

Okay, so my Tivo2 just died and i had to purchase the new DirecTV DVR (which has a shotty interface and is so user-unfriendly it has actually done more to get me outside than the summer weather). But i decided i'd open up my Tivo and get a free external hard drive. I did, and i plugged it in using a power USB converter into my iBook g4, and because of its strange tivo formatting, my mac cannot even register it. So my question is, how do i format this puppy?
here are the hard drive's specs:
Western Digital Enhanced IDE Hard Drive
Parameters: 80 GB
anyway i just want to format it so i can keep stuff on it, that'd be wonderful

any ideas?

obmij5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2006, 06:39 PM   #2
HTGuy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 11
If your Tivo died, it was most likely the hard drive, so I would be carefull here.

Did you try to use the Apple Disk Utility to format it?

HTGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2006, 06:39 PM   #3
Gunnyman
Just a boring dude
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: !Texas
Posts: 30,447
do you have access to a windows pc?
If so, get a linux cd like mepis or knoppix and run Fdisk on the drive. Or perhaps there's a 3rd party disk utility for OS X that will recognize the drive.

__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2006, 06:40 PM   #4
obmij5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
i've tried apple utility, it wont recognize that its connected or anything.
Gunnyman- i do have access to a PC. Im also an idiot, so can u walk me through your linux idea?

obmij5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2006, 06:42 PM   #5
Gunnyman
Just a boring dude
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: !Texas
Posts: 30,447
if it doesn't even recognize that a drive is plugged in, I'd venture to say it's toasted.

__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2006, 06:48 PM   #6
obmij5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
it was the power source of the unit that was the problem, not the hard drive. The problem with the hard drive is that it is formatted as a tivo drive, i want to format it as a mac drive, i just need to know how to do that...

obmij5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2006, 06:52 PM   #7
Gunnyman
Just a boring dude
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: !Texas
Posts: 30,447
head over to knoppix.org and grab an ISO follow the directions there.
Way too many steps involved to go thru here.

__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2006, 06:55 PM   #8
obmij5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
gotcha, thanks a lot

obmij5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 AM.
Page generated in 0.06109595 seconds (74.24% PHP - 25.76% MySQL) with 16 queries