TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers
TiVo Community
Closed Thread
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-08-2006, 02:17 PM   #1
codespy
Go A-Rod (Packers)
 
codespy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Packerland, USA
Posts: 608
HR10-250 6.3 upgrade announced

Upgrade is officially coming..........

ENJOY.......FINALLY....

http://directv.com/DTVAPP/global/con...setId=P3200006
codespy is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 02:18 PM   #2
ebonovic
has gone his way...
 
ebonovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tinley Park, IL USA (SW ChicagoBurbs)
Posts: 11,164


Guess I can now talk about it in more detail...
__________________
- Earl
ebonovic is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 02:19 PM   #3
codespy
Go A-Rod (Packers)
 
codespy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Packerland, USA
Posts: 608
Allright.....Everybody tackle Earl at once!!
codespy is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 02:20 PM   #4
ebonovic
has gone his way...
 
ebonovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tinley Park, IL USA (SW ChicagoBurbs)
Posts: 11,164

I'm a big guy... I can take it..
__________________
- Earl
ebonovic is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 02:50 PM   #5
ebonovic
has gone his way...
 
ebonovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tinley Park, IL USA (SW ChicagoBurbs)
Posts: 11,164
There really isn't much more to tell about it...

Basically the HR10-250 will be the same as the other 6.x systems, with the HD hooks ins.

I hopefully will get the full release notes and maybe a time schedule early in the work week.
__________________
- Earl
ebonovic is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 03:01 PM   #6
dcbarry
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 66
Do I REALLY need to plug in my phone "continuosly"?

Don't the updates come over the dish itself, and the phonecall just gives the order to flip partitions?

I seem to recall that if you view system info that there is an indicator like "pending update" that will let you know that the download is ready and waiting. Am I correct?


d.
dcbarry is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 03:02 PM   #7
stuart628
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
I just cant wait to get mine, its coming! tuesday it gets dropped off!
stuart628 is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 03:03 PM   #8
RunnerFL
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcbarry
Don't the updates come over the dish itself, and the phonecall just gives the order to flip partitions?

I seem to recall that if you view system info that there is an indicator like "pending update" that will let you know that the download is ready and waiting. Am I correct?


d.

You're thinking of the R15 that gets it's upgrades via the Sat Signal. The DirecTiVos get their upgrade via phone line.
RunnerFL is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 03:06 PM   #9
ebonovic
has gone his way...
 
ebonovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tinley Park, IL USA (SW ChicagoBurbs)
Posts: 11,164
Usually on the initial rollouts..
The software will pushout via the SAT, and sit on the hard drive.

Then the phone call connection, will "authorize" the box to apply the update.

Later on... after the initial rollout (probably 6 months), it will download via the phone line.
__________________
- Earl
ebonovic is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 03:08 PM   #10
tase2
Shy Guy
 
tase2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Wallingford, CT
Posts: 3,538
Kudos to Earl and other positive folks for keeping us in the loop and giving us hope
tase2 is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 03:10 PM   #11
eddyj
Registered User
 
eddyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: South Florida
Posts: 46,789
So should I be forcing a call every 15 minutes until I get this?

Not that I am eager to get it or anything...
eddyj is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 03:19 PM   #12
pkscout
Registered User
 
pkscout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 3,888
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJO1966
Wow... five whole posts before a threadcrap. Is that a record?
No, I've seen a few with the first post being threadcrap.
pkscout is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 03:21 PM   #13
pkscout
Registered User
 
pkscout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 3,888
I gotta say, I did not believe this would ever come. I might actually keep DirecTV after the S3 comes out if the S3 turns out to be too expensive. That way I can wait until the price drops some.

I've always said if I just had folders and a bit more speed the HD-TiVo was perfect for me.
pkscout is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 03:23 PM   #14
whitepelican
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddyj
So should I be forcing a call every 15 minutes until I get this?
I would think people will let us know when they start seeing it. If you have a hacked unit you can check in the MFS under /SwSystem (?) to see if you have yet downloaded the software via the satellite.
whitepelican is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 03:52 PM   #15
acvthree
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Carrollton, Texas
Posts: 2,419
Native passthrough?

Network support?
acvthree is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 03:56 PM   #16
eddyj
Registered User
 
eddyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: South Florida
Posts: 46,789
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitepelican
I would think people will let us know when they start seeing it. If you have a hacked unit you can check in the MFS under /SwSystem (?) to see if you have yet downloaded the software via the satellite.
I was just kidding, I am not that desperate.

Or I am, but I will not admit to it!
eddyj is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 03:58 PM   #17
lancelot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 51
Well, this last week, at about 2 am, I was changing channels on my H10, and got a message I had never seen before. It said something like the DVR was retrieving information from the satellite to improve functionality, and if I changed channels, it would disturb the download. Also, the record light came on. The screen showed a progress bar, and the whole thing took about 7 minutes. When it finished, the record light turned off. However, I still have the old software. Any ideas about what this was?
lancelot is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 04:32 PM   #18
litzdog911
TechKnow Guide
 
litzdog911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mill Creek, Washington
Posts: 12,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by lancelot
Well, this last week, at about 2 am, I was changing channels on my H10, and got a message I had never seen before. It said something like the DVR was retrieving information from the satellite to improve functionality, and if I changed channels, it would disturb the download. Also, the record light came on. The screen showed a progress bar, and the whole thing took about 7 minutes. When it finished, the record light turned off. However, I still have the old software. Any ideas about what this was?
Do you mean "H10" or "HR10-250"? The H10 is a HiDef DirecTV Receiver, not a DVR. Your H10 might very well have been receiving a receiver update.
__________________
Sony SAT-T60 120GB (v3.5b)
HR20-700, HR20-100, HR21-200 HD DVR
AM21
HR10-250 HD DVR 400GB (v6.4a)
H21-200 HD Receiver
R10 DVR 160GB (v6.4a)
litzdog911 is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 04:58 PM   #19
jcricket
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 228
Yay speed. I can't wait.

I'd love all the other features we all long(ed) for (native passthrough, HMO, etc.) but I'll settle for a more responsive box with folders. The rest is really gravy for me.
jcricket is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 05:00 PM   #20
jhimmel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 499
I'd say that some people owe some users here an apology, like richierich who said -

"I told all of you a year ago that it won't happen because they are not going to invest any more resources in a unit that they are going to replace with their own DVR, the HR20-250!! But so many were blind and just don't understand the corporate mentality & strategy!!!"

Calling people "blind" and basically -stupid- for believing they may possibly get an update.

Because none of us could know for sure if the update would come, and since there are a lot of considerations that go into "corporate mentality & strategy" as to make it impossible to accurately guess, those comments were offensive and, quite frankly, not too smart.
jhimmel is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 05:01 PM   #21
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,412
Quote:
You're thinking of the R15 that gets it's upgrades via the Sat Signal. The DirecTiVos get their upgrade via phone line.
You couldn't be more wrong. ALL DTivos get their updates via the sats. The update doesn't get installed until the DTivo calls the mothership and gets the initialization command to begin the installation. The software update is stored in slices in the mfs filesystem until needed.
mr.unnatural is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 05:08 PM   #22
drew2k
Drew != Drawn
 
drew2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,864
Earl -

I've only had my HR10-250's since last October, so I've never been through an update (of the HD units) pushed out by DirecTV. The DirecTV page says some settings will be reset and mentions banner, favorites, and parental controls. Do you know if that is the complete list, or will this upgrade reset or leave alone other settings, such as Aspect Correction, Output Format, Remote Control IDs, etc. (The remote control ID is a biggie for me, as I have three TiVos in the living room!)

Thanks, and when the mood strikes, feel free to say "I told you so!" to all those who doubted this update would ever see the light of day!
__________________
- DirecTiVo: HR10-250 (x2), 212-hr HDVR2, 34-hr HDVR2
- SA 8300HD
- HK TC30 Remote
drew2k is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 05:10 PM   #23
gatorbait
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 112
Anyone know what will happen with our zippered machines that never dial in/fake phone call?

Last edited by gatorbait : 07-08-2006 at 05:22 PM.
gatorbait is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 05:22 PM   #24
bidger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Elmira, NY
Posts: 3,426
Quote:
Originally Posted by lancelot
Any ideas about what this was?
At 2:00 or 2:30AM nightly the DVR downloads program guide data from the satellite. A regular TiVo has to do this with a daily phone call or broadband connection.
bidger is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 05:23 PM   #25
Mark Lopez
Just click ignore
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Hondo TX
Posts: 7,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhimmel
I'd say that some people owe some users here an apology.....
Yeah, but we will probably have to wait even longer for that than we waited for the update.
Mark Lopez is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 05:39 PM   #26
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 24,167
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by gatorbait
Anyone know what will happen with our zippered machines that never dial in/fake phone call?
Nothing. No phone call means no update install.

The update will be on the hard disk waiting for the authorization to install. You will probably be able to process the installation ("load the slices") yourself, but the details will have to wait for those who know. You'll also want to wait to see what needs to be done to re-hack 6.3.
__________________
Steve
stevel is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 05:45 PM   #27
gatorbait
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevel
Nothing. No phone call means no update install.

The update will be on the hard disk waiting for the authorization to install. You will probably be able to process the installation ("load the slices") yourself, but the details will have to wait for those who know. You'll also want to wait to see what needs to be done to re-hack 6.3.
Thanks for your thoughts. I figured I better post this in the "zippered" thread underground and have done so there.
gatorbait is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 05:47 PM   #28
RunnerFL
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.unnatural
You couldn't be more wrong. ALL DTivos get their updates via the sats. The update doesn't get installed until the DTivo calls the mothership and gets the initialization command to begin the installation. The software update is stored in slices in the mfs filesystem until needed.
Heh, ok then tell me why it is when I first got my HR10-250 it's first phone call was over an hour because it was downloading 3.1.5f?? That download did NOT come via the Sat...
RunnerFL is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 05:51 PM   #29
ebonovic
has gone his way...
 
ebonovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tinley Park, IL USA (SW ChicagoBurbs)
Posts: 11,164
Quote:
Originally Posted by RunnerFL
Heh, ok then tell me why it is when I first got my HR10-250 it's first phone call was over an hour because it was downloading 3.1.5f?? That download did NOT come via the Sat...
Because the last update for the HR10-250 was about 18-20 months ago, and was no longer on the SAT data stream...

After about 3-6 months they pull the software from the SAT stream and only make it availalbe via phone connection.
__________________
- Earl
ebonovic is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 05:52 PM   #30
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,888
As Earl said, new updates come over the satellite. When an update has been around for a while, then you get it via the phone line. When 6.2 first came out, it came via the sat. Now it comes via the phone line. I'd guess that 6.3 will roll out over the sat initially, just like 6.2.

*sitting here drooling over finally getting MRV in the living room*
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline  
Closed Thread
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |