TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Forum Jump

Old 01-24-2006, 03:04 PM   #1
psrc

do i need the original tivo drive to replace with 400gb?

Hi, I have been browsing this forum for a few months new, I just recently bought my TIVO series 2 540040 model, and want to upgrade to 400GB seagate. The question I have is, do I have to remove the 40gb from the tivo and plug it into the PC in order to copy the files needed? or does the mfstool 2.0 from weaknees site will be all I need? I would like it to be a clean install and the 40gb I was going to keep as an emergency spare.

I used to have a desktop PVR setup and unfortunately not happy with it... TIVO is here to stay for me and my wife.

Regards,
Robert
psrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 03:09 PM   #2
mjitkop

You will need the original 40GB hard drive in your PC in order for mfstools to copy the TiVo software to your new hard drive. Unless you already have the image file of the TiVo software for your DVR model on your PC hard drive or on a CD.
mjitkop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 03:17 PM   #3
psrc

I see.

I am trying to limit the downtime since my wife will beat me up on it, she is in love with since we got it, which is less then 1 month.

Would you happen to know if there is a downloadable tivo software that I would be able to use instead of copying from the original 40GB?
Old 01-24-2006, 04:04 PM   #4
the new guy
occasional poster

You could use InstantCake from PTVUpgrade, but it really doesn't take that long to make an image from your existing drive, especially if you don't save the recordings. Save yourself the $20 and backup the original drive while nothing good is on TV.

Tim

All my DTiVo's are retired now.
the new guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 10:44 PM   #5
psrc