TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-29-2006, 12:43 PM   #1171
Billy66
Again with shoelaces
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,273
Hmm, that I thought, pointed me in the right direction because I had enabled them previously via Hackman. So what I did was uninstall the script, download the newest one from the first post. Deleted the copy of the .tgz file from the previous install and reinstalled the script. Still no Sort or 30 sec on startup. Any idea what I'm doing incorrectly?

The script identified it correctly as HR10-250 Software 3.1.5e. It also proclaimed it Phoenix.
Billy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 10:56 AM   #1172
ebetzler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 23
superpatch

I'm confused, does the enhancement script install superpatch?
If it does, how can I verify that it was done successfully?
(I have reason to believe it didn't)
FYI, I used the zipper for doing my upgrades.
__________________
TiVo
[HR10-250/500GB/300hrs]
[HDVR2/120GB/100hrs/zippered]
[SD-DVR40/300GB/265hrs/zippered]
ebetzler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 05:31 PM   #1173
yazyazoo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 51
I just installed the Zipper with a Netgear FA120. I just bought some Airlink ASOHOUSB from Fry's and when I install it, it doesn't light up or seem to work. Does the Zipper already have USB 2.0 and the drivers for the Airlink already. From the begininnig of the thread it seems so. Do I have to activate something. My wireless speed for transferring is only .3 Mbps which is slow. Do I have to do something to activate USB 2.0?
yazyazoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 05:37 PM   #1174
Billy66
Again with shoelaces
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billy66
Hmm, that I thought, pointed me in the right direction because I had enabled them previously via Hackman. So what I did was uninstall the script, download the newest one from the first post. Deleted the copy of the .tgz file from the previous install and reinstalled the script. Still no Sort or 30 sec on startup. Any idea what I'm doing incorrectly?

The script identified it correctly as HR10-250 Software 3.1.5e. It also proclaimed it Phoenix.
Well, I never could get it to go through the script, but I was able to just patch tivoapp myself after doing some more research. I'm all set , but maybe there's an issue with 3.1.5e. Maybe not, I don't know.

Thanks for all your work rbautch.
Billy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 06:06 PM   #1175
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebetzler
I'm confused, does the enhancement script install superpatch?
If it does, how can I verify that it was done successfully?
(I have reason to believe it didn't)
FYI, I used the zipper for doing my upgrades.
The enhancement script only installs superpatch if it is running for the first time after a Zipper install. If you didn't just run the Zipper, the script assumes you hacked your tivo some other way, and will not run superpatch.
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 06:08 PM   #1176
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billy66
Well, I never could get it to go through the script, but I was able to just patch tivoapp myself after doing some more research. I'm all set , but maybe there's an issue with 3.1.5e. Maybe not, I don't know.

Thanks for all your work rbautch.
The script only runs the patches if you are running for the first time after a Zipper install. You can also get it to run by creating a dummy file in root called zipper_flag.
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 06:10 PM   #1177
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by yazyazoo
I just installed the Zipper with a Netgear FA120. I just bought some Airlink ASOHOUSB from Fry's and when I install it, it doesn't light up or seem to work. Does the Zipper already have USB 2.0 and the drivers for the Airlink already. From the begininnig of the thread it seems so. Do I have to activate something. My wireless speed for transferring is only .3 Mbps which is slow. Do I have to do something to activate USB 2.0?
The Zipper doesn't install the drivers, but the enhancement script does. Others have gotten the ASOHOUSB to work with these drivers. You'll need to run the enhancement script with your FA120 attached, select the usb2.0 driver install, and then swap out the FA120 for the Airlink.
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 06:21 PM   #1178
Billy66
Again with shoelaces
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbautch
The script only runs the patches if you are running for the first time after a Zipper install. You can also get it to run by creating a dummy file in root called zipper_flag.
Ahhh, that explains it. I'm all set now. I was mostly hacked pre-zipper so I didn't use it. Thanks!
Billy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 09:27 PM   #1179
mskreis
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 52
File not found

I zippered my HR10-250 and noted several problems. So I ran tweak_uninstall.sh and reran tweak.sh. This gave me the following:



HD-TiVo# dos2unix tweak.sh
HD-TiVo# sh tweak.sh
mv: //rbautch_files.tgz: No such file or directory
chmod: /enhancements/rbautch_files.tgz: No such file or directory

Running rbautch Hacked Tivo Enhancements...
tar: /enhancements/rbautch_files.tgz: No such file or directory
Do you want to run the "express" version (for advanced users)? [y/n]: n
tweak.sh: /enhancements/start.sh: No such file or directory
Do you want to continue? [y/n]: y

I need some help please.
mskreis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 09:50 PM   #1180
tbeckner
TiVo Fan
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Bend, OR, USA
Posts: 1,352
I have searched this forum and threads, but I thought I had seen it before, but I cannot find the model numbers that can be zippered.

I just added a new SD-DVR80 to my three HDVR2s and the HDVR2s are hacked, but this SD-DVR80 say RID on the box and on the information screen. Does that mean it cannot be hacked? I thought that all SD-DVR80s could be hacked?
__________________
Orig Join Date: 5/2000
TiVo 540 8.1 1/26/2007
Sony SVR-2000 3.0 5/23/2000
(3) Hughes HDVR2 6.2
(2) Hughes SD-DVR80 6.2
(2) Buggy HR24 6/25/2011
DirecTV 10/94
tbeckner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 09:51 PM   #1181
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by mskreis
I zippered my HR10-250 and noted several problems. So I ran tweak_uninstall.sh and reran tweak.sh. This gave me the following:



HD-TiVo# dos2unix tweak.sh
HD-TiVo# sh tweak.sh
mv: //rbautch_files.tgz: No such file or directory
chmod: /enhancements/rbautch_files.tgz: No such file or directory

Running rbautch Hacked Tivo Enhancements...
tar: /enhancements/rbautch_files.tgz: No such file or directory
Do you want to run the "express" version (for advanced users)? [y/n]: n
tweak.sh: /enhancements/start.sh: No such file or directory
Do you want to continue? [y/n]: y

I need some help please.
Either download and FTP the copy of tweak.sh from the first post of this thread, or extract the rbautch_files.tgz archive from the tools disk and FTP it to the same directory as your current tweak.sh.
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 09:52 PM   #1182
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbeckner
I have searched this forum and threads, but I thought I had seen it before, but I cannot find the model numbers that can be zippered.

I just added a new SD-DVR80 to my three HDVR2s and the HDVR2s are hacked, but this SD-DVR80 say RID on the box and on the information screen. Does that mean it cannot be hacked? I thought that all SD-DVR80s could be hacked?
RID does not mean it can't be hacked.
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 09:54 PM   #1183
tbeckner
TiVo Fan
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Bend, OR, USA
Posts: 1,352
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbautch
RID does not mean it can't be hacked.
Thanks for replying!

Question does it require a hardware change? Or is software all that needs to be changed? I would like to MRV it with my HDVR2s.
__________________
Orig Join Date: 5/2000
TiVo 540 8.1 1/26/2007
Sony SVR-2000 3.0 5/23/2000
(3) Hughes HDVR2 6.2
(2) Hughes SD-DVR80 6.2
(2) Buggy HR24 6/25/2011
DirecTV 10/94
tbeckner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 09:55 PM   #1184
mskreis
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbautch
Either download and FTP the copy of tweak.sh from the first post of this thread, or extract the rbautch_files.tgz archive from the tools disk and FTP it to the same directory as your current tweak.sh.

I cannot FTP it because I'm being told:

ftp> send tweak.sh
200 PORT command successful.
550 Error opening file; Read-only file system.
ftp>
mskreis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 10:05 PM   #1185
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
So set the filesystem to read-write.
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 10:17 PM   #1186
tbeckner
TiVo Fan
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Bend, OR, USA
Posts: 1,352
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbautch
RID does not mean it can't be hacked.
I am assuming that all SD-DVRXX models are RID models, but only the R10 requires the hardware change, is that correct?

It seems that I have verified that information, but I was looking for verification from the builder of the "ZIPPER", which by the way is great.

BTW, I was a little early on the signature, my SD-DVR80 was installed today and is still on 3.1.
__________________
Orig Join Date: 5/2000
TiVo 540 8.1 1/26/2007
Sony SVR-2000 3.0 5/23/2000
(3) Hughes HDVR2 6.2
(2) Hughes SD-DVR80 6.2
(2) Buggy HR24 6/25/2011
DirecTV 10/94

Last edited by tbeckner : 01-30-2006 at 10:34 PM.
tbeckner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 10:37 PM   #1187
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Correct. Be sure to upgrade to 6.2 before/during the Zipper install.
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 10:50 PM   #1188
tbeckner
TiVo Fan
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Bend, OR, USA
Posts: 1,352
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbautch
Correct. Be sure to upgrade to 6.2 before/during the Zipper install.
Thanks for the reply, I am awaiting the install of 6.2. And by the way, "THE ZIPPER" is a great tool/upgrade script. There are a lot of people who appreciate what you have done for them. Two of my HDVR2s where previous upgraded with PTVNet, but all I did was remove TWP and "THE ZIPPER" installed perfect.

Thanks again for all of "THE ZIPPER", help, and information.
__________________
Orig Join Date: 5/2000
TiVo 540 8.1 1/26/2007
Sony SVR-2000 3.0 5/23/2000
(3) Hughes HDVR2 6.2
(2) Hughes SD-DVR80 6.2
(2) Buggy HR24 6/25/2011
DirecTV 10/94
tbeckner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 10:58 PM   #1189
yazyazoo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbautch
The Zipper doesn't install the drivers, but the enhancement script does. Others have gotten the ASOHOUSB to work with these drivers. You'll need to run the enhancement script with your FA120 attached, select the usb2.0 driver install, and then swap out the FA120 for the Airlink.

rbautch, the enhancements were the step where i type sh tweak.sh, and then afterwards it ask me all these questions. I said yes to the USB 2.0 supports. Did I do this correctly? My airlink still doesn't work after this.
yazyazoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 11:37 PM   #1190
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
What kind of tivo do you have?
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 05:03 AM   #1191
bengalfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,066
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbeckner
Thanks for the reply, I am awaiting the install of 6.2. And by the way, "THE ZIPPER" is a great tool/upgrade script. There are a lot of people who appreciate what you have done for them. Two of my HDVR2s where previous upgraded with PTVNet, but all I did was remove TWP and "THE ZIPPER" installed perfect.

Thanks again for all of "THE ZIPPER", help, and information.

The zipper instructions page list all models that it will work on.

Zipper Instructions
__________________
The Bengals and Tivo, life should have a few obsessions.
bengalfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 04:49 PM   #1192
yazyazoo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbautch
What kind of tivo do you have?

Rbautch, I have the Dtivo the Hughes SDVR 40.
yazyazoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 05:52 PM   #1193
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Confirm that you rebooted after running the script. If it still doesn't work, download and install the drivers manually.
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 07:44 PM   #1194
Tivogre
Registered User
 
Tivogre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Springfield, VA
Posts: 1,272
HR10-250 encryption

With the latest script, what is the effect of disabling encryption on EXISTING recordings?

Will I still be able to WATCH the existing recordings?

Does this mean that recordings AFTER the zipper / enhancements are available for extra curricular activities?
__________________
FIOS, Baby!!!
2x Tivo Roamio Pro,
5 x Tivo Mini
Samsung 72", 56", 4 x 32" HDTV
Sony 40" HDTV
iRule + iTach Remotes
Tivogre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 10:33 PM   #1195
kimsan
underling
 
kimsan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Greenbackville, VA
Posts: 731
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tivogre
With the latest script, what is the effect of disabling encryption on EXISTING recordings?

Will I still be able to WATCH the existing recordings?

Does this mean that recordings AFTER the zipper / enhancements are available for extra curricular activities?
May I just confirm rrbautch (to whom I owe a debt of gratitude).

Existing recordings (pre-hack) are playable locally, but that's it. Post hack recordings can be manipulated with Those verY special tools.

You *may* find a workaround if you Deal in Database Commerce, but don't count on success.
__________________
cheers,

kim
kimsan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 03:49 AM   #1196
bengalfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,066
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbautch
If the recordings were made while the tivo was unhacked, they will be unplayable. Recordings after the enhancement script are fair game for you know what.

I was able to play all recordings whether they were made before or after hacking. Or do you mean unplayable after you know what?
__________________
The Bengals and Tivo, life should have a few obsessions.
bengalfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 06:18 AM   #1197
Billy66
Again with shoelaces
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,273
Right. Encryption is not the friend of You Know What. It has no effect on normal playback. So recordings made after disabling that are suited for YKW and the existing ones not. Normal playback will be the same regardless.
Billy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 06:28 AM   #1198
Tivogre
Registered User
 
Tivogre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Springfield, VA
Posts: 1,272
So.... if I Zipper my HR10-250 TONIGHT, will I be able to WATCH the shows that are sitting on it RIGHT NOW, all made PRIOR to the Zippering, on the television connected to the HR10-250?

I understand that ONLY the shows recorded AFTER Zippering will be available for "other stuff".
__________________
FIOS, Baby!!!
2x Tivo Roamio Pro,
5 x Tivo Mini
Samsung 72", 56", 4 x 32" HDTV
Sony 40" HDTV
iRule + iTach Remotes
Tivogre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 06:59 AM   #1199
Billy66
Again with shoelaces
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,273
I think we've already said too much TiVogre so I'll resist telling you that you are correct.
Billy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 08:01 AM   #1200
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by bengalfreak
I was able to play all recordings whether they were made before or after hacking. Or do you mean unplayable after you know what?
My bad, I was thinking of 51killer. If the recordings were made on an unhacked tivo, then they are encrypted. If you move the drive to a new tivo and run 51killer, then they will be unplayable. But, if you restore the drive to the same tivo, you won't need to run 51killer, so they will still play.
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |