TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-18-2005, 02:23 AM   #331
mgmrick
Haven't broke yet
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Port Byron New York
Posts: 399
Does this mean the R10's are hackable?

EDIT] - It's the future , and 6.1 (R10) tivoapps are supported in the '1.1' release.

Thanks
Rick
__________________
MGM Rick
3 Philips DSR708
1 Rca Hd
HMO,MRV,2.0 USB,CALLERID,Serial Cable,160Gig Hardrive
gunny's unguide,rbautch scripts
mgmrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2005, 02:28 AM   #332
BTUx9
back?
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rockport, MA
Posts: 1,596
Not that there's a software hack available publicly, no
__________________
Check Out my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
with info on TWP2.0 and Tivoserver
BTUx9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2005, 09:22 AM   #333
kramerboy
Jelly Man
 
kramerboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Orrville, OH
Posts: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgmrick
Does this mean the R10's are hackable?

EDIT] - It's the future , and 6.1 (R10) tivoapps are supported in the '1.1' release.

Thanks
Rick
I'm thinking that a hardware modification would still be in order before that patch can be applied. And I don't believe that this hardware mod something that the novice hacker could do on their own.
kramerboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2005, 10:02 AM   #334
jasch
Registered User
 
jasch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgmrick
Does this mean the R10's are hackable?
I've had my R10 hacked for months now (after a prom upgrade). It works great. Actually I modded at the same time a night-light S2 (TCD5400) using the same prom code.

(I had the work done by somebody with lots of soldering experience, as the procedure is a little tricky for a novice obviously)
jasch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2005, 10:21 AM   #335
mgmrick
Haven't broke yet
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Port Byron New York
Posts: 399
I don't own a R10 so I don't know. So after prom update, you I assume can apply all the hacks just as you would with all the other D*tivos. I just thought that meant something when they say "It's the future R10 supported."

Thanks
Rick
__________________
MGM Rick
3 Philips DSR708
1 Rca Hd
HMO,MRV,2.0 USB,CALLERID,Serial Cable,160Gig Hardrive
gunny's unguide,rbautch scripts
mgmrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2005, 11:27 AM   #336
jasch
Registered User
 
jasch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgmrick
I don't own a R10 so I don't know. So after prom update, you I assume can apply all the hacks just as you would with all the other D*tivos. I just thought that meant something when they say "It's the future R10 supported."
What he meant is the v1.1 of the Superpatch supports 6.1 and 7.2 units. About the future I guess it means that all sold DTivo units are not R10 (and thus 6.1)
jasch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2005, 11:28 AM   #337
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Quote:
just a heads up, over at "DDB" there's a new superpatch-67 all that supports 6.1 and 7.2 tivoapps, also new USB2 backport drivers that now supports the Linksys USB200M(version 2)adapters, in case you wanted to include it into your scripts here
Thanks. I've been wanting to include the backported drivers for awhile, but out of respect for Jamie and ADH, I wanted to wait until I had their permission to use them. Now that I have it, I'll include them in the next version.
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2005, 11:34 AM   #338
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasch
I've had my R10 hacked for months now (after a prom upgrade). It works great. Actually I modded at the same time a night-light S2 (TCD5400) using the same prom code.

(I had the work done by somebody with lots of soldering experience, as the procedure is a little tricky for a novice obviously)
Jasch, who did your prom socketing? Was it a friend, or someone who will do it for anybody for a fee?
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2005, 11:41 AM   #339
jasch
Registered User
 
jasch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbautch
Jasch, who did your prom socketing? Was it a friend, or someone who will do it for anybody for a fee?
It was a friend who does engineering work. But I've heard of people that has taken the tivo to repair shops to get the work done. Altough it's not cheap. I've heard quotes from $50-$100 (plus the cost of the prom kit, which is around $30-$40).

That's an expensive price tag just to be able to hack your tivo. But seeing that the alternative is to buy a probably used TiVo... it's the only way to go.

I guess it all depends on how much you want to hack it. I myself did it to MRV between my TiVo and SA units, as well as having Tivoweb, vserver (I have a MAC, so I have no TiVotoGo) and softpadding.
jasch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2005, 01:18 AM   #340
ksv666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Jose, CA (orig. NYC)
Posts: 29
Hi,

Does this tweak work with TiVo Series 1 boxes? I tried to install it, but got and error that said tar was not found when it tried to execute. Not sure why that happened since tar was used when I upgraded my box with tivoweb and tivoftpd using Jenkins. now it is saying it is not found. Very strange. I'd reall like to install this tweak as I think I just had the memory leak problem with tivoweb. Not sure, but would like to get it installed none the less.

Does anyone have any insight as to why this is happening? Any quidance and suggestions are welcome. Workarounds welcome too! I have full access to the web with my box and can get a reliable telnet session on the box.

Thanks,

-Kirk
__________________
TiVo advocate since Dec. 2000
TiVoNet installed and tested
160GB drive (dumped my 2-120GB drives after a drive failure)
Love my TiVo...
ksv666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2005, 09:10 AM   #341
jasch
Registered User
 
jasch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 310
Most of the scripts (about 95%) will only work on a S2. In fact, most of the script was designed to work for a 6.2 DTivo (altough if you have S2, most of the hacks can be applied too to your unit)
jasch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2005, 12:04 PM   #342
ksv666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Jose, CA (orig. NYC)
Posts: 29
thanks for the heads up. Anyone have any other suggestions as to how to have the same kind of tweaks but with a series 1?

thanks....
__________________
TiVo advocate since Dec. 2000
TiVoNet installed and tested
160GB drive (dumped my 2-120GB drives after a drive failure)
Love my TiVo...
ksv666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2005, 01:08 PM   #343
beejpowers
Dad/Husband/Consumer
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Burke, VA (Washington, DC)
Posts: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbautch
Thanks. I've been wanting to include the backported drivers for awhile, but out of respect for Jamie and ADH, I wanted to wait until I had their permission to use them. Now that I have it, I'll include them in the next version.
sorry, are there actually a newer version of the USB2 drivers or do you just have permission to use the originals now?
or is it secret option 3: there are new drivers AND you have permission to use them?
__________________
Beej Powers

HR10-250
SD-DVR80
HR21-700 - PRAYING for a D*TiVo Exchange program in '09
HR21-100 - PRAYING for a D*TiVo Exchange program in '09
beejpowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2005, 05:07 PM   #344
jsouthavalon05
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: IL, USA
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by beej
sorry, are there actually a newer version of the USB2 drivers or do you just have permission to use the originals now?
or is it secret option 3: there are new drivers AND you have permission to use them?
That's not what he means...
Someone ask if he (rbautch) can put those driver to his upcoming scripts, he need a permission to do that. You and I or anyone else don't need that permission as long as you just download and use them (no modify, no distribution anything)
__________________
DirecTiVo WD 320 Gb
With ftp,telnet,TiVowebPlus,tytool,tyshow,hackman

Last edited by jsouthavalon05 : 09-19-2005 at 05:20 PM.
jsouthavalon05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2005, 12:14 AM   #345
beejpowers
Dad/Husband/Consumer
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Burke, VA (Washington, DC)
Posts: 232
ok.
I thought I was missing posts over 'there'
I feel like a tourist on that board sometimes. can't find my way around at dinner even though I was there at lunch
__________________
Beej Powers

HR10-250
SD-DVR80
HR21-700 - PRAYING for a D*TiVo Exchange program in '09
HR21-100 - PRAYING for a D*TiVo Exchange program in '09
beejpowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2005, 01:10 AM   #346
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by beej
sorry, are there actually a newer version of the USB2 drivers or do you just have permission to use the originals now?
or is it secret option 3: there are new drivers AND you have permission to use them?
New script, latest drivers.
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2005, 01:16 AM   #347
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasch
Most of the scripts (about 95%) will only work on a S2. In fact, most of the script was designed to work for a 6.2 DTivo (altough if you have S2, most of the hacks can be applied too to your unit)
I'm trying to make the script more universal in the next release by making an initial check for software and kernel version, and tweaking the installation accordingly (harder than it sounds). Since I don't have a 7.1 box, I just need someone with 7.1 to help me test it. Preferably someone with both a 6.2 and a 7.1 Tivo. Hmmm, where can I find such a person....
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2005, 01:35 AM   #348
ksv666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Jose, CA (orig. NYC)
Posts: 29
OK...so I guess I am still in the days of the 486 when it comes to my TiVo, but I really don't have any plans to get a Series 2 at this point in time. I have one very nice TV with all the goodies. You need a beta tester for an original Series 1?
__________________
TiVo advocate since Dec. 2000
TiVoNet installed and tested
160GB drive (dumped my 2-120GB drives after a drive failure)
Love my TiVo...
ksv666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2005, 01:07 PM   #349
jasch
Registered User
 
jasch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbautch
New script, latest drivers.
Keep in mind these drivers will not work under 7.2 correctly on Gen04...
jasch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2005, 01:26 PM   #350
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Thanks. I'll add a few lines to skip driver install if 7.2 is detected.
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2005, 01:29 PM   #351
jasch
Registered User
 
jasch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbautch
Thanks. I'll add a few lines to skip driver install if 7.2 is detected.
Actually, you can install on 7.2, just not on Gen04 machines. Well, not entirely true. Just replace usbcore.o on 7.2/Gen04... if you replace the other files you will get into problems (with the current release)
jasch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2005, 01:48 PM   #352
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Is there anything disguishing about 7.2/Gen04 that I can detect? Like maybe the full software version?
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2005, 01:52 PM   #353
willardcpa
QUASI-OMNISCIENT
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Eugene, OR USA
Posts: 2,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by beej
ok.
I thought I was missing posts over 'there'
I feel like a tourist on that board sometimes. can't find my way around at dinner even though I was there at lunch
That's OK. But what ever you do - don't ask them for directions. They'll just flame you and tell you to search and learn on your own.
willardcpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2005, 01:56 PM   #354
jasch
Registered User
 
jasch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbautch
Is there anything disguishing about 7.2/Gen04 that I can detect? Like maybe the full software version?
You should be able to get the Platform Type using /tvbin/HpkPlatform -type

My SA (nightlight, gen04) says "ibis", my RCA DVR-40 6.2 says "trinity"

There might be another (easier) ways. Like checking for a specific file

(for example my Gen04 has /tvbin/HpkFrontPanel which my DTivos do not have)
jasch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2005, 05:55 PM   #355
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Here's a test script that determines your software version, kernel, code name, and type of tivo. Anyone who wants to help test it: unzip the files, FTP to enhancements directory, and run swver-test.sh.
Attached Files
File Type: zip version-test.zip (1.4 KB, 29 views)
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2005, 06:00 PM   #356
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasch
Actually, you can install on 7.2, just not on Gen04 machines. Well, not entirely true. Just replace usbcore.o on 7.2/Gen04... if you replace the other files you will get into problems (with the current release)
Did you mean usbnet?
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2005, 06:01 PM   #357
jasch
Registered User
 
jasch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 310
Code:
Detected Tivo software version is: 6.2-01-2-321
Your software version was compiled on Linux kernel 2.4.20
Your Tivo model's code name is trinity
Your Tivo is a RID DTivo...SD-DVR80 or DVR-40
Right on.
jasch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2005, 07:14 PM   #358
ThePhantom
Master Beta
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Northeast US
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbautch
Here's a test script that determines your software version, kernel, code name, and type of tivo. Anyone who wants to help test it: unzip the files, FTP to enhancements directory, and run swver-test.sh.
Whoops! Only works if the directory is mounted as RW... Is it possible to redo it to write 'tivo_softwarexx' to /var/tmp instead???
ThePhantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2005, 09:34 PM   #359
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Since it's ultimate home in the main script will mount your filesystem read-write first, this shouldn't be an issue. I like to keep things out of var.
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 10:58 AM   #360
jasch
Registered User
 
jasch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 310
Code:
Detected Tivo software version is: 7.2.0-oth-01-2-540
Your software version was compiled on Linux kernel 2.4.20
Your Tivo model's code name is ibis
Your Tivo is a gen04 Series 2.5 standalone
On my Nightlight... If you want I can post later the output of my R10 also.
jasch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |