TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Forum Extras > DVD TiVo Units (Archive)
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-14-2006, 08:33 AM   #1231
EvilMidniteBombr
what bomz at midnite
 
EvilMidniteBombr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Parts Unknown, Kentucky
Posts: 1,710
I've noticed that my machine has been a little slower lately. Response to commands from the remote is delayed. Menus seem to take longer. Channel changes seem to be a tad bit slower but it isn't that bad.

One thing concerns me. I noticed last night while watching recorded programs that occassionally the program would pause or freeze. It's not the same thing as pausing with the remote where you see the progress bar at the bottom of the screen. It freezes the video (and audio) for different amounts of time. Sometimes it can be a spilt second other times it is for two or three seconds. It hasn't gotten bad enough that the program is unwatchable. But it does worry me a bit.

Anyone else had this problem? Combine the freezing with the slower response and I wondered if the hard drive might not need defragging. Is that necessary or even possible?
EvilMidniteBombr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2006, 10:48 PM   #1232
linenoise
GOD
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11
Mine started todo the same thing after it upgraded this week to 7.3.1
__________________
Line Noise
linenoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2006, 05:05 PM   #1233
LarryMus
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 15
Toshiba Tivo Remote

FYI... if anyone else is in need of a new Toshiba remote for their Tivo I ordered one yesterday and got it today from www.pacparts.com for 25 bucks. I've seen them on ebay for 40! The part number is: AH801151. You can also order it over the phone.
LarryMus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2006, 11:34 AM   #1234
alexdad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Best DVD-R media to use?

I've had my RSTX60 for almost a year now, and have had mostly good luck burning DVDs using DVD-R 4x disks from Verbatim, Maxell, and Memorex.
But as these 4x disks have mostly disappeared from stores I'm forced to consider other options, and I'm looking for other users' experiences.
-Is there any good source for 4x DVD-R disks?
-Are 8x disks (or 16x disks) usable (a minimum of "coasters")?
-Will 8x disks (or 16x disks) damage the DVD burner?
-Are DVD-RW 4x disks eventually going to be my only option?
alexdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 08:22 AM   #1235
EvilMidniteBombr
what bomz at midnite
 
EvilMidniteBombr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Parts Unknown, Kentucky
Posts: 1,710
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexdad
I've had my RSTX60 for almost a year now, and have had mostly good luck burning DVDs using DVD-R 4x disks from Verbatim, Maxell, and Memorex.
But as these 4x disks have mostly disappeared from stores I'm forced to consider other options, and I'm looking for other users' experiences.
-Is there any good source for 4x DVD-R disks?
-Are 8x disks (or 16x disks) usable (a minimum of "coasters")?
-Will 8x disks (or 16x disks) damage the DVD burner?
-Are DVD-RW 4x disks eventually going to be my only option?
I recently bought a 50 pack of 16x Maxell DVD-R. I have burned a dozen or two of them and so far <crosses fingers & knocks on wood> I have had zero errors. Granted, I haven't gone back and watched each one, but they appear to read just fine.

Of course, as we all know, now that I wrote the above I will not have another successful burn... Ever...

Edit to add: My unit is a RS-TX20. I don't know the difference between the two or not but I just thought I would add that.
EvilMidniteBombr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 10:03 AM   #1236
ashu
User title defunct
 
ashu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MD
Posts: 9,158
Shockingly, the Costco 100-pack BoGoF TDK deals have worked well for me. Didn't buy any the last time (last week) they were on sale, but bought one set of each of (the inkjet printable) +R and -R. The TDK -Rs are cheap CMC 16Xers and neither my Humax DRT800 nor my Toshiba RS-TX20 have complained. There are reports that the current batch of TDK -Rs are Made in India (yes, one of the largest sources of blanks in the world!) and are way better than the past use-once-throw-away-soon products that specific factory was 'well-known' for!

In the past, Fuji 8x MIJapan -Rs (Taiyo Yuden's in disguise) have worked perfectly as well ... I've since run out.

To be safe, you could always stock up on 4X or 8X Taiyo Yuden's from, say, supermediastor.com (sic?) etc. The NEC drives in TiVo bruners have never reported to have balked at TY's!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Too many TiVos!)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Ad hoc, ad loc, and quid pro quo!
So little time! So much to know!
ashu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 10:48 AM   #1237
cojonesdetoro
Registered User
 
cojonesdetoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryMus
FYI... if anyone else is in need of a new Toshiba remote for their Tivo I ordered one yesterday and got it today from www.pacparts.com for 25 bucks. I've seen them on ebay for 40! The part number is: AH801151. You can also order it over the phone.
+$10 S/H
cojonesdetoro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 10:58 AM   #1238
cojonesdetoro
Registered User
 
cojonesdetoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 325
Regarding remotes:

If anyone is interested in using a JP1 compatible remote on the RS-TX20 then search my posts and look at the threads. I was helped by one user on this board who was a "remote guru" (I forgot his actual handle but you can find it). He gave me all the information I needed. I now have a One For All remote that performans all the functions available for my RS-TX20. It also manages 6 other devices of my home theater setup.
cojonesdetoro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 11:50 AM   #1239
valmonts2000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Hi everyone,

I am a latecomer to TIVO. I just bought an RS-TX20 on ebay and the seller claimed it was in excellent condition. But I have couple of issues and will be grateful to you all for any help. I have read every post of this thread before I posted this.

The Basic TIVO functionality(scheduling, recording) works great but dvd recorder failed to record any even though it plays movies just fine. In the very first try, it went to 27% and then stayed like that for an hour. Finally I got tired of it and cancelled saving. I visually checked the disk and it actually burned that 27%. In the next try, it wont move from 0% at all. I turned it off overnight and tried but no success. Now it does not move from 0% complete at all. I have used different make DVD-R disks(4x and 16x). I also cleaned the drive with air blast and cleaning disk.
The second problem is that it does not record from camcoder or VCR. I tried S-video and composite video from both front and rear of it and the device can't locate the signal from the camcoder. if i connect the same camcoder to my A/V receiver, it just shows everything fine.
My software version : 7.3.1-oth-01-2-565 abnd DVD firmware - DVD-RW DVR-109RZ 1.25
I opened the cabinet and every cable is tight plus it's very clean.

Please help!

Last edited by valmonts2000 : 08-17-2006 at 11:56 AM.
valmonts2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 03:23 PM   #1240
cojonesdetoro
Registered User
 
cojonesdetoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 325
Sounds like a bad DVD drive.

Try connecting the camcorder to both front and back inputs and see if it works.

I would try to get the Ebay seller to take the unit back.
cojonesdetoro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 07:33 PM   #1241
Thanatos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 60
Do any of you have a Toshiba RS-TX20 and a Philips Pronto remote? I just ordered the player, but it is coming without a remote. I would greatly appreciate it if I could get a copy of your pronto .ccf.



Thank you
Jason

jasonhorstman@charter.net
__________________
The internet is a communications tool used the world over where people can come together to b*tch about movies and share pornography with one another.

Xbox Gamertag: nerdnight
Thanatos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2006, 10:33 AM   #1242
valmonts2000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Thanks a lot. I finally got a DVD(just one) successfully burned yesterday night. I used a 4x Verbatim one and powered off the unit for 6 hours. Is it possible that the DVDwriter is approaching it's term? I tried connecting the camcoder to both front and back(s-video & composite) but no luck. I ordered a firewire cable online that's arriving today. That's my last hope. If that works I can live with it for now. TIVO function works just great though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cojonesdetoro
Sounds like a bad DVD drive.

Try connecting the camcorder to both front and back inputs and see if it works.

I would try to get the Ebay seller to take the unit back.

valmonts2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 01:41 PM   #1243
bary
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
rebooting running slow

Driving around the screens is SLOW and it is resetting itself 2-3 times a day.
Sofware is 7.3.1-oth-01-2-565..

Anyone else got this going on, or know of a fix? Was fine til about 2 months ago...
Toshba said unplug wait a bit replug in .. No help..
bary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2006, 06:39 PM   #1244
sledhed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bimwad
An informal poll:

Is your TX-20/60 slower after the 7.3.x update?

Mine is pathetically slow during live channel changes, using the Guide (which was never fast to begin with), slower to bring up the NP screen...and on and on. The net effect is that the lag between a command and response is almost unacceptable.

And it's even worse if you use it in Basic mode, because none of the new features are of any benefit, yet the negative effects like the poor response, and non-sensical changes like going from "Pick Programs to Record" to "Find Programs" in the main menu are foisted upon what was a well-functioning machine before. I think it would be almost better if TiVo omitted Basic machines from any future updates altogether, if subsequent software updates are going to be like 7.3.
Agreed! I use my TX20 in basic mode, and the slowdown is so bad lately... my wife loves the TiVo for time shifting and skipping comercials but it has become hard to use because of the slow down. You end up skipping too far forward or deleting the wrong program...
sledhed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2006, 07:46 PM   #1245
bary
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
yes it is bad .. something is wrong ..
bary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2006, 08:56 PM   #1246
bary
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
drive bad.. not sure

Quote:
Originally Posted by bary
yes it is bad .. something is wrong ..
Called Toshiba today .. They are saying my harddive is bad... $139 for them to fix it... too werid that it was fine before this new load... got to wonder
bary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2006, 09:15 PM   #1247
azitnay
Registered User
 
azitnay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Washington, DC USA
Posts: 2,967
If you're technically inclined, check the TiVo Upgrade Center forum for advice on how to replace the hard drive yourself. You can certainly do it for a lot less than $139.

Drew
azitnay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006, 03:26 AM   #1248
skatefan20
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilMidniteBombr
I've noticed that my machine has been a little slower lately. Response to commands from the remote is delayed. Menus seem to take longer. Channel changes seem to be a tad bit slower but it isn't that bad.

One thing concerns me. I noticed last night while watching recorded programs that occassionally the program would pause or freeze. It's not the same thing as pausing with the remote where you see the progress bar at the bottom of the screen. It freezes the video (and audio) for different amounts of time. Sometimes it can be a spilt second other times it is for two or three seconds. It hasn't gotten bad enough that the program is unwatchable. But it does worry me a bit.

Anyone else had this problem? Combine the freezing with the slower response and I wondered if the hard drive might not need defragging. Is that necessary or even possible?
Same here.


And now Tivo is saying that it did not record my latest program because there was no video signal(?????). I just watched the program while it was running!
skatefan20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006, 08:54 AM   #1249
EvilMidniteBombr
what bomz at midnite
 
EvilMidniteBombr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Parts Unknown, Kentucky
Posts: 1,710
My freezing/pixelation problem is getting worse. I am going to try unplugging the TiVo overnight or during the day tomorrow and see what happens.
__________________
TCD652160 TiVoHD
TiVo Premiere
Toshiba RS-TX20

9/11/01... Never Forget.
EvilMidniteBombr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006, 09:46 AM   #1250
freeze12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 47
My Toshiba RS-TX20 is also suffering from Tivos screwed-up update! Slow response when changing channels,slow response banner,slow guide & when I go into guide & enter a channel & go into the channel to record sometimes a different cannel pops up to record & other problems since 7.3 . I have burned quite a few DVDs with success & the only thing that never worked from day one is the S video connection. Tivo gave me 3 months free service due to Tivos botched up software update.Hope they will get this fixed soon!
freeze12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006, 12:24 PM   #1251
alanpgh
Registered User
 
alanpgh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 91
I have one of the early RS-TX units from around May of '04. (I think that is the right approximate date, but not sure.) No problems with recording even with the latest Tivo update.

Good Luck!

Alan
alanpgh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006, 01:03 PM   #1252
valmonts2000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Taiyo Yuden Valueline 8x DVD-R

Has anybody tried Taiyo Yuden Valueline 8x DVD-R with RS-TX20? I see 4x works great. But they are hard to find.
valmonts2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2006, 06:04 PM   #1253
paul001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3
(Longtime lurker and non-poster)

I have a TX60 which is working fine (since Nov 2004) and by far the best investment we've had Tivo wise (I know I'm one of the lucky ones!). The only issue we've had is trying to find a new remote for one recently (finally go a new Humax one that works well). Other than that, no problems buring or recording. However I do stick to RiData and Maxell DVD-Rs.
paul001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 08:59 AM   #1254
bary
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by bary
Driving around the screens is SLOW and it is resetting itself 2-3 times a day.
Sofware is 7.3.1-oth-01-2-565..

Anyone else got this going on, or know of a fix? Was fine til about 2 months ago...
Toshba said unplug wait a bit replug in .. No help..
I think it is FIXED!!!!!!!!!!!!! With a $3 muffin fan just sucking air through the unit. I'll put it inside someday. NO more reboots and it seams the speed is back.. The Temp looked like it was fine before reporting 41C now it is 37C and seams to be running perfect... If things change I'll report back. still good after 24hr

Last edited by bary : 08-24-2006 at 11:22 PM.
bary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 09:02 AM   #1255
bary
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by azitnay
If you're technically inclined, check the TiVo Upgrade Center forum for advice on how to replace the hard drive yourself. You can certainly do it for a lot less than $139.

Drew
$3 muffin fan appears have done the trick.
bary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 11:45 AM   #1256
lauraf13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 10
Question Thinking of buying refurb RS-TX60 or RS-TX20

I'm thinking of buying a refurb, either rs-tx20 or rs-tx60. Anyone have any opinions on that? I'm thinking I can get a few good years out of it and by then maybe the HD stuff will be more available and affordable.

I'm open to any opinions and advice.

Thanks in advance,
Laura
lauraf13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2006, 07:31 PM   #1257
taz112576
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Guide not working at all after update

Anyone else been having a problem with the guide. I know its slower than ever after I received the update. I have 2- tx-20 units and one the guide is very very slow and the other one the guide will not come up at all since the update?

This is really annoying.
taz112576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2006, 11:08 PM   #1258
EvilMidniteBombr
what bomz at midnite
 
EvilMidniteBombr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Parts Unknown, Kentucky
Posts: 1,710
The guide has been a bit slow to respond. Other than that, no problems with the guide.

I still have the freeze screens and the pixelation.
__________________
TCD652160 TiVoHD
TiVo Premiere
Toshiba RS-TX20

9/11/01... Never Forget.
EvilMidniteBombr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2006, 07:34 PM   #1259
Pvgibbs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 39
VERY slow here too on the 7.3.1-oth-01-2-565 version...channel changing is very slow and sometimes the guide shows, but comes up BLANK for a couple seconds. On the good side, no issues with burning DVD-RWs as of late. (I gave up a while back on DVD-Rs, since more than half became coasters). One other symptom - Tivo seems to have a very hard time if there is a "blip" on Digital Cable (comcast) channels. Normally it might pixelate a bit -- now it goes to a full black screen and takes half a second to recover.

What happened to our once great TIVO???....hmmm, where did I put my Sony 2000?
__________________
SONY SVR-2000 - 30hour (retired)
Toshiba RS-TX20 - 250gb Upgrade (retired, but still Best Tivo Box EVER)
TivoHD - Lifetime

Now if they would only make a blu-ray PLAYER-TivoHD combo
Pvgibbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 08:19 PM   #1260
EvilMidniteBombr
what bomz at midnite
 
EvilMidniteBombr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Parts Unknown, Kentucky
Posts: 1,710
My RS-TX20 crapped out on me today. The screen completely froze and the only option was to unplug the unit. I have not been able to go past the "Welcome... Powering up" screen. (more info here)

It should still be under the 90 day refurb warranty. The only thing is that I don't particularly want to be without it for however many weeks it takes to get it fixed.
__________________
TCD652160 TiVoHD
TiVo Premiere
Toshiba RS-TX20

9/11/01... Never Forget.
EvilMidniteBombr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |