TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-07-2015, 03:29 AM   #1
thunderchild
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Kent (UK)
Posts: 3
Question newbie help

Morning,
not sure if this is the right forum (please redirect if not)

I have recently been given an unwanted 1tb series 4 premičre. This is a uk smt-c7101 Samsung. It seems to be locked to the virginmedia network.

I would like to reload it with a clean firmware to use as a dvr with my satellite. Is this possible ?

I have in the past upgraded games consoles with Linux images so am not adverse to opening boxes and getting my hands dirty.

The TiVo looks as though it has great potential, it would be shame to scrap it.

Any help / advice. Much appreciated

thunderchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 11:04 PM   #2
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 16,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by thunderchild View Post
Morning,
not sure if this is the right forum (please redirect if not)

I have recently been given an unwanted 1tb series 4 premičre. This is a uk smt-c7101 Samsung. It seems to be locked to the virginmedia network.

I would like to reload it with a clean firmware to use as a dvr with my satellite. Is this possible ?

I have in the past upgraded games consoles with Linux images so am not adverse to opening boxes and getting my hands dirty.

The TiVo looks as though it has great potential, it would be shame to scrap it.

Any help / advice. Much appreciated

Was that thing even purchased, and not just rented from Virgin?

Are you (and it) in the US or the UK?

__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 02:46 AM   #3
thunderchild
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Kent (UK)
Posts: 3
further details

Good Morning,
many thanks for the reply,

I was given this by a friend who purchased it from a charity shop.

I am in the UK

If the box is not worth rescuing I will go back to my original plan and scavenge the HDD

thunderchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2015, 08:39 AM   #4
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 16,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by thunderchild View Post
Good Morning,
many thanks for the reply,

I was given this by a friend who purchased it from a charity shop.

I am in the UK

If the box is not worth rescuing I will go back to my original plan and scavenge the HDD
As I indicated elsewhere somewhere around here, best place to ask is the UK Virgin Media TiVo thread

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...splay.php?f=69

since they'll be a lot more familiar with that unit than those of us here in the US.

__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2016 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 PM.
Page generated in 0.12484908 seconds (45.13% PHP - 54.87% MySQL) with 18 queries