TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series 1 - UK
TiVo Community
View Poll Results: What do you think of TiVo's user interface?
Only just got TiVo - Love the interface 11 4.17%
Only just got TiVo - The interface is OK 15 5.68%
Only just got TiVo - Don't like the interface 2 0.76%
Had TiVo ages - Still love the interface 86 32.58%
Had TiVo ages - The interface is OK 117 44.32%
Had TiVo ages - Loved it once, not as keen now 29 10.98%
Had TiVo ages - Never liked the interface 4 1.52%
Voters: 264. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-13-2004, 01:50 PM   #1
GarySargent
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: W. Yorks, UK
Posts: 2,548
TiVo User Interface - Dated?

I just wondered what people thought of TiVo's user interface these days.

Personally I think its looking pretty dated now and in need of a complete overhaul.

For the purposes of the poll select one of the "Only just got TiVo" if you've had TiVo less than a year.
GarySargent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 02:16 PM   #2
boyz
Registered User
 
boyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Hull, UK
Posts: 30
How about the option "Couldn't care less, I just use the thing"?
boyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 05:10 PM   #3
mike0151
A Friend of Dot
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Posts: 752
I agree with boyz. That would have been my preferred answer. I always use the shortcut keys rather than menus when posible.
__________________
6020 since Feb 2001, 1 x 500Gb, Freeview, TurboNet and TiVoWeb
6022 since Feb 2003, 160Gb, Freeview, TurboNet and TiVoWeb;
mike0151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 05:52 PM   #4
cyril
Registered User
 
cyril's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,128
Today's gui graphics are much more 'slick-looking' than TiVo, but in terms of useability it's still good.

I would rather have an OK looking interface than one that's hard to use or doesn't do what I want but looks good.
__________________
TiVo saves you the one thing you can't buy -TIME.
I need about 500k so we can build a UK TiVo series 5 HD for Freesat and Freeview...who's with me :) ?
cyril is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 06:02 PM   #5
Regor
part-timer
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bournemouth
Posts: 659
Had TiVo for two years now and still am happy with the interface as does the job well. But at the same time would be nice for a few tweaks here and there to bring up to date.
Regor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 06:07 PM   #6
Toothy
is not a TiVo fanboy
 
Toothy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: HDMI 1080i Heaven
Posts: 189
I've always thought the GUI was rubbish.

It seriously needs dragging into the 21st century...but as UK TiVo is dead as a dead thing.......it ain't gonna happen.
__________________
Now viewing 1920 x 1080i High-Definition content.

Waiting for a Hi-Def PVR..........
Toothy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 06:12 PM   #7
digital_S
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Kent/Scotland, UK
Posts: 587
Never mind the TiVo interface, what about this forum's interface!! (Is nearly 4 years out of date.)
-----------------------------------------------------------
Voted: "Had TiVo ages - The interface is OK"

I'm the same as Regor. We do deserve long-overdue "tweeks"
__________________
sTeVe 2011
250Gb 601F TiVo with Mode 0
-------------------------------------------
F1 Fan? Click & signup! --->
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
<----
digital_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 06:25 PM   #8
cwaring
VM Tivo User
 
cwaring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Knaresborough, North Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 9,015
Quote:
Originally posted by digital_S
Never mind the TiVo interface, what about this forum's interface!! (Is nearly 4 years out of date.)
On that very subject, read this post. Ahh well

He said neither "no plans" nor "no current plans". Guess that's an actual "NO" then
__________________
Carl Waring


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
with the new
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Get
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- TV Guide for Windows

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cwaring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 06:35 PM   #9
GoodSpike
Registered User
 
GoodSpike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 39,889
I won't vote because I don't know what your interface looks like over there, but I'd never change an interface simply because it's "dated."

That type of thing gets you programs like Quicken 2004 (not sure you have Quicken over there either, but basically through an annual change in interface they've taken a program that was easy and intuitive and made it a mess.).
GoodSpike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 07:30 PM   #10
Toothy
is not a TiVo fanboy
 
Toothy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: HDMI 1080i Heaven
Posts: 189
If only TiVo had used AMIGAOS instead of Linux...we could have had an MUI (Magical User Interface) based GUI.

MUI is an object oriented system to create and maintain graphical user interfaces. It frees programmers from creating GUI's and allows users the freedom to create their very own unique interface...down to the very last pixel.

Imagine every single TiVo in the UK....with it's very own unique look...as designed by the individual user.
__________________
Now viewing 1920 x 1080i High-Definition content.

Waiting for a Hi-Def PVR..........

Last edited by Toothy : 08-13-2004 at 11:23 PM.
Toothy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 09:07 PM   #11
David Bott
Registered User
 
David Bott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Rochester, NY USA
Posts: 2,438
TC CLUB MEMBER
"Never mind the TiVo interface, what about this forum's interface!! (Is nearly 4 years out of date.)"

Actually not even close. The ver 3 of the software was released not long ago. It is so now...it is not even reported to be stable yet for larger sites like this. Bummner. But I am hopeful for ver 3.1.

Thanks
__________________
David Bott
David Bott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2004, 01:59 AM   #12
cwaring
VM Tivo User
 
cwaring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Knaresborough, North Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 9,015
Quote:
Originally posted by David Bott
...it is not even reported to be stable yet for larger sites like this. Bummner. But I am hopeful for ver 3.1.
Seems stable enough over on DS. But you'd know better than I on that. I'm only a user
__________________
Carl Waring


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
with the new
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Get
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- TV Guide for Windows

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cwaring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2004, 02:04 AM   #13
blindlemon
tivoheaven.co.uk
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Malmesbury, UK
Posts: 5,577
Personally I prefer the UI of this forum to that of DS.

What's the point of cluttering up a forum with fancy graphics? People come to forums for information - and the quicker it is to navigate/read the better.

I could put up with being able to change the colours though....
__________________
6023, Lifetime, 240gb, Sky, CC, Mode 0, 100 SPs/AWLs
6022, Lifetime, 250gb, Freeview, CC, Mode 0, 90 SPs/AWLs
601E, my 'test' machine!
blindlemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2004, 02:09 AM   #14
blindlemon
tivoheaven.co.uk
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Malmesbury, UK
Posts: 5,577
As for the poll, it seems I voted with the crowd

Yes, a slicker, customisable UI for TiVo would be great - but the product is already so far ahead of the so-called competition in terms of functionality, that I'd put up with a green-screen command-line "UI" if that was all there was.
__________________
6023, Lifetime, 240gb, Sky, CC, Mode 0, 100 SPs/AWLs
6022, Lifetime, 250gb, Freeview, CC, Mode 0, 90 SPs/AWLs
601E, my 'test' machine!
blindlemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2004, 03:54 AM   #15
roydonaldson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 28
I've had my Tivo for a couple of years now and initially I was very impressed with the user friendlyness of the GUI. It is slick, easy to use by joe bloggs and his wife, and does exactly what it is meant to do.

I'd generally say that compared to other things out there today, it is pretty comparable and that is where the problem lies with it. When it first came out it was head and shoulders *better* than everything else. If you are speaking about a refresh of the GUI, then I would say yes, as today it should be refreshed to make it better than everything else out there.

Remember we all have Tivo's because they are so much better than other PVR's, not because it's just an ok interface/product.


On that point, is this a poll to actually get us a new interface ? or, just for interest ?

I'd like to be able to put all my West Wing episodes in a folder for instance.

Roy.
roydonaldson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2004, 04:24 AM   #16
Regor
part-timer
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bournemouth
Posts: 659
The best thing about the interface is that it's so easy to use. My mother has one and even she can use it!!
Regor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2004, 05:05 AM   #17
pgogborn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,152
Quote:
Originally posted by cwaring
Seems stable enough over on DS
You must have missed the recent occasions / resulting threads when the style sheets kept on falling over.

As for the TiVo user interface, I reckon that as hard drives increase in capacity, its short comings will become increasingly apparent.

If you are going to use the TiVo to create your own television channel with a terabyte of stored programs, you need easy and flexible ways to retrieve programs from your 'Now Playing' list - for example, multiple ways to order the programs, much more flexible folders than currently exist (on the USA version only), ability to add to program descriptions, key word searching of recorded programs etc.

Unfortunately, it will be very difficult to add the above features and still retain the ease of use that marks the current interface.

I have also got to say that I quite like some of the EPG layouts used by other people that reduce the live picture to less than a quarter of the screen, rather than using the TiVo format of a full screen transparent overlay.
pgogborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2004, 06:33 AM   #18
Stroller
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: At me computer
Posts: 40
I see no need to change the UI whatsoever. 'tarting it up' will just slow the device down and make it less user-friendly. It looks neat, clean and professional as is, and changing the look of the UI would be waaaaaaay down my list of priorities!
Stroller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2004, 06:48 AM   #19
iankb
Registered User
 
iankb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 6,468
I think that we are now used to very smart looking interfaces on a PC display, that make us feel that a TV display should be able to emulate. However, when you see a PC display transferred to a normal TV screen (no plasmas, thankyou!), the picture generally looks crap. Given the low resolution and small colour palette of a TiVo, I don't think it looks that bad. However, I do think they should have included an option for non-transparent EPG screens, and allowed for increased data on a widescreen TV.
__________________
Ian.

Windows 7 MCE, 2 x Freeview Tuners, 1 x HD Freesat Tuner, 1TB Hard Drive, 1.5TB Mirrored Raid on e-SATA.
1 x Xbox360 MCE Extender.
1 x LinkSys DMA2100 Extender.
1 x Broken TiVo.
iankb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2004, 07:42 AM   #20
6022tivo
A Happy Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 2,058
Try using Sky+ for a year, then you will just love the TiVo interface.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Media PC -> Xbox 360, DM800HD
Pioneer 505XDE (Still the best)
6022tivo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2004, 07:03 AM   #21
jeremy Parsons
Very Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Surrey
Posts: 166
I have Windows MCE , My Dad has SKY$+ and I have Tivo , Tivo used to be irritating with Big disks , however the upgrade of my tivo's to Cachecard has resolved this and yes I agree its slightly dated now compared to MCE but not as much as you might think , MCE does allow a mini viewing window when working on other areas. However the interface is still better than most of the other DVR's and since those of us on cable have Tivo or Nothing I will take Tivo. In Terms of upgrades the Media Streaming is the area that I believe tivo really lags in the UK
__________________
Tivo1 - 750GB WD VM Samsung SMT-2110C + 32inch LCD
Tivo2 2 x120GB Samsung
Tivo3 - 750GB WD ,V+ , 50 inch Panasonic Plasma
All Lifetime , Cachecard + Tivoweb
jeremy Parsons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2004, 04:13 AM   #22
Andy Davies
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 52
It's OK but I find the sliding menu's annoying...
Andy Davies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2004, 04:51 AM   #23
cyril
Registered User
 
cyril's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,128
Quote:
Originally posted by pgogborn


As for the TiVo user interface, I reckon that as hard drives increase in capacity, its short comings will become increasingly apparent.

If you are going to use the TiVo to create your own television channel with a terabyte of stored programs, you need easy and flexible ways to retrieve programs from your 'Now Playing' list - for example, multiple ways to order the programs, much more flexible folders than currently exist (on the USA version only), ability to add to program descriptions, key word searching of recorded programs etc.
Well when I used to have 1.5 terabytes of stuff it wasn't too bad to find something as long as you recorded one channel per TiVo
Our current UK TiVos are limited to a measly 400gb per unit anyway.

TiVoweb helps a lot in organising and re-naming stuff.

Obviously US and Japanese Sony TiVos have got folders and sort facilities for a long time now, and when we get our Version 5 UK HDTiVo with terabytes of storage in 2009/2010/2011 a much slicker sophisticated UI is definitely needed, along with a search facility in Now Playing.


EDIT: each TiVo is limited to 800Gb now, with 1TB a possibility
__________________
TiVo saves you the one thing you can't buy -TIME.
I need about 500k so we can build a UK TiVo series 5 HD for Freesat and Freeview...who's with me :) ?

Last edited by cyril : 04-22-2006 at 02:26 AM.
cyril is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2004, 06:16 AM   #24
manolan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: LONDON, UK
Posts: 401
A number of comments there that I think really hit the nail on the head.

The TiVo interface is very clear and consistent (although actually less so since 2.5 when they added so many more options). If only most computer programs could be as good.

Graphically it may look a bit last century, but that's only a small part of the story to me. You can have the prettiest interface in the world but it may not be the most usable.

I still think the TiVo GUI is one of the product's great strengths. Does that mean they should stand on their laurels? No, of course not. And there is a lot of sense in the comment about managing huge program archives (don't have one myself). But they shouldn't fiddle with it just because it looks a bit dated.
manolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2004, 02:23 PM   #25
woody
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somerset. UK
Posts: 1,120
Tivo's interace may be old, but it's a tried and tested one, that we all have got use to, and could probably navigate it blindfolded.

Even if Tivo wasn't a functional recorder, it makes the sky digibox useable.

As was mentioned above in a post about quicken, it's a nightmare when software firms make changes, it means spending ages trying to work out how to do something again.

I say leave it alone.
__________________
Upgraded 2drive 601E to 120GB single Maxtor drive
Sky Grundig GDS2000 ,Sagem ITD58
Belkin Surgemaster, APC Back-UPS CS350
woody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2004, 02:38 PM   #26
ccwf
国際化 Member
 
ccwf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Malibu
Posts: 8,634
Quote:
Originally posted by iankb
However, I do think they should have included an option for non-transparent EPG screens
Sounds like today's thread Why must the guide be accessed via live tv?, which got a response from TiVoOpsMgr.
__________________
ccwf

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

TiVo
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

中日韓
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ccwf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2004, 02:45 PM   #27
iankb
Registered User
 
iankb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 6,468
Oh goody. Another option that, if implemented, will make our old UK model even more outdated.
__________________
Ian.

Windows 7 MCE, 2 x Freeview Tuners, 1 x HD Freesat Tuner, 1TB Hard Drive, 1.5TB Mirrored Raid on e-SATA.
1 x Xbox360 MCE Extender.
1 x LinkSys DMA2100 Extender.
1 x Broken TiVo.
iankb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2004, 08:45 AM   #28
Tiny Clanger
Eater Of Pies
 
Tiny Clanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: West Sussex, UK
Posts: 34
I would be happier with the TiVo interface if there was a faster CPU behind it. Granted, I have various hacks running, but three seconds between pressing TiVo and playback stopping is three seconds too long. Taking over ten seconds to show Now Playing is way too long, even if I do have 120Gb.

Sadly, I don't think you can realistically overclock a TiVo - and I don't think I'd want to take the risk, even if you could

(Would CacheCard help here? Not that I can afford to go buying anything at the moment, mind...)
__________________
# cd /pub
# more beer
Tiny Clanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2004, 08:53 AM   #29
pahunt
Registered User
 
pahunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: England
Posts: 1,712
Quote:
Originally posted by Tiny Clanger
(Would CacheCard help here? Not that I can afford to go buying anything at the moment, mind...)
Yes
__________________
Paul
pahunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2004, 11:46 AM   #30
Heuer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 378
This is all a bit like arguing which make of diesel to put in your car .

Is the GUI fit for purpose? If so why change it? And why does 'new' seem to imply it will be better?

It works so leave it alone. Ditto this site!
__________________
Humax Foxsat HDR, Popcorn Hour C-200, Panasonic Viera 65" 3D Plasma, Onkyo PR-SC5508, Denon Blu-ray, Arcam P7, Martin-Logan ELS, Velodyne DD15 sub.
Heuer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |