TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-03-2004, 11:10 PM   #61
PortlandPaw
Woodstock-era Hacker
 
PortlandPaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chebeague Island, Maine
Posts: 1,057
The latest beta (top of thread) adds support for editing the data files for LJay's new "What's On" module and for moviesort. In addition, the ability to edit any read/write file is added. Updaters should copy both hackman.itcl and hackman.cfg.
__________________
David R. Hill...............hackman:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Chebeague Island, Maine
There are 10 kinds of people, those who count in binary and those who don't.
PortlandPaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 05:59 PM   #62
PortlandPaw
Woodstock-era Hacker
 
PortlandPaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chebeague Island, Maine
Posts: 1,057
Hackman Version 1.0

It's been about a month and the latest version of hackman has been downloaded well over a hundred times and I haven't heard any further complaints or bug reports. So I think it's time to declare the project finished (for now) and designate the latest release as Version 1.0.

Nothing other than the version designation has been changed from Beta 1.16, so there's no real need to download this other than to ensure that you have the latest version.

Of course, if any problems arise, or if there are requests for other features or support for new hacks, please make those requests known here.
__________________
David R. Hill...............hackman:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Chebeague Island, Maine
There are 10 kinds of people, those who count in binary and those who don't.

Last edited by PortlandPaw : 05-24-2004 at 12:56 PM.
PortlandPaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 04:53 PM   #63
Fozzie
Registered User
 
Fozzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Alton, Hants, UK
Posts: 837
A great hack and one of my most used
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Fozzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 09:18 PM   #64
PortlandPaw
Woodstock-era Hacker
 
PortlandPaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chebeague Island, Maine
Posts: 1,057
Thank you, Fozzie, it's great to have a cheering section!
__________________
David R. Hill...............hackman:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Chebeague Island, Maine
There are 10 kinds of people, those who count in binary and those who don't.
PortlandPaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 10:09 PM   #65
cachecard_user
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 244
ok, how about a hack to start/stop cachecard caching?

Quote:
jafa
Site Admin


Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Posts: 841

Posted: Sun Apr 18, 2004 8:29 pm Post subject:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi,

You can disable caching by telnetting in, running "cachectl -n -t" (cachectl with test and no splash screen) and then CTRL-C aborting during the write or verify stages.

You can re-enable cacheing by running "cachectl -n" (no need to do a memory test -t).

cachecard_user is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2004, 07:39 AM   #66
PortlandPaw
Woodstock-era Hacker
 
PortlandPaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chebeague Island, Maine
Posts: 1,057
Two problems:

1. I don't have a cachecard, so I couldn't test it.

2. Testing would be necessary, as I'm very uncertain how to send a ctrl-c without some experimentation.

You would certainly be able to at least start cachecard from hackman using the bash command line feature.

If anybody has a surefire method for sending a ctrl-c through an "exec /bin/bash -c XXX" type command, please let me know. Then I could set it up and PM it to you for testing. Also, how much time should elapse between the cachectl command and the ctrl-c? And where does cachctl live on your box?
__________________
David R. Hill...............hackman:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Chebeague Island, Maine
There are 10 kinds of people, those who count in binary and those who don't.
PortlandPaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2004, 09:55 PM   #67
cachecard_user
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 244
i guess that you can do a ps ax and scan to find the cachctrl process pid, then send a kill command. You can kill it as soon as you can.
cachecard_user is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2004, 10:28 PM   #68
PortlandPaw
Woodstock-era Hacker
 
PortlandPaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chebeague Island, Maine
Posts: 1,057
cachecard_user, please tell me if the ps ax/kill pid method works to shut down the cachecard. That is what hackman does now to stop programs.

But I suspect that jafa is giving you his method because kill reboots the TiVo. But if it doesn't and if it shuts down politely, then I can definitely add cachecard support to hackman. Let me know.
__________________
David R. Hill...............hackman:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Chebeague Island, Maine
There are 10 kinds of people, those who count in binary and those who don't.
PortlandPaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2004, 01:44 PM   #69
arthur
Member
 
arthur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 12
To send a CTRL+C use SIGINT
To send a CTRL+BREAK use SIGQUIT

example:

kill -INT <pid of the process that will receive the CTRL+C>
arthur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2004, 04:19 PM   #70
PortlandPaw
Woodstock-era Hacker
 
PortlandPaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chebeague Island, Maine
Posts: 1,057
Thank you, Arthur. That helps.

Here's what I need to create a prototype for testing:
1. Path to cachecard
2. Answer to question re: killing cachecard with PID (kill <PID>) -- does it reboot TiVo?
3. Answer to question re: Will Arthur's method alone do it? (kill -INT <PID>) -- without running "cachectl -n -t" first
4. Time elapsed between the cachectl command and the ctrl-c in the method suggested by jafa

What I really need to know is which of the following sets of commands shuts down cachecard gracefully:
1. kill <pid>
2. kill -INT <pid> (may have to experiment with case)
3. cachectl -n -t
kill -INT <pid>
All of these depend on running ps ax first to determine cachectl's pid.

If somebody with a cachecard will do a little telnet experimentation and fieldwork for me, I can whip up an experimental version to try.
__________________
David R. Hill...............hackman:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Chebeague Island, Maine
There are 10 kinds of people, those who count in binary and those who don't.

Last edited by PortlandPaw : 05-26-2004 at 05:01 PM.
PortlandPaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2004, 06:29 PM   #71
cachecard_user
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 244
[quote]bash-2.02# cachectl: Driver version: 20040522tr1/20040522tr2
cachectl: 512MB DIMM detected
cachectl: Found partition 0:10 (512MB)
cachectl: Found partition 0:12 (0MB)
cachectl: 512MB database detected
cachectl: Writing.... 0%
bash-2.02# ps ax
PID TTY STAT TIME COMMAND
1 ? SW 0:00 (init)
2 ? SW 0:03 (kflushd)
3 ? SW 0:23 (kswapd)
...blah....blah....blah...
140 ? S 0:00 (myworld)
141 ? S 5:06 ContextMgr eve
235 p0 S 0:02 /bin/bash -login
237 p1 S 0:00 /bin/bash -login
239 p0 R 0:04 cachectl -n -t
240 p1 R 0:00 ps ax
bash-2.02# kill -int 239
bash-2.02# ps ax
PID TTY STAT TIME COMMAND
1 ? SW 0:00 (init)
2 ? SW 0:03 (kflushd)
3 ? SW 0:23 (kswapd)
51 ? S 0:00 update (bdflush)
...blah...blah...blah...
139 ? S 0:05 PvrMain
140 ? S 0:00 (myworld)
141 ? S 5:06 ContextMgr eve
235 p0 S 0:02 /bin/bash -login
237 p1 S 0:00 /bin/bash -login
241 p1 R 0:00 ps ax
bash-2.02#
bash-2.02#[quote]

path is /sbin/cachectl
cachecard_user is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2004, 06:53 PM   #72
arthur
Member
 
arthur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 12
You're most welcome, I'm glad it helped.
arthur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2004, 08:48 PM   #73
PortlandPaw
Woodstock-era Hacker
 
PortlandPaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chebeague Island, Maine
Posts: 1,057
Cache, alright, this is all very good news. Just one more favor...believe it or not, everything will be simpler if a simple kill <pid> will do the job. That way, I don't have to create an exception for cachecard and I can shut it down the way I'm shutting down most other apps. So could you please see if (in the example above) kill 239 does the trick with no adverse effects?

And do you have to run cachectl -n -t first, or is there a cachectl app already running?
__________________
David R. Hill...............hackman:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Chebeague Island, Maine
There are 10 kinds of people, those who count in binary and those who don't.

Last edited by PortlandPaw : 05-26-2004 at 09:20 PM.
PortlandPaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2004, 10:28 PM   #74
cachecard_user
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 244
cachectl has to be invoked, and terminates when it is finished testing and/or prefetching. As to weather we are doing anything constructive... I have to defer to Jafa.



Quote:
bash-2.02# cachectl -n -t &
[1] 251
bash-2.02# cachectl: Driver version: 20040522tr1/20040522tr2
cachectl: 512MB DIMM detected
cachectl: Found partition 0:10 (512MB)
cachectl: Found partition 0:12 (0MB)
cachectl: 512MB database detected
cachectl: Writing.... 0%
bash-2.02# ps ax
PID TTY STAT TIME COMMAND
1 ? SW 0:00 (init)
2 ? SW 0:03 (kflushd)
3 ? SW 0:25 (kswapd)
51 ? S 0:00 update (bdflush)
...blah...blah...blah
141 ? S 6:44 ContextMgr eve
250 p0 S 0:00 /bin/bash -login
251 p0 R 0:04 cachectl -n -t
252 p0 R 0:00 ps ax
bash-2.02# kill 251
bash: ki: command not found
bash-2.02# kill 25.1
bash-2.02# ps ax
PID TTY STAT TIME COMMAND
1 ? SW 0:00 (init)
2 ? SW 0:03 (kflushd)
3 ? SW 0:25 (kswapd)
51 ? S 0:00 update (bdflush)
59 ? S 1:00 syslogd -p /var/dev/log -m 10000
...blah...blah...blah...
250 p0 S 0:00 /bin/bash -login
254 p0 R 0:00 ps ax
[1]+ Terminated cachectl -n -t
bash-2.02# ps ax
PID TTY STAT TIME COMMAND
1 ? SW 0:00 (init)
2 ? SW 0:03 (kflushd)
3 ? SW 0:25 (kswapd)
51 ? S 0:00 update (bdflush)
59 ? S 1:00 syslogd -p /var/dev/log -m 10000
...blah...blah...blah...
1 ? S 6:45 ContextMgr eve
250 p0 S 0:00 /bin/bash -login
255 p0 R 0:00 ps ax
bash-2.02#

cachecard_user is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2004, 12:26 PM   #75
PortlandPaw
Woodstock-era Hacker
 
PortlandPaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chebeague Island, Maine
Posts: 1,057
Experimental hackman

Anyone with a cachecard is invited to try out this experimental version of hackman with cachecard support.

Basically, what it does is start cachecard with:
cachectl -n

And stop it with
cachectl -n -t
followed by a ctrl-c

Please let me know if this works, and if it does I'll add it to the general release version.

(obsolete attachment deleted; see end of thread)
__________________
David R. Hill...............hackman:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Chebeague Island, Maine
There are 10 kinds of people, those who count in binary and those who don't.

Last edited by PortlandPaw : 06-01-2004 at 12:07 PM.
PortlandPaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2004, 04:42 PM   #76
cachecard_user
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 244
i've been too busy to properly thnk you for a great app and the new cachecard support... I'm going to try it now.
cachecard_user is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2004, 05:10 PM   #77
cachecard_user
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 244
ok good news: starts no problem

now bad news :

Quote:
Now shutting down cachecard ...
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------



--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
list element in quotes followed by "}" instead of space
....
cachecard_user is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2004, 05:17 PM   #78
PortlandPaw
Woodstock-era Hacker
 
PortlandPaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chebeague Island, Maine
Posts: 1,057
That I can fix.

But I've been thinking about this and I need to understand how cachecard works a little better. I'm assuming that there is no app always running while cachecard is operational...that you start it with cachectl, that app terminates and then you run cachectl again (with ctrl-c) to stop it.

This means that there is no application-related way to tell if cachecard is active or not. That means that hackman will look at the list of running apps, not find cachecard and only offer "start" as an option.

So my question is, how do you tell (from software) if cachecard is active or not? Then I can set the state of the start/stop button appropriately.

Or, if there is no good way to tell if cachecard is active, I can set up some kind of toggle to keep track of the status.

So please let me know if there's a way to check the cachecard status and I'll pick up from there.

And thank you for the kind words about hackman; greatly appreciated.
__________________
David R. Hill...............hackman:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Chebeague Island, Maine
There are 10 kinds of people, those who count in binary and those who don't.
PortlandPaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2004, 09:16 PM   #79
nosaj56
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 13
Re: Hackman Version 1.0

Quote:
Originally posted by PortlandPaw
Of course, if any problems arise, or if there are requests for other features or support for new hacks, please make those requests known here.
How about elseed and ccxstream? Thanks.
nosaj56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2004, 11:03 PM   #80
PortlandPaw
Woodstock-era Hacker
 
PortlandPaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chebeague Island, Maine
Posts: 1,057
Okay, for each of these hacks please tell me:
1. The full path and name to the hack
2. The command used to start the hack
3. The command used to stop the hack (if any)

I don't have either of these hacks installed on my SA1 box, so I'll have to do what I'm doing with cachecard, i.e. put together an experimental version and let you tell me if it works.
__________________
David R. Hill...............hackman:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Chebeague Island, Maine
There are 10 kinds of people, those who count in binary and those who don't.
PortlandPaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2004, 12:36 PM   #81
nosaj56
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally posted by PortlandPaw
Okay, for each of these hacks please tell me:
1. The full path and name to the hack
2. The command used to start the hack
3. The command used to stop the hack (if any)

I don't have either of these hacks installed on my SA1 box, so I'll have to do what I'm doing with cachecard, i.e. put together an experimental version and let you tell me if it works.
elseed:
/var/hack/bin/elseed -s 30 -t 15 -b 390 -r 50 &
For elseed, those are the options I use.

ccxstream:
/var/hack/bin/ccxstream &

thanks
nosaj56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2004, 10:20 PM   #82
PortlandPaw
Woodstock-era Hacker
 
PortlandPaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chebeague Island, Maine
Posts: 1,057
Thanks, nosaj, as soon as I get the info on cachecard, I'll post an experimental prototype for all three new hacks.
__________________
David R. Hill...............hackman:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Chebeague Island, Maine
There are 10 kinds of people, those who count in binary and those who don't.
PortlandPaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2004, 10:42 PM   #83
cachecard_user
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 244
i don't think there is an easy way to see the cachecard state, perhaps a half on/off button is the easy solution here...

or just assume it is on when the tivo starts and set up a flag on /tmp, it will syncronize anyway...
cachecard_user is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2004, 10:58 PM   #84
PortlandPaw
Woodstock-era Hacker
 
PortlandPaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chebeague Island, Maine
Posts: 1,057
I think I'll pursue your second suggestion -- assume cachecard is running, set a flag to that effect, and if it's not running, you'll have to "stop" it once before you can start it. Not too bad. I'm taking off for the weekend, so look for something around the middle of next week.
__________________
David R. Hill...............hackman:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Chebeague Island, Maine
There are 10 kinds of people, those who count in binary and those who don't.
PortlandPaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2004, 07:34 PM   #85
Prof. Yaffle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 255
I think I might have found a problem. If I run MFS_FTP from Hackman the button alters to Stop as it should. If I then go out of Hackman and back in the button has reverted back to Start even though it's still working which then attempts to restart it if I click it. It used to work fine for me on the older betas and everything is set up correctly in the .cfg file.
__________________
6020 upgraded with 300GB Samsung Spinpoint, Cachecard with 512mb, lots of hacks and lots of lovely logos.
DTT (Panasonic TUCT20)
Prof. Yaffle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 02:19 PM   #86
PortlandPaw
Woodstock-era Hacker
 
PortlandPaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chebeague Island, Maine
Posts: 1,057
I haven't been able to replicate the problem. Are you sure mfs_ftp didn't shut down on its own? When you telnet in and do a "ps ax", what entry comes up for mfs_ftp? Hackman is looking for "mfs_ftp.tcl" and if it doesn't find it (exactly), it concludes that mfs_ftp isn't running. If it shows a different entry, please let me know and I'll adjust accordingly. Thanks for the heads up!
__________________
David R. Hill...............hackman:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Chebeague Island, Maine
There are 10 kinds of people, those who count in binary and those who don't.
PortlandPaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 03:03 PM   #87
Prof. Yaffle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 255
Many apologies PortlandPaw, you're right. If I ran it manually from the bash prompt it seems to run okay for a few seconds and then when I check with ps ax it's not running. I'm not sure if I had the latest version but I installed it a while ago so I got the current release from Another Place, deleted the version on TiVo and reinstalled it and all is working well now. Again, many apologies
__________________
6020 upgraded with 300GB Samsung Spinpoint, Cachecard with 512mb, lots of hacks and lots of lovely logos.
DTT (Panasonic TUCT20)
Prof. Yaffle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 03:19 PM   #88
PortlandPaw
Woodstock-era Hacker
 
PortlandPaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chebeague Island, Maine
Posts: 1,057
No apologies necessary, Prof., I'm just glad you're getting use from hackman!
__________________
David R. Hill...............hackman:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Chebeague Island, Maine
There are 10 kinds of people, those who count in binary and those who don't.
PortlandPaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 05:19 PM   #89
dialanothernumb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 334
ccxstream start/stop from TiVoweb

IMHO Hackman is very similar to sanderton's work in approach and practicality. Simply a hack most people want, well-executed.

Thanks PortlandPaw, for thinking of it and delivering it.

I'm especialy looking forward to the ccxstream version as I use XBox Media Center with my TiVos very siuccessfully but don't always remember to start ccxstream.

Again, many thanks for hackman!
__________________
TiVo Premiere 4-Tuner on Verizon FiOS, Tivo Stream
dialanothernumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 09:01 PM   #90
stark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Eden Prairie, MN
Posts: 755
Apparently Riley put a time limit on mfs_ftp 1.29Q. I found this out at the "forum which shall not be named".

You can downgrade to the P version, or reload the Q version.
stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |