TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-13-2006, 03:04 PM   #31
qwckdraw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1
I'm new to this forum and I hope I'm not asking too redundant of a question.

I have a Hughes SD-DVR40 with 6.2. It has a USB port in the back and I was wondering if there's anyway to hook this up to my laptop which has a DVD writter on it and burn DVDs.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
qwckdraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 04:03 PM   #32
ccwf
国際化 Member
 
ccwf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Malibu
Posts: 8,634
There's no easy, supported method.
__________________
ccwf

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

TiVo
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

中日韓
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ccwf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 10:37 AM   #33
JD10367
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 35
Okay, here's a really dumb question.

My TiVo S2DT has an Ethernet output on it and two USB outputs on it.

It is not yet connected to my home computer.

I would like to connect it so I can copy shows from the TiVo to the computer's hard drive and then use the computer to burn DVDs, thus allowing me to move some movies and other stuff from my Now Playing list and give me more recording space.

Now... my computer only has one Ethernet input, which is currently being used by my cable modem. The question is: can I connect it to my computer using the USB ports and a long wire? All of the documentation I've seen only refers to the USB ports when used for wireless connecting, and refer to the TiVo's Ethernet port for wired connecting. Is there some reason why I wouldn't be able to run a very long USB cable from my TiVo to my computer? I don't want or need a wireless USB network (expensive, complicated, et cetera).

Another question: my computer does have an open Firewire port. Can I use the TiVo's Ethernet port to connect to the Firewire port (i.e. do they make a cable with Ethernet on one end and Firewire on the other, and will it work)?

Thanks for any help answering these dumb questions.
JD10367 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 10:47 AM   #34
ccwf
国際化 Member
 
ccwf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Malibu
Posts: 8,634
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD10367
Okay, here's a really dumb question.

Now... my computer only has one Ethernet input, which is currently being used by my cable modem. The question is: can I connect it to my computer using the USB ports and a long wire? All of the documentation I've seen only refers to the USB ports when used for wireless connecting, and refer to the TiVo's Ethernet port for wired connecting. Is there some reason why I wouldn't be able to run a very long USB cable from my TiVo to my computer? I don't want or need a wireless USB network (expensive, complicated, et cetera).
You can't use a normal USB cable to connect two computers (and the TiVo DVR is a computer).

If you just want your computer to be able to talk to the Internet and the TiVo DVR but not for the TiVo DVR to be able to use the Internet, then you can buy an Ethernet hub for less than $15. If you want the TiVo DVR to be able to use the Internet, too, then get a router instead (can be bought for less than $20). Then, just connect your hub or router to your cable modem, computer, and TiVo DVR with Ethernet cables.
__________________
ccwf

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

TiVo
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

中日韓
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ccwf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 01:18 PM   #35
classicsat
Astute User
 
classicsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 17,878
Just get the router, it will not cost a whole lot more, plus will be easier and less troublesome to configure and use.
__________________
Series 2 234 Hr Lifetime.
Window XP and Ubuntu Linux on my PCs.
Watching more and more in HD direct now.
classicsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 01:33 PM   #36
Adam1115
20,000!!!
 
Adam1115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Denver ish
Posts: 23,817
Quote:
Originally Posted by JD10367
Okay, here's a really dumb question.

My TiVo S2DT has an Ethernet output on it and two USB outputs on it.

It is not yet connected to my home computer.

I would like to connect it so I can copy shows from the TiVo to the computer's hard drive and then use the computer to burn DVDs, thus allowing me to move some movies and other stuff from my Now Playing list and give me more recording space.

Now... my computer only has one Ethernet input, which is currently being used by my cable modem. The question is: can I connect it to my computer using the USB ports and a long wire? All of the documentation I've seen only refers to the USB ports when used for wireless connecting, and refer to the TiVo's Ethernet port for wired connecting. Is there some reason why I wouldn't be able to run a very long USB cable from my TiVo to my computer? I don't want or need a wireless USB network (expensive, complicated, et cetera).

Another question: my computer does have an open Firewire port. Can I use the TiVo's Ethernet port to connect to the Firewire port (i.e. do they make a cable with Ethernet on one end and Firewire on the other, and will it work)?

Thanks for any help answering these dumb questions.
You just need an ethernet switch.
__________________
-----------------------------
Check out my (mostly) IT blog!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Adam1115 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |