TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series 1 - UK
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-03-2003, 07:00 AM   #1
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
Hack to stop TiVo recording episodes you have already seen

I'm at it again, sorry; this TiVo hacking is addictive.

I'm building a hack which will extend the current 28-day no-re-record rule so that an episode, once recorded, will NEVER be re-recorded. This will mean that I can have a SP for a show on a heavy repeat cycle and it will pick up only the episodes which I have not recorded before.

It will also allow you to block entire series from being recorded by a wishlist or (optionally) as suggestions.

A TiVoWeb module will let you edit the blocked episodes list, should you discover that a recording has failed or whatever. You can restore a blocked episode from Recording History. A manually specified recording will not be blocked.

It WON'T fix dodgy guide data (miracles, as they say, are extra), so duplicates caused by that will not be affected. And of course the blocking of repeats only starts from the day the hack is installed, so there will be period where it doesn't seem to be helping much; but give it a few months and UK Gold SPs might become usable.

Now my problems in writing this are 1) it will do nothing for 28 days as TiVo handles it up to that point and 2) I need a good variety of SPs and wishlists to get it checked out.

So I'm looking for some brave volunteers to help me out.

The hack has three bits:

1) A modified version of EndPad, which as well as doing its usual stuff creates a little database of what has been recorded. If you don't want padding, that's fine it will run with the padding part turned off.
2) A TiVoWeb module that lets you view and edit that database
3) A script which runs periodically and removes episodes which are in its "recorded" database from the To Do List

Initially I'm looking for help with 1 and 2; 3 will come a bit later as it's more alpha than beta right now! But I want to get the database creation/editing part completely sorted before setting the actual episode blocking loose. So at this stage your recordings would be safe.

To be able to help, you'll need to have TiVo with TiVoWeb.

If you are prepared to help the cause of new hacks, could you PM me your e-mail address?

Thanks.


A shipping version of this (which ended up working rather differently) is here:

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...&&#post2341737

There are are also a couple of modded versions people have done in subsequent posts.

Last edited by sanderton : 03-03-2005 at 01:47 PM.
sanderton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2003, 09:09 AM   #2
pgogborn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,184
Re: Beta testers wanted: hack to stop TiVo recording episodes you have already seen

Quote:
Originally posted by sanderton

3) A script which runs periodically and removes episodes which are in its "recorded" database from the To Do List
I am 99.9% certain that you have already got this in the spec for your script - but just in case - I suggest that it would be useful if removed episodes formed part of your DaiyMail report.
pgogborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2003, 09:12 AM   #3
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
Good idea.
sanderton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2003, 10:31 AM   #4
pgogborn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,184
I feel guilty for making suggestions, making more work, when you are already doing so much good work - but here goes.

How about a non-destructive way of dealing with repeated programmes?

Instead of just automatically removing repeats from the "To Do" list, as an alternative, how about an installation option to add a 'repeat' symbol/acronym to the programme title (and perhaps forcing a short "keep until" date).

The user could then elect to choose which repeats to delete from the "To Do" list / ignore them in the "Now Playing" list etc.
pgogborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2003, 10:37 AM   #5
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
I'm trying to build something that means I don't have to check the To Do list regularly as I'm too lazy. And one of the points of the hack is that if the recordings are cancelled, the TiVo can record something I haven't seen in that slot instead.

However once the framework is built, changes such as those should be very easy; probably just one line of code. I suspect that iI will leave them as an exercise for the reader, though.
sanderton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2003, 11:35 AM   #6
bradleyem
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 338
Sounds cool.

Is there a way that it can check the TDL to see if the program was ever viewed? I'm thinking that if a program drops off the now playing list because of overwriting (for example), it'd be nice to re-record it next time.

See PM: count me in.

Brad


[edit, got Now Playing confused with To Do lists ]
__________________
Ethernet (n): Something used to catch the Etherbunny
---
Tivo 1: 6023, Cachecard & 500GB (WD)

Tivo 2: VirginMedia HD

Last edited by bradleyem : 11-04-2003 at 11:48 AM.
bradleyem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2003, 11:38 AM   #7
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
Not easily, no. I had though of trying to do it, but it seemed to me that many things on my Now Playing go unplayed because they are repeats, and life's too short to delete them manually.
sanderton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2003, 12:11 PM   #8
pahunt
Registered User
 
pahunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: England
Posts: 1,714
Quote:
Originally posted by sanderton
Not easily, no. I had though of trying to do it, but it seemed to me that many things on my Now Playing go unplayed because they are repeats, and life's too short to delete them manually.
I agree. I do this all the time with Simpsons and Friends so I'd wouldn't want this.
__________________
Paul
pahunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2003, 05:07 PM   #9
GvH
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sidcup, UK
Posts: 15
Suggested Feature

Message deleted - read thread after commenting! Doh!!!!
GvH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2003, 06:54 AM   #10
bradleyem
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 338
I still think it'd be useful (perhaps only for certain season passes) but the majority has spoken.

But anyway, Tracker installed easily and is busy adding to, and tracking my shows.
__________________
Ethernet (n): Something used to catch the Etherbunny
---
Tivo 1: 6023, Cachecard & 500GB (WD)

Tivo 2: VirginMedia HD
bradleyem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2003, 03:38 AM   #11
doubledrat
should know better
 
doubledrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Attleborough, Norfolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 208
stuart: I'd like to help, but I don't have tivoweb (I'm sure lots of people don't), so can it be designed to take into account all those without tivoweb please?

will the removed progs appear in the todo list as "someone in your household deleted"? I think they need to really, so us non-tw people can see what's going on.

Bob
__________________
Bob

500GB tivo with
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
:D
>160 season passes, cachecard+net, tivoweb
doubledrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2003, 09:30 AM   #12
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
I don't think it will be practical if your don't have TiVoWeb - if TiVo screws up a recording you will never get that epiode re-recorded, so you need a mechanism for removing the block on specific episodes.

No you have a serial connection, can you not TiVoweb working?

Last edited by sanderton : 11-09-2003 at 12:34 PM.
sanderton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2003, 10:55 AM   #13
doubledrat
should know better
 
doubledrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Attleborough, Norfolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 208
well I don't have ethernet on my box. I have serial access but that's it.

is your DB going to be a plain text file? If so, I could always just manually edit it. Or what about a simple script to edit?

It would be a shame to limit something so useful to the few with ethernet on their tivos...
__________________
Bob

500GB tivo with
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
:D
>160 season passes, cachecard+net, tivoweb
doubledrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2003, 11:10 AM   #14
Rob Nespor Bellis
Grumpy Sod
 
Rob Nespor Bellis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: ~, Brighton, UK
Posts: 674
Bob,

With serial access you can configure ppp ( a TCP/IP ) connection to the PC on the other end of the serial cable.

With a TCP/IP connection ( not involving TiVoNET or TurboNET ) you can run TiVoWEB and any of the other programs that require an IP connection ( like ftp, telnet, etc. )

Rgds,

R.
Rob Nespor Bellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2003, 12:35 PM   #15
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
Quote:
Originally posted by doubledrat
well I don't have ethernet on my box. I have serial access but that's it.
TivoWeb works over a serial connection.
sanderton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2003, 02:59 PM   #16
doubledrat
should know better
 
doubledrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Attleborough, Norfolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 208
oh. I didn't realise that

I'll give the docs a look then
__________________
Bob

500GB tivo with
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
:D
>160 season passes, cachecard+net, tivoweb
doubledrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2003, 02:51 PM   #17
tivo_boj
Tivo is getting old
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Pitsea, Basildon, Essex, UK
Posts: 215
Re: Beta testers wanted: hack to stop TiVo recording episodes you have already seen

Quote:
Originally posted by sanderton
...........

To be able to help, you'll need to have TiVo with TiVoWeb.

If you are prepared to help the cause of new hacks, could you PM me your e-mail address?

Thanks.
PM'ed you with my email ------I will help if I can
__________________
TiVo Boj (Tivo -Nov 2000)
GSOD caused 160G upgrade Oct 2006. TivoWebPlus (beta 1.4.0) Using PPP over serial (Aug 2002). & Turbocard ( 2005)
tivo_boj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 01:03 AM   #18
leemcg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 27
Same here, PM sent. Happy to help if I can.

Lee
leemcg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2003, 07:28 AM   #19
SteveWilkins
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 22
Sounds like the essential hack for Sky One viewers to stop those Simpson and Futurama's re-appearing.

Count me in.
__________________
Steve

240GB (287hr) UK Tivo with NTL Digital, TurboNet, TivoWeb, using Mode 0 @ 7.8Mbps, Tivo Technicolor fix, Soft Padding, some unmentionable stuff....
SteveWilkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2003, 12:24 PM   #20
TMW2N
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 51
well, since i'm basically starting again with a clean TiVo, i odnt have much to lose, so count me in. i've installed just about every other one of your hacks and am very pleased so far.

G
__________________
Thomson (UK) Tivo 601E
Maxtor 120Gb drive (139 hours basic)
45 season passes
Tivoweb, Turbonet, Red Dot Remover
TMW2N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2003, 01:11 PM   #21
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
Apologies to recent volunteers who I haven't got back to yet. Distracted with other stuff. Will be in touch soon!
sanderton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2003, 01:02 PM   #22
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
Following a number of comments, it seems sensible for the Tracker project to be able to use whether or not an episode was watched to help decide whether or not to allow it to be rerecorded.

So, could the Tracker testers try the enclosed for me?

The main part is a script called watched.tcl. This will update the Tracker database with the deletion and watched status of each item.

Copy it to /var/hack
Make it executable with "chmod 755 watched.tcl"
Run it with "/var/hack/watched.tcl"

The enclosed updated version of the TiVoWeb module tracker.itcl lets you see the deletion/watched status.

The enclosed EndPad is the current 1.3.3 version.

Can you let me know if it works OK, and if the data its adding appears correct?

Last edited by sanderton : 03-03-2005 at 01:41 PM.
sanderton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2003, 01:26 PM   #23
mark.stringer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Belfast
Posts: 54
Watched status

Hi Stuart,

Just loaded the watched.tcl module. It seems to be working fine though I don't have much tracking data yet. Typical result is:

Episodes of Top of the Pops which have been recorded

TMS ID Episode Title Date recorded Source Deleted by Watched Status
EP4075790188 28 November Friday 28 November 2003 Season Pass User Watched (51mins)

which is fine. And for a show that has been deleted by TiVo:

Episodes of Star Trek: Voyager which have been recorded
TMS ID Episode Title Date recorded Source Deleted by Watched Status
EP1273610162 Lineage Sunday 30 November 2003 Suggestion
EP1273610120 Relativity Saturday 29 November 2003 Suggestion TiVo Unwatched


Do I need to set the watched.tcl to run once a day or something using cron to keep this up to date?

Thanks,
Mark.
__________________
UK Tivo, V2.5.5, TivoWeb, Dual 120Gb drives
TurboNet + WET11 Wireless link, Cachecard v2.2 + 512Mb RAM
mark.stringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2003, 01:28 PM   #24
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
It will eventually run daily as part of the main program, but TiVo keeps a record of episodes foing back weeks, so you can run it manually from time to time just to keep the list up to date. cron it if you want; it won't hurt.
sanderton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2003, 02:10 PM   #25
Fozzie
Registered User
 
Fozzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Alton, Hants, UK
Posts: 837
Just tried running watched.tcl and get the following error:

bash-2.02# /var/hack/watched.tcl
Updating Tracker list with watched status...
can't open object (errDbNotFound)

while executing
"db $db openid $fsid"
("uplevel" body line 3)
invoked from within
"uplevel $body"
invoked from within
"ForeachMfsFileTrans fsid name type "/Recording/Cancelled" "" 10 {

set item [db $db openid $fsid]
set cancelreason [dbobj $item get CancelReason..."
(file "/var/hack/watched.tcl" line 64)
bash-2.02#
Fozzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2003, 02:33 PM   #26
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
Try running it again? It failed to open the database for some reason. Happens.
sanderton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2003, 02:39 PM   #27
comdw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 48
Worked fine on mine - all the data looks correct.

The logic for blocking episodes is looking likely to get complicated, but more information = more control.
comdw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2003, 03:38 PM   #28
Fozzie
Registered User
 
Fozzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Alton, Hants, UK
Posts: 837
Quote:
Originally posted by sanderton
Try running it again? It failed to open the database for some reason. Happens.
Tried half a dozen times when I first posted but got the same error each time.

Just tried now and it completed ok. DB must have been busy with something else before.
Fozzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2003, 03:55 PM   #29
tivo_boj
Tivo is getting old
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Pitsea, Basildon, Essex, UK
Posts: 215
Loaded up the new tracker and run watched .tcl severl times, but none of the episodes show any entries for "deleted by" or "tracked" in tivoweb.

Also loaded up the endpad version withing the zip file, and although you say its version 1.3.3, the endpad log says 1.3.2
__________________
TiVo Boj (Tivo -Nov 2000)
GSOD caused 160G upgrade Oct 2006. TivoWebPlus (beta 1.4.0) Using PPP over serial (Aug 2002). & Turbocard ( 2005)

Last edited by tivo_boj : 11-30-2003 at 04:02 PM.
tivo_boj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2003, 04:02 PM   #30
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
Have they been deleted? things still in Now Playing won't be changed.

Have you had a major system reset of some kind which might have flushed out the "deleted" part of the database - have a look though TiVoWeb's MFS module at /Recording/Cancelled, and see if there's much there.
sanderton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |