TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series 1 - UK
TiVo Community
Closed Thread
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-09-2005, 11:38 AM   #1021
staffie2001uk
Registered User
 
staffie2001uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Preston, Lancashire, UK
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderton
I think, Mr J, that you may have identified the problem.
*sigh* Sadly not.

I had copied my archived endpad.tcl across as soon as it failed to run, and I deleted it from the TiVo and copied it back just to be certain. The result was as below, using Mr J's suggested command line. It hung at the point I've marked with ********** until I hit "return" and then gave me the exit line.

> /var/hack/endpad.tcl -s 1 -e 3 -auto >> /dev/null &
[1] 430
> bash: /var/hack/endpad.tcl: No such file or directory
**********

[1]+ Exit 127 /var/hack/endpad.tcl -s 1 -e 3 -auto >>/dev/null
>
staffie2001uk is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 11:43 AM   #1022
LJ
Registered User
 
LJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: West Sussex, England
Posts: 786
Maybe your archived copy is corrupt too. I'd try downloading a fresh one.

"No such file or directory" might mean that the file has DOS line endings... it's been a while since I've seen that error first hand...
__________________
Latest versions of my TiVoWeb modules: Now Playing with Folders and Sort; What's On; Show series conflicts; Showcase etc are
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
LJ is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 12:07 PM   #1023
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
Yes, it usually means that there is ^M at the end of the line. Bash tries to interpret it as part of the command and you get a "No such file or directory" error.
sanderton is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 12:28 PM   #1024
staffie2001uk
Registered User
 
staffie2001uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Preston, Lancashire, UK
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by LJ
Maybe your archived copy is corrupt too. I'd try downloading a fresh one.

"No such file or directory" might mean that the file has DOS line endings... it's been a while since I've seen that error first hand...
Downloaded v1.4.2 from the head of the thread and copied it across, chmod'ed and got the same file error.

Don't know if I can live without EndPad! Don't know how I'll cope if you can't fix this for me. Do you think I can get the donation back [That was a joke, I'm just trying to keep myself cheerful]
staffie2001uk is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 12:31 PM   #1025
LJ
Registered User
 
LJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: West Sussex, England
Posts: 786


Describe every step you're doing to get the file from the website to the TiVo (are you using IE, how do you FTP etc etc)

And what's the size of the file once it's on the TiVo?
__________________
Latest versions of my TiVoWeb modules: Now Playing with Folders and Sort; What's On; Show series conflicts; Showcase etc are
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
LJ is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 01:09 PM   #1026
staffie2001uk
Registered User
 
staffie2001uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Preston, Lancashire, UK
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by LJ


Describe every step you're doing to get the file from the website to the TiVo (are you using IE, how do you FTP etc etc)

And what's the size of the file once it's on the TiVo?
Looks like it was the FTP (Filezilla). The file size was increasing when copied across. Strange, as I have had no previous problems with FileZilla. I went through the settings and changed and reset all the options and it copied with no size increase. Then EndPad ran.

Was the file size increase due to DOS carriage returns getting added?

Thanks to everyone who contributed. I think a moderate drink is in order, ah heck, maybe a large one

However, what I really don't understand is how the TiVo file got corrupted in the first place to get DOS characters into it?
staffie2001uk is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 03:49 PM   #1027
ncjok
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 27
v.1.4.2 is giving me the following errors in /var/log/endpad.log :

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVo
Monday 01:00:25 : endpad.tcl 1.4.2 log file, starting up
Monday 01:00:25 : Start padding set to 120 seconds
Monday 01:00:25 : End padding set to 300 seconds
Monday 01:00:25 : Suggestions will be padded, even if that means cancelling a subsequent suggestion
Monday 01:00:25 : Detected TiVo software version 2.5.5-01-1-023
Monday 01:00:25 : Suggestions will be recorded in Best
Monday 01:00:26 : Woken up
Monday 01:00:26 : Error detected
Monday 01:00:26 : can't read "rectype": no such variable
while executing
"if {$rectype == 3} {

# Recording active
set isrec 1

# Get details of currently recording programme
R..."
Monday 01:00:26 : Attempting to recover
Monday 01:00:56 : Woken up
Monday 01:00:56 : Error detected
Monday 01:00:56 : can't read "rectype": no such variable
while executing
"if {$rectype == 3} {

# Recording active
set isrec 1

# Get details of currently recording programme
R..."
Monday 01:00:56 : Attempting to recover
Monday 01:00:56 : Too many errors, stopping
  • downloaded endpad.1.4.2.zip using IE6
  • unzipped it with WinZip
  • copied to TiVo using FlashFXP, binary
  • didn't chmod it (already appears as 755)
  • /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit.author line is
    /var/hack/endpad.tcl -s 2 -e 5 -sugqual 100 -auto >> /dev/null &
Any help welcome

edit: fixed by re-transferring endpad.tcl via a DOS window

Good script, thanks!

Last edited by ncjok : 06-20-2005 at 04:59 PM. Reason: fixed
ncjok is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 08:38 PM   #1028
ncjok
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 27
spoke too soon..

Since the last post I've got dailymail working (minor error in dailymail.cfg) and installed the cron-3.0pl1_TiVo-2.tar.gz package. However, from that point on, endpad.tcl refuses to run at startup, and when run manually is only there (ps) for a few seconds.

/var/log/endpad.log says:

Wednesday 01:26:02 : endpad.tcl 1.4.2 log file, starting up
Wednesday 01:26:02 : Start padding set to 120 seconds
Wednesday 01:26:02 : End padding set to 300 seconds
Wednesday 01:26:02 : Suggestions will be padded, even if that means cancelling a subsequent suggestion
Wednesday 01:26:02 : Detected TiVo software version 2.5.5-01-1-023
Wednesday 01:26:02 : Suggestion quality change disabled
Wednesday 01:26:02 : Woken up
Wednesday 01:26:02 : Error detected
Wednesday 01:26:02 : can't read "nextbutonerecstartdate": no such variable
while executing
"expr $nextbutonerecstartdate * 86400 + $nextbutonerecstarttime"
Wednesday 01:26:02 : Attempting to recover
Wednesday 01:26:32 : Woken up
Wednesday 01:26:32 : Error detected
Wednesday 01:26:32 : can't read "nextbutonerecstartdate": no such variable
while executing
"expr $nextbutonerecstartdate * 86400 + $nextbutonerecstarttime"
Wednesday 01:26:32 : Attempting to recover
Wednesday 01:26:32 : Too many errors, stopping


I've redownloaded the endpad zip, retransferred it, etc. No luck this time. I've removed the cron entry from rc.sysinit.author, which atm reads:

#!/bin/bash
/var/hack/bin/tivoftpd &
/var/hack/tivoweb-tcl/tivoweb
/var/hack/autospace/autospace.tcl start > /dev/null 2>&1
#/var/hack/bin/cron &
/var/hack/endpad.tcl -s 2 -e 5 -sugqual 100 -auto >> /dev/null &



ncjok is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 03:17 AM   #1029
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
Are there at least two items in the To Do List?
sanderton is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 04:18 PM   #1030
ncjok
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 27
Stuart,
It had one item in the To Do List at the time of my last post. I added a second show, and sure enough it worked Sorry if this had been discussed elsewhere in the thread.

If TiVo reboots for whatever reason in the future, does this mean that Endpad is again likely to fail if I have an insufficient number of planned recordings?

Regards
ncjok is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 05:19 PM   #1031
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
It will fail unless there are at least two items in the TDL. I really ought to fix that sometime, but as most people's TDLs are full to overflowing it only really effects brand new or cleaned out machines.
sanderton is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 04:07 AM   #1032
Bakdraft
November 2000
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Merseyside
Posts: 411
Hi,

For some reason my endpad no longer wants to play ball...

If you start from a fresh boot and manually start endpad it at first glance runs fine.. deleting the old pid and then waiting as normal.

But on examination of the log it clearly stops but I do not know why?

/var/log/endpad.log/
Friday 08:26:57 : endpad.tcl 1.4.0 log file, log rotated
Friday 08:26:57 : Start padding set to 300 seconds
Friday 08:26:57 : End padding set to 300 seconds
Friday 08:26:57 : Suggestions will be padded, even if that means cancelling a subsequent suggestion
Friday 08:26:57 : Detected TiVo software version 2.5.5-01-1-023
Friday 08:26:57 : Suggestion quality change disabled
Sleeping, checking every minute for kill signal..
Friday 08:27:57 : Stopped due to kill signal


running ps ax shows end pad is not running.

can anyone give me some reasons as to why it received the kill signal and suggest some ways to troubleshoot it...

I miss my endpad.

.....you don't know what you got till it's gone.....

Dave
__________________
TIVO #1 - 120GB - user since Nov2000
TIVO #2 - unmodded

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bakdraft is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 04:10 AM   #1033
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
The kill signal is a file in the same directory as Endpad called something like endpad.kill; delete it.
sanderton is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 03:02 PM   #1034
Bakdraft
November 2000
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Merseyside
Posts: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderton
The kill signal is a file in the same directory as Endpad called something like endpad.kill; delete it.
Hi Sanderton,

Thanks for your reply...

I have checked the endpad directory /var/hack but there is no endpad.kill file or any kill file see below

bash-2.02# ls -a
. cron joerc tivoir.cfg tytools
.. endpad.tcl scripts tivoir.cfg~
RecStatus.tcl etc sendbackup tivoweb-tcl
bin joe tivoir tmp
bash-2.02#

Do you have any other suggestions?
__________________
TIVO #1 - 120GB - user since Nov2000
TIVO #2 - unmodded

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bakdraft is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 05:40 PM   #1035
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
No idea! You're a couple of version out of date, so try installing the latest one.
sanderton is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 05:56 PM   #1036
Bakdraft
November 2000
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Merseyside
Posts: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderton
No idea! You're a couple of version out of date, so try installing the latest one.
Interestingly, i did not have any problems with this version until now. After a few weeks of Airnet failure I upgraded to cache card, but then found my complete hack directory had gone!

I had to recreate it.

Also since then I have added Tytools, which has a program that runs in the background.

Do you think either of these may be responsible?

I will try the latest version now..
__________________
TIVO #1 - 120GB - user since Nov2000
TIVO #2 - unmodded

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bakdraft is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 06:11 PM   #1037
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
Shouldn't. The kill signal is quite explicit; not sure how it can be given accidentally!
sanderton is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 06:24 PM   #1038
Bakdraft
November 2000
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Merseyside
Posts: 411
Hi

New version loaded... Message change but no padding done. Log shows:
Friday 23:03:59 :
Friday 23:03:59 : endpad.tcl 1.4.2 log file, starting up
Friday 23:03:59 : Start padding set to 300 seconds
Friday 23:03:59 : End padding set to 300 seconds
Friday 23:03:59 : Suggestions will be padded, even if that means cancelling a subsequent suggestion
Friday 23:03:59 : Detected TiVo software version 2.5.5-01-1-023
Friday 23:03:59 : Suggestion quality change disabled
Friday 23:03:59 : Woken up
Friday 23:04:00 : No recording in progress
Friday 23:04:00 : Next recording is {Big Brother} on C4 at 20:10
Friday 23:04:00 : No end padding required:
Friday 23:04:00 : No recording in progress
Friday 23:04:00 : Next end padding setting due 21:00
Friday 23:04:00 : Not time to add start padding yet
Friday 23:04:00 : Next start padding setting due 20:04
Friday 23:04:00 : Next wake up will be 23:34
Sleeping, checking every minute for kill signal...................

but 20 mins later this log has not changed despite scheduled recording

ps ax does show endpad :

bash-2.02# ps ax
PID TTY STAT TIME COMMAND
1 ? S 0:00 (init)
2 ? SW 0:01 (kflushd)
3 ? SW 0:04 (kswapd)
59 ? S 0:00 update (bdflush)
67 ? S 1:12 syslogd -p /var/dev/log -m 10000
69 ? S 0:01 klogd
77 ? S 0:05 EventSwitcher
78 ? S 4:48 MfsDaemon
79 ? S 0:00 fancontrol
106 ? S 0:00 Sark (mcp)
108 ? S 0:00 /var/hack/tytools/tserver -s /var/hack/tytools/NowShowing.tc

111 ? S 0:01 Sark (mcp)
113 ? S 0:00 PipeListen
114 ? S 0:01 Mcp event
115 ? S 0:00 tcphonehome
116 ? S 0:00 (bash)
119 ? S 0:00 (tcphonehome)
121 ? S 0:00 /sbin/tnlited 23 /bin/bash -login
123 ? S 0:00 (tivoftpd)
124 ? S 0:00 PipeListener
125 ? S 0:00 FsMpStream
126 ? S 0:01 (tcphonehome)
128 ? S 0:00 dbgc-mcp
129 ? S 9:59 dbgc-mcp
130 ? S 0:00 PipeListener
131 ? S 0:00 MyWorld
132 ? R 0:09 MyWorld
133 ? S 0:00 PipeListener
134 ? S 0:00 FsMpStream
135 ? S 0:32 EventLog event
136 ? S 0:00 TmkSinkMixAud
137 ? R 0:02 UI Timer Heart
138 ? R 0:27 TmkClipCache0
139 ? S 0:25 TmkClipCache1
140 ? R 44:10 TvMomMpegSink
141 ? S 0:00 TvMomMpegSink
142 ? R 0:51 Mediaswitch0
143 ? S 1:44 TvRecorder
144 ? R 0:50 TmkTaskManager
145 ? S 1:14 Scheduler
146 ? S 1:26 Prioritizer
147 ? S 3:49 ContextMgr eve
158 ? R 0:48 tivosh /var/hack/tivoweb-tcl/httpd-tt.tcl
217 ? S 0:01 tivosh ./endpad.tcl -s 5 -e 5 -run
222 ? S 0:00 sh -c $TIVO_ROOT/tvbin/tivosh $TIVO_ROOT/tvbin/TClient -bac

223 ? S 2:16 /tvbin/tivosh /tvbin/TClient -backup -auto
259 ? S 0:00 /bin/bash -login
260 ? R 0:00 ps ax

How much time after loading is needed before endpad should work, i.e. is 5 mins enough?

Dave
__________________
TIVO #1 - 120GB - user since Nov2000
TIVO #2 - unmodded

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Bakdraft : 06-24-2005 at 06:35 PM.
Bakdraft is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 04:09 AM   #1039
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
Quote:
Friday 23:04:00 : Next wake up will be 23:34


but 20 mins later this log has not changed despite scheduled recording
Er, 20 minutes after 23.04 being before 23.34, yes?
sanderton is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 08:11 AM   #1040
Bakdraft
November 2000
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Merseyside
Posts: 411
Fixed!

Thanks for your patience Sanderton.

Your help is very much appreciated by us all

By the way...... does this mean if you add a recording thats due to tostart before the wakeup signal time, then that recording will not be padded, If so I will need to start the endpad program at 10 mins to the hour so as to capture the majority of late requests.

Dave
__________________
TIVO #1 - 120GB - user since Nov2000
TIVO #2 - unmodded

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bakdraft is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 08:54 AM   #1041
Fozzie
Registered User
 
Fozzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Alton, Hants, UK
Posts: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bakdraft
By the way...... does this mean if you add a recording thats due to tostart before the wakeup signal time, then that recording will not be padded...
It won't get any start padding but should still get end padding due to Endpad waking up during the recording.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bakdraft
If so I will need to start the endpad program at 10 mins to the hour so as to capture the majority of late requests.
Why? I don't follow
Fozzie is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 09:35 AM   #1042
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
Endpad checks every 30 minutes for any new programmes in the schedule, so shows where you hit record while watching may be missed if under 30 mins to go.

I was concerned not to make EndPad have a significant performance overhead.
sanderton is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 09:40 AM   #1043
Fozzie
Registered User
 
Fozzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Alton, Hants, UK
Posts: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderton
Endpad checks every 30 minutes for any new programmes in the schedule, so shows where you hit record while watching may be missed if under 30 mins to go.

I was concerned not to make EndPad have a significant performance overhead.
But the time that it wakes up moves around doesn't it, depending on when it last checked, according to when things are being recorded etc.? Hence, I didn't see the point of trying to start it at a specific time
Fozzie is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 11:29 AM   #1044
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
Correct, there is no point starting it a particular time.
sanderton is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 02:52 PM   #1045
Bakdraft
November 2000
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Merseyside
Posts: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fozzie
It won't get any start padding but should still get end padding due to Endpad waking up during the recording.

Why? I don't follow
According to my log Endpad was waking up at 5mins to the hour and 25 mins past the hour.. regular as clockwork....

so if it woke up and say 25 mins to the hour and 5 mins past the hour, then anything I wanted recording that is on the hour or 30 mins past the hour that I requested at late in the day i.e. after 25 mins etc would not be padded. Thus by setting a wakeup for say 6 mins before the hour, would mean it would see it and still be able to pad it..... Err I think!!??

This would not happen if it happen to be at 25 mins before... OK it gonna happen rarely but if setting the wakeup time to this point helps then....

Of course all this theory is probably a load of b******t! as I am sure Sanderton is about to tell me!

Dave
__________________
TIVO #1 - 120GB - user since Nov2000
TIVO #2 - unmodded

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bakdraft is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 03:09 PM   #1046
Fozzie
Registered User
 
Fozzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Alton, Hants, UK
Posts: 837
It is a load of b******t Endpad will wake up just before a recording is about to start or just before it is about to end or half an hour; whichever is the shortest time interval.

It doesn't matter what time you start it it will wake up at different times, according to your recording schedule.
Fozzie is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 03:18 PM   #1047
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
Indeed. If a recording doesn't require a wake up at a particular time, it will set one for 30 minutes after the current time, whatever that may be.
sanderton is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 03:57 PM   #1048
Bakdraft
November 2000
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Merseyside
Posts: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderton
Indeed. If a recording doesn't require a wake up at a particular time, it will set one for 30 minutes after the current time, whatever that may be.
OK..OK.... I believe you both...

But my understanding was based on Sandertons answer just a few replies ago.....

Quote:
Endpad checks every 30 minutes for any new programmes in the schedule, so shows where you hit record while watching may be missed if under 30 mins to go.

I was concerned not to make EndPad have a significant performance overhead.
Dave
__________________
TIVO #1 - 120GB - user since Nov2000
TIVO #2 - unmodded

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Bakdraft : 06-25-2005 at 04:05 PM.
Bakdraft is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 05:13 PM   #1049
Fozzie
Registered User
 
Fozzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Alton, Hants, UK
Posts: 837
... which remains correct. If there's no recording scheduled during the next half an hour when Endpad has woken up, it will sleep for 30 minutes before waking up again. If you hit record during that 30 minutes, or schedule a recording to start within that 30 minutes, then Endpad will only know about it when it wakes up (and the recording is in progress) and so will only be able to apply end padding, if it can.

Trust the several hundred (maybe even into 4 figures?) of people that have downloaded and are using Endpad - it works
Fozzie is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 12:03 PM   #1050
tivo_boj
Tivo is getting old
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Pitsea, Basildon, Essex, UK
Posts: 215
IT DOES WORK. AND BL**DY WELL TOO!!!. ITs Still the Best Addition to TIVO, Bar None. I beleive the best that could be achieved without Tivo puting in smart padding in their UK software. ( sanderson can correct me on this, as he is the king!!!)
__________________
TiVo Boj (Tivo -Nov 2000)
GSOD caused 160G upgrade Oct 2006. TivoWebPlus (beta 1.4.0) Using PPP over serial (Aug 2002). & Turbocard ( 2005)
tivo_boj is offline  
Closed Thread
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |