TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series 1 - UK
TiVo Community
Closed Thread
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-06-2004, 10:25 AM   #931
ericd121
Crown Topper
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Milton Keynes, UK
Posts: 1,347
Quote:
Originally posted by alphabeta
Also related to this, the instructions overwrite rc.sysinit.author. If you have created an rc.sysinit.author file for any other reason then you will need to make suitable modifications.
Just trying to expand my knowledge...
which bit overwrites rc.sysinit.author? Is it
Code:
echo "/bin/bash < /dev/ttyS3 >& /dev/ttyS3 &" >> rc.sysinit.author
echo "/var/hack/endpad.tcl -s 2 -e 5 -auto >> /dev/null &" >> rc.sysinit.author
I thought this would only write to the file, not overwite it, if it existed?

But what do I know, I've been trying to get EndPad to work for two days now...
__________________
Eric The Half A Bee
Two 160Gb TiVos
Both with:-
CacheCard + TiVoWeb + Mode 0 + EndPad + Sony FreeView
Try my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
ericd121 is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 10:29 AM   #932
doubledrat
should know better
 
doubledrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Attleborough, Norfolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 208
>> means append to the file that follows the >>

if you put > it will zap the file (unless the > is in "")

i.e. make sure you type the command very carefully or the results might not be what you want!
__________________
Bob

500GB tivo with
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
:D
>160 season passes, cachecard+net, tivoweb
doubledrat is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 10:57 AM   #933
ericd121
Crown Topper
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Milton Keynes, UK
Posts: 1,347
Quote:
Originally posted by doubledrat
>> means append to the file that follows the >>

if you put > it will zap the file (unless the > is in "")

i.e. make sure you type the command very carefully or the results might not be what you want!
Thanks, Bob.
Looks like I did everything right, but I'll pull the HDD tomorrow to double check.

After I did the echo command, I discovered I could have used Joe, which is on the HDD as supplied by Blindlemon.
I had a look inside rc.sysinit.author and all looked acceptable (yes, I quit without saving the file).

I chmod 755ed it, and then did ls -l and the permissions looked fine.

If anyone can point out anything to be done, or not done, to get EndPad to work, I'd be very grateful.
__________________
Eric The Half A Bee
Two 160Gb TiVos
Both with:-
CacheCard + TiVoWeb + Mode 0 + EndPad + Sony FreeView
Try my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
ericd121 is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 11:03 AM   #934
doubledrat
should know better
 
doubledrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Attleborough, Norfolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 208
the key thing is -

echo "/bin/bash < /dev/ttyS3 >& /dev/ttyS3 &" >> rc.sysinit.author

with that in your rc.sysinit.author you can access your tivo using the serial connection and make any necessary changes without having to pull it apart.
__________________
Bob

500GB tivo with
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
:D
>160 season passes, cachecard+net, tivoweb
doubledrat is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 11:22 AM   #935
alphabeta
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Maidenhead, UK
Posts: 101
Quote:
I thought this would only write to the file, not overwite it, if it existed?
Humm, yes that would be right for partition 7. If you followed the instructions the rc.sysinit.author on partition 4 would be zapped.

In any case, the instructions certainly don't backup any old rc.sysinit.author file, or make sure that the commands you add don't conflict with any that are already there.
alphabeta is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 12:53 PM   #936
ericd121
Crown Topper
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Milton Keynes, UK
Posts: 1,347
Quote:
Originally posted by doubledrat
the key thing is -

echo "/bin/bash < /dev/ttyS3 >& /dev/ttyS3 &" >> rc.sysinit.author

with that in your rc.sysinit.author you can access your tivo using the serial connection and make any necessary changes without having to pull it apart.
Unfortunately, I don't have a Tivo Serial Cable.

I'm thinking of taking advantage of George Bush's mis-management of the U.S. economy (i.e. the dollar is in freefall) to buy a couple of CacheCards.
__________________
Eric The Half A Bee
Two 160Gb TiVos
Both with:-
CacheCard + TiVoWeb + Mode 0 + EndPad + Sony FreeView
Try my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
ericd121 is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 01:19 PM   #937
gyre
Wookie
 
gyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 382
Now's a good time to buy, I think. $125 shipped... which is like 65 quid or something.

-- gyre --
__________________
|6020|1x200GB|Cachecard 2.2 w/512MB|Endpad|Tracker|TivoWeb|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
gyre is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 02:21 PM   #938
doubledrat
should know better
 
doubledrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Attleborough, Norfolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 208
it's the same as the pronto serial cable. there's one one ebay for 99p at the moment...
__________________
Bob

500GB tivo with
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
:D
>160 season passes, cachecard+net, tivoweb
doubledrat is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 12:09 PM   #939
ericd121
Crown Topper
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Milton Keynes, UK
Posts: 1,347
I now have EndPad running.
I'd mistyped its parameters!

Luckily, I was accessing a Blindlemon supplied disk, which had all the TiVo binaries installed, so I edited rc.sysinit.author in Joe and all was well.

Thought I'd pass on something to those who, like me, are merely following, parrot-fashion, the instructions of others.

When you're backing up using Hinsdale or PineDragon using a variant of this command
Code:
/mnt/dos/mfstool backup -l 32 -6 -s -o /mnt/dos/tivo.bak /dev/hdb
be aware that, of course, tivo.bak is the filename of your backup, and if you change that, you can have as many backups as you have room for.

I have
tivo.bak which is my original 40Gb HDD backup from my first HDD upgrade.
tivobl.bak which is the 160 Gb HDD backup as supplied by Blindlemon with Cachecard drivers, TivoWeb, Mode 0 and upgraded kernal
and
tivoep.bak which is all the above with EndPad enabled.
__________________
Eric The Half A Bee
Two 160Gb TiVos
Both with:-
CacheCard + TiVoWeb + Mode 0 + EndPad + Sony FreeView
Try my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
ericd121 is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 04:36 AM   #940
Filw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Brighton (Hove, actually)
Posts: 19
ReadMe

Hi all,

Earlier in this thread a missing slash from the rc.sysinit.author line was highlighted.. Just to let you know that the readme in the endpad gzip has the same omission.

The line should read
/var/hack/endpad.tcl -s x -e y -sugqual z -sugeq -auto >> /dev/null &

It's only a problem if you're lazy like me and just paste it in - that'll teach me! It probably won't though.

Phil

PS Fantastic program sanderton- I'll never miss the last 5 minutes of Sky at Night again!
Filw is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 04:52 AM   #941
Goshdarnit
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally posted by doubledrat
it's the same as the pronto serial cable. there's one one ebay for 99p at the moment...

*lol* Wish I'd known that! I have a Pronto and just waited several days for my Tivo cable to be delivered!
Goshdarnit is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 05:05 AM   #942
doubledrat
should know better
 
doubledrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Attleborough, Norfolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 208
doh!
__________________
Bob

500GB tivo with
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
:D
>160 season passes, cachecard+net, tivoweb
doubledrat is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 11:47 AM   #943
LaupSavea
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 48
Just downloaded and installed V1.4.1 - never installed before.

I have installed endpad.tcl exisitng in Hack directory
then
chmod 755 endpad.tcl - which seemed OK
then

./endpad.tcl 1 1

from which I get......

./endpad.tcl: t: command not found

./endpad.tcl: line 13: syntax error near unexpected token `}'

./endpad.tcl: line 13: ` }'

I have tried various combinations of syntax but no success?

Any ideas??

Thanks

Laup

160Gb TiVo with CacheCard + TiVoWeb
__________________
Laup
LaupSavea is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 12:00 PM   #944
Rob Nespor Bellis
Grumpy Sod
 
Rob Nespor Bellis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: ~, Brighton, UK
Posts: 674
That's because your command is wrong......

Perhaps it should be ./endpad.tcl -s 1 -e 1 ?

You *may* wish to read the first post in this thread ( by Sanderton ) where he explains exactly how to use endpad.

Rgds,

R.
Rob Nespor Bellis is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 05:04 PM   #945
Rob Nespor Bellis
Grumpy Sod
 
Rob Nespor Bellis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: ~, Brighton, UK
Posts: 674
Thank-you Stuart for your great module, it just saved my bacon ( yet again. ) BBC3 are running fast ( again ) tonight and without your module I ( meaning the wife of course ) would have missed the start of Two Pints etc... the new series.

Rgds,

R.
Rob Nespor Bellis is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 06:03 PM   #946
PaulOckenden
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by RobBellis
Thank-you Stuart for your great module, it just saved my bacon
Mine too. endpad has to be the most useful tivo hack ever.

P.

p.s Wasn't that impressed with the 1st episode of the new series of 2POL - it seems to have lost its edge.
PaulOckenden is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 06:20 PM   #947
LaupSavea
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 48
FTP

My FTP Wanderer seems to screw up the file - I ftp using IE and all is well.

Anyone know of a TIVO friendly FTP prog?

EXCEPT for occassionally lock up when using Season Pass Manager which requires a switch off and on. Only started since installing - I am trying different s and e variables. Still, it works mostly and thats the rub - nice one!!
__________________
Laup
LaupSavea is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 06:43 PM   #948
iankb
Registered User
 
iankb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 6,468
Re: FTP

Quote:
Originally posted by LaupSavea
... I ftp using IE ...
Not a good idea. The TiVo FTP server can only handle one connection, and programs such as IE will try and use multiple connections. I use the command-line FTP client in Windows XP with no problems.
__________________
Ian.

Windows 7 MCE, 2 x Freeview Tuners, 1 x HD Freesat Tuner, 1TB Hard Drive, 1.5TB Mirrored Raid on e-SATA.
1 x Xbox360 MCE Extender.
1 x LinkSys DMA2100 Extender.
1 x Broken TiVo.
iankb is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 06:49 PM   #949
Fozzie
Registered User
 
Fozzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Alton, Hants, UK
Posts: 837
Re: FTP

Quote:
Originally posted by LaupSavea
Anyone know of a TIVO friendly FTP prog?
Just pull up a command prompt and type 'ftp IP address'.

Make sure you type 'bin' (for binary mode) after connecting.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Fozzie is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 09:44 PM   #950
hedwig-0101
Satisfied TiVo User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Warrington, Cheshire
Posts: 39
What is wrong with using IE for FTP.

It is the only FTP prog I use and it has never let me down.
__________________
TiVo User since Jan 2003. Hacked with 250Gig Drive, LBA48 Kernel, PPP over Serial to Windows XP, TiVoWeb, Merge Recordings and Fixed Flickering Menu Bars. Also added Auto Padding & free space bar in Now Playing, & Mode 0 Resolution.
hedwig-0101 is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 03:10 AM   #951
LaupSavea
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 48
Fozzie,IanKB, Hedwig - Many thanks.
__________________
Laup
LaupSavea is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 05:16 PM   #952
dave h-j
Clumsy Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 44
I take it endpad runs with the default priority - anybody running with a lower priority? (I've got problems with sound warbles sometimes, which doesn't seem to affect me when endpad is not running).
__________________
---
Dave h-j
dave h-j is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 01:26 AM   #953
kitschcamp
Tweaked and poked
 
kitschcamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,845
What other hacks are you running? For example, Tivoweb or Tivoweb+? Any of the IR programs?
__________________
Stephen

ˇɥɐɹɹnɥ ˙oʌıʇ uɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɥʇıʍ ʍou
kitschcamp is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 12:37 PM   #954
dave h-j
Clumsy Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 44
nope only run endpad/tivoweb/cron (for dailymail)

I can't see whats cauing it, so it's a case of stopping things to see. so far without endpad I haven't seen it reoccur.
__________________
---
Dave h-j
dave h-j is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 10:09 AM   #955
B33K34
ENABLED!
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: London
Posts: 439
having finally got tivoweb working over the interweb i was browsing the logs and noticed that endpad doesnt seem to be working quite as i expected.
I've edited my startup file using Startup editor and it reads:
/var/local/tivoweb-tcl/tivoweb >> /dev/null &
/var/hack/endpad.tcl -s 1 -e 5 >> /dev/null &

Tivoweb and endpad both start after a reboot.

I thought that endpad would pad the end of a scheduled recording rather than record a suggestion but the logs seem to say otherwise. Am I wrong or is this a switchable option?

Sleeping, checking every minute for kill signal....
Sunday 19:58:00 : Woken up
Sunday 19:58:00 : Recording {Channel 4 News} on C4 now
Sunday 19:58:00 : Recording Scheduled End Time: 20:00
Sunday 19:58:00 : Next recording is {Seven Days that Shook the Weathermen} on C4 (Suggestion) at 20:00
Sunday 19:58:00 : Gap to next programme is 0 seconds
Sunday 19:58:00 : Can't add end padding to {Channel 4 News}
Sunday 19:58:00 : Next end padding setting due 20:55
Sunday 19:58:00 : Gap to previous recording is 0 seconds
Sunday 19:58:00 : Can't add start padding to {Seven Days that Shook the Weathermen}
Sunday 19:58:00 : Next start padding setting due 20:55
Sunday 19:58:00 : Next wake up will be 20:28
__________________
Tivo since December 2002. Currently driveless. Freeview Pace DTR210T. Humax Foxsat HDR. Pioneer PDP-4280XD
B33K34 is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 03:17 PM   #956
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
Can you check which version of EendPad you are using and copy and paste the log fiel header where it announces its settings.
sanderton is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 05:29 PM   #957
B33K34
ENABLED!
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: London
Posts: 439
Sorry - i did check the version and meant to include it. The only thing that occured to me is that this might be because the suggestion was on the same channel as the recording.

Sunday 00:25:01 : endpad.tcl 1.4.1 log file, log rotated
Sunday 00:25:01 : Start padding set to 60 seconds
Sunday 00:25:01 : End padding set to 300 seconds
Sunday 00:25:01 : Suggestions will be padded, even if that means cancelling a subsequent suggestion
Sunday 00:25:01 : Detected TiVo software version 2.5.5a-01-1-023
Sunday 00:25:01 : Suggestion quality change disabled
Sleeping, checking every minute for kill signal......
__________________
Tivo since December 2002. Currently driveless. Freeview Pace DTR210T. Humax Foxsat HDR. Pioneer PDP-4280XD
B33K34 is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 04:21 AM   #958
ericd121
Crown Topper
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Milton Keynes, UK
Posts: 1,347
Quote:
Originally posted by B33K34
The only thing that occured to me is that this might be because the suggestion was on the same channel as the recording.
As I posted in the Endpad and suggestions over Christmas...

When I first installed EndPad, it failed to pad Channel 4 News, but instead padded the following 5 minute Channel 4 prog The Political Slot.
__________________
Eric The Half A Bee
Two 160Gb TiVos
Both with:-
CacheCard + TiVoWeb + Mode 0 + EndPad + Sony FreeView
Try my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
ericd121 is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 04:53 AM   #959
B33K34
ENABLED!
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: London
Posts: 439
That looks like the same problem on the same programme.... Fine in principle (if you want to see the end of the first prog you watch the start of the second) but poor in practice (you need to identify that the other prog exists, what it is and that it hasn't been deleted in the meantime).

As an aside, what does -auto do? I'm running from the startup script without it and it seems fine.
__________________
Tivo since December 2002. Currently driveless. Freeview Pace DTR210T. Humax Foxsat HDR. Pioneer PDP-4280XD
B33K34 is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 05:29 AM   #960
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
-auto tells it to ignore the "Endpad is already running" flag, which may remain set if your TiVo crashes.
sanderton is offline  
Closed Thread
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |